DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This Final Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on September 3, 2026, for the application with serial number 18/638,591.
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18, and 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
35 USC §101 Rejections
The Applicant traverses the rejection of the claims as being directed to an ineligible abstract idea, contending that the claims are subject matter eligible due to the recitation of two sensor modules. See Remarks p. 8. In response, the Examiner points out that software per se is ineligible subject matter. The inclusion of software modules for processing input does not provide a practical application or significantly more than the recited abstract idea. Using a computer to automatically perform manual processes does not provide more than an abstract idea. See MPEP §2105.05(a)[I]{iii}. Contrary to the Applicant’s assertions, the recited computer hardware is generic.
The Applicant further submits that the claims are subject matter eligible because the claims solve a problem. See Remarks p. 9. In response, the Examiner submits that the claims do not provide a technical solution to a technical problem. “Reducing the risk of a human operator” is not a technology or technical field. An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. See MPEP §2106.05(a). The present claims merely recite steps for reducing risk, recited at a high level of generality, that are insufficient for patentability.
The rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility is updated and maintained.
35 USC §103 Rejections
Amendments to the claims changed the scope of the claims, necessitating further search and consideration of the prior art. A new search returned the Eberbach reference, which is cited in the rejection of the independent claims, below. The Applicant submits that Brandl does not teach humans, but this is contradicted by at least cited ¶[0162] of Brandl, which teaches twinning a human being. Brandl also teaches twinning of a manufacturing process in cited ¶[0004]-[0006], which is an “operating environment.”
The Applicant’s remaining arguments are moot in light of the newly cited Eberbach reference.
The rejection of the dependent claims stands or falls with the rejection of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) provides detailed rules for determining subject matter eligibility for claims in §2106. Those rules provide a basis for the analysis and finding of ineligibility that follows.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Under Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, claims(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18, and 20 are all directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention. However, under step 2A, prong one, the claims recite a judicial exception: reallocating a human operator to a place with reduced level of risk (as evidenced by exemplary independent claim 1: “when a value of the risk state information exceeds a threshold, automatically performing a remedial action to mitigate the level of safety risk, the remedial action comprising reallocating the human operator to a place having a lower level of an environmental attribute contributing to the first risk state”), an abstract idea. Certain methods of organizing human activity are ineligible abstract ideas, including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. See MPEP §2106.04(a). The limitations of exemplary claim 1 include: “constructing a plurality of ontologies;” “capturing . . . environment attribute data;” “receiving . . . the environment attribute data;” “capturing . . . human operator data;” “receiving . . . the human operator data;” “processing the environment attribute data;” “processing the human operator data;” “applying a first ontology . . . to generate a first risk state;” “applying a second ontology . . . to generate a second risk state;” “determining risk state information;” and “when a value of the risk state information exceeds a threshold, automatically performing a remedial action.” The steps are all steps for managing personal behavior related to the abstract idea of reallocating a human operator to a place with reduced level of risk that, when considered alone and in combination, are part of the abstract idea of reallocating a human operator to a place with reduced level of risk. The dependent claims further recite steps for managing personal behavior that are part of the abstract idea of reallocating a human operator to a place with reduced level of risk. These claim elements, when considered alone and in combination, are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to a method of organizing human activity which includes assigning workers work based on underlying health concerns and fatigue.
Under step 2A, prong two, of the subject matter eligibility analysis, a claim that recites a judicial exception must be evaluated to determine whether the claim provides a practical application of the judicial exception. Additional elements of the independent claims amount to generic computer hardware that does not provide a practical application (a device in independent claim 1; and a storage medium executable by processors in independent claim 11. A camera and microphone are also recited in the dependent claims). See MPEP §2106.04(d)[I]. The claims do recite the use of a digital twin and machine learning, but the abstract idea of reallocating a human operator to a place with reduced level of risk is generally linked to machine learning and digital twin environment. Therefore, the machine learning and digital twin merely amount to a technological environment that does not provide a practical application or the abstract idea or significantly more than the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05(h). The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, nor do they recite an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. See MPEP §2106.05(a). Because the claims only recite use of a generic computer, they do not apply the judicial exception with a particular machine. See MPEP §2106.05(b). Under step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a judicial exception. Referring to the additional elements provided in the analysis in step one, above, the generic computer hardware does not provide significantly more than the recited abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
For these reasons, the claims do not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, nor do they amount to significantly more than an abstract idea under step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis. Using a generic computer to implement an abstract idea does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claims recite ineligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 20240046001 A1 to Brandl (hereinafter ‘BRANDL’) in view of US 20210394359 A1 to Mathieu et al. (hereinafter ‘MATHIEU’) and US 20170185905 A1 to Eberbach et al. (hereinafter ‘EBERBACH’).
Claim 1 (Currently amended)
BRANDL disclose a method, comprising: constructing a plurality of ontologies (see ¶[0157] and Fig. 17; understand and manage modelling structures and data. Technologies to implement such a standardization can, for example, be OPC UA (OPC: Open Platform Communications, UA: Unified Architecture) or OWL (Web Ontology Language of the World Wide Web Consortiums (W3C). See also ¶[0042]; a hierarchy in a data model) by mapping previous domain knowledge of previous environment attribute data (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively) and previous human operator data to a risk of operations by a human operator within an operating environment (see ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard), each ontology defining a relationship between the risk of operations and respective data (see again ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard);
capturing, by a first sensor module (see ¶[0026]; processing circuitry may comprise a data receiving module. See also ¶[0006]; receive data from sensors) associated with a device configured to function in the operating environment (see ¶[0004]-[0006]; digital twins can be used in many industries, to drive manufacturing control and service operations for controlling of physical objects. Digital twins contain static and dynamic information, i.e. data and parameter values having a time dependence, and which can be represented e.g. by time-series of operational, physical and/or contextual parameter values. Smart factories employ digital twins), environment attribute data comprising environmental attributes of the operating environment (see ¶[0005]-[0006] and [0012]-[0013]; operational, physical, and/or contextual parameter values. Respond to dynamic environmental changes. Include environmental information);
receiving, by a platform from the first sensor module, the environment attribute data (see again ¶[0005]-[0006] and [0012]-[0013]; operational, physical, and/or contextual parameter values. Respond to dynamic environmental changes. Include environmental information);
capturing, by a second sensor module associated with the human operator of the device (see ¶[0026]; processing circuitry may comprise a data receiving module. See also ¶[0006] and [0125]; obtain data from sensors. A living object to be monitored), human operator data comprising physiological attributes of the human operator of the device (see ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard. See ¶[0130] and [0151]; health status and condition of relevant organs. A heart attack or stroke);
receiving, by the platform from the second sensor module, the human operator data (see again ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard. See ¶[0130] and [0151]; health status and condition of relevant organs. A heart attack or stroke);
processing the environment attribute data to extract first risk features and generate a first vector based on the first risk features, and processing the human operator data to extract second risk features and generate a second vector based on the second risk features (see ¶[0143] and [0146]-[0148]; a trainable classifier categorizes the resulting feature vectors (or strings) into classes. See also ¶[0101]; property asset classification. Key risk factors are listed);
applying a first ontology to the first vector to generate a first risk state indicating a level of safety risk to the human operator attributable to the environmental attributes of the operating environment (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively), and applying a second ontology to the second vector to generate a second risk state indicating a level of safety risk to the human operator attributable to the physiological attributes of the human operator (see ¶[0005], [0151], [0154], and [0163]-[0165] & claims 1 and 7; a real time analysis data stream. A digital twin that updates data and offers instruction for physical process. As variant, the digital twin 4 of the twinned physical system 3, i.e. the digital virtual replicas are constantly updated and analyzed by measuring data from their real counterparts. The digital twin 47 with the digital asset/object replica 48 is realized as a continuously updated, digital structure hold by the digital platform 1 that contains a comprehensive physical and functional description of a component or system throughout the life cycle. See again ¶[0019]; it is an object of the present invention to provide a method and a digital platform for automated risk analysis for a physical property asset that technically simplify the required data processing and the required Human Machine Interaction. A measurable probability of damage, including accident events if the object is a living object. A heart attack or stroke. See also ¶[0129]; probability of failure).
based on the first and second risk states, determining risk state information concerning the human operator (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively), the risk state information indicating a likelihood of safety risk of the human operator operating in the operating environment (see ¶[0019] and [0118], [0129]-[0130] and [0152]-[0153]; a measurable probability of damage. Probability and severity. Accident events or if the object is a living object an illness etc. The system can be applied to living objects with a health condition);
generating and updating, with the risk state information, a digital twin that corresponds to the human operator, represents a condition of the human operator, and quantifies a level of safety risk associated with behavior of the human operator in the operating environment (see ¶[0005], [0151], [0154], and [0163]-[0165] & claims 1 and 7; a real time analysis data stream. A digital twin that updates data and offers instruction for physical process. As variant, the digital twin 4 of the twinned physical system 3, i.e. the digital virtual replicas are constantly updated and analyzed by measuring data from their real counterparts. The digital twin 47 with the digital asset/object replica 48 is realized as a continuously updated, digital structure hold by the digital platform 1 that contains a comprehensive physical and functional description of a component or system throughout the life cycle. See again ¶[0019]; it is an object of the present invention to provide a method and a digital platform for automated risk analysis for a physical property asset that technically simplify the required data processing and the required Human Machine Interaction. A measurable probability of damage, including accident events if the object is a living object. See also ¶[0129]; probability of failure).
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, and
when a value of the risk state information exceeds a threshold, automatically performing a remedial action to mitigate the level of safety risk (see abstract; a risk threshold is determined based on the scene, the task, and one or more trust thresholds. Based on the risk threshold, a ratio of sub-tasks of the task to be controlled by a user is determined. In accordance with the risk threshold, a user input is received for controlling one or more of the sub-tasks when the ratio dictates that at least one of the sub-tasks requires user intervention).
The combination of BRANDL and MATHIEU does not specifically disclose, but EBERBACH discloses, the remedial action comprising reallocating the human operator to a place having a lower level of an environmental attribute contributing to the first risk state (see ¶[0076]; implement corrective actions to reduce risk, which may include reducing the chemical emission levels or modifying the worker's task schedule. Signal the worker to take an alternate transit path to a location in the facility, alter the workers scheduled tasks to avoid the chemical emissions in the particular emission zone, or a combination thereof).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the user intervention based on risk as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). EBERBACH discloses reducing risk of harmful chemical exposures by modifying a worker’s task schedule to avoid work or areas where chemical emissions occur. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify a worker’s task schedule as taught by EBERBACH in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to reduce risk.
Claim 2 (Currently amended)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, wherein the second sensor module comprises a camera and the human operator data was captured by the camera (see ¶[0098] and [0100]; In an embodiment, a camera handler 350 may be implemented to process one or more camera inputs. An AI framework 360 that includes an inferencing function may be implemented to receive and process camera and other input and identify the environment and determine objects within the environment such as people, chairs, walls, doors, and the like. The position and orientation of the objects can be determined relative to a coordinate system, and the position and orientation may be referred to as the pose).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the camera as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
Claim 4 (Original)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the environment attribute data and/or the human operator data were processed by respective ML (machine learning) models prior to receipt by the platform (see ¶[0045], [0103], and [0135]; the digital risk twin 4, realized as an intelligent digital risk twin, can therefore implement machine learning algorithms on available models and data of the digital twin 47 and the digital risk robot 45 to optimize operation as well as continuously test what-if-scenarios, used for predictive maintenance and an overall more flexible and efficient production through plug and produce scenarios. digital risk models (hazard models, rating models, pricing and price development models, etc.) and machine learning model modules that can help to detect non-linear patterns in data to extrapolate the ability to predict outcomes. Modelling modules (especially risk-based and/or machine learning) leverage timeseries data in order to build a view from the past that can be projected towards the future.).
Claim 6 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the risk state information indicates a relative risk that the human operator will be involved in an accident in the operating environment (see ¶[0098]; risk-exposed assets (i.e. assets or objects having a measurable probability of having a damage impact by the occurrence of a defined physical event, as a natural catastrophic event, as for example occurring flood events, earthquakes, storms, hurricanes, fire events etc. or accident events or if the object is a living object an illness etc.).
Claim 8 (Original)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the environment attribute data comprises data about physical attributes of the environment (see ¶[0002], [0126]-[0127], and [0133]; predicting present or future states of a physical object, as edifices, building constructions or property assets. The present invention relates to a method and a digital platform for automated graphical-based generation, processing and standardized factoring of physical risk-related parameters extracted from image data, geo location parameters and measurement-based risk relevant data for the construction and/or location. Environmental parameters physically impacting the real-world asset or object and proprioceptive sensors or measuring devices for sensing endogen operating or status parameters of the real-world asset or object).
Claim 10 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, wherein the environment attribute data received from the first module comprises features extracted by the first sensor module from data obtained with a microphone and/or a camera, and the human operator data received from the second sensor module comprises features extracted by the second sensor module from data obtained with another camera (see ¶[0098] and [0100]; In an embodiment, a camera handler 350 may be implemented to process one or more camera inputs. An AI framework 360 that includes an inferencing function may be implemented to receive and process camera and other input and identify the environment and determine objects within the environment such as people, chairs, walls, doors, and the like. The position and orientation of the objects can be determined relative to a coordinate system, and the position and orientation may be referred to as the pose).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the camera as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
Claim 11 (Currently amended)
BRANDL discloses a non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors (see ¶[0003], [0013]-[0014], [0107] and [0132]; digital twins systems often comprise or are based on IoT (Internet of Things) interaction comprising storage, processing, and sharing of data within this architectural tier. IoT based digital twins do not allow for flexible and/or standardized and/or dynamic and/or user-friendly graphical configurations of data processing, applications, and data storage. Local data storage and a computer system. A risk management program) to perform operations comprising: constructing a plurality of ontologies (see ¶[0157] and Fig. 17; understand and manage modelling structures and data. Technologies to implement such a standardization can, for example, be OPC UA (OPC: Open Platform Communications, UA: Unified Architecture) or OWL (Web Ontology Language of the World Wide Web Consortiums (W3C). See also ¶[0042]; a hierarchy in a data model) by mapping previous domain knowledge of previous environment attribute data (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively) and previous human operator data to a risk of operations by a human operator within an operating environment (see ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard), each ontology defining a relationship between the risk of operations and respective data (see again ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard);
capturing, by a first sensor module (see ¶[0026]; processing circuitry may comprise a data receiving module. See also ¶[0006]; receive data from sensors) associated with a device configured to function in the operating environment (see ¶[0004]-[0006]; digital twins can be used in many industries, to drive manufacturing control and service operations for controlling of physical objects. Digital twins contain static and dynamic information, i.e. data and parameter values having a time dependence, and which can be represented e.g. by time-series of operational, physical and/or contextual parameter values. Smart factories employ digital twins), environment attribute data comprising environmental attributes of the operating environment see ¶[0005]-[0006] and [0012]-[0013]; operational, physical, and/or contextual parameter values. Respond to dynamic environmental changes. Include environmental information);
receiving, by a platform from the first sensor module, the environment attribute data (see again ¶[0005]-[0006] and [0012]-[0013]; operational, physical, and/or contextual parameter values. Respond to dynamic environmental changes. Include environmental information);
capturing, by a second sensor module associated with the human operator of the device, human operator data comprising physiological attributes of the human operator of the device (see ¶[0026]; processing circuitry may comprise a data receiving module. See also ¶[0006] and [0125]; obtain data from sensors. A living object to be monitored);
receiving, by the platform from the second sensor module, the human operator data (see again ¶[0019], [0040], and [0162]; the twinned real world entity can be a living object, e.g., a human being. Automated risk analysis for a physical property asset and the required human machine interaction. The assigned site level information can e.g. comprise human element controls and/or fire water supply and/or fire brigade/emergency response and/or external exposures and/or business interruption and/or natural hazard. See ¶[0130] and [0151]; health status and condition of relevant organs. A heart attack or stroke);
processing the environment attribute data to extract first risk features and generate a first vector based on the first risk features, and processing the human operator data to extract second risk features and generate a second vector based on the second risk features (see ¶[0143] and [0146]-[0148]; a trainable classifier categorizes the resulting feature vectors (or strings) into classes. See also ¶[0101]; property asset classification. Key risk factors are listed);
applying a first ontology to the first vector to generate a first risk state indicating a level of safety risk to the human operator attributable to the environmental attributes of the operating environment (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively), and applying a second ontology to the second vector to generate a second risk state indicating a level of safety risk to the human operator attributable to the physiological attributes of the human operator (see ¶[0005], [0151], [0154], and [0163]-[0165] & claims 1 and 7; a real time analysis data stream. A digital twin that updates data and offers instruction for physical process. As variant, the digital twin 4 of the twinned physical system 3, i.e. the digital virtual replicas are constantly updated and analyzed by measuring data from their real counterparts. The digital twin 47 with the digital asset/object replica 48 is realized as a continuously updated, digital structure hold by the digital platform 1 that contains a comprehensive physical and functional description of a component or system throughout the life cycle. See again ¶[0019]; it is an object of the present invention to provide a method and a digital platform for automated risk analysis for a physical property asset that technically simplify the required data processing and the required Human Machine Interaction. A measurable probability of damage, including accident events if the object is a living object. A heart attack or stroke. See also ¶[0129]; probability of failure);
based on the first and second risk states, determining risk state information concerning the human operator (see ¶[0162]; risk modelling structure of the real-world asset/object 3 and the environment, which allow to effectively measure and trigger risk-related factors, as e.g. exposure measures or occurrence probabilities of risk-events or impact measures under the occurrence of a certain event with a certain strength or physical characteristic. Thus, it allows inter alia to effectively optimize and minimize risk impacts, respectively), the risk state information indicating a likelihood of safety risk of the human operator operating in the operating environment (see ¶[0019] and [0118], [0129]-[0130] and [0152]-[0153]; a measurable probability of damage. Probability and severity. Accident events or if the object is a living object an illness etc. The system can be applied to living objects with a health condition);
generating and updating, with the risk state information, a digital twin that corresponds to the human operator, represents a condition of the human operator, and quantifies a level of safety risk associated with behavior of the human operator in the operating environment (see ¶[0005], [0151], [0154], and [0163]-[0165] & claims 1 and 7; a real time analysis data stream. A digital twin that updates data and offers instruction for physical process. As variant, the digital twin 4 of the twinned physical system 3, i.e. the digital virtual replicas are constantly updated and analyzed by measuring data from their real counterparts. The digital twin 47 with the digital asset/object replica 48 is realized as a continuously updated, digital structure hold by the digital platform 1 that contains a comprehensive physical and functional description of a component or system throughout the life cycle. See again ¶[0019]; it is an object of the present invention to provide a method and a digital platform for automated risk analysis for a physical property asset that technically simplify the required data processing and the required Human Machine Interaction. A measurable probability of damage, including accident events if the object is a living object. See also ¶[0129]; probability of failure).
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, and
when a value of the risk state information exceeds a threshold, automatically performing a remedial action to mitigate the level of safety risk (see abstract; a risk threshold is determined based on the scene, the task, and one or more trust thresholds. Based on the risk threshold, a ratio of sub-tasks of the task to be controlled by a user is determined. In accordance with the risk threshold, a user input is received for controlling one or more of the sub-tasks when the ratio dictates that at least one of the sub-tasks requires user intervention).
The combination of BRANDL and MATHIEU does not specifically disclose, but EBERBACH discloses, the remedial action comprising reallocating the human operator to a place having a lower level of an environmental attribute contributing to the first risk state (see ¶[0076]; implement corrective actions to reduce risk, which may include reducing the chemical emission levels or modifying the worker's task schedule. Signal the worker to take an alternate transit path to a location in the facility, alter the workers scheduled tasks to avoid the chemical emissions in the particular emission zone, or a combination thereof).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the user intervention based on risk as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). EBERBACH discloses reducing risk of harmful chemical exposures by modifying a worker’s task schedule to avoid work or areas where chemical emissions occur. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify a worker’s task schedule as taught by EBERBACH in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to reduce risk.
Claim 12 (Currently amended)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, wherein the second sensor module comprises a camera and the human operator data was captured by the camera (see ¶[0098] and [0100]; In an embodiment, a camera handler 350 may be implemented to process one or more camera inputs. An AI framework 360 that includes an inferencing function may be implemented to receive and process camera and other input and identify the environment and determine objects within the environment such as people, chairs, walls, doors, and the like. The position and orientation of the objects can be determined relative to a coordinate system, and the position and orientation may be referred to as the pose).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the camera as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
Claim 14 (Original)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the environment attribute data and/or the human operator data were processed by respective ML (machine learning) models prior to receipt by the platform (see ¶[0045], [0103], and [0135]; the digital risk twin 4, realized as an intelligent digital risk twin, can therefore implement machine learning algorithms on available models and data of the digital twin 47 and the digital risk robot 45 to optimize operation as well as continuously test what-if-scenarios, used for predictive maintenance and an overall more flexible and efficient production through plug and produce scenarios. digital risk models (hazard models, rating models, pricing and price development models, etc.) and machine learning model modules that can help to detect non-linear patterns in data to extrapolate the ability to predict outcomes. Modelling modules (especially risk-based and/or machine learning) leverage timeseries data in order to build a view from the past that can be projected towards the future.).
Claim 16 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the risk state information indicates a relative risk that the human operator will be involved in an accident in the operating environment (see ¶[0098]; risk-exposed assets (i.e. assets or objects having a measurable probability of having a damage impact by the occurrence of a defined physical event, as a natural catastrophic event, as for example occurring flood events, earthquakes, storms, hurricanes, fire events etc. or accident events or if the object is a living object an illness etc.).
Claim 18 (Original)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
BRANDL further discloses wherein the environment attribute data comprises data about physical attributes of the environment (see ¶[0002], [0126]-[0127], and [0133]; predicting present or future states of a physical object, as edifices, building constructions or property assets. The present invention relates to a method and a digital platform for automated graphical-based generation, processing and standardized factoring of physical risk-related parameters extracted from image data, geo location parameters and measurement-based risk relevant data for the construction and/or location. Environmental parameters physically impacting the real-world asset or object and proprioceptive sensors or measuring devices for sensing endogen operating or status parameters of the real-world asset or object).
Claim 20 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
BRANDL does not specifically disclose, but MATHIEU discloses, wherein the environment attribute data received from the first sensor module comprises features extracted by the first module from data obtained with a microphone and/or a camera, and the human operator data received from the second sensor module comprises features extracted by the second module from data obtained with another camera (see ¶[0098] and [0100]; In an embodiment, a camera handler 350 may be implemented to process one or more camera inputs. An AI framework 360 that includes an inferencing function may be implemented to receive and process camera and other input and identify the environment and determine objects within the environment such as people, chairs, walls, doors, and the like. The position and orientation of the objects can be determined relative to a coordinate system, and the position and orientation may be referred to as the pose).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from sensors to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). MATHIEU discloses a robotic intervention system using a digital twin to map space (see ¶[0035]) and determine a threshold level of risk for intervention (see abstract). It would have been obvious to include the camera as taught by MATHIEU in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to collect image data and analyze risk regarding assets in an area.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 20240046001 A1 to BRANDL in view of US 20210394359 A1 to MATHIEU et al. and US 20170185905 A1 to EBERBACH et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230259864 A1 to Decrop et al. (hereinafter ‘DECROP’).
Claim 3 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH does not specifically disclose, but DECROP discloses, wherein the first sensor module comprises a microphone and the environment attribute data was captured with the microphone (see ¶[0050]-[0051]; digital twin creating module 94 can identify from the environmental information data worker-specific information from the IoT devices that obtain information specific to the worker 108N (e.g., wearables, smart medical equipment, smart watch, smart phone, external camera, microphone, pressure sensor, accelerometer and/or the like).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from internet of things sensors (see ¶[0003]) to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). DECROP discloses digital twin simulation that receives environmental information from internet of things devices including a microphone. It would have been obvious to include the microphone as taught by DECROP in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to analyze risk using a digital twin.
Claim 13 (Previously presented)
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH discloses the non-transitory storage medium as recited in claim 11.
The combination of BRANDL, MATHIEU, and EBERBACH does not specifically disclose, but DECROP discloses, wherein the second sensor module comprises a microphone and the environment attribute data was captured with the microphone (see ¶[0050]-[0051]; digital twin creating module 94 can identify from the environmental information data worker-specific information from the IoT devices that obtain information specific to the worker 108N (e.g., wearables, smart medical equipment, smart watch, smart phone, external camera, microphone, pressure sensor, accelerometer and/or the like).
BRANDL discloses a digital twin system that collects image data from internet of things sensors (see ¶[0003]) to analyze risk (see abstract and ¶[0006]). DECROP discloses digital twin simulation that receives environmental information from internet of things devices including a microphone. It would have been obvious to include the microphone as taught by DECROP in the system executing the method of BRANDL with the motivation to analyze risk using a digital twin.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD N SCHEUNEMANN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624