DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Momose does not teach that “the conductive portion is in contact with the conductive pad”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0161 of Momose directly states that the conductive sealing member 52b is formed in a conductive region of the conductive pad 54 or COM electrode 57, then paragraph 0162 further states that when the TFD substrate 10 and counter substrate 20 are bonded to each other, the conductive pad 54 and the COM electrode 57 both press on the conductive particles in the conductive sealing member 52b which allows them to be in conductive states. Therefore, the conductive sealing member 52b would contact both the conductive pad 54 and the COM electrode 57, though examiner notes that claim 1 does not discuss the contact between the electrode layer mapped to the COM electrode 57 in Momose and the conductive portion mapped to the conductive sealing member 52b of Momose – this is discussed in claim 7. Based on claim 1, the specification of Momose states that not only may the conductive sealing member 52b be in contact with both the conductive pad 54 and the COM electrode 57, but also that it may be formed on the conductive pad 54 (Momose para. 0161-0162). See also the annotated Momose Figure 1 below, showing the conductive sealing member 52b contacting the conductive pad 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Momose et. al US 20060139563 (hereinafter “Momose” of record).
Regarding claim 1, Momose a display device (Momose fig. 1 - 100), comprising:
a first substrate (Momose fig. 1-2 - 10) comprising a conductive pad (Momose fig. 1 - 54, see also para. 0156);
a second substrate (Momose fig. 1-2 - 20) opposite to the first substrate (Momose fig. 1 - 20 is opposite 10);
a display layer (Momose fig. 1 - 4) disposed between the first substrate (10) and the second substrate (Momose para. 0156 - 4 is disposed on 10 which is below 20 as shown in fig. 2); and
a sealing glue (Momose fig. 1 - 52) disposed between the first substrate (10) and the second substrate (20) and surrounding the display layer (Momose fig. 1 - 52 surrounds 4, fig. 2 - 52 is between 10 and 20), wherein the sealing glue (52) has a conductive portion (Momose fig. 1 - 52b), and the conductive portion (52b) is in contact with the conductive pad (Momose para. 0159 and 0161-0162, see also the annotated Momose fig. 1 below showing the contact).
Regarding claim 2, Momose teaches the display device (100) according to claim 1, and Momose further teaches wherein the sealing glue (Momose fig. 1 - 52) further has a sealed portion (Momose fig. 1 – 52a), and the sealed portion (52a) surrounds the conductive portion (Momose fig. 1 – 52b) and the display layer (Momose fig. 1 – 52a surrounds 52b and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Momose teaches the display device (100) according to claim 2, and Momose further teaches wherein a material of the sealing glue (52) comprises a sealing material (Momose para. 0163), the conductive portion (52b) comprises conductive particles (Momose para. 0159 – 52b contains conductive particles), and the conductive particles are distributed in the sealing material (Momose para. 0159-0162).
Regarding claim 6, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 1.
Momose does not explicitly state wherein a water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) of the sealing glue is 77.5 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day to 1050 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day, however the claimed structure of the display device is shown in figure 1 of Momose’s display device and is substantially identical to the display device of claim 1. Because the display device structure is substantially identical, the properties of said structure would be the same (MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, the value for the water vapor transmission rate of the sealing glue would fall within the claimed range of 77.5 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day to 1050 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day since it is an anticipated property of the substantially identical structure.
Regarding claim 7, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Momose further teaches wherein the second substrate (Momose fig. 1 - 20) comprises an electrode layer (Momose fig. 3 – 57, see also para. 0159), and the conductive portion (52b) is in contact with the electrode layer (Momose para. 0159).
Regarding claim 8, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 7, and Momose further teaches wherein the electrode layer (57) and the conductive pad (54) are electrically connected through the conductive portion (Momose para. 0159).
Regarding claim 10, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Momose further teaches wherein a width of the sealing glue (52) measured from the conductive portion (52b) outward to an outer edge of the sealing glue is 0 mm to 0.5 mm (Momose para. 0380 – the width of the sealing member is 0.5 mm to 0.7 mm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momose as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Okamoto US Patent 6,147,738 (hereinafter “Okamoto” of record).
Regarding claim 4, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 3.
Momose does not explicitly state wherein the conductive particles account for 70% wt to 80% wt of the sealing glue, however Momose does teach the conductive particles (Momose para. 0159).
In the same field of endeavor, Okamoto teaches wherein the conductive particles account for 70% wt to 80% wt of the sealing glue (Okamoto abstract, see also col. 3 lines 54-64 – teaches 50% wt to 80% wt which encompasses the entire claimed range – which is an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of controlling the sheet resistance (Okamoto col. 3 lines 62-64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conductive particles account for 70% wt to 80% wt of the sealing glue as taught by Okamoto in the display device of Momose in order to control the sheet resistance (Okamoto col. 3 lines 62-64).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momose as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Seo et. al US 20190119528 (hereinafter “Seo” of record).
Regarding claim 6, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 1.
Momose does not explicitly state wherein a water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) of the sealing glue is 77.5 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day to 1050 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day.
In the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein a water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) of the sealing glue is 77.5 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day to 1050 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day (Seo para. 0039 – teaches a WVTR of 1.0 g/
m
2
∙
24hr to 50 g/
m
2
∙
24hr which encompasses the entire claimed range – which is an overlapping range made prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.05)) for the purpose of implementing an excellent barrier performance (Seo para. 0108). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a water vapor transmission rate (WVTR) of the sealing glue is 77.5 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day to 1050 grams
∙
mil/
m
2
day as taught by Seo in the display device of Momose in order to implement an excellent barrier performance (Seo para. 0108).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momose as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Sano et. al US 20170176808 (hereinafter “Sano” of record).
Regarding claim 5, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 4.
Momose does not specify wherein a material of the conductive particles is selected from silver, copper, or gold, however Momose does teach that the conductive particles may be metal particles or the like (Momose para. 0162).
In the same field of endeavor, Sano teaches specify wherein a material of the conductive particles is selected from silver, copper, or gold (Sano para. 0055 - gold) for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection between the connection line and pad electrode (Sano para. 0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a material of the conductive particles is selected from silver, copper, or gold as taught by Sano in the display device of Momose in order to establish an electrical connection between the connection line and pad electrode (Sano para. 0055).
Regarding claim 9, Momose teaches the display device according to claim 1.
Momose does not teach wherein a resistivity of the conductive portion is less than 5×
10
-
4
ohm
∙
cm, however Momose does teach that the conductive particles may be metal particles or the like (Momose para. 0162).
In the same field of endeavor, Sano teaches wherein a resistivity of the conductive portion is less than 5×
10
-
4
ohm
∙
cm (Sano para. 0055 – teaches that the conductive particles may be made of or coated with gold, which has a resistivity of about 2.44×
10
-
6
ohm
∙
cm)1 for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection between the connection line and pad electrode (Sano para. 0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a resistivity of the conductive portion is less than 5×
10
-
4
ohm
∙
cm as taught by Sano in the display device of Momose in order to establish an electrical connection between the connection line and pad electrode (Sano para. 0055).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 “Electrical Resistivity and Conductivity.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 17 Feb. 2026, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_resistivity_and_conductivity.