DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 03/17/2026 with respect to the double patenting rejection for claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 made on 12/17/2025 has been considered and the double patenting rejection to the claims is withdrawn because claims 1, 4, and 7 are no longer obvious variations of the claim(s) 1 and 15 in co-pending Application No. 18/030246 in view of Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1).
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 03/17/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1) in view of new reference Li et al. (US 2019/0007888 A1).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
First, the instant application recites limitations in claims 1, 4, and 7 that do not have support in the provisional applications 62/754408. The unsupported limitations are “determining based on a power of a signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device whether to transmit…” and “transmitting, from the first wireless communication device to the third wireless communication device, the signal containing the information, based on a result of the determining.” Therefore, Applicant cannot rely on the filing dates of the provisional applications for claims 1, 4, and 7. Thus, the current benefit of claims 1, 4, and 7 and their dependent claims accords to the filing date 11/12/2018 of provisional application 62/758770.
Second, the instant application recites a limitation in claims 10-12 that does not have support in the provisional applications 62/754408 and 62/758770. The unsupported limitation is “wherein the one or more time resources are determined based on a comparison between a measurement result of a reference signal and a threshold.” Therefore, Applicant cannot rely on the filing dates of the provisional applications for claims 10-12. Thus, the current benefit of claims 10-12 accords to the filing date 11/01/2019 of PCT/US2019/059421.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0007888 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses A method comprising:
receiving, at a first wireless communication device from a second wireless communication device, a first reservation signal comprising first information that identifies one or more first time resources being reserved by the second wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle z, slot assignment information of vehicle z for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames),
receiving, at the first wireless communication device from a third wireless communication device, a second reservation signal comprising second information that identifies the one or more first time resources being reserved by the third wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle x, slot assignment information of vehicle x for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames); and
(Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2); and
transmitting, from the first wireless communication device to the third wireless communication device, the signal containing the information, (Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2).
Shen does not disclose, but Li discloses determining based on a power of a signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device whether to transmit, from the first wireless communication device, a signal to the third wireless communication device … (Fig. 4, [0204]: if the first device receives, before the first device successfully sends the forwarded message of the path discovery message, the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device, the first device may determine, according to a factor such as receive power or a receiving time for the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device …, whether to forward the path discovery message. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0118]: The third path discovery message is a forwarded message (which is similar to the second path discovery message; the third path discovery message may further include all … of content of the first path discovery message…). [0080]: The second path discovery message is a forwarded message of the first path discovery message), and
transmitting, from the first wireless communication device to the third wireless communication device, the signal…, based on a result of the determining (Fig. 4, [0205]: The fourth device receives a forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by at least one of the first device. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0126]: That is, after receiving the third path discovery message, the first device may further determine, according to the receive power for the third path discovery message, whether to send the second path discovery message. If the receive power is less than the receive power threshold, it indicates that the third device is relatively far away from the first device, and therefore the first device can determine to send the second path discovery message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y when broadcasting control information to vehicle x and vehicle z, as taught by Shen, to forward the message based on a receive power for a forwarded message, as taught by Li.
Doing so allows the first device may further determine, with reference to a status of forwarding the path discovery message by an adjacent device, whether to send the second path discovery message, so that a device that is at a relatively close distance or a device with a relatively small quantity of time-frequency resources can be prevented from repeatedly forwarding the path discovery message. Therefore, a waste of air interface resources is avoided, and energy consumption of the adjacent device is also reduced (Li: [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Shen discloses A first wireless communication device comprising (Fig. 2B: vehicle y):
a transmitter (Fig. 1: transceiver 114);
a receiver (Fig. 1: transceiver 114); and
a controller, wherein the controller is configured to (Fig. 1: microcontroller 110):
control the receiver to receive from a second wireless communication device, a first reservation signal comprising first information that identifies one or more first time resources being reserved by the second wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle z, slot assignment information of vehicle z for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames),
control the receiver to receive from a third wireless communication device, a second reservation signal comprising second information that identifies the one or more first time resources being reserved by the third wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle x, slot assignment information of vehicle x for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames),
(Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2); and
control the transmitter to transmit the signal containing the information to the third wireless communication device, (Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2).
Shen does not disclose, but Li discloses determine based on a power of a signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device whether to transmit, from the first wireless communication device, a signal to the third wireless communication device … (Fig. 4, [0204]: if the first device receives, before the first device successfully sends the forwarded message of the path discovery message, the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device, the first device may determine, according to a factor such as receive power or a receiving time for the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device …, whether to forward the path discovery message. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0118]: The third path discovery message is a forwarded message (which is similar to the second path discovery message; the third path discovery message may further include all … of content of the first path discovery message…). [0080]: The second path discovery message is a forwarded message of the first path discovery message), and
control the transmitter to transmit the signal…, based on a result of the determining to transmit the signal containing the information (Fig. 4, [0205]: The fourth device receives a forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by at least one of the first device. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0126]: That is, after receiving the third path discovery message, the first device may further determine, according to the receive power for the third path discovery message, whether to send the second path discovery message. If the receive power is less than the receive power threshold, it indicates that the third device is relatively far away from the first device, and therefore the first device can determine to send the second path discovery message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y when broadcasting control information to vehicle x and vehicle z, as taught by Shen, to forward the message based on a receive power for a forwarded message, as taught by Li.
Doing so allows the first device may further determine, with reference to a status of forwarding the path discovery message by an adjacent device, whether to send the second path discovery message, so that a device that is at a relatively close distance or a device with a relatively small quantity of time-frequency resources can be prevented from repeatedly forwarding the path discovery message. Therefore, a waste of air interface resources is avoided, and energy consumption of the adjacent device is also reduced (Li: [0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses An apparatus for controlling a first wireless communication device (Fig. 2B: vehicle y), the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, the processor configured to cause the first wireless communication device to execute processes of (Fig. 1, [0033]: memory 116 stores instructions executed by microcontroller 110):
receiving from a second wireless communication device, a first reservation signal comprising first information that identifies one or more first time resources being reserved by the second wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle z, slot assignment information of vehicle z for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames),
receiving from a third wireless communication device, a second reservation signal comprising second information that identifies the one or more first time resources being reserved by the third wireless communication device for future data transmissions ([0048], [0062]: each node transmits / broadcasts signals, i.e., slot assignment information in control information, to all other nodes within the communication range of the node (one-hop and two-hop neighborhood) in its assigned time slots during each frame (current and future access). [0044]: one hop is when each node can reach any other node in one hop as they are within direct communication. Two hop is when each node can reach any other node in two hops. In light of cited paragraphs, Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 7 in the first and second frames of Fig. 2B(a), vehicle y receives, from vehicle x, slot assignment information of vehicle x for its transmissions in slot 7 in frames);
(Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2); and
transmitting, from the first wireless communication device to the third wireless communication device, the signal containing the information, (Fig. 2B, [0046]: at time slot 2 in the second frame of Fig. 2B(b), vehicle y broadcasts control information to vehicle x and vehicle z in order for them to detect a collision will occur at time slot 7 and acquire another available time slot in the frame, i.e., time slot 4 for vehicle x and time slot 6 for vehicle z in frame 2).
Shen does not disclose, but Li discloses determining based on a power of a signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device whether to transmit, from the first wireless communication device, a signal to the third wireless communication device … (Fig. 4, [0204]: if the first device receives, before the first device successfully sends the forwarded message of the path discovery message, the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device, the first device may determine, according to a factor such as receive power or a receiving time for the forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by the third device …, whether to forward the path discovery message. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0118]: The third path discovery message is a forwarded message (which is similar to the second path discovery message; the third path discovery message may further include all … of content of the first path discovery message…). [0080]: The second path discovery message is a forwarded message of the first path discovery message), and
transmitting, from the first wireless communication device to the third wireless communication device, the signal…, based on a result of the determining (Fig. 4, [0205]: The fourth device receives a forwarded message that is of the path discovery message and that is sent by at least one of the first device. [0200]: The first device may determine the sending manner of the forwarded message of the path discovery message by using the method for determining the sending manner of the second path discovery message in the method 200. [0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0126]: That is, after receiving the third path discovery message, the first device may further determine, according to the receive power for the third path discovery message, whether to send the second path discovery message. If the receive power is less than the receive power threshold, it indicates that the third device is relatively far away from the first device, and therefore the first device can determine to send the second path discovery message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y when broadcasting control information to vehicle x and vehicle z, as taught by Shen, to forward the message based on a receive power for a forwarded message, as taught by Li.
Doing so allows the first device may further determine, with reference to a status of forwarding the path discovery message by an adjacent device, whether to send the second path discovery message, so that a device that is at a relatively close distance or a device with a relatively small quantity of time-frequency resources can be prevented from repeatedly forwarding the path discovery message. Therefore, a waste of air interface resources is avoided, and energy consumption of the adjacent device is also reduced (Li: [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Shen in view of Li discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer-executable instructions which when executed cause the first wireless communication device to perform the method of claim 1 (Shen: Fig. 1, [0033]: memory 116 stores instructions executed by microcontroller 110).
Regarding claim(s) 14-16, Shen in view of Li discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 as outlined above.
Shen does not disclose, but Li discloses wherein determining based on the power of the signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device whether to transmit, from the first wireless communication device, the signal to the third wireless communication device containing information includes:
comparing the power of the signal transmitted by the second wireless communication device with a threshold ([0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0126]: That is, after receiving the third path discovery message, the first device may further determine, according to the receive power for the third path discovery message, whether to send the second path discovery message. If the receive power is less than the receive power threshold, it indicates that the third device is relatively far away from the first device); and
determining to transmit the signal to the third wireless communication device based on a result of the comparing ([0121]-[0123]: if the first device receives the third path discovery message sent by the third device, the method 200 may further include: sending, by the first device, the second path discovery message when determining that at least one of the following conditions is met: receive power for the third path discovery message is less than a receive power threshold. [0126]: That is, after receiving the third path discovery message, the first device may further determine, according to the receive power for the third path discovery message, whether to send the second path discovery message. If the receive power is less than the receive power threshold, it indicates that the third device is relatively far away from the first device, and therefore the first device can determine to send the second path discovery message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y when broadcasting control information to vehicle x and vehicle z, as taught by Shen, to determine that a receive power for a message is less than a receive power threshold and determine to send the message based on a receive power being less than the receive power threshold, as taught by Li.
Doing so allows the first device may further determine, with reference to a status of forwarding the path discovery message by an adjacent device, whether to send the second path discovery message, so that a device that is at a relatively close distance or a device with a relatively small quantity of time-frequency resources can be prevented from repeatedly forwarding the path discovery message. Therefore, a waste of air interface resources is avoided, and energy consumption of the adjacent device is also reduced (Li: [0022]).
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0007888 A1) and Yang et al. (US 2016/0037561 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 5, and 8, Shen in view of Li discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 as outlined above.
Shen does not disclose, but Yang discloses wherein
the first reservation signal is not received over the one or more first time resources ([0048], [0050]: a first vehicle determines that a first slot is free and can be reserved, and forwards the free status of the first slot in an STI on a slot reserved by the first vehicle. Note: the forwarding of the STI on the reserved slot is a different slot from the first slot that is being reserved. In other words, the STI includes the indication of reserving the first slot, but not the reserved slot used for the forwarding. See also [0050] explaining another alternative where the first vehicle needs to reserve a slot for transmission, i.e., the first device reserves the first slot and transmits the STI on the first slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y, as taught by Shen, to transmit the STI for reserving a first slot on a different reserved slot that is not indicated in the STI, as taught by Yang.
Doing so allows the first device to use an already reserved slot instead of reserving the first slot and transmitting on the first slot which avoids the use of the first slot that is being reserved (Yang: [0050]).
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0007888 A1) and Singh et al. (Efficient Time Slot Allocation to Minimize Collision in TDMA Based VANETs).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 6, and 9, Shen in view of Li discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 as outlined above.
Shen does not disclose, but Singh discloses further comprising:
determining that the one or more first time resources identified by the first information overlap with the one or more first time resources identified by the second information (pg. 42 col. 2 and pg. 43 col. 1: vehicle NC detects that slot 3 is used by both vehicles NA and NE based on received beacons indicating reserved time slots of vehicles NA and NE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y, as taught by Shen, to detect that a slot may be used by multiple vehicles based on received beacons indicating reserved time slots of the multiple vehicles as taught by Singh.
Doing so allows the vehicle that detected a slot may be used by multiple vehicles to transmit a warning message for a possible collision so that the multiple vehicles can change their time slot (Singh: pg. 43 col. 1 first paragraph and col. 2 first paragraph).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2017/0238270 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0007888 A1) (hereinafter Li’888) and Li et al. (US 2021/0219268 A1) (hereinafter Li’268).
Regarding claim(s) 10, 11, and 12, Shen in view of Li’888 discloses all features of claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 as outlined above.
Shen does not disclose, but Li’268 discloses wherein the one or more first time resources are determined based on a comparison between a measurement result of a reference signal and a threshold ([0131], [0134], [0136]: vehicle UE determines an available resource based on determining that at least one of a measurement of an SL-RSRP or an SL-RSSI of the resource is below a threshold. [0424]: the UE detects resource usage by measurements, and when a measurement of the resource is above a threshold, the resource is not available and may be also used in the future. In order to reflect the resource usage in time, the measurement for SL-RSRP, SL-RSSI, etc. may be based on symbol, mini-slot, slot, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the vehicle y, as taught by Shen, to determine available resources, such as symbol, mini-slot, slot, etc., based on determining that at least one of a measurement of an SL-RSRP or an SL-RSSI of the resource with a threshold, as taught by Li’268.
Doing so allows the UE to determine available resources for transmission and avoid possible collisions (Li’268: [0128], [0132]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov