Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“quick release mechanism” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “quick release mechanism” in claim 11 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “generally cylindrical” this limitation does not have clear metes and bounds and one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised regarding when something meets the limitation “generally cylindrical”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2014/0060454 by Lash.
Regarding claim 1, Lash discloses a self-defense assembly comprising (abstract): a handle having an opening therethrough (see handle 10); a line attached at or near one end thereof to the handle (see tether 80); and a spool around which the line is coiled (fig. 9 para. 46-47 – see spool 90), the spool being attached at or near the other end of the line (fig. 5 – see the attachment points), configured to be inserted within the opening in the handle (fig. 3-4; para. 34-38 see the assembled grouping), and releasably secured to the handle (para. 34 – see the releasable form of the device).
Regarding claim 2, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 wherein said spool has one end thereof sized to abut the handle while the other end of the spool is sized to be inserted within the opening (fig. 4-5, 9 – see the arrangement of spool and handle).
Regarding claim 3, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 further comprising: a clip secured to the handle (fig. 5 – see the clip the is the manacle or cuff).
Regarding claim 4, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 further comprising: a clip secured to the spool (fig. 5 – see the clip the is the manacle or cuff with the cuff being attached to the spool).
Regarding claim 5, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 further comprising: a member having a slot, the other end of the spool passing through the handle being releasably secured within the slot and thereby releasably secured to the handle (fig. 9 – see the spool and the members securing it).
Regarding claim 6, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 5 wherein the member includes a clip secured thereto (fig. 5 – see the clip the is the manacle or cuff with the cuff being attached to the spool and the member).
Regarding claim 7, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 2 further comprising: a clip releasably secured to the other end of the spool (fig. 5 – see the clip the is the manacle or cuff with the cuff being attached to the spool; see also fig. 9 - the clip holding the spool in place).
Regarding claim 9, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 wherein the handle is a ring (fig. 5 – see the ring for securing a user’s finger near the trigger).
Regarding claim 10, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 wherein the handle has an enlarged portion for a user to grip while deploying the assembly (fig. 5 – see the handle grip area).
Regarding claim 11, Lash discloses the assembly of claim 1 further comprising: a quick release mechanism to releasably secure the spool to the handle (fig. 9; para. 46-47 – see the spool release mechanism).
Regarding claims 12-15 and 17-20, Lash discloses these claims as noted above regarding claims 1-7 and 9-11 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lash.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Lash does not explicitly disclose wherein the clip is a cotter pin. Examiner is taking official notice of cotter pins being used as a removable clip. Myriad examples of cotter pins used for this purpose can be found and one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a cotter pin as a clip because it is one of the many known connection implements for such purpose and one having ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the use of a cotter pin through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715