DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment received 03 March 2026.
Claims 1, 8 and 15-20 are currently amended and claims 2-7 and 9-14 are as originally presented. In summary, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
The amendment of claims 15-20 has cured the basis for the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention was directed to non-statutory subject matter, thus, the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 15-20 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vilcovsky et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0226000 A1, already of record, hereafter ‘6000) and in view of Zhou et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0152734 A1, hereafter ‘734).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky teaches a computer-implemented method (‘6000; Abstract; a method for operating a mirror-display) comprising: providing, by one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), an Augmented Reality (AR) user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0224; In step 1704 the user is given user control over the display. In one embodiment, the specific control preferences are saved for each particular user and are activated once the user has been recognized. Otherwise, general user interface is enabled, e.g., a hand gesture activated interface) of an AR system to a user (‘6000; ¶ 0066; FIG. 1 is a system block diagram for an augmented reality platform supporting a real-time or recorded video/image processing. The system can include one or a plurality (1:n) of input devices 101, including a video camera, a still camera, an IR camera, a 2D camera or a 3D camera. The input device 101 can be adapted to send information to one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send information to one or a plurality (1:m) of screens 106. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from an interface or user interface module 110. The interface 110 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from one or more of a cloud, a web/store or a user device, e.g., smart phone or tablet.), the AR user interface displayed on a display screen (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails); capturing, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), using one or more cameras (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), scene image data of a real-world scene (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) including the user (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), pre-processed scene image data using the scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…) generating, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) using the pre-processed scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), mirror image data using the restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); generating, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), AR mirror image data using the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); and providing, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), an AR mirror image to the user using the AR mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) and the AR user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails) and does not teach a model trained to restore the scene image data by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen, a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen, or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen.
Zhou, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches a model trained to restore the scene image data (‘734; ¶ 0005, Another disclosed example provides a computing device comprising a display, a camera positioned behind the display, a logic subsystem, and a storage subsystem storing instructions executable by the logic subsystem to acquire an image through the display via the camera, input the image into a machine learning model trained on degraded and undegraded image pairs, and output, via the machine learning model, a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to having acquiring the image through the display; fig. 12; ¶ 0017, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example architecture of an image restoration machine learning model in the form of a convolutional neural network (CNN).) by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0047, FIG. 4 shows example diffraction patterns obtained by illuminating an example tOLED display 402 and an example pOLED display 404 with coherent red light in a wavelength of 633 nanometers (nm), revealing the point spread function (PSF) of each through-display imaging system. The tOLED display 402 comprises a grating-like structure of vertical slits, and the resulting diffraction pattern 406 extends primarily in a horizontal direction. The pOLED display 404 comprises a pentile structure and the diffraction pattern 408 extends in vertical and horizontal directions.), a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045, ….The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel…), or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045,…The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel. The low light transmission translates to less light reaching the camera lens, causing a relatively lower signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) compared to the tOLED display 200) for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have combined the techniques for implementing a model trained to restore the scene image data as taught by Zhou with the AR mirror systems and methods taught by Vilcovsky for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and further teach the method as further comprising: capturing, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), using one or more scene-reference cameras of the AR system (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 2 and further teach wherein generating the pre-processed scene image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 3 and further teach wherein generating the mirror image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0035; FIG. 15 illustrates an example of a virtual mirror with user recognition and authentication and with user interface on the background (reference scene image data ) of fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and further teach the method as further comprising: capturing, by the one or more processors, using one or more user-reference cameras, user image data (‘6000; fig. 15; ¶ 0223; In step 1702, as a user approaches the mirror and the user's presence is sensed, e.g., by motion sensor or by detecting a change in the image seen by the camera, the system initiates operation in mirror mode. That is, the controller perform transformation operation on the image of the user, such that the image presented on the monitor mimics the user's reflection in a mirror); determining, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), an eye level of the user using the user image data (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror); and positioning, by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), the one or more cameras at the eye level of the user using the eye level of the user (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and further teach wherein generating the AR mirror image data comprises: detecting a user image in the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); and overlaying a virtual object on the user image (‘6000; ¶ 0082; FIG. 2 depicts an example of an augmented reality module, which can correspond with the augmented reality module 104 described above. Specifically, the augmented reality module can have a function of allowing a user to virtually dress themselves, change appearances, such as color, accessories, etc. In this embodiment, the system obtains input image or video from, for example, the EyesMatch computerized method 201, or from any other image/video source, e.g., user smartphone, security camera, Google glass, mobile camera or stationary camera. Additional embodiments can include additional geometric information that will help to calculate proportion like user height, gaze and the like. If the user video or image is coming from the EyesMatch module (calibrated image/video), a more comprehensive model can be created that allows for body measurements, object pose, size, highly accurate orientation detection and the like. The additional information that can be calculated from the calibrated object or video can allow for object fitting, object replacement and insertion of new objects into the frame/video, since any distortion introduced by the location and field of view of the camera has been accounted for and corrected. These corrections enable highly accurate measurements of the user height, waist, etc., and fitting of the user's body to generally classified body types).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and further teach wherein the display screen is a see-through display screen (‘6000; ¶ 0042; In the disclosed embodiments the camera can be located anywhere. A best practice is to provide the camera above the screen facing the user. Additional locations can include the bottom of the screen, the sides of the screen or behind the screen if the screen is a bidirectional screen.), and wherein the one or more cameras are positioned behind the display screen to capture the scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0042; In the disclosed embodiments the camera can be located anywhere. A best practice is to provide the camera above the screen facing the user. Additional locations can include the bottom of the screen, the sides of the screen or behind the screen if the screen is a bidirectional screen.).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky teaches a machine (‘6000; ¶ 0015; In some embodiments, computer implemented method for operating a system having a monitor, a camera, and a processor is provided and configured so as to display a user's image on the monitor…), and comprising: on a device having the processor and a memory storing a program for execution by the processor (‘6000; [0235] The embodiments may be implemented in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor, comprising: on a device having the processor and a memory storing a program for execution by the processor, the program including instructions for: sensing for a user; initiating a mirror-mimicking mode for displaying the mirror-mimicking image on the monitor; initiating an authentication process; and prompting the user to control the monitor); comprising: one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…); and a memory storing instructions that (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), when executed by the one or more processors (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), cause the machine to perform operations (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…) comprising: providing an Augmented Reality (AR) user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0224; In step 1704 the user is given user control over the display. In one embodiment, the specific control preferences are saved for each particular user and are activated once the user has been recognized. Otherwise, general user interface is enabled, e.g., a hand gesture activated interface) of an AR system to a user (‘6000; ¶ 0066; FIG. 1 is a system block diagram for an augmented reality platform supporting a real-time or recorded video/image processing. The system can include one or a plurality (1:n) of input devices 101, including a video camera, a still camera, an IR camera, a 2D camera or a 3D camera. The input device 101 can be adapted to send information to one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send information to one or a plurality (1:m) of screens 106. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from an interface or user interface module 110. The interface 110 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from one or more of a cloud, a web/store or a user device, e.g., smart phone or tablet.), the AR user interface displayed on a display screen (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails); capturing using one or more cameras (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), scene image data of a real-world scene (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) including the user (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating pre-processed scene image data using the scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) using the pre-processed scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating mirror image data using the restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); generating AR mirror image data using the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); and providing an AR mirror image to the user using the AR mirror image data and the AR user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) and the AR user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails) and does not tech a model trained to restore the scene image data by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen, a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen, or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen.
Zhou, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches a model trained to restore the scene image data (‘734; ¶ 0005, Another disclosed example provides a computing device comprising a display, a camera positioned behind the display, a logic subsystem, and a storage subsystem storing instructions executable by the logic subsystem to acquire an image through the display via the camera, input the image into a machine learning model trained on degraded and undegraded image pairs, and output, via the machine learning model, a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to having acquiring the image through the display; fig. 12; ¶ 0017, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example architecture of an image restoration machine learning model in the form of a convolutional neural network (CNN).) by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0047, FIG. 4 shows example diffraction patterns obtained by illuminating an example tOLED display 402 and an example pOLED display 404 with coherent red light in a wavelength of 633 nanometers (nm), revealing the point spread function (PSF) of each through-display imaging system. The tOLED display 402 comprises a grating-like structure of vertical slits, and the resulting diffraction pattern 406 extends primarily in a horizontal direction. The pOLED display 404 comprises a pentile structure and the diffraction pattern 408 extends in vertical and horizontal directions.), a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045, ….The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel…), or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045,…The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel. The low light transmission translates to less light reaching the camera lens, causing a relatively lower signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) compared to the tOLED display 200) for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have combined the techniques for implementing a model trained to restore the scene image data as taught by Zhou with the AR mirror systems and methods taught by Vilcovsky for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 8 and further teach wherein the operations further comprise: capturing, using one or more scene-reference cameras of the AR system (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 9 and further teach wherein generating the pre-processed scene image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 10 and further teach wherein generating the mirror image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 8 and further teach wherein the operations further comprise: capturing, using one or more user-reference cameras, user image data (‘6000; fig. 15; ¶ 0223; In step 1702, as a user approaches the mirror and the user's presence is sensed, e.g., by motion sensor or by detecting a change in the image seen by the camera, the system initiates operation in mirror mode. That is, the controller perform transformation operation on the image of the user, such that the image presented on the monitor mimics the user's reflection in a mirror); determining an eye level of the user using the user image data (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror); and positioning the one or more cameras at the eye level of the user using the eye level of the user (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 8 and further teach wherein generating the AR mirror image data comprises: detecting a user image in the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); and overlaying a virtual object on the user image (‘6000; ¶ 0082; FIG. 2 depicts an example of an augmented reality module, which can correspond with the augmented reality module 104 described above. Specifically, the augmented reality module can have a function of allowing a user to virtually dress themselves, change appearances, such as color, accessories, etc. In this embodiment, the system obtains input image or video from, for example, the EyesMatch computerized method 201, or from any other image/video source, e.g., user smartphone, security camera, Google glass, mobile camera or stationary camera. Additional embodiments can include additional geometric information that will help to calculate proportion like user height, gaze and the like. If the user video or image is coming from the EyesMatch module (calibrated image/video), a more comprehensive model can be created that allows for body measurements, object pose, size, highly accurate orientation detection and the like. The additional information that can be calculated from the calibrated object or video can allow for object fitting, object replacement and insertion of new objects into the frame/video, since any distortion introduced by the location and field of view of the camera has been accounted for and corrected. These corrections enable highly accurate measurements of the user height, waist, etc., and fitting of the user's body to generally classified body types).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the machine of claim 8 and further teach wherein the display screen is a see-through display screen (‘6000; ¶ 0042; In the disclosed embodiments the camera can be located anywhere. A best practice is to provide the camera above the screen facing the user. Additional locations can include the bottom of the screen, the sides of the screen or behind the screen if the screen is a bidirectional screen.), and wherein the one or more cameras are positioned behind the display screen to capture the scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0042; In the disclosed embodiments the camera can be located anywhere. A best practice is to provide the camera above the screen facing the user. Additional locations can include the bottom of the screen, the sides of the screen or behind the screen if the screen is a bidirectional screen.).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium (‘6000; ¶ 0014; …a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor…), the machine-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations (‘6000; ¶ 0014; In some embodiments, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for operating a monitor, a camera, and a processor, is provided and configured so as to display a mirror-mimicking image on the monitor, and comprising: on a device having the processor and a memory, storing a program for execution by the processor, the program including instructions for performing operations) comprising: providing an Augmented Reality (AR) user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0224; In step 1704 the user is given user control over the display. In one embodiment, the specific control preferences are saved for each particular user and are activated once the user has been recognized. Otherwise, general user interface is enabled, e.g., a hand gesture activated interface) of an AR system to a user (‘6000; ¶ 0066; FIG. 1 is a system block diagram for an augmented reality platform supporting a real-time or recorded video/image processing. The system can include one or a plurality (1:n) of input devices 101, including a video camera, a still camera, an IR camera, a 2D camera or a 3D camera. The input device 101 can be adapted to send information to one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send information to one or a plurality (1:m) of screens 106. The one or more machine vision augmented reality modules 102, 103, 104, 105, 107, 108 and 109 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from an interface or user interface module 110. The interface 110 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from one or more of a cloud, a web/store or a user device, e.g., smart phone or tablet.), the AR user interface displayed on a display screen (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails); capturing using one or more cameras (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), scene image data of a real-world scene (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) including the user (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating pre-processed scene image data using the scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) using the pre-processed scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); generating mirror image data using the restored scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); generating AR mirror image data using the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14); and providing an AR mirror image to the user using the AR mirror image data and the AR user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0205; During idle mode the monitor may also display the background image recorded at that particular instance by the camera. In order to properly display the background image, so that it appears like a mirror reflection, the video engine of the controller can take a default setting (e.g., 2 meter from the monitor) and apply the 2 meter transformation on the camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment as depicted, for example, in FIG. 14) and the AR user interface (‘6000; ¶ 0210, When the user is identified, the user's account can be opened and the last recordings can be displayed, e.g., in one embodiment, a thumbnail configuration 1510 can be displayed, such as that depicted in FIG. 15. Alternatively, any other image control bar can be displayed. If the user is not identified, a user registration process can commence, then, after a few seconds, a new account can be opened, and the mirror can be configured to start recording automatically. For example, if the user is not identified, a code, such as a QR can be displayed on the monitor, such that the user can scan it with a mobile device to download the app. When the app is downloaded and the user completes the registration process, the app on the user's device would include a code that can be presented to the frame in future visits.¶ 0232, In one embodiment, the concept of a pre-defined number of thumbnails, as shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, can be replaced with a slide menu of thumbnails) and does not teach a model trained to restore the scene image data by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen, a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen, or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen.
Zhao, working in the same field of endeavor, however, teaches a model trained to restore the scene image data (‘734; ¶ 0005, Another disclosed example provides a computing device comprising a display, a camera positioned behind the display, a logic subsystem, and a storage subsystem storing instructions executable by the logic subsystem to acquire an image through the display via the camera, input the image into a machine learning model trained on degraded and undegraded image pairs, and output, via the machine learning model, a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to having acquiring the image through the display; fig. 12; ¶ 0017, FIG. 12 is a block diagram illustrating an example architecture of an image restoration machine learning model in the form of a convolutional neural network (CNN).) by correcting for one or more of a blur introduced by a point spread function of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0047, FIG. 4 shows example diffraction patterns obtained by illuminating an example tOLED display 402 and an example pOLED display 404 with coherent red light in a wavelength of 633 nanometers (nm), revealing the point spread function (PSF) of each through-display imaging system. The tOLED display 402 comprises a grating-like structure of vertical slits, and the resulting diffraction pattern 406 extends primarily in a horizontal direction. The pOLED display 404 comprises a pentile structure and the diffraction pattern 408 extends in vertical and horizontal directions.), a wiring effect introduced by display elements of the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045, ….The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel…), or backscatter from displayed content on the display screen (‘734; ¶ 0045,…The light transmission rate for the example pOLED display 300, measured with a spectrophotometer and white light source, was ˜2.9%. This relatively low value may be attributed to various factors, such as transparent traces that may scatter and diffract light, external Fresnel reflections, a circular polarizer, and/or a substrate (e.g., various glasses or plastics, which may absorb in some regions of the visible spectrum, for example) of the display panel. The low light transmission translates to less light reaching the camera lens, causing a relatively lower signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) compared to the tOLED display 200) for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have combined the techniques for implementing a model trained to restore the scene image data as taught by Zhou with the AR mirror systems and methods taught by Vilcovsky for the benefit of providing a machine learning model to generate a restored image comprising generated information in a frequency region of the image that is degraded due to acquiring the image through the display.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15 and further teach wherein the operations further comprise: capturing, using one or more scene-reference cameras of the AR system (‘6000; ¶ 0040, Embodiments of the present invention utilize a camera, and a flat panel display to provide the user with the experience of looking at a mirror…), reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky and Zhou teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 16 and further teach wherein generating the pre-processed scene image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 17 and further teach wherein generating the mirror image data further uses the reference scene image data (‘6000; ¶ 0034; FIG. 14 depicts an example of transformation on a camera stream to create a mirror effect on the background environment).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15 and further teach wherein the operations further comprise: capturing, using one or more user-reference cameras, user image data (‘6000; fig. 15; ¶ 0223; In step 1702, as a user approaches the mirror and the user's presence is sensed, e.g., by motion sensor or by detecting a change in the image seen by the camera, the system initiates operation in mirror mode. That is, the controller perform transformation operation on the image of the user, such that the image presented on the monitor mimics the user's reflection in a mirror); determining an eye level of the user using the user image data (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror); and positioning the one or more cameras at the eye level of the user using the eye level of the user (‘6000; ¶ 0069; The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to apply on the image the right mapping to match the camera point of view with theoretical mirror point of view (user eyes reflection) and fill the blind pixels if there are any after the mapping. The eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the augmented reality module 104 and/or the video/still recording module 105. Also, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send/receive information to/from the control element module 108. Further, the eyes-match transformation module 103 can be adapted to send information to the one or plurality of screens 106, to display an image that mimics a reflection of a mirror).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Vilcovsky and Zhao teach the non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15 and further teach wherein generating the AR mirror image data comprises: detecting a user image in the mirror image data (‘6000; ¶ 0206; In one embodiment, the presence of a user is done by continuously analyzing the images captured by the camera to detect changes in the image and identify a user; ¶ 0207, the system can be configured so that, when the user steps into the tracking or registration zone in front of the mirror, the video engine of the controller reacts and starts tracking the object. Based on the object location, the video engine can adjust the video transformation to mimic mirror behavior…); and overlaying a virtual object on the user image (‘6000; ¶ 0082; FIG. 2 depicts an example of an augmented reality module, which can correspond with the augmented reality module 104 described above. Specifically, the augmented reality module can have a function of allowing a user to virtually dress themselves, change appearances, such as color, accessories, etc. In this embodiment, the system obtains input image or video from, for example, the EyesMatch computerized method 201, or from any other image/video source, e.g., user smartphone, security camera, Google glass, mobile camera or stationary camera. Additional embodiments can include additional geometric information that will help to calculate proportion like user height, gaze and the like. If the user video or image is coming from the EyesMatch module (calibrated image/video), a more comprehensive model can be created that allows for body measurements, object pose, size, highly accurate orientation detection and the like. The additional information that can be calculated from the calibrated object or video can allow for object fitting, object replacement and insertion of new objects into the frame/video, since any distortion introduced by the location and field of view of the camera has been accounted for and corrected. These corrections enable highly accurate measurements of the user height, waist, etc., and fitting of the user's body to generally classified body types).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments apply to the amended claims and do not reflect the current combination of references and citations used in the current prior art rejection presented above in which Applicant's amendment necessitated a new grounds of rejection.
The Applicant’s arguments filed 03 March 2026 are primarily based upon the extensively amended claim features incorporated into independent claims 1, 8 and 15.
The Examiner respectfully submits that, at the time Applicant argued against the references, Applicant was arguing against limitations that had not been previously claimed and thus, were not previously examined nor addressed in the previous office action and requests that Applicant look to the Office Action provided above wherein these newly added limitations and new claims have now been examined and addressed and, in particular, the newly cited prior art reference of Zhou is now relied upon for showing these added features.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected as shown in the claim rejection section above and are argued as shown immediately above.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim and for the additional features that they add as shown in the claim rejection sections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD MARTELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611