DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental steps without significantly more. As per step 1 examiner recognizes the claims are directed towards electronic devices or methods using electronic devices performing computer steps such as displaying of virtual objects. Therefore step 1 is met. As per step 2A the claim(s) recite(s) “displaying a virtual object and a virtual natural element representing a virtual natural phenomenon in a virtual scene, wherein the virtual natural element is stationary in the virtual scene; transforming the virtual natural element into an interactive target object when the virtual object is within a negative impact region of the virtual natural element; and controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object in the virtual scene when an interaction instruction for the target object is received.” As being directed towards a game comprising the step of determining when a player object is within a negative impact region of a natural element and transforming the natural element into an interactive target object for interaction with the player object. Further dependent claims defines rules such as negative effects of the impact region, clearing of the impact region upon enemy defeat, searching, and other rules related to the game. Examiner recognizes the highlighted section is a rule for a game wherein a game operator determines when a player is within a certain region of the game in order to trigger an effect. Specifically it is a mental step that would allow a game operator to determine that a player is within a storm and then transforming the storm into a character that can be fought for the purpose of clearing the storm. See for example cited prior art Monster Hunter below which shows a similar mental step function wherein an enemy character generates a storm which blocks progress and upon defeat by a player the storm is cleared. This is a rule for how to play a game which can be performed mentally. For example it is well-known that RPG games can be played by individuals using paper and pencil such as famous RPG systems such as Dungeon and Dragons or Pathfinder. An individual in those system is able to imagine the world including weather effects on the world and therefore would be able to mentally apply the rule to fight enemy characters in order to clear storms. This would also go towards such human concepts as past societies believing that thunder storms were caused by entities such as gods or demons and therefore the personification of a storm would predate the use of computers as well. Therefore the invention is directed towards a rule for a game which can be performed as a mental function. As per the computer elements see below. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims remain directed towards rules for a game which are mental steps. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are directed towards the playing of a game and do not include a practical application such as an improvement in the function of a machine or other recognized practical improvement. New rules for how to play a game goes towards themes for a game and are not of themselves a practical improvement. Additionally the action of making a game more entertaining or appealing is a subjective feature and goes towards the fundamental purpose of gaming and therefore does not provide a practical improvement.
As per step 2B examiner recognizes that limitation “interaction method of controlling a virtual object in a virtual scene performed by an electronic device” and other display steps are directed towards the conventional feature of electronic video games. See Yoshimura (US Pub. No. 2009/0262112 A1) shows at paragraph [0010] that it is conventional to include a virtual game environment for a game comprising a virtual camera which is adjusted to change the focus of the view on an virtual object. Specifically is well-known and conventional for electronic video games to display and control virtual objects including the virtual objects to interact with each other. Therefore the steps of displaying and controlling of virtual objects is conventional to the art and do not provide significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-10, 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monster Hunter as evidenced by https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monster_Hunter_Portable_3rd and "Monster Hunter Portable 3rd -- 8★ Online Urgent Quest: Amatsu / Amatsumagatsuchi" from octaneblue (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuG1N_vVw9Q) (3/14/2013 as published date).
As per claims 1, 14, and 20, Monster Hunter teaches an interaction method of controlling a virtual object in a virtual scene performed by an electronic device comprising a memory, configured to store a computer-executable instruction; and a processor, configured to, when executing the computer-executable instruction stored in the memory, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Page 1 see platforms which are gaming devices for carrying out the game and see video with examples pictures attached which shows virtual characters fighting in a virtual environment), the method comprising: displaying a virtual object and a virtual natural element representing a virtual natural phenomenon in a virtual scene (the cited video and attached images shows a virtual object representing a player character, see image time stamped at 2:03, and a virtual natural phenomenon representing a storm, see attached images which shows storms effects and video of the storm, which obstructs a player via taking down their vehicle), wherein the virtual natural element is stationary in the virtual scene (see time stamp 1:58 where it has a fixed location on the map where a player goes to fight the dragon enemy); transforming the virtual natural element into an interactive target object when the virtual object is within a negative impact region of the virtual natural element (see time stamp 1:58 where it has a fixed location on the map where a player goes to fight the dragon enemy); and controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object in the virtual scene when an interaction instruction for the target object is received (see images starting at time stamp 2:03 which shows the fight with the dragon enemy).
As per claim 2, Monster Hunter teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: dynamically displaying a relative positional relationship between the virtual object and the virtual natural element on a map of the virtual scene (see time stamp 1:58 where it has a fixed location on the map where a player goes to fight the dragon enemy with the storm).
As per claim 3, Monster Hunter teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: displaying a first negative impact value caused by the virtual natural element to the virtual object when the virtual object is within the negative impact region of the virtual natural element, the first negative impact value indicating a degree of obstruction caused by the virtual natural element to movement of the virtual object within the negative impact region (See at least times of the video shown by the first four images wherein a player’s vehicle is obstructed and wherein visual sight is obscured by the storm such as when in the cave. Examiner recognizes the last image of clear weather shows the obstruction of visibility during the storm).
As per claims 4 and 15, Monster Hunter teaches a method and device wherein the method further comprises: determining a duration of the virtual object in the virtual scene (with reference to the video around the 3:26 mark the dragon enemy surrounds itself with additional wind and generates tornadoes which negatively affect players by making it harder to move or attack than usual. This occurs after the fight has reached a certain duration); and dynamically displaying a second negative impact value of the virtual object, the second negative impact value being positively correlated with the duration, the second negative impact value indicating a degree of obstruction caused to movement of the virtual object within the virtual scene (with reference to the video around the 3:26 mark the dragon enemy surrounds itself with additional wind and generates tornadoes which negatively affect players by making it harder to move or attack than usual. This occurs after the fight has reached a certain duration).
As per claims 7 and 18, Monster Hunter teaches a method and device wherein the method further comprises: generating at least one interactive first object in an idle state when the virtual object is within the negative impact region of the virtual natural element (see video around 1:40 marker and shown by included image of a chest which is a virtual object which is first shown ideal and then opens on interaction to allow for items to be selected); and controlling the virtual object to interact with the first object in the virtual scene in response to an interaction instruction for the virtual object, the interaction being configured for transforming the first object from the idle state to an interactive state (see video around 1:40 marker and shown by included image of a chest which is a virtual object which is first shown ideal and then opens on interaction to allow for items to be selected).
As per claims 9 and 19, Monster Hunter teaches a method and device wherein the controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object in the virtual scene when an interaction instruction for the target object is received comprises: displaying a search picture in which the target object searches the virtual scene for the virtual object (see time stamp 1:58 wherein the search is on a map); and controlling the virtual object to interact with the target object in the virtual scene when the target object finds the virtual object and performs the interactive operation on the virtual object and the interaction instruction for the target object is received (see time stamp 1:58 where it has a fixed location on the map where a player goes to fight the dragon enemy with the storm).
As per claim 10, Monster Hunter teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: transforming the target object back into the virtual natural element when the target object does not find the virtual object within the negative impact region within a target duration (see example picture with time limit of 50 mins meaning the fight would not occur if the time limit is exceeded and the boss would disappear till the quest starts again).
As per claim 12, Monster Hunter teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: radiatively eliminating the negative impact within the negative impact region caused by the virtual natural element at a preset rate with a position of the target object as a center when the virtual object kills the target object (see video at end of fight represented by last image as the weather clear centered around the first as more light occurs over a period of time).
As per claim 13, Monster Hunter teaches a method wherein the method further comprises: controlling the virtual object to move toward the virtual natural element in response to a movement instruction for the virtual object, and displaying an interactive second object in the virtual scene (see video and attached images which shows two players Felicia and Zeo which would have the action where one finds the boss first); displaying a picture in which the second object searches the virtual scene for the virtual object when the virtual object does not enter the negative impact region (see video and attached images which shows two players Felicia and Zeo which would have the action where one finds the boss first); and controlling the virtual object to interact with the second object in the virtual scene in response to the interaction instruction for the virtual object when the second object finds the virtual object and performs the interactive operation on the virtual object (see video and attached images which shows two players Felicia and Zeo which would have the action where one finds the boss first).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
"Forspoken - Breakstorm Guide" by Wolf Knight (1/24/2023)(https://samurai-gamers.com/forspoken/breakstorm-guide/) teaches a game comprising storms wherein players fight waves of enemies in order to clear the storm.
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 2/10/2026