DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 and 7-14 of copending Application No. 18/638,333 in view of Sakimura (JP 2003287914).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6, the ‘333 application claims An electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising: a conductive substrate; an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate; and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer, wherein the intermediate layer contains a specific polyamide resin and specific inorganic particles, the specific inorganic particles each include a metal oxide particle and a surface treatment layer covering at least a part of a surface of the metal oxide particle, the surface treatment layers contain at least one of aluminum oxide and silica, the specific polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid with a carbon number of at least 8 and no greater than 20 and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound with a cycloalkane structure, and a total percentage content of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit to all repeating units included in the specific polyamide resin is at least 80% by mol. (claim 1). The ‘333 Application does not disclose the metal oxide particle comprising a surface treatment layer derived from an organic siloxane compound.
Sakimura teaches a similar electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising an intermediate layer containing titanium oxide particles in a polyamide resin ([0017]-[0020]). Sakimura further teaches the titanium oxide particles are treated with a reactive organosilicon compound in an amount of 0.1-50 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of titanium oxide, to ensure proper dispersibility of the titanium oxide particle in the intermediate layer and preventing the electrical performance of the particles, and the electrophotographic photoreceptor, from degrading ([0074]-[0076]). Sakimura further teaches methylhydrogenpolysiloxane is the preferred surface treatment material ([0089]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to ensure the titanium oxide particles in the ‘333 Application are treated with methylhydrogenpolysiloxane, as taught by Sakimura, to ensure they are properly dispersed in the polyamide resin, and their electrical properties aren’t degraded.
Regarding claim 2, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the metal oxide particles are titanium oxide particles. (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the diamine compound with the cycloalkane structure includes isophoronediamine. (claim 3)
Regarding claim 5, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the specific polyamide resin does not include a repeating unit derived from an aromatic dicarboxylic acid. (claim 7)
Regarding claim 7, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate layer has a thickness of at least 1 μm and no greater than 10 μm. (claim 8)
Regarding claim 8, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the specific inorganic particles have a content of at least 50 parts by mass and no greater than 1000 parts by mass relative to 100 parts by mass of the specific polyamide resin in the intermediate layer. (claim 9)
Regarding claim 9, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the specific inorganic particles have a number average primary particle diameter of at least 5 nm and no greater than 100 nm. (claim 10)
Regarding claim 10, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims The electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the photosensitive layer is a single layer. (claim 11)
Regarding claim 11, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims he electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1, wherein the photosensitive layer includes a charge generating layer and a charge transport layer, the charge generating layer is provided on the intermediate layer, and the charge transport layer is provided on the charge generating layer. (claim 12)
Regarding claim 12, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims A process cartridge comprising the electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1. (claim 13)
Regarding claim 13, the ‘333 Application claims all limitations as set forth above. The ‘333 Application further claims An image forming apparatus comprising: an image bearing member; a charger that charges a surface of the image bearing member; a light exposure device that exposes the charged surface of the image bearing member to light to form an electrostatic latent image on the surface of the image bearing member; a development device that develops the electrostatic latent image into a toner image by supplying toner to the surface of the image bearing member; and a transfer device that transfers the toner image from the image bearing member to a transfer target, wherein the image bearing member is the electrophotographic photosensitive member according to claim 1. (claim 14)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 18/676,173 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the ‘173 Application claims An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member; a charger that charges a surface of the image bearing member to positive polarity; a light exposure device that exposes the charged surface of the image bearing member to light to form an electrostatic latent image on the surface of the image bearing member; a development device that develops the electrostatic latent image into a toner image; a transfer device that transfers the toner image from the image bearing member to a transfer target; a cleaning member that collects toner attached to the surface of the image bearing member by contacting the surface of the image bearing member; and a controller that controls voltage to be applied to the cleaning member, wherein the controller causes a first voltage with negative polarity to be applied to the cleaning member in a printing mode, the image bearing member is an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a conductive substrate, an intermediate layer provided on the conductive substrate, and a photosensitive layer provided on the intermediate layer, the intermediate layer contains a specific polyamide resin and specific inorganic particles, the specific inorganic particles include metal oxide particles, the specific polyamide resin includes a first repeating unit derived from an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid and a second repeating unit derived from a diamine compound, and a total percentage content of the first repeating unit and the second repeating unit is at least 80% by mole to all repeating units included in the specific polyamide resin. (claim 1). The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the specific inorganic particles include surface treatment layers covering at least parts of surfaces of the metal oxide particles. (claim 5). The image forming apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the surface treatment layers contain at least one of aluminum oxide, silica, zirconia, stearic acid, and a component derived from an organic siloxane compound. (claim 6)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sakimura (JP 2003287914).
Regarding claims 1-5, and 9, Sakimura discloses an electrophotographic photoreceptor with an intermediate layer and a photosensitive layer on a conductive support. The intermediate layer contains a polyamide which includes a repeating unit with a no-linear structure between the amide components ([0017]). The polyamide resin has a repeating unit represented by formula (1), in which Y1 is a divalent alkyl substituted cycloalkane shown below by formula , Z1 is a methylene group, m is 1-3, and n is 3-20 ([0041]-[0044])
, Y1 =
Y1 is further specified as they structure shown above, with A representing a single bond or an alkylene group with 1-4 carbon atoms, R4 is a substituent, representing an alkyl group, and p is a natural number from 1-5 ([0044]-[0046]). Example compound N-12 is shown as a polyamide which is 90 mol% of dodecanedioic acid and isophoronediamine, with N-12 indicated as a preferred example ([0051]-[0053]). Sakimura further discloses the intermediate layer contains fine particles with a diameter of 10-400 nm dispersed in the polyamide resin, preferably titanium dioxide ([0058]-[0062]). Sakimura further discloses the fine particles are surface treated, with a preferred surface treatment being a reactive organosilicon compound, specifically methylhydrogenpolysiloxane ([0065], [0088]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 6, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. Sakimura further discloses the amount of reactive organosilicon compound used in the surface treatment is 0.1-50 parts by mass per 100 parts of titanium oxide ([0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. While Sakimura doesn’t disclose a specific range for the thickness of the intermediate layer, however the specific examples are 0.8-2.0 µm thick ([0139], [0143]).
Regarding claim 8, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. Sakimura further discloses the amount of surface treated titanium oxide dispersed in the polyamide resin is 10-10000 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of resin ([0094]).
Regarding claim 10, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. Sakimura further disclose the photoreceptor may use a single-layer photosensitive layer structure on the intermediate layer ([0111]).
Regarding claim 11, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. Sakimura further discloses the photoreceptor may use a multi-layer photosensitive layer, with a charge generation layer on the intermediate layer and a charge transport layer on top of the charge generation layer ([0111]).
Regarding claims 12-13, Sakimura discloses all limitations as set forth above. Sakimura further discloses a process cartridge and image forming apparatus using the electrophotographic photoreceptor ([0001], [0015]). The process cartridge includes the photoreceptor and one or more of the other electrophotographic components, and is integrally supported and detachably mounted to the image forming apparatus ([0028]). The image forming apparatus comprises the photoreceptor, a charging means to charge the photoreceptor, an image exposure means to expose the photoreceptor to light, forming a latent image, a development means to develop the latent image to produce a toner image, and a transfer means to transfer the image to recording paper ([0026], [0124]-[0132]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suzuki (US 20110244381) discloses a very similar electrophotographic photoconductor, comprising a specific polyamide undercoat (aka intermediate) layer comprising metal oxide particles dispersed in the resin. However, the polyamide of Suzuki requires an aromatic dicarboxylic acid in an amount of 0.1-10 mol% (Abstract, claim 1, [0042]).
/C.C.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/AMBER R ORLANDO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731