DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 06/12/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-5 were previously pending. Claim 1, 4, 5 are amended. Claims 2-3 are canceled. Claims 1, 4, 5, are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection new prior art not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant further argues on page 7 of applicants remarks:
Inconsistency in design concept between Futaki and Jung (Teaching Away): Applicant respectfully submits that the main purpose of Jung is to suppress the processing load and power consumption of the UE. Combining the procedure of Futaki, which involves spontaneous signal transmission (transmission of a request message) from the UE, with the system of Jung completely contradicts the original design concept of Jung (suppression of processing load and power consumption). Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that there is no motivation for a person skilled in the art to combine Futaki with Jung.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, As indicated in the previous office action, Examiner introduces Futaki to teach the concept of receiving system information indicating the availability of network slices in a cell to be reselected. Since this allows the UE to be aware of the availability of network slices on a target cell, this would prevent unnecessary processing by the UE by preventing the UE from attempting to communicate with target cells on unavailable network slices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0124595 (foreign priority date of Oct. 18, 2021) to Jung et al. (hereinafter “Jung”) in view of US 2024/0381245 A1 to Liu (hereinafter “Liu”) and US 2019/0349840 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”)
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches A communication method performed in a user equipment in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state, the communication method comprising the steps of: (Figure 1F and [0161], illustrates UE in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE)
specifying, as a candidate cell for cell reselection, a cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group selected in accordance with a priority provided by a NAS layer; and ([0013], discloses a UE in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE includes a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals, and a controller connected to the transceiver. The controller is configured to camp on a first cell of a base station based on first SI received from the first cell, receive, from the first cell, second SI including slicing-based cell reselection information, identify a second cell to be reselected (i.e. specifying a candidate cell) based on the slicing-based cell reselection information and information about a priority of a slice group received through an upper layer, and perform a cell reselection procedure for the second cell. [0162] discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information. [0165], discloses NAS layer at UE provides slice information to AS layer at UE, including slice priority (priorities) for each slice or each slice group (i.e. priority provided by a NAS layer)
determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
wherein the determining comprises:
receiving a system information block from a serving cell of a user equipment for each of a plurality of network slice groups, ([0162], discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information)
the system information block comprising information indicating an identifier of the network slice group and a cell identifier of a cell that does not support the network slice group; and ([0182], discloses The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of all the neighboring cells existing at the serving NR frequency. In case that only specific neighboring cells among all the neighboring cells operating at the serving NR frequency support the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator), the neighboring cell list for representing this may be broadcasted through the SIB2. The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of only the neighboring cell list broadcasted at the serving NR frequency. Of course, the neighboring cell list that does not support (i.e. cell ID of a cell that does not support the network slice group) the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator) (i.e. identifier of the network slice group) may be broadcasted through the SIB2)
determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, based on the information. ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
Jung does not explicitly teach a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell.
However, the concept of including slice unavailability information in a system information of a candidate cell is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu discloses in [0064], the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided to the terminal by the network device. The slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided by the network device based on system information of the target cell. [0065], discloses the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell may be a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, or other identifiers, which are not limited by the embodiments of the present disclosure here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung to include the above limitations as suggested by Liu, to allow for reselection of a target cell in case a slice is not supported as indicated in [0217] of Liu, thus preventing selecting an unsuitable target cell.
Jung/Liu does not explicitly teach receiving from the candidate cell, another system information block indicating whether a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell is broadcast in the candidate cell; and
transmitting, to the candidate cell, a request message for requesting the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group, in response to determining that the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group is not broadcast in the candidate cell based on the another system information block.
However, the concept of receiving a system information message for indicating whether another SI message has already been broadcast is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhang discloses in Figure 4 and [0055]-[0056], receiving a first SI message (i.e. another system information block) in S420 including an indication information indicating whether the second SI message (i.e. the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group) is broadcast or not. If the indication information indicates that the second SI message is not broadcast, an SI request message is sent (i.e. transmitting a request message for requesting the system information block in response to determining the system information block is not broadcast) first at step S450; and then, the required system information block (SI13) is received according to the scheduling information in the received SI message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung/Liu to include the above limitations as suggested by Zhang, such that unnecessary overheads are avoided and system resources are saved while meeting the demand of a UE acquiring specific system information as indicated in [0014] of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 4, Jung teaches A user equipment comprising: a processor configured to perform: (Figure 16 and [0110], discloses UE with processor)
processing of specifying, as a candidate cell for cell reselection, a cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group selected in accordance with a priority provided by a NAS layer; and and ([0013], discloses a UE in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE includes a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals, and a controller connected to the transceiver. The controller is configured to camp on a first cell of a base station based on first SI received from the first cell, receive, from the first cell, second SI including slicing-based cell reselection information, identify a second cell to be reselected (i.e. specifying a candidate cell) based on the slicing-based cell reselection information and information about a priority of a slice group received through an upper layer, and perform a cell reselection procedure for the second cell. [0162] discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information. [0165], discloses NAS layer at UE provides slice information to AS layer at UE, including slice priority (priorities) for each slice or each slice group (i.e. priority provided by a NAS layer)
processing of determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
wherein the processing of the determining comprises:
processing of receiving a system information block from a serving cell of a user equipment for each of a plurality of network slice groups, ([0162], discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information)
the system information block comprising information indicating an identifier of the network slice group and a cell identifier of a cell that does not support the network slice group; ([0182], discloses The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of all the neighboring cells existing at the serving NR frequency. In case that only specific neighboring cells among all the neighboring cells operating at the serving NR frequency support the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator), the neighboring cell list for representing this may be broadcasted through the SIB2. The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of only the neighboring cell list broadcasted at the serving NR frequency. Of course, the neighboring cell list that does not support (i.e. cell ID of a cell that does not support the network slice group) the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator) (i.e. identifier of the network slice group) may be broadcasted through the SIB2)
and processing of determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, based on the information. ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
Jung does not explicitly teach a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell.
However, the concept of including slice unavailability information in a system information of a candidate cell is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu discloses in [0064], the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided to the terminal by the network device. The slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided by the network device based on system information of the target cell. [0065], discloses the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell may be a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, or other identifiers, which are not limited by the embodiments of the present disclosure here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung to include the above limitations as suggested by Liu, to allow for reselection of a target cell in case a slice is not supported as indicated in [0217] of Liu, thus preventing selecting an unsuitable target cell.
Jung/Liu does not explicitly teach process of receiving from the candidate cell, another system information block indicating whether a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell is broadcast in the candidate cell; and
process of transmitting, to the candidate cell, a request message for requesting the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group, in response to determining that the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group is not broadcast in the candidate cell based on the another system information block.
However, the concept of receiving a system information message for indicating whether another SI message has already been broadcast is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhang discloses in Figure 4 and [0055]-[0056], receiving a first SI message (i.e. another system information block) in S420 including an indication information indicating whether the second SI message (i.e. the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group) is broadcast or not. If the indication information indicates that the second SI message is not broadcast, an SI request message is sent (i.e. transmitting a request message for requesting the system information block in response to determining the system information block is not broadcast) first at step S450; and then, the required system information block (SI13) is received according to the scheduling information in the received SI message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung/Liu to include the above limitations as suggested by Zhang, such that unnecessary overheads are avoided and system resources are saved while meeting the demand of a UE acquiring specific system information as indicated in [0014] of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 5, Jung teaches An apparatus for controlling a user equipment, the apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, the processor configured to perform: (Figure 16 and [0110] and [0117], discloses UE with processor and memory)
([0013], discloses a UE in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE includes a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals, and a controller connected to the transceiver. The controller is configured to camp on a first cell of a base station based on first SI received from the first cell, receive, from the first cell, second SI including slicing-based cell reselection information, identify a second cell to be reselected (i.e. specifying a candidate cell) based on the slicing-based cell reselection information and information about a priority of a slice group received through an upper layer, and perform a cell reselection procedure for the second cell. [0162] discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information. [0165], discloses NAS layer at UE provides slice information to AS layer at UE, including slice priority (priorities) for each slice or each slice group (i.e. priority provided by a NAS layer)
processing of determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
wherein the processing of the determining comprises:
processing of receiving a system information block from a serving cell of a user equipment for each of a plurality of network slice groups, ([0162], discloses the serving cell on which the UE in the RRC_IDLE mode or in the RRC_INACTIVE state camps is featured to be able to broadcast supportable single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) (hereinafter, slice) or an S-NSSAI list (hereinafter, slice group) for each NR frequency or for one or a plurality of neighboring cells operating in each NR frequency (i.e. cell belonging to a frequency supporting a selected network slice group) through the system information)
the system information block comprising information indicating an identifier of the network slice group and a cell identifier of a cell that does not support the network slice group; ([0182], discloses The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of all the neighboring cells existing at the serving NR frequency. In case that only specific neighboring cells among all the neighboring cells operating at the serving NR frequency support the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator), the neighboring cell list for representing this may be broadcasted through the SIB2. The UE may perform the slice cell reselection evaluation procedure in consideration of only the neighboring cell list broadcasted at the serving NR frequency. Of course, the neighboring cell list that does not support (i.e. cell ID of a cell that does not support the network slice group) the slice (indicator) or the slice group (indicator) (i.e. identifier of the network slice group) may be broadcasted through the SIB2)
and processing of determining whether the candidate cell supports the selected network slice group, based on the information. ([0170], discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined according to cell reselection criteria (e.g., FIG. 1E) and suitable and supports the selected slice in step 2, then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operations)
Jung does not explicitly teach a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell.
However, the concept of including slice unavailability information in a system information of a candidate cell is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Liu discloses in [0064], the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided to the terminal by the network device. The slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell can be provided by the network device based on system information of the target cell. [0065], discloses the slice information of the network slice supported or not supported by the target cell may be a network slice identifier, a network slice group identifier, or other identifiers, which are not limited by the embodiments of the present disclosure here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung to include the above limitations as suggested by Liu, to allow for reselection of a target cell in case a slice is not supported as indicated in [0217] of Liu, thus preventing selecting an unsuitable target cell.
Jung/Liu does not explicitly teach process of receiving from the candidate cell, another system information block indicating whether a system information block including an identifier of an unavailable network slice group in the candidate cell is broadcast in the candidate cell; and
process of transmitting, to the candidate cell, a request message for requesting the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group, in response to determining that the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group is not broadcast in the candidate cell based on the another system information block.
However, the concept of receiving a system information message for indicating whether another SI message has already been broadcast is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhang discloses in Figure 4 and [0055]-[0056], receiving a first SI message (i.e. another system information block) in S420 including an indication information indicating whether the second SI message (i.e. the system information block including the identifier of the unavailable network slice group) is broadcast or not. If the indication information indicates that the second SI message is not broadcast, an SI request message is sent (i.e. transmitting a request message for requesting the system information block in response to determining the system information block is not broadcast) first at step S450; and then, the required system information block (SI13) is received according to the scheduling information in the received SI message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jung/Liu to include the above limitations as suggested by Zhang, such that unnecessary overheads are avoided and system resources are saved while meeting the demand of a UE acquiring specific system information as indicated in [0014] of Zhang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477