DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 115377232 A, Machine Translation) in view of Wu (CN 218677162 U, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Huang discloses a solar cell (See Fig. 9 and 10, pgs. 5-13), comprising:
a substrate (100, see Fig. 10, pg. 5, last para.-pg. 6) having two opposite first boundaries spaced apart in a first direction (see Fig. 9 direction Y) and each extending in a second direction (see Fig. 9 direction X) intersecting with the first direction;
a passivation layer (116, see Fig. 10, see pg. 10 last para.) formed over the substrate;
finger electrodes (121 and 122, pg. 7) formed over the substrate between the two opposite first boundaries (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 10), each finger electrode (121 and 122) of the finger electrodes extending in a second direction (direction X), wherein the finger electrodes include rows of first finger electrodes (122) and rows of second finger electrodes (121) alternatingly arranged in the first direction (Y-direction), and each row of first finger electrodes (122) is between two adjacent rows of second finger electrodes (121), and wherein the finger electrodes (121 and 122) penetrate the passivation layer (116) to be electrically connected with the substrate (see Fig. 10);
main busbars (151, 152, 153, 154, see Fig. 9) formed over the passivation layer (positioning is adjacent to finger electrodes, 121 and 122, see Fig. 9, (see pg. 7, paragraph 3 and pg. 12, paragraph 2)) , the main busbars including m1 first main busbars (starting from the leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar m1=3) and m2 second main busbars (second to leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar, m2=2) alternatingly arranged in the second direction (see Fig. 9), a respective first main busbar extending (starting from the leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar m1=3) in the first direction (See Fig. 9) and being electrically connected with a portion of each row of the rows of first finger electrodes(122), and a respective second main busbar (second to leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar, m2=2) extending in the first direction and being electrically connected with a portion of each row of the rows of second finger electrodes (121), and wherein the respective first main busbar (starting from the leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar m1=3) is one of a positive electrode and a negative electrode, and the respective second main busbar (second to leftmost bus bar and every other bus bar, m2=2) is the other of the positive electrode and the negative electrode (see last paragraph pg. 11-first paragraph pg. 12).
However, Huang does not disclose at least one edge electrode extending in the second direction, wherein a respective edge electrode of the at least one edge electrode is between each of the finger electrodes and a corresponding first boundary of the two opposite first boundaries, the respective edge electrode at least partially penetrating the passivation layer to be electrically connected with the substrate, and wherein the at least one edge electrode includes at least one of: a first edge electrode electrically connected with n1 first main busbars; and a second edge electrode electrically connected with n2 second main busbars; wherein 1 < n1 ≤ m1, 1 < n2 ≤ m2, n1, m1, n2, and m2 are natural numbers.
Wu discloses an interdigitated back contact solar cell and further discloses a finger electrode (5 and 4) and busbar (3 and 2) design substantially similar to Huang (See Abstract and Background first paragraph, pgs. 4-5). In addition, Wu discloses at least one edge electrode (see 6, Fig. 2) extending in the second direction, wherein a respective edge electrode (6 or 7) of the at least one edge electrode is between each of the finger electrodes and a corresponding first boundary of the two opposite first boundaries and interconnects busbar electrodes of the same polarity type (see pg. 5, fifth and sixth paragraph) and further discloses that having these edge electrodes results in a common connection point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrode assembly of Huang by further including one or more edge electrodes interconnecting busbars of the same polarity as disclosed by Wu because it will ease further interconnection since there is a common connection points for the busbars of the same polarity.
Modified Huang does not disclose that the edge electrode has a width in the first direction greater than a width of a respective finger electrode in the first direction.
Huang discloses that dimensions of the electrodes effect the conductivity and connection reliability (See last paragraph pg. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the width of the edge electrode so that it has a width in the first direction greater than a width of a respective finger electrode in the first direction of modified Huang because it will optimize connection reliability between bus bars while also optimizing reducing shading of finger electrodes.
Modified Huang does not disclose the order of formation of the edge electrodes which extend in same direction as the finger electrodes with respect to the bus bars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the order and method of forming the edge electrodes by forming them at the same time and using the same method as the formation method of the finger electrodes of Huang because Huang discloses that this is an appropriate method to form electrodes extending in the X-direction and furthermore forming them at the same time as the finger electrodes will decrease manufacturing time.
Since the edge electrode of modified Huang will be formed in the same manner as the other electrodes it will also partially penetrate the passivation layer to be electrically connected with the substrate.
However, Huang does not disclose that the bus bars are formed after the finger/edge electrodes and therefore over the finger electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the order of forming the bus bars so that the bus bars are formed after finger and edge electrodes in modified Huang because it is only one of two possibilities since the finger and edge electrodes are patterned at the same time (note modification above).
Modified Huang also discloses that the first edge electrode is electrically connected with all of the first main busbars and/or a second edge electrode is electrically connected with all of the second main busbars. Therefore Huang also discloses 1<n1≤ m1, 1< n2 ≤ m2, n1, m1, n2, and m2 are natural numbers.
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Huang discloses wherein a respective row of first finger electrodes includes first sub-electrodes spaced by first spacer regions in the second direction (X-direction) such that each pair of adjacent first sub-electrodes in the respective row of first finger electrodes are separated by a corresponding first spacer region of the first spacer regions, a respective second main busbar is disposed on a corresponding first spacer region (interdigitated fingers, second bus bar in spacer region, see Fig. 10), and a respective first main busbar is electrically connected with a corresponding first sub-electrode of each row of first finger electrodes;
and a respective row of second finger electrodes includes second sub-electrodes spaced by second spacer regions in the second direction such that each pair of adjacent second sub-electrodes in the respective row of second finger electrodes are separated by a corresponding second spacer region of the second spacer regions, a respective first main busbar (interdigitated fingers, first bus bar in spacer region, see Fig. 10) is disposed on a corresponding second spacer region, and a respective second main busbar is electrically connected with a corresponding second sub-electrode of each row of second finger electrodes.
Regarding claim 6, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Wu discloses that the edge electrode can range from 10 μm to 100 μm (pg. 6, para. 2-3), however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the respective edge electrode has a width in the first direction ranging from 10μm to 55μm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claims 16, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Huang discloses electrically interconnected solar cells at least one encapsulation adhesive film (211/212, see Fig. 11) each configured to cover a surface of a respective cell string; and at least one cover plate (221/222) each configured to cover a surface of a respective encapsulation adhesive film facing away from the at least one cell string (see last para pg. 12 to first para pg. 13).
Wu discloses a plurality of connecting members (see Fig. 1, 9), wherein each connecting member is configured to electrically connect the first main busbar (2,3) of one solar cell of two adjacent solar cells with the second main busbar of another solar cell of the two adjacent solar cells (see pg. 4, last two para- pg. 5 first three para.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interconnecting member of Huang so that it attaches to main busbars as disclosed by Wu because it is a known method to electrically interconnect solar cells to from a solar string.
Claim(s) 2, 7-9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (CN 115377232 A, Machine Translation) in view of Wu (CN 218677162 U, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 10, and 16 above and in further view of Lin (CN 104282774 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 9, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Huang does not disclose:
wherein the respective edge electrode is spaced from an adjacent finger electrode by a first pitch, and the first pitch is less than or equal to a distance between a respective first finger electrode and an adjacent second finger electrode and wherein the first pitch ranges from 0.2 mm to 0.7 mm
wherein the respective edge electrode is spaced from an adjacent finger electrode by a first pitch, and the first pitch is less than or equal to a distance between a respective first finger electrode and an adjacent second finger electrode and wherein the distance between the respective first finger electrode and the adjacent second finger electrode ranges from 0.3 mm to 0.8 mm
Lin discloses that the spacing between finger electrodes and bus electrodes (includes edge electrode, 21a, 31a) effects both ohmic power loss and production costs ([0054][0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the distances between the edge electrode and adjacent finger electrodes as well as the distance between the first finger electrode and an adjacent second finger electrode of modified Huang to be within the ranges claimed because as disclosed by Lin this will allow for the optimization of reducing ohmic power loss and production costs.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, modified Huang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, modified Huang does not disclose that the respective edge electrode has a polarity same as a polarity of an adjacent finger electrode, wherein there is no other finger electrode between the respective edge electrode and the adjacent finger electrode.
Lin discloses edge electrode has a polarity same as a polarity of an adjacent finger electrode, wherein there is no other finger electrode between the respective edge electrode and the adjacent finger electrode (see Fig. 2, [0051]) and that have this type of finger and edge electrode pattern reduces the chances of an opposite polarity bus contacting the finger electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the finger electrode pattern by having the claimed pattern in modified Huang because as disclosed by Lin this reduces the chances of an opposite polarity bus contacting the finger electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Wu discloses in Fig. 4 equipotential electrodes 6, 7 (the alleged edge electrodes), an insulating layer 10, and busbars 3. As explicitly disclosed in paras. [0035], [0042], [0044]-[0045] and FIGS.3-4 of Wu, Wu's equipotential electrodes (the alleged edge electrodes) are fully disposed on intact insulating layer 10 without any penetration therethrough to electrically connect with the underlying substrate, notwithstanding formation by comparable metallization processes. Applicant argues that therefore Wu does not show that the edge electrode partially penetrate through the insulation layer and the presence of the insulation layer is necessary between the edge electrodes and the underlying substrate.
Wu discloses “Referring to FIG. 4, when the intersection of the negative electrode 3 and the equipotential positive electrode 7 is not provided with a bonding pad 8, the insulating layer 10 is disposed between the equipotential line positive electrode and the upper surface of the negative electrode 3. second, please refer to FIG. 5, when the negative electrode 3 and the intersection of the positive electrode 7 is provided with a bonding pad 8, the insulating layer 10 is covered on the negative electrode 3 and the bonding pad 8, and the upper surface of the bonding pad 8 is exposed to the insulating layer 10.” Wu discloses that the insulation layer 10 is present at the intersection of 3 and 7 which is not present in the embodiment shown in Fig. 2. The intersection of 3 and 7 occurs in Fig. 3. However, as noted above Huang was modified with the embodiment of Wu as shown in Fig. 2. There is no intersection between 3 and 7 in Fig. 2 and therefore no insulation layer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new rejection relies on portions of the prior art which are not specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726