Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2025 and 05/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3.) Claim Interpretation
i.)
With regard to claims 1-15, it is taken that an “IC chip” is referring to a well-known “integrated circuit (IC) chip”.
ii.)
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a driving mechanism”, “a generation unit”, “a storage unit”, “a calibration unit”, in claims 1-15.
Claim limitations “a driving mechanism”, “a generation unit”, “a storage unit”, “a calibration unit”, has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “a driving mechanism”, “a generation unit”, “a storage unit”, “a calibration unit”, coupled with functional language “that drives an optical element”, “that generates the control signal”, “for storing”, “that generates or updates the relationship information”, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-15 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Support for the structure that performs the functions of “a driving mechanism” is shown as being implemented by a voice coil motor and a motor driver. The driving mechanism is not limited to the electromagnetic actuator, but may be a shape memory alloy (SMA) actuator, piezo (piezoelectric) actuator, or the like (Paragraph 0029 and Figure 1 of the publication to the instant application). The storage unit appears to be implemented by a memory (Paragraph 0041 of the publication to the instant application). The “generation unit” and “calibration unit” are shown as being implemented by a processor and a memory that stores a program which is used by the processor to execute the claimed functions along with the algorithm shown in Figures 6 and 8A-8C and their corresponding descriptions in the specification (Paragraphs 0166-0168, 0174; Figures 6, 8A-8C of the publication to the instant application).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4.) Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Shirai (US Pub No.: 2017/0343768A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Shirai discloses a generation method that generates relationship information indicating a relationship between a correction coefficient of a control signal corresponding to a magnitude of a sound generated due to the driving by a driving mechanism and a position of an optical element (Drivable range of a focus lens, Paragraphs 0047-0051, 0086; Abstract), the relationship information being referred by a control apparatus that generates the control signal for controlling the driving mechanism for moving the optical element to a target position while suppressing the sound generated due to the driving by the driving mechanism that drives the optical element (The camera control unit 21 may control the focus lens 33 to be driven at a high speed in the search control in the still image imaging mode and may control the focus lens 33 to be driven at a low speed in the search control in the moving-picture imaging mode, Paragraphs 0088-0089. The lens control unit 36 compares the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b acquired in step S401 with the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 acquired in step S402. More specifically, the lens control unit 36 determines whether or not the driving instruction speed (unit: pulses/second) of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b (unit: pulses/second), Paragraphs 0088-0089; 0167-0185; Figure 21), wherein the method comprises:
generating the relationship information based on sound information indicating a magnitude of a sound which corresponds to the position of the optical element and is generated due to the driving by the driving mechanism according to a predetermined driving condition and correction coefficient information indicating a relationship between the magnitude of the sound (noise limits) and the correction coefficient (limiting of the lens driving speed) (The lens control unit 36 compares the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b acquired in step S401 with the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 acquired in step S402. More specifically, the lens control unit 36 determines whether or not the driving instruction speed (unit: pulses/second) of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b (unit: pulses/second).
In a case where the driving instruction speed of the lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed, the process proceeds to step S404. On the other hand, in a case where the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 is equal to or higher than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, the process proceeds to step S405. In step S404, it is determined that the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 transmitted from the camera body 2 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. In this case, in order to suppress the driving sound of the focus lens 33, the lens control unit 36 drives the focus lens 33 at the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. In this manner, in a case where the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, the lens control unit 36 limits the lens driving speed V1a of the focus lens 33 to the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, Paragraphs 0167-0185; Figures 19 and 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.) Claim(s) 1-2, 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirai (US Pub No.: 2017/0343768A1) and further in view of Shigeta (US Pub No.: 2021/0274087A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Shirai discloses a control of a driving mechanism that drives an optical element based on a control signal (Drivable range of a focus lens, Paragraphs 0047-0051, 0086; Abstract), comprising:
a generation unit that generates the control signal for moving the optical element to a target position while suppressing a sound (reduction of noise) generated due to a driving by the driving mechanism (driving mechanism of the focus lens), based on a detection signal indicating a position of the optical element (focus lens) and relationship information indicating a relationship between an index corresponding to a magnitude of the sound generated (noise limits) due to the driving by the driving mechanism and a position of the optical element (The camera control unit 21 may control the focus lens 33 to be driven at a high speed in the search control in the still image imaging mode and may control the focus lens 33 to be driven at a low speed in the search control in the moving-picture imaging mode, Paragraphs 0088-0089. The lens control unit 36 compares the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b acquired in step S401 with the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 acquired in step S402. More specifically, the lens control unit 36 determines whether or not the driving instruction speed (unit: pulses/second) of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b (unit: pulses/second).
In a case where the driving instruction speed of the lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed, the process proceeds to step S404. On the other hand, in a case where the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 is equal to or higher than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, the process proceeds to step S405. In step S404, it is determined that the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 transmitted from the camera body 2 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. In this case, in order to suppress the driving sound of the focus lens 33, the lens control unit 36 drives the focus lens 33 at the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. In this manner, in a case where the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, the lens control unit 36 limits the lens driving speed V1a of the focus lens 33 to the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, Paragraphs 0167-0185; Figure 21).
Shirai does not explicitly disclose that an IC chip controls the driving mechanism. Shigeta teaches of an IC chip that controls a driving mechanism, (Shigeta teaches of a lens apparatus includes an optical member, a driving device configured to perform driving of the optical member, a detector configured to detect a state related to the driving, and a processor configured to generate a control signal for the driving device based on first information about the detected state, wherein the processor includes a machine learning model configured to generate an output related to the control signal based on the first information and second information about the lens apparatus, and is configured to output the first information and the second information to a generator configured to perform generation of the machine learning model, Abstract of Shigeta. Shigeta teaches that the lens apparatus is controlled by an application specific integrated circuit with driving devices 105, 107, 109, and 112 that are not limited to ultrasonic motors, and may be configured to include other motors such as a voice coil motor, a direct-current (DC) motor, and a stepping motor., Paragraphs 0026-0027, 0105-0106 of Shigeta. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the teachings of Shirai to include an IC chip that controlled the driving mechanism as taught by Shigeta, because the IC chip can perform customizable tasks at a maximum efficiency while lowering power consumption).
Regarding Claim 2, Shirai and Shigeta disclose the IC chip according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit generates, in order to suppress the sound generated due to the driving by the driving mechanism by suppressing moving speed or moving acceleration of the optical element (limits the driving speed of the focus lens 33), the control signal corresponding to the position of the optical element based on the relationship information (In a case where the clipping operation is permitted by the camera control unit 21, the lens control unit 36 limits the driving speed of the focus lens 33 to the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b so that the driving speed V1a of the focus lens 33 described later is not lower than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. In a case where the driving instruction speed of the focus lens 33 is smaller than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b, the lens control unit 36 limits the lens driving speed V1a of the focus lens 33 to the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b. By performing the clipping operation, the lens control unit 36 limits the driving speed V1a of the focus lens 33 to the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b (controls the driving speed as not to be lower than the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b) (step S404), so that it is possible to suppress the driving sound of the focus lens 33, Paragraphs 0168-0178 of Shirai).
In regard to Claim 7, Shirai and Shigeta disclose the IC chip according to claim 1, further comprising a storage unit for storing the relationship information (The noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b is acquired by the lens control unit 36. The noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b is stored in the lens memory 37, and the lens control unit 36 can acquire the noise-reduction lower limit lens moving speed V0b from the lens memory 37, Paragraphs 0170, 0194 of Shirai).
Method Claim 16 corresponds to apparatus/device claim 1 and is rejected as discussed in the above rejection to claim 1.
6.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638