DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 12-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akutsu et al. (US 2012/0122629).
Regarding claim 1,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
An electric drive unit (fig. 1, 1) comprising: a stator assembly (12, 22) including a first set of stator windings (12) and a second set of stator windings (22, ¶0106-¶0107); a first set of rotors (13) each configured to: electromagnetically interact with the first set of stator windings (12, ¶0106); and rotationally couple to a distinct gear (R1) in a first summation gear set (R1, P1, S1, C1, ¶0115) ; a second set of rotors (23) configured to: electromagnetically interact with the second set of stator windings (22, ¶0107); and rotationally couple to a distinct gear (R2) in a second summation gear set (R2, P2, C2, S2, ¶0117); and a first inverter (31) and a second inverter (32, ¶0109) electrically coupled to the first set of stator windings (12) and the second set of stator (22) windings, respectively (¶0109); wherein the first inverter (12) and the second inverter (22) are configured to independently control speeds of the first set of rotors (13) and the second set of rotors (23), respectively (¶0135).
Regarding claim 4,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the distinct gears in the first and second summation gear (Fig. 1, R1, P1, S1, C1, R2, P2, S2, C2) sets are a first set of planet gears (P1) and a second set of planet gears (P2), respectively, and wherein the first and second sets of planet gears are the only planet gears in the first and second summation gear sets, respectively (¶0115-¶0117).
Regarding claim 6,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising a first resolver (Fig. 2, 41) positioned on a first layshaft (Fig. 1, 4, connected with 3a, ¶0122) in the first summation gear set (R1, P1, S1) and a second resolver positioned on a second layshaft (connected to second rotor, 23, ¶0123) in the second summation gear set (R2, P2, S2), wherein the first resolver and the second resolver generate data indicative of a speed and position of the first set of rotors and a speed of the second set of rotors, respectively (¶0122-¶0123).
Regarding claim 11,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the first summation gear set (S1, P1, R1) is rotationally coupled to a first drive wheel via a first final gear reduction (via differential, DG ¶0119); and the second summation gear set (S2, P2, R2) is rotationally coupled to a second drive wheel via a second final gear reduction (via differential, DG ¶0119-¶0121).
Regarding claim 12,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
A method for operation of an electric axle (Fig. 4, ¶0116), comprising: operating a first inverter (31) to cause mechanical power transfer from a first set of rotors (13)to a first summation gear set (R1, P1, S1, C1, ¶0106, ¶0109); and operating a second inverter (32) to cause mechanical power transfer from a second set of rotors (23) to a second summation gear set (R2, P2, S2, C2); wherein each of the rotors in the first and second sets of rotors (13, 23) are configured to electromagnetically interact with a stator assembly (12, 22) that includes a first set of stator windings (12) and a second set of stator windings (22) that circumferentially surround the first set of rotors (13) and the second set of rotors (23, ¶0106-¶0107), respectively; wherein the first summation gear set (R1, P1, S1, C1) is rotationally coupled to a first drive wheel (DW); and wherein the second summation gear set (R2, P2, C2, S2) is rotationally coupled to a second drive wheel (left Dw, through differential, ¶0119).
Regarding claim 13,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the first inverter and the second inverter are independently operated (¶0111-¶0113).
Regarding claim 14,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the first inverter (31) is operated based on data generated by a first resolver (41) that positioned on a first layshaft in the first summation gear set (¶0115-¶0116); and the second inverter is operated based on data generated by a second resolver that is positioned on a second layshaft in the second summation gear set (¶0117-¶0118).
Regarding claim 16,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
An electric axle (Fig. 1, 1) comprising: a stator assembly (12, 22) include a first set of stator windings (12) and a second set of stator windings (22, ¶0106-¶0107); a first set of rotors (13) configured to electromagnetically interact with the first set of stator windings (12, ¶0106); a second set of rotors (23) configured to electromagnetically interact with the second set of stator windings (¶0107); a first inverter (31) electrically coupled to the first set of stator windings (12) in parallel (in parallel to battery and stator windings, ¶0109); and a second inverter (32) electrically coupled to the second set of stator windings (22) in parallel (¶0109); wherein rotational axes of the first and second sets of rotors are circumferentially arranged in parallel (arranged around 4).
Regarding claim 19,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the first set of rotors (Fig. 1, 13) is rotationally coupled to a first summation gear set (R1, P1, S1, C1) that includes a sun gear (S1) that is rotationally coupled to a first drive wheel via a first final gear reduction (via Sp1 and Sp2, coupled to either wheel through differential, ¶0121); and the second set of rotors (23) is rotationally coupled to a second summation gear set (R2, P2, S2, C2) that includes a sun gear (S2) that is rotationally coupled to a second drive wheel (left wheel, DW) via a second final gear reduction (output to SP1, SP2, and differential DG, ¶0121).
Regarding claim 20,
Akutsu discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the first and second summation gear sets (Fig. 1, S1, P1, R1, S2, P2, R2)each include solely a set of planet gears (P1, P2) and a summation gear (S1, R1, ¶0115-¶0118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu et al. (US 2012/0122629) in view of Petersen et al. (US 9,487,084).
Regarding claim 2,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Akutsu does not disclose:
wherein rotational axes of the first and second sets of rotors are arranged in parallel.
However, Petersen teaches (fig. 7):
wherein rotational axes of the first and second sets of rotors (Fig. 7, 16, each machine, 12, has a rotor, 16) are arranged in parallel (anti-parallel, is parallel in opposite directions, Col. 9:8-28).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and place the motors in between the left and right wheels as taught by Petersen in order to achieve space saving efficiency as taught by Petersen (Col. 4:54-62). This would improve efficiency of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 2.
Akutsu does not disclose:
wherein the first and second sets of rotors are positioned between a first drive wheel and a second drive wheel in relation to axes of rotation of the first and second drive wheels which are coaxially arranged with regard to one another.
However, Petersen teaches (fig. 7):
wherein the first and second sets of rotors (fig. 7, 16, each machine, 12, has a rotor, 16) are positioned between a first drive wheel (left drive wheel) and a second drive wheel (right drive wheel) in relation to axes of rotation of the first and second drive wheels which are coaxially arranged with regard to one another (are on same axis, col. 9:8-28).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and place the motors in between the left and right wheels as taught by Petersen in order to achieve space saving efficiency as taught by Petersen (Col. 4:54-62). This would improve efficiency of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu et al. (US 2012/0122629) in view of Wink (US 2025/0172201).
Regarding claim 5,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Akutsu does not disclose:
wherein each of the first and second set of rotors are configured to operate a speeds greater than 25,000 revolutions per minute (RPM).
However, Wink teaches:
wherein each of the first and second set of rotors are configured to operate a speeds greater than 25,000 revolutions per minute (RPM) (¶0078).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and replace one motor as a high speed motor in order to increase efficiency by being smaller and lighter as taught by Wink (¶0077). This would improve efficiency.
Claim(s) 7, 9-10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu et al. (US 2012/0122629) in view of Vanhee et al. (US 2023/0093220).
Regarding claim 7,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 1.
Akutsu does not disclose:
further comprising a cooling system configured to direct coolant through a first set of lamination stacks, a second set of lamination stacks, end windings associated with the first set of lamination stacks, and end windings that are associated with the second set of lamination stacks which are included in the stator assembly.
However, Vanhee teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising a cooling system (Fig. 2, all elements) configured to direct coolant through a first set of lamination stacks (202),
end windings associated with the first set of lamination stacks (203, ¶0030), and end windings (203)
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and use an oil pump connected to laminated stator stacks in order to cool the stators of a motor as taught by Vanhee (¶0037). This would improve reliability by further cooling the motors.
Although Vanhee does not explicitly teach a second set of lamination stacks, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the combination of the stator laminate oil stacks from Akutsu and Vanhee above and apply it to the stator of the second motor generator from Akutsu according to case law as per In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. As such, duplicating the laminate stator stacks with oil channels in order to cool the second stator would be a duplicate of the above combination of Akutsu and Vanhee of providing further cooling for both stators which would improve reliability.
Regarding claim 9,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 7.
Akutsu does not disclose:
wherein the first set of lamination stacks and the second set of lamination stacks are separated by an oil distribution plate.
However, Vanhee teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein the first set of lamination stacks and the second set of lamination stacks are separated by an oil distribution plate (¶0040-¶0041).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and use an oil pump connected to laminated stator stacks in order to cool the stators of a motor as taught by Vanhee (¶0037). This would improve reliability by further cooling the motors.
Although Vanhee does not explicitly teach a second set of lamination stacks, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the combination of the stator laminate oil stacks from Akutsu and Vanhee above and apply it to the stator of the second motor generator from Akutsu according to case law as per In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. As such, duplicating the laminate stator stacks with oil channels in order to cool the second stator would be a duplicate of the above combination of Akutsu and Vanhee of providing further cooling for both stators which would improve reliability.
Regarding claim 10,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 7.
Akutsu does not disclose:
wherein a baffle is used to distribute the coolant to the stator assembly.
However, Vanhee teaches (Fig. 2):
wherein a baffle is used to distribute the coolant to the stator assembly (¶0041).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and use an oil pump connected to laminated stator stacks in order to cool the stators of a motor as taught by Vanhee (¶0037). This would improve reliability by further cooling the motors.
Regarding claim 15,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 12.
Akutsu does not disclose:
further comprising operating a pump motor that is rotationally coupled to a coolant pump to drive coolant flow in a cooling system configured to circulate coolant through the stator assembly.
However, Vanhee teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising operating a pump motor (Fig. 1, 100) that is rotationally coupled to a coolant pump (130) to drive coolant flow in a cooling system configured to circulate coolant through the stator assembly (¶0020, ¶0025).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and use an oil pump connected to laminated stator stacks in order to cool the stators of a motor as taught by Vanhee (¶0037). This would improve reliability by further cooling the motors.
Regarding claim 17,
Akutsu discloses the above elements from claim 16.
Akutsu does not disclose:
further comprising an oil cooling system configured to direct oil through the first set of stator windings and the second set of stator windings.
However, Vanhee teaches (Fig. 2):
further comprising an oil cooling system configured to direct oil through the first set of stator windings and the second set of stator windings (Fig. 2, 202, ¶0044).
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the electric drive from Akutsu that uses two electric motor/generators to power wheels on a vehicle (¶0133) and use an oil pump connected to laminated stator stacks in order to cool the stators of a motor as taught by Vanhee (¶0037). This would improve reliability by further cooling the motors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moeller (US 2006/0264296) – transmission system
/C.S.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DAVID LUO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837