DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10243899 hereinafter Homsany I in further view of Bashir et al hereinafter Bashir (US 20130254699).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as of follow
Referring to Claim 1. Homsany I discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a content management system, a content item associated with a first user (refer to Claim 1, 13);
receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (refer to Claim 1);
determining, by the content management system, a first user relationship between the second user and the first user (refer to claim 1 and claim 5, 15);
producing, by the content management system for the second user, a first version of the content item corresponding to the first user relationship (refer to Claim 1);
receiving, by the content management system, a second request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (refer to claim 10 and claim 1);
determining, by the content management system, a second user relationship between the third user and the first user (refer to claim 1, 5, 10, 11, and 15); and
producing, by the content management system for the third user, a second version of the content item in accordance with the second user relationship (refer to claim 1).
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 2. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses:
wherein the first user relationship is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first version of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (refer to claim 1, 3 and claim 6).
Referring to Claim 3. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 2, Homsany I discloses:
wherein the second user relationship is based on the third user having read-only access to the content item, and the second version of the content item is a clean version without the edit history information (refer to claim 1, 3 and 7).
Referring to Claim 4. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses:
receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the first version of the content item based on the first user relationship (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 5. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 4, Bashir discloses wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I o enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 6. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses:
wherein determining, by the content management system, the first user relationship between the second user and the first user comprises:
accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to claim 15).
Referring to Claim 7. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses:
wherein the first user is an author of the content item (refer to claim 17).
Referring to Claims 8 – 20, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-7.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11502980 hereinafter Homsany I in further view of Bashir et al hereinafter Bashir (US 20130254699).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as of follow
Referring to Claim 1. Homsany I discloses a method comprising receiving, by a content management system, a content item associated with a first user (refer to claim 1);
receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (refer to claim 1);
determining, by the content management system, a first user relationship between the second user and the first user (refer to claim 1);
producing, by the content management system for the second user, a first version of the content item corresponding to the first user relationship (refer to claim 1);
receiving, by the content management system, a second request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (refer to claim 1);
determining, by the content management system, a second user relationship between the third user and the first user; and
producing, by the content management system for the third user, a second version of the content item in accordance with the second user relationship (refer to claim 1).
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 2. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses wherein the first user relationship is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first version of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (refer to claim 1 and 2).
Referring to Claim 3. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 2, Homsany I discloses wherein the second user relationship is based on the third user having read-only access to the content item, and the second version of the content item is a clean version without the edit history information (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 4. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the first version of the content item based on the first user relationship (refer to claim 1 and 6).
Referring to Claim 5. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 4, Bashir wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I o enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 6. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses wherein determining, by the content management system, the first user relationship between the second user and the first user comprises:
accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to claim 1).
Referring to Claim 7. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Homsany I discloses wherein the first user is an author of the content item (refer to claim 1 and 7).
Referring to Claims 8-20, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-7.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,991129 hereinafter Homsany II hereinafter Homsany I in further view of Bashir et al hereinafter Bashir (US 20130254699).Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Referring to Claim 1. Homsany I discloses a method comprising:
producing, by the content management system for the second user, a first version of the content item corresponding to the first user relationship (refer to claim 1);
receiving, by the content management system, a second request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (refer to claim 1);
determining, by the content management system, a second user relationship between the third user and the first user (refer to claim 1); and
producing, by the content management system for the third user, a second version of the content item in accordance with the second user relationship (refer to claim 1).
Bashir, in analogous art, disclosing receiving, by a content management system, a content item associated with a first user (refer to 0067, Fig 9);
receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (sharing with different user, refer to Fig 9);
determining, by the content management system, a first user relationship between the second user and the first user (refer to Fig 7);
determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153) with different permission version (read-only or edit permission, refer to par 0053).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 2. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Bashir further discloses wherein the first user relationship is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first version of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (refer to par 0054, 0068).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 3. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 2, Bashir discloses wherein the second user relationship is based on the third user having read-only access to the content item, and the second version of the content item is a clean version without the edit history information (refer to par 0053).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 4. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Bashir discloses receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the first version of the content item based on the first user relationship (refer to par 0064, 0091).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 5. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 4, wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 6. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein determining, by the content management system, the first user relationship between the second user and the first user comprises:
accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to Claim 1 and 2).
Referring to Claim 7. Homsany I and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, wherein the first user is an author of the content item (refer to Fig 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Homsany I with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Homsany I to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claims 8-20, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-7.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al hereinafter Edelstein (US 20130262420) in further view of Bashir et al hereinafter Bashir (US 20130254699).
Referring to Claim 1. Edelstein discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a content management system, a content item associated with a first user (receive project/documents etc, refer to par 0033, 0035, 0119);
receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (sharing the content time access, refer to par 0037, 0118, 0156);
determining, by the content management system, a first user connection between the second user and the first user (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151);
producing, by the content management system for the second user, a first version of the content item corresponding to the first user relationship (refer to par 0044, 0069, Fig 7);
receiving, by the content management system, a second request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (user, amount plurality of users click on the link, refer to par 0038, 0044, 0051);
determining, by the content management system, a second user connection between the third user and the first user (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151); and
producing, by the content management system for the third user, a second version of the content item in accordance with the second user relationship (refer to par 0044, 0069, Fig 7).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 2. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user connection is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first version of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (history of the edit/modified version, refer to par 0161: A1 share to B1, clean version, determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151).
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 3. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 2, Edelstein further discloses wherein the second user connection is based on the third user having read-only access to the content item, and the second version of the content item is a clean version without the edit history information (shared to A2, Fig 7, no comments, clean version, v Jan 10, 0161, 0164, determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151).
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 4. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Edelstein further discloses receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the first version of the content item based on the first user relationship (received notes/metadata, refer to par 0169, determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151).
Referring to Claim 5. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 4, Bashir discloses wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 6. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Edelstein further discloses wherein determining, by the content management system, the first user connection between the second user and the first user comprises:
accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151).
Referring to Claim 7. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 1, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user is an author of the content item (sender, refer to par 0120).
Referring to Claim 8. Edelstein discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising one or more sequences of instructions, which, when executed by a processor, causes a content management system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by the content management system, a content item associated with a first user (receive project/documents etc, refer to par 0033, 0035, 0119); receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (sharing the content time access, refer to par 0037, 0118, 0156);
determining, by the content management system, a first user connection between the second user and the first user (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151);
modifying, by the content management system for the second user, a first display of the content item for the second user based on the first user for the second user (refer to par 0044, 0069, Fig 7);
receiving, by the content management system, a request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (user, amount plurality of users click on the link, refer to par 0038, 0044, 0051);
determining, by the content management system, a second user connection between the third user and the first user (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151); and
modifying, by the content management system for the third user, a second display of the content item for the third user based on the second user access rights (refer to par 0044, 0069, Fig 7).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 9. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user access right is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first display of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (user privilege as editor role to the content item, refer to par 0039).
Referring to Claim 10. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, Edelstein further discloses wherein the second user connection is based on the third user having read-only access to the content item, and the second display of the content item is a clean version without the edit history information (role as reader, read only access, refer to par 0039, 0040, 0111).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 11. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, Edelstein further discloses receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the content item based on the first user connection (metadata stores in the notes attached to the document/project, refer to 0035, 0065, 0066, 0071).
Referring to Claim 12. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11, Bashir discloses wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 13. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, Edelstein further discloses wherein determining, by the content management system, the first user connection between the second user and the first user comprises:
accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0082).
Referring to Claim 14. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user is an author of the content item (sender, refer to par 0120).
Referring to Claim 15. Edelstein discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a content management system, a content item associated with a first user (receive project/documents etc, refer to par 0033, 0035, 0119);
receiving, by the content management system, a request from the first user to share access to the content item with a second user (sharing the content time access, refer to par 0037, 0118, 0156);
determining, by the content management system, a first user relationship between the second user and the first user by accessing a user connection taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships (determine the access by granting access based on stores access information refer to par 0044, 0045, 0066, 0067, 0069, 0075-0079, 0081, 0149, 0151); and
producing, by the content management system for the second user, a first version of the content item corresponding to the first user relationship (refer to par 0044, 0069, Fig 7).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 16. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 15, Edelstein further discloses receiving, by the content management system, a second request, from a third user, to access to the content item in the content management system (user, amount plurality of users click on the link, refer to par 0038, 0044, 0051);
determining, by the content management system, a second user connection between the third user and the first user (refer to par 0035, 0044, 0045); and
producing, by the content management system for the third user, a second version of the content item in accordance with the second user relationship (refer to par 0044).
Referring to Claim 17. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 15, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user connection is based on the second user having editing privileges for the content item, and the first version of the content item includes edit history information visible to the second user (user privilege as editor role to the content item, refer to par 0039).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 18. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 15, Edelstein further discloses wherein the first user connection is based on the second user having read-only access to the content item, and the first version of the content item is a clean version without edit history information (role as reader, read only access, refer to par 0039, 0040, 0111).
Edelstein, although disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, did not explicitly using the term relationships.
Bashir, in analogous art, is introduced to emphasize it is well known in the art to determine relationships between users by accessing a user relationship taxonomy associated with the content management system, the user relationship taxonomy including a plurality of user relationships based on user interactions with other users (refer to par 0057) and produced the versions of the content item (refer to par 0143, 0153).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Referring to Claim 19. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 15, Edelstein further discloses:
receiving, by the content management system, a message from the first user, wherein the message is associated with the content item and is configured to be displayed to the second user upon accessing the first version of the content item based on the first user relationship (metadata stores in the notes attached to the document/project, refer to 0035, 0065, 0066, 0071).
Referring to Claim 20. Edelstein and Bashir disclosed the method of claim 19, Bashir discloses wherein the message includes a notification about an upcoming change to the content item, and the message is displayed to the second user in a designated message area within the content item (prompt before deleting the document, refer to par 0134, 0174).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Edelstein with Bashir because Bashir’s teaching would allow the system of Edelstein to enable secure, governed and audited collaboration over cloud platforms.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAREN C TANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3116. The examiner can normally be reached on 5:30am - 2:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joon H Hwang can be reached on (571) 272-4036. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447