DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddique et al. (2023/0198294) and Linchieh et al. (2025/0135938).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 8, Siddique teaches (Fig. 1) a method and system for distribution of power, comprising:
using a power management system (100) having a power management system controller (12):
monitoring a load demand (26) of a power distribution system having at least two subregional grids (104a-d; [0013]);
communicating a power curve (via 22f-i) based, at least in part, on the load demand from each subregional grid to the power management system ([0014]);
analyzing the power curves by comparing a load demand power curve and a power output power curve of the power distribution system, and detecting one or more inflection points in the power curves, wherein the one or more inflection points is determined when a rate of change of the power curves is greatest ([0014] teaches analyzing and processing patterns, and detecting all points, past and future);
selectively distributing power from at least one power generation system (102a-e) to each subregional grid (104a-d), wherein the selective distribution is based, at least in part, on the power curve ([0018]-[0020]);
wherein the power distribution system comprises a power storage system having at least one battery (at least in the vehicle 104d);
directing, using the power management system, at least a portion of power produced by the at least one power generation system to the power storage system when load demand is low ([0020], teaches “energy storage” aka EV 104d battery); and
adjusting, using the power management system, power output distribution so as to flatten the power curves ([0018]; Siddique “flattens the curve” by “settling and balancing” the supply and demand).
Siddique fails to explicitly teach directing a portion of the power stored in the power storage system to the subregional grids when load demand is high. Linchieh teaches a similar method and system (Fig. 1) to that of Siddique. Linchieh teaches directing at least a portion of the power stored in a power storage system (122) to a grid when load demand is high ([0107]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to direct at least a portion of the power stored in Siddique’s EV batteries to the subregional grids when load demand is high, since Linchieh teaches this idea in a similar system and it would allow for increased usable power production capabilities.
Siddique also fails to explicitly teach distributing power over their long-haul distribution lines and local transmission lines using a back-to-back converter transmission system. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that back-to-back converter transmission systems are known to be used in long-haul distribution lines and local transmission lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively distribute power from the power generation system to each subregional grid using back-to-back converter transmission systems, since the Examiner takes Official Notice that they are known to be used in the relevant art and it would allow for the regulation of power along the transmission lines and the proper voltage can be received at each subregional grid.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Siddique teaches wherein the power generation system comprises a conventional power plant (102a; [0012]);
optimizing, using the power management system, the distribution of power produced from the convention power plant so as to flatten the power curve to minimize carbon dioxide emissions or maximize profits ([0021]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Siddique teaches wherein a mode of transmission to each subregional grid is alternating current (“AC”) power transmission (via Long-Haul distribution lines which are known to transmit AC power).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Siddique teaches the power distribution system comprises a power storage system having at least one battery (at least inside EV 104d),
directing, using the power management system, at least a portion of power produced from the power generation system, to be stored by the power storage system at the inflection point of the power curve. ([0020]; using battery/energy storage as needed to balance supply and demand more quickly (i.e. at inflection points); using all possible actions, like charging batteries, to flatten the curve as efficiently and quickly as possible)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner believes that Siddique (at [0014]) teaches analyzing the power curve by comparing a load demand power curve and a power output power curve. Siddique teaches receiving a real-time load demand power curve (i.e. usage data via 26) and a real-time power output power curve (i.e. production data via 24) and analyzing the data and processing patterns (including inflection points) to then adjust the power production and load demand to “flatten the power curve”. Siddique’s system also continually operates regardless of demand throughout the power distribution system (and subregional grids), ensuring efficient operation system wide.
Conclusion
DMP
2/12/2025
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836