DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the USC 112(d) issue and the USC 112(b) issues regarding “assuming that”.
Applicant’s amendments have not resolved USC 112(b) issue regarding claim 11 and “Dexp”. Specifically, it appears Applicant focuses on the meaning of an optical element having not refractive power, but this isn’t the issue. In other words, it isn’t unclear what such elements are - i.e. prisms, IR filters, etc.
The issue is how to calculate Dexp given what Applicant’s specification shows and describes and the claimed definition. As in Figure 2, Dexp is shown as a linear distance between Pexp and Sim. However Dexp includes several lenses. In calculating Dexp, what distances/values are used for the lenses? The physical distances? Or the air-equivalent? As Figure 2 shows, Dexp would be the physical distance, not the air-equivalent.
Similarly, Figure 2 does not include/show an element with no power, thus how is Dexp calculated “using an air-equivalent distance” for a member that isn’t present? In other words, if there are no filters, prisms, etc. can Dexp still be calculated given the requirement “using an air-equivalent distance” for such unpowered member.
Lastly, if a filter were inserted in the space of Bf in Figure 2, does Dexp change? As per Figure 2, Dexp shouldn’t change since the physical distance from Pexp to Sim wouldn’t change, yet as per Applicant’s remarks, maybe Dexp would change?
In summary, Applicant’s specification and definition of Dexp fail to provide an understanding of how to calculate Dexp and thus infringement is unclear to those of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2173 - The primary purpose of this requirement of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 11, the claim recites “Dexp is calculated using an air-equivalent distance for an optical member having no refractive power in a case where the optical member is disposed between the image plane and the paraxial exit pupil position” is unclear. As per Applicant’s specification (Fig. 2), Dexp is shown as a linear distance from Pexp to Sim, however there does not appear to be any “optical member having no refractive power…disposed between the image plane and the paraxial exit pupil position”. The metes and bounds are unclear since what such optical member with no refractive power is, appears to be a relative/subjective element (MPEP 2173.05(b)). In other words, without an unpowered optical element, how is Dexp calculated?
If a filter were inserted in the space of Bf in Figure 2, does Dexp change? As per Figure 2, Dexp shouldn’t change since the physical distance from Pexp to Sim wouldn’t change, yet as per Applicant’s remarks, maybe Dexp would change?
Thus the calculation of Dexp appears relative/subjective to the arbitrarily located and defined optical member having no refractive power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (US 2021/0255442 - Kondo; of record).
Examiner’s note: the USC 102 rejection is based on an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03).
As to claim 21, Kondo teaches an imaging lens (Kondo Fig. 3) consisting of, in order from an object to an image side
a first lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G1);
a stop (Kondo Fig. 3 - St);
a second lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G2);
a third lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G3);
wherein at least a spacing between the second lens group and third lens group changes during focusing (Kondo Fig. 3 - focusing movement arrow (G2); para. [0047]);
the number of lenses included in the imaging lens is equal to or greater than 7 and equal to or less than 10 (Kondo Fig. 3 - L11-L32 = 10);
and satisfying:
0.6 < TL/(f*tan(w)) < 3 (Kondo Tables 4, 5 - TL = ∑d + Bf ≈ 72.9; f = 35.913; w = 83.0/2 = 41.5);
0.06 < Bf/(f*tan(w)) < 0.9 (Kondo Tables 4, 5 - Bf = 21.162; f = 35.913; w = 83.0/2 = 41.5);
0.95 < f/f1 < 2 (Kondo para. [0067] - teaching -0.6 < f/f1 < 1.5 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity and thus the claimed range is anticipated (MPEP 2131.03)).
As to claim 22, Kondo teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kondo further teaches satisfying 0.95 < f/f1 < 1.8 (Kondo para. [0067] - teaching -0.6 < f/f1 < 1.5 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity and thus the claimed range is anticipated (MPEP 2131.03)).
As to claim 23, Kondo teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kondo further teaches an imaging apparatus with an imaging element that outputs a captured image signal based on a subject image formed by the imaging lens (Kondo Fig. 3; Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (cited above).
Examiner’s note: the USC 103 rejection is based on overlapping ranges being prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 21, Kondo teaches an imaging lens (Kondo Fig. 3) consisting of, in order from an object to an image side
a first lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G1);
a stop (Kondo Fig. 3 - St);
a second lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G2);
a third lens group (Kondo Fig. 3 - G3);
wherein at least a spacing between the second lens group and third lens group changes during focusing (Kondo Fig. 3 - focusing movement arrow (G2); para. [0047]);
the number of lenses included in the imaging lens is equal to or greater than 7 and equal to or less than 10 (Kondo Fig. 3 - L11-L32 = 10);
and satisfying:
0.6 < TL/(f*tan(w)) < 3 (Kondo Tables 4, 5 - TL = ∑d + Bf ≈ 72.9; f = 35.913; w = 83.0/2 = 41.5);
0.06 < Bf/(f*tan(w)) < 0.9 (Kondo Tables 4, 5 - Bf = 21.162; f = 35.913; w = 83.0/2 = 41.5);
0.95 < f/f1 < 2 (Kondo para. [0067] - teaching -0.6 < f/f1 < 1.5 which is an overlapping range and thus prima facia obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to satisfy 0.95 < f/f1 < 2 since, as taught by Kondo, such condition allows for reducing the total length of the system (Kondo para. [0067]).
As to claim 22, Kondo teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kondo further teaches satisfying 0.95 < f/f1 < 1.8 (Kondo para. [0067] - teaching -0.6 < f/f1 < 1.5 which is an overlapping range and thus prima facia obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
As to claim 23, Kondo teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Kondo further teaches an imaging apparatus with an imaging element that outputs a captured image signal based on a subject image formed by the imaging lens (Kondo Fig. 3; Fig. 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 12-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: as per Applicant’s amendments filed May 26, 2026, the claims incorporated the allowable subject matter as discussed in the Office Action mailed February 24, 2026.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 26, 2026