Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov (US 9373963) and Kuz336 (US 20190036336).
As to claim 1, Kuznetsov discloses a system for stabilizing and smoothing an electric power supply, the system comprising: a hybrid induction machine (Col 10, lines 36-40) comprising: a stator housing; a stator disposed in the stator housing (Col 7, lines 40-45),
the stator comprising: an input winding for a polyphase AC input signal, wherein the input winding is connected to an input port, and wherein the input winding comprises a first plurality of phase windings (Col 3, line 66 to Col 4, line 15);
a first output winding for a first polyphase AC output signal, wherein the first output winding is connected to a first output port, and wherein the first output winding comprises a second plurality of phase windings (Col 4, lines 30-62);
a second output winding for a second polyphase AC output signal, wherein the second output winding is connected to a second output port, and wherein the second output winding comprises a third plurality of phase windings (Col 4, lines 30-62);
a rotor having a shaft and disposed to rotate within a magnetic field of the input winding, the first output winding and the second output winding, wherein the shaft is connected to a flywheel (Col 5, lines 50-55),
the rotor further comprising: a primary rotor winding for a polyphase AC excitation signal (Col 4, lines 16-35), wherein the primary rotor winding is connected to a first rotor port, and wherein the primary rotor winding comprises a fourth set of phase windings in a same number of poles as the first plurality of phase windings (Col 5, lines 49-67),
a rotor exciter connected to the first rotor port and configured to provide an AC excitation signal (Col 13, lines 39-59);
and a power converter configured to receive a receive power from a main bus and provide AC power at a first frequency to the input port (Col 12, lines 45-54).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft.
Kuz336, however, discloses wherein each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft (Para 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft, as disclosed by Kuz336, in order to better control the speed of the machine.
As to claim 4, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the power converter is an AC-AC frequency converter (Para 0099 of Kuz336).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a first output voltage at the first output port is different than a second output voltage at the second output port (Col 4, lines 30-38 of Kuznetsov).
As to claim 10, Kuznetsov discloses a hybrid induction machine (Col 10, lines 36-40) comprising: a stator housing; a stator disposed in the stator housing (Col 7, lines 40-45),
the stator comprising: an input winding for a polyphase AC input signal, wherein the input winding is connected to an input port, and wherein the input winding comprises a first plurality of phase windings (Col 3, line 66 to Col 4, line 15);
a first output winding for a first polyphase AC output signal, wherein the first output winding is connected to a first output port, and wherein the first output winding comprises a second plurality of phase windings (Col 4, lines 30-62);
a second output winding for a second polyphase AC output signal, wherein the second output winding is connected to a second output port, and wherein the second output winding comprises a third plurality of phase windings (Col 4, lines 30-62);
a rotor having a shaft and disposed to rotate within a magnetic field of the input winding, the first output winding and the second output winding, wherein the shaft is connected to a flywheel (Col 5, lines 50-55),
the rotor further comprising: a primary rotor winding for a polyphase AC excitation signal (Col 4, lines 16-35), wherein the primary rotor winding is connected to a first rotor port, and wherein the primary rotor winding comprises a fourth set of phase windings in a same number of poles as the first plurality of phase windings (Col 5, lines 49-67),
a rotor exciter connected to the first rotor port and configured to provide an AC excitation signal (Col 13, lines 39-59);
and wherein the input port is configured to receive AC power at a first frequency from a main bus via a power converter (Col 12, lines 45-54).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft.
Kuz336, however, discloses wherein each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft (Para 0139).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with each phase winding is connected to one or more primary slip rings of a current collector on the shaft, as disclosed by Kuz336, in order to better control the speed of the machine.
As to claim 13, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the AC power received at the input port is converted to the first frequency from a lower, main bus frequency via the power converter (Para 0099 of Kuz336).
As to claim 17, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a first output voltage at the first output port is different than a second output voltage at the second output port (Col 4, lines 30-38 of Kuznetsov).
Claims 2-3, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and in view of Kuz935 (US 20220320935), Liben (US 20230412035), and JP458 (JP 2014505458).
As to claim 2, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1.
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding, wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding, and wherein the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically and magnetically uncoupled from one another.
Kuz935, however, discloses the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding (Para 0004), wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding (Para 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding, wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding, as disclosed by Kuz935, in order to optimize stability and improve the power factor of the machine.
Liben, however, discloses wherein the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically uncoupled from one another (Para 0136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically uncoupled from one another, as disclosed by Liben, in order to optimize electric isolation.
JP458, however, discloses the first output winding and the second output winding are magnetically uncoupled from one another (Para 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding and the second output winding are magnetically uncoupled from one another, as disclosed by JP458, in order to increase torque.
As to claim 3, the combination of Kuznetsov, Kuz336, Liben, and JP458 discloses the system of claim 2, wherein a primary pulsed load is connected to the first output port (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov), wherein a secondary pulsed load is connected to the second output port (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov), and wherein the primary pulsed load is larger than the secondary pulsed load (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 10.
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding, wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding, and wherein the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically and magnetically uncoupled from one another.
Kuz935, however, discloses the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding (Para 0004), wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding (Para 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding comprises a direct axis winding, wherein the second output winding comprises a quadrature axis winding, as disclosed by Kuz935, in order to optimize stability and improve the power factor of the machine.
Liben, however, discloses wherein the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically uncoupled from one another (Para 0136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding and the second output winding are electrically uncoupled from one another, as disclosed by Liben, in order to optimize electric isolation.
JP458, however, discloses the first output winding and the second output winding are magnetically uncoupled from one another (Para 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding and the second output winding are magnetically uncoupled from one another, as disclosed by JP458, in order to increase torque.
As to claim 12, the combination of Kuznetsov, Kuz336, Liben, and JP458 discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the hybrid induction machine is configured to power a primary pulsed load via the first output port (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov), wherein the hybrid induction machine is configured to power a secondary pulsed load via the second output port (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov), and wherein the primary pulsed load is larger than the secondary pulsed load (Col 3, lines 20-50 of Kuznetsov).
As to claim 14, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the hybrid induction machine of claim 10, wherein the first output winding is configured to be of a different time-constant than the second output winding (Col 14, lines 59-65 of Kuznetsov).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and in view of Zhang (CN 112531652).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second output winding is a harmonic damper winding (Col 12, lines 26-59 of Kuznetsov).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose an isolated RC filter network.
Zhang, however, discloses an isolated RC filter network (“The filter circuit of this device is a low-pass filter circuit composed of an RC filter circuit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with an isolated RC filter network, as disclosed by Zhang, to filter out undesired noise.
As to claim 15, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the second output winding is a harmonic damper winding (Col 12, lines 26-59 of Kuznetsov).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose an isolated RC filter network.
Zhang, however, discloses an isolated RC filter network (“The filter circuit of this device is a low-pass filter circuit composed of an RC filter circuit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with an isolated RC filter network, as disclosed by Zhang, to filter out undesired noise.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and in view of Howard (US 20230170705).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the main bus is an AC power bus (Para 0031 of Kuz336).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose a feed-forward harmonic signal generator disposed between the main bus and an external load which generates harmonic currents, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with an AC filter reactor or a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics in alternating current provided by the main bus to the external load.
Howard, however, discloses a feed-forward harmonic signal generator disposed between the main bus and an external load which generates harmonic currents (Para 0057), wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with an AC filter reactor or a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer (Para 0035 and 0057), wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics in alternating current provided by the main bus to the external load (Para 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with a feed-forward harmonic signal generator disposed between the main bus and an external load which generates harmonic currents, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with an AC filter reactor or a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics in alternating current provided by the main bus to the external load, as disclosed by Howard, to improve the performance of the machine by allowing for better control of current.
As to claim 16, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 10, rotor exciter (Col 14, lines 5-20), and alternating current provided by a main bus (Kuz336).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose a feed-forward harmonic cancellation signal from a feed-forward harmonic signal generator based on an external load with high current harmonics, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with an AC filter reactor or a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics.
Howard, however, discloses a feed-forward harmonic cancellation signal from a feed-forward harmonic signal generator based on an external load with high current harmonics (Para 0057), wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer (Para 0035 and 0057), wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics (Para 0035 and 0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with a feed-forward harmonic cancellation signal from a feed-forward harmonic signal generator based on an external load with high current harmonics, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator comprises at least one of: a harmonic sensor in combination with an AC filter reactor or a harmonic sensor in combination with a current transformer, wherein the feed-forward harmonic signal generator is configured to generate and pass a compensation signal tuned to harmonics, as disclosed by Howard, to improve the performance of the machine by allowing for better control of current.
Claims 8-9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and in view of Kuz935.
As to claim 8, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the stator has a body comprising conductor slots disposed radially relative to an axis of rotation of the rotor (Col 5, lines 60-65 of Kuznetsov).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein the first output winding is a direct axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a first radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor, wherein the second output winding is a quadrature axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a second radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor, and wherein the first radius is less than the second radius.
Kuz935, however, discloses wherein the first output winding is a direct axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a first radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor (Para 0004-0005), wherein the second output winding is a quadrature axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a second radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor (Para 0004-0005), and wherein the first radius is less than the second radius (Fig. 17B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the first output winding is a direct axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a first radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor, wherein the second output winding is a quadrature axis winding disposed on the conductor slots at a second radius relative to the axis of rotation of the rotor, and wherein the first radius is less than the second radius, as disclosed by Kuz935, to optimize the magnetic field generated for efficiency.
As to claim 9, the combination of Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and Kuz935 discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the rotor has a body comprising radially directed conductors slots (Para 0139 of Kuz336), and wherein the rotor is excited by a variable-frequency polyphase power supply (Para 0062 of Kuz336).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose to enable stator output frequency to be maintained at a constant value with rotor speed variations over a 20:1 range.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They would merely depend on how one decides to design the ratio for stator output frequency and rotor speed variations. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that stator output frequency to be maintained at a constant value with rotor speed variations over a 20:1 range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the system of Kuznetsov, such that stator output frequency to be maintained at a constant value with rotor speed variations over a 20:1 range, in order to have the machine operate at certain parameters.
As to claim 18, the combination of Kuznetsov and Kuz336 discloses the system of claim 10, and the second rotor winding has an independent set of current collectors to an ancillary output port (Para 0038 of Kuz336).
Kuznetsov fails to disclose wherein the second output winding creates a quadrature axis flux which magnetizes a second polyphase rotor winding based on a magnitude of the second output load current.
Kuz935, however, discloses the second output winding creates a quadrature axis flux which magnetizes a second polyphase rotor winding based on a magnitude of the second output load current (Para 0004-0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Kuznetsov with the second output winding creates a quadrature axis flux which magnetizes a second polyphase rotor winding based on a magnitude of the second output load current, as disclosed by Kuz935, to optimize the magnetic field generated for efficiency.
As to claim 19, the combination of Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and Kuz935 discloses the hybrid induction machine of claim 18, wherein the second rotor winding is excited in a separate magnetic circuit from an exciting magnetic circuit of the first rotor winding to the second output winding (Para 0035 of Kuz336), allowing load current to control magnetization (Para 0035 of Kuz336).
As to claim 20, the combination of Kuznetsov, Kuz336, and Kuz935 discloses the hybrid induction machine of claim 19, wherein two stator ports and an ancillary output port of the second rotor winding have separate output voltage levels (Para 0078 and 0155 of Kuz336), and wherein overall excitation and machine response are controlled by one main excitation winding on the rotor (Para 0029 and 0039 of Kuz336).
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834