Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/13/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 1-11, 18-20, 23-25 are rejected as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20240283657 hereinafter Jose have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the registration unit". However, claim 12 contains no earlier recitation or limitation of a registration unit and it is unclear as to what element the limitation was making reference. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12-17, 24, 25, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240251009 hereinafter Son in view of U.S. Publication No. 20120331536 hereinafter Chabbewal.
As per claim 1, Son discloses:
A process of registering a target device with a content publisher (Figs. 2 and 3, para 0063 “FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary process of transferring a file from a first device, system, or location (e.g., one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216) to another device, system, or location (e.g., another one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216).”), comprising:
providing, to a user, a content-access application configured to control content downloads to the user from the publisher (para 0050 “FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a super application 202, which is part of a super application system 200 that may be used to solve the above noted problems of the related art systems. The super application system 200 provides for conveniently accessing, viewing, and transferring information stored in a variety of locations and associated with a variety of systems, devices, and applications. The super application 202 may include a central application 202 that controls the functionality of a plurality of user devices, e.g., user devices further discussed below with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6, via interaction with a plurality of connected devices or connected systems, e.g., connected device/system 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216.” Para 0061 “Furthermore, the system 200 may be configured such that one or more users can access the super application 202 from a multitude of devices. In one embodiment, the system 200 is configured such that the super application 202 may be accessed from one or more of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212,
214, and 216; and in yet another embodiment, system 200 is configured such that the super application 202 may be accessed from every one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216.” para 0080 “In one embodiment, the super application 202 may be downloaded on a number of user devices 404, which may be either or both of content source devices or storage target devices. The super application 202 may have an associated “back end” of the super application 202, which may relate to portions of the super application 202 (or program code associated with the super application 202) that allow the super application 202 to operate and that cannot be accessed by an end user or customer.”);
storing the content-access application on an application storage device configured for access by a user computer processing device (para 0080 “In one embodiment, the super application 202 may be downloaded on a number of user devices 404, which may be either or both of content source devices or storage target devices. The super application 202 may have an associated “back end” of the super application 202, which may relate to portions of the super application 202 (or program code associated with the super application 202) that allow the super application 202 to operate and that cannot be accessed by an end user or customer.” para 0082 “In contrast, the super application may use specialized data and/or a specialized communication protocol when communicating with the devices, systems, or applications 402 and/or a user device 404, e.g., when the user device 404 is functioning as a content source or storage target. In one embodiment, the specialized communication protocol may consist of transmitting or receiving information corresponding to the specific open or public API that is used by the user device 404 or devices, systems, or applications 402. During registration of a content source and/or during registration of a storage target, the user device 404 or devices, systems, or applications 402 may provide the super application 202 with input parameters corresponding to the appropriate open or public API, and the super application 202 may configure the user's account such that future communications with the registered content source or storage target use the stored input parameters.”);
providing, to the user by the publisher, a registration code particular to the registration process (para 0064 “In one embodiment, before the user interface of the super application 200 shows the first display 310 or the like, a user may be required to create an account, register content sources, or both. A user may create an account by entering a unique user name and password. The super application 200 may require the password to meet certain criteria. For example, a proposed password may not be accepted if the proposed password is less than a predetermined number of characters. Additionally, upon entering a unique username and acceptable password, the user may further be required to verify his or her account. Account verification may include prompting the user to provide an email address or telephone number. After the super application 200 receives the email address or telephone number via the user interface, the super application 200 may then send a code to the received email address or telephone number. The super application 200 may then prompt the user to enter the code via the user interface. If the super application 200 receives via the user interface a code matching the code sent to the user's email address or telephone number, the super application 200 may thereby verify the user's account.”);
opening the content-access application on the user computer processing device; initiating a registration phase of the content-access application (para 0064 “In one embodiment, before the user interface of the super application 200 shows the first display 310 or the like, a user may be required to create an account, register content sources, or both. A user may create an account by entering a unique user name and password.”);
selecting, by the user through the content-access application, the target device, wherein the target device has digital storage capability (para 0065 “After creating a user account, the super application 200 may provide a method for adding or registering one or more content sources and/or one or more storage targets.”);
determining, by the content-access application, an identifier permanently associated with the target selected device, wherein the identifier is a unique, unchangeable value that is characteristic of the selected target device (para 0064 “Account verification may include prompting the user to provide an email address or telephone number. After the super application 200 receives the email address or telephone number via the user interface, the super application 200 may then send a code to the received email address or telephone number.”);
temporarily storing the identifier by the content-access application (para 0064 “Account verification may include prompting the user to provide an email address or telephone number. After the super application 200 receives the email address or telephone number via the user interface, the super application 200 may then send a code to the received email address or telephone number.” During the account verification, the telephone number or email address is used to temporary verification and not saved as part of the account. Thereby temporarily storing the email or telephone number to register the account)
Son does not disclose:
providing, by a user to the publisher through the content-access application, the registration code and the identifier;
associating, by the publisher, the registration code with the identifier to form a registration unit; and
storing the registration unit by the publisher, thereby registering the selected target device
Chabbewal discloses:
providing, by the user to the publisher through the content-access application, the registration code and the identifier (para 0033 “FIG. 3 is a diagram that depicts an exemplary identity confirmation flow that involves a server system 302, a registered client device 304, and a nonregistered or "new" client device 306. This particular example assumes that the user is attempting to access a secure destination resource (e.g., a website, a web page, a file transfer site, or the like) using the client device 306, where the user's credentials have not previously been used to access the destination resource with the client device 306.” Para 0035 “Notably, the activation screen 400 gives the user the option to select a delivery methodology for carrying out the activation procedure for the new client device 306. The illustrated embodiment allows the user to select at least one telephone number to be used for sending a text message or a voicemail to the user, and at least one email address to be used for sending an email to the user. Although the activation screen 400 provides only one telephone number and only one email address as options, there could be any number of telephone numbers (or no telephone number) and any number of email addresses (or no email address) listed. In practice, a listed telephone number or email address will be one that has already been verified or registered by the system as belonging to the user.” Para 0037 “In response to receiving the activation request 314, the server system 302 generates and sends (or, alternatively, initiates the generation and sending by another entity, component, module, or system) at least one message 316 to the user. Notably, the message type or format used at this time will be dictated by the activation request 314. In accordance with this example, therefore, the message 316 will be a text message sent to a device having the designated telephone number (415-555-5555). Depending upon the current situation and operating scenario, a message 316a could be sent to the registered client device 304, a message 316b could be sent to the new client device 306, or both. For this reason, FIG. 3 depicts the message 316 in dashed lines to indicate the different options. The message 316 includes a simple verification code or token (e.g., a short alphanumeric string that is easy to memorize, such as a five-digit number).” Para 0039 “In accordance with one typical scenario, the user receives the message 316 at the registered client device 304, views and memorizes the verification code, and then enters the memorized verification code at the character entry field 502. ”);
associating, by the publisher, the registration code with the identifier to form a registration unit and storing the registration unit by the publisher, thereby registering the selected target device (para 0040 “ Accordingly, the server system 302 activates the new client device 306 as a registered device associated with the user credentials, such that subsequent login attempts from the client device 306 are deemed trustworthy. In this regard, the new client device 306 can be added to a list of authorized, trusted, or "white listed" devices corresponding to the user's credentials.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device to Son include providing, by a user to the publisher through the content-access application, the registration code and the identifier, associating, by the publisher, the registration code with the identifier to form a registration unit and storing the registration unit by the publisher, thereby registering the selected target device, as taught by Chabbewal.
The motivation would have been to register and verify a user device using an identity confirmation routine that also seamlessly authenticates the user and provides access to the desired information in a manner that is transparent to the user (Chabbewal paragraph 0015).
As per claim 2, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1,wherein the device is one of a digital storage device (Son para 0023 and 0065), and
a computer processing device, wherein the computer processing device is one of the user computer processing device and another computer processing device (Son para 0063 and 0067).
As per claim 3, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 2, wherein the digital storage device is one of: operatively arranged as an internal component of another device; and operatively coupled to another device as an external component (Son Fig. 3, para 0066).
As per claim 5, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the selected device is one of a plurality of available devices (Son para 0067).
As per claim 6, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1,wherein the registration code is provided to the user by the publisher via email (Son para 0064).
As per claim 7, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the registration code is provided by the publisher to an email address provided to the publisher by the user (Son para 0064).
As per claim 12, Son discloses:
A process of acquiring digital content (Figs. 2 and 3, para 0063 “FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary process of transferring a file from a first device, system, or location (e.g., one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216) to another device, system, or location (e.g., another one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216).”), comprising:
registering a device with a publisher according to the process of claim 1 (Fig. 7);
requesting, by the user, a content file from the publisher (para 0094 “At operation 770, a request to access content information related to the content source is received. At operation 780, the content information is received in response to receiving the request to access the content information; and at operation 790, the content information is transmitted to the storage target in response to receiving the content information.”);
Son does not disclose:
providing, by the user, the registration code to the publisher,
associating the registration unit with the requested content file, by the publisher, thereby forming a unique user content file;
and providing the unique user content file to the user for presentation by the content-access application
Chabbewal discloses:
providing, by the user, the registration code to the publisher (para 0050 “As described above with reference to FIG. 5, the verification screen accommodates user entry of the received verification code. Accordingly, the client device can obtain a user-entered verification code at the verification screen and thereafter send a verification/login request that includes, indicates, or otherwise conveys the user-entered representation of the verification code (task 634). For the verification screen 500 shown in FIG. 5, the verification request is initiated in response to user interaction with the control 504 (the "Verify" button).”),
associating the registration unit with the requested content file, by the publisher, thereby forming a unique user content file and providing the unique user content file to the user for presentation by the content-access application (para 0033 “This particular example assumes that the user is attempting to access a secure destination resource (e.g., a website, a web page, a file transfer site, or the like) using the client device 306, where the user's credentials have not previously been used to access the destination resource with the client device 306.” para 0052 “This example assumes that the server system receives the verification request from the client device (task 636), along with the user-entered representation of the verification code. In response to receiving the verification request, the server system compares the user-entered code to the code that was generated by the server system during task 624. If the codes do not match (the "No" branch of query task 638), then the process 600 may exit, generate an appropriate message to inform the user that the user-entered verification code is invalid, prompt the user to re-enter the code, or the like. In certain embodiments, if the codes do not match, then the process 600 gives the user an opportunity to request redelivery of the verification code, and the user may again be allowed to choose the desired delivery mechanism for the verification code, as described previously. If the codes match (the "Yes" branch of query task 638), then the server system activates the client device as a new registered device for the user, as associated with the entered user credentials (task 640). In conjunction with the device activation and identity confirmation, the server system automatically and transparently executes a login procedure and seamlessly provides the intended destination resource to the newly registered client device (task 642). Notably, the seamless transition from "unrecognized device" to registered and logged in device is accomplished using the preserved and maintained state information that corresponds to the originally requested resource (see above description of task 612). All of this activity occurs in the background and transparently to the user. In accordance with a successful verification, therefore, after initiating the verification request at task 634, the client device automatically and quickly receives and displays the destination web page (task 644) without having to initiate or perform any additional user authentication protocols, without having to close and restart the browser application, and without having to access any intervening web pages or sites.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device Son to include providing, by the user, the registration code to the publisher, associating the registration unit with the requested content file, by the publisher, thereby forming a unique user content file; and providing the unique user content file to the user for presentation by the content-access application, as taught by Chabbewal.
The motivation would have been to register and verify a user device using an identity confirmation routine that also seamlessly authenticates the user and provides access to the desired information in a manner that is transparent to the user (Chabbewal paragraph 0015).
As per claim 13, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 12, wherein the unique user content file is provided to the user electronically (Chabbewal para 0033 and 0052, The motivation would have been to register and verify a user device using an identity confirmation routine that also seamlessly authenticates the user and provides access to the desired information in a manner that is transparent to the user (Chabbewal paragraph 0015)”).
As per claim 14, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 12, further comprising: storing the unique user content file to the registered device, by the user; and providing the unique user content to the content-access application, by the user (Son para 0068 and 0076).
As per claim 15, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 12, wherein requesting, by the user, the content file from the publisher includes accessing a publisher's website and selecting the content file at the website (Chabbewal, para 0033 “FIG. 3 is a diagram that depicts an exemplary identity confirmation flow that involves a server system 302, a registered client device 304, and a nonregistered or "new" client device 306. This particular example assumes that the user is attempting to access a secure destination resource (e.g., a website, a web page, a file transfer site, or the like) using the client device 306, where the user's credentials have not previously been used to access the destination resource with the client device 306.” Para 0034 “The activation screen 400 includes a message that explains that the destination website is being accessed from an unrecognized device, and prompts the user to activate the device.” The motivation would have been to register and verify a user device using an identity confirmation routine that also seamlessly authenticates the user and provides access to the desired information in a manner that is transparent to the user (Chabbewal paragraph 0015)”).
As per claim 16, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim15, wherein the registration code is provided to the publisher at the publisher's website (Chabbewal para 0033 and 0052, The motivation would have been to register and verify a user device using an identity confirmation routine that also seamlessly authenticates the user and provides access to the desired information in a manner that is transparent to the user (Chabbewal paragraph 0015)”).
As per claim 17, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim12, wherein providing the unique user content file to the user includes providing a new registered device to the user, wherein the unique user content file is stored on the new registered device (Son para 0085 “When accessing the super application 202, e.g., when viewing display 502, the user may select one or more of the icons, e.g., one or more of the icons 512, 522, or 532, to either access information stored in the local memory of a particular device/application or access information stored in a memory associated with the particular device/application. In one embodiment, if a user intends to access information stored on a Canon camera 520, which has been previously registered with the user's account, the Canon icon 522 may be in color as opposed to in gray. In this instance, the user intends for the Canon camera 520 to be a content source. In one embodiment, the user may select the Canon icon 522, and the super application 202 may initiate a series of communications, which may occur in fractions of a second, e.g., 100 milliseconds or less to access information stored on the Canon camera 520. As such, the delay may be not be perceived by user, and the user may perceive clicking on the icon causes an instantaneous access of the contents of the desired content source. ” para 0092 “In one embodiment, a user may be able to add or register a new system, device, or application from the display 502).
As per claim 24, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 23, wherein the unique user content file includes at least one of still images, animated images, sound files, and any combination of media types (Son para 0042 and 0061)
As per claim 25, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 19, further comprising: enabling an encryption protocol between the publisher and the content-access application; encrypting the unique user content file before providing the unique user content file to the content-access application; and decrypting the encrypted unique user content file by the content-access application only after granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application (Son para 0064 “The super application 200 may then prompt the user to enter the code via the user interface. If the super application 200 receives via the user interface a code matching the code sent to the user's email address or telephone number, the super application 200 may thereby verify the user's account. Of course, the above-noted registration/verification process may include encryption and decryption of data and/or additional or alternative security measures. In this regard, the aforementioned account creation and/or verification process may include, e.g., using one or more cryptographic hash functions in the storing of user data and/or in sending and receiving information.”).
As per claim 28, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1,wherein the target device is separate from the application storage device (Son para 0065, 0076, 0077 and 0080).
As per claim 29, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim1, wherein the content-access application is not stored on the target device (Son para 0080, “In one embodiment, the super application 202 may be downloaded on a number of user devices 404, which may be either or both of content source devices or storage target devices.The super application 202 may have an associated “back end” of the super application 202, which may relate to portions of the super application 202 (or program code associated with the super application 202) that allow the super application 202 to operate and that cannot be accessed by an end user or customer.” ).
5. Claims 4 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view Chabbewal of U.S. Publication No. 20220095095 hereinafter Lim.
As per claim 4, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the device is a computer processing device (Son Fig. 3, para 0023 and 0065)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
identifier includes at least one of a serial number, a container ID, a UDID, an IMEl, a MAC address and a BIOSID
Lim discloses:
identifier includes at least one of a serial number, a container ID, a UDID, an IMEl, a MAC address and a BIOSID identifier is embedded in the target device (para 0313 “In one example, information (e.g., an eUICC ID of an eSIM embedded in the target device 650) indicating the target device 650.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include identifier includes at least one of a serial number, a container ID, a UDID, an IMEl, a MAC address and a BIOSID, as taught by Lim.
The motivation would have been to identify a target device using embedded information.
As per claim 30, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the identifier (Son para 0064)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
identifier is embedded in the target device
Lim discloses:
identifier is embedded in the target device (para 0313 “In one example, information (e.g., an eUICC ID of an eSIM embedded in the target device 650) indicating the target device 650.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include identifier is embedded in the target device, as taught by Lim.
The motivation would have been to identify a target device using embedded information.
6. Claims 8-10, 11, 18-20, 22, 23, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view Chabbewal of U.S. Publication No. 20180375925 hereinafter Xu.
As per claim 8, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the registration code provided to the user by the publisher (Son para 0064)
Son in view of Chabbewal does disclose:
registration code is one of a plurality of registration codes
Xu discloses:
registration code is one of a plurality of registration codes (para 0075 “ At 340, various security codes are generated. For example, authorization server 112 generates a client identifier and client secret for subsequent use, by the application, to access the resources.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include registration code is one of a plurality of registration codes, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 9, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the publisher (Son para 0064)
Son in view of Chabbewal does disclose:
publisher is one of a plurality of publishers with which the selected device can be registered
Xu discloses:
publisher is one of a plurality of publishers with which the selected device can be registered (Para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Para 0051 “In particular, a user of a non-enterprise device accesses application 131 (e.g., Pages™ by Apple™) from enterprise application store 130 and downloads and installs the application onto the device. For example, a user of device 150 (e.g., iPhone™) and device 160 (e.g., iPad™) installs a word processing application from enterprise application store 130 and installs application 151 (e.g., Pages™) onto device 150, and application 161 (e.g., Pages™) onto device 160.” Para 0052 Enterprise application store 130 is any application repository (e.g., Google PIay™) for storing applications (e.g., applications 131-131n) wherein the application may subsequently be used to access resources from enterprise system 110. In one embodiment, enterprise application store 130 may be located within enterprise system 110.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include publisher is one of a plurality of publishers with which the selected device can be registered, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 10, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the identifier associated with the selected device is a first identifier (Son para 0064)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
further comprising replacing, by the content-access application through a registration process with the publisher, the first identifier with a second identifier associated with a second selected device; wherein the second identifier is a characteristic, unique, unchangeable value
Xu discloses:
further comprising replacing, by the content-access application through a registration process with the publisher, the first identifier with a second identifier associated with a second selected device; wherein the second identifier is a characteristic, unique, unchangeable value (para 0078 “Authorization server 112 also generates an authorization code for subsequent use, by the application, to access resources. In particular, the authorization code is used to obtain access tokens and refresh tokens, which will be described in further detail below.” Para 0089 [0089] At 370, the client ID, client secret and authorization code are sent from the application to enterprise system 110. For example, the client ID, client secret and authorization code are sent to authorization server 112 via a REST call. This is done to obtain an access token or refresh token from the authorization server.” Para 0090 “At 372, the access token or refresh token is sent to the application. For example, authorization server 112 sends application 151 an access token in response to receiving the client ID, client secret and authorization code from the application.” Para 0091 Access tokens are credentials used to access protected resources. An access token is a string representing an authorization issued to the client application. Tokens represent specific scopes and durations of access, granted by the resource owner, and enforced by the resource server and authorization server.”0 Para 0092 “ Similarly, refresh tokens are credentials used to obtain access tokens. Refresh tokens are issued to the client application by the authorization server and are used to obtain a new access token when the current access token becomes invalid or expires, or to obtain additional access tokens with identical or narrower scope (access tokens may have a shorter lifetime and fewer permissions than authorized by the resource owner).” Para 0098 “Additionally, management of enterprise system 110 may be dynamically configured and scalable. In one embodiment, if any devices (e.g., device 150 and device 160) are lost, the access tokens for the devices may be revoked. For example, a search is provided for device 150 and device 160 in associations 116. Once device 150 and device 160 are accessed in associations 116, device 150 and device 160 are removed from associations 116 and the tokens generated for the devices are revoked. As a result, the devices and installed applications are unable to access resources 122.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include further comprising replacing, by the content-access application through a registration process with the publisher, the first identifier with a second identifier associated with a second selected device; wherein the second identifier is a characteristic, unique, unchangeable value, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 11, Son in view of Chabbewal and Xu discloses:
The process of claim 10, wherein replacing the first identifier with the second identifier occurs when prompted by the user (Xu Fig. 3, para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Fig. 3, element 340, Para 0078 “ Authorization server 112 also generates an authorization code for subsequent use, by the application, to access resources. In particular, the authorization code is used to obtain access tokens and refresh tokens,” Para 0092 “ Similarly, refresh tokens are credentials used to obtain access tokens. Refresh tokens are issued to the client application by the authorization server and are used to obtain a new access token when the current access token becomes invalid or expires, or to obtain additional access tokens with identical or narrower scope (access tokens may have a shorter lifetime and fewer permissions than authorized by the resource owner).” The access of the application by the user to obtain a refresh token began the process of replacing the token)
As per claim 18, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
A process of acquiring digital content (Son Figs. 2 and 3, para 0063 “FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary process of transferring a file from a first device, system, or location (e.g., one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216) to another device, system, or location (e.g., another one of the connected devices/systems 204, 206, 208, 210, 212, 214, and 216).”), comprising:
acquiring the content file according to the process of claim 12 (Son Fig. 7);
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
comparing, by the content-access application, the identifier of the registered device with the associated identifier of the unique user content file;
and granting access to and opening the unique user content file in the content-access application only if the identifier associated with the unique user content file corresponds with the unique identifier stored by the registered device as compared by the content-access application.
Xu discloses:
comparing, by the content-access application, the identifier of the registered device with the associated identifier of the unique user content file;
and granting access to and opening the unique user content file in the content-access application only if the identifier associated with the unique user content file corresponds with the unique identifier stored by the registered device as compared by the content-access application (Fig. 3, para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Para 0059 “The automatic registration request includes attributes pertaining to the client application and device. The registration request may include, but is not limited to, product ID, device ID, requested access scope, redirect URL, etc.” Para 0120 “At 520, the application is registered with the enterprise system. For example, when one or more attributes of the registration request match with one or more attributes, respectively, of an application access template, the application is registered with the enterprise system.” Para 0125 “ At 560, secure access to resources by a mobile device is enabled, wherein the mobile device is outside a firewall of the enterprise system. For example, mobile application 151 is installed on mobile device 150, which is located outside of the firewall of enterprise system 110. Mobile application 151 and mobile device 150 are properly registered and authorized with enterprise system 110 such that mobile application 151 is able to access secure resources 122.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include providing, by the user, the registration code to the publisher, associating the registration unit with the requested content file, by the publisher, thereby forming a unique user content file; and providing the unique user content file to the user for presentation by the content-access application, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 19, Son in view of Chabbewal and Xu discloses:
The process of claim18, further comprising requesting by the user to the content-access application, access to the unique user content file stored on the registered device (Son Fig. 7, para 0067, 0069-0074 and 0094).
As per claim 20, Son in view of Chabbewal and Xu discloses:
The process of claim 18,wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application includes granting at least one of read access, write access, and print access (Son para 0045, 0048 and 0085).
As per claim 22, Son in view of Chabbewal and Xu discloses:
The process of claim18,wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application includes granting offline access to the unique user content file (Son para 0061, 0085, and 0091).
As per claim 23, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 22, wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application includes presenting content included in the unique user content file to the user (Son Fig. 7)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not include
presenting content included in the unique user content file to the user
while the unique user content file is downloading
Xu discloses:
presenting content included in the unique user content file to the user
while the unique user content file is downloading (Para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Para 0051 “In particular, a user of a non-enterprise device accesses application 131 (e.g., Pages™ by Apple™) from enterprise application store 130 and downloads and installs the application onto the device. For example, a user of device 150 (e.g., iPhone™) and device 160 (e.g., iPad™) installs a word processing application from enterprise application store 130 and installs application 151 (e.g., Pages™) onto device 150, and application 161 (e.g., Pages™) onto device 160.” Para 0052 Enterprise application store 130 is any application repository (e.g., Google PIay™) for storing applications (e.g., applications 131-131n) wherein the application may subsequently be used to access resources from enterprise system 110. In one embodiment, enterprise application store 130 may be located within enterprise system 110.” It is well known within the art without undue experimentation what when downloading an app on your phone, presenting the content download on the phone. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include presenting content included in the unique user content file to the user while the unique user content file is downloading , as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 26, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 1, wherein the application storage device (Son para 0080)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
application storage device is arranged internal to the user computer processing device
Xu discloses:
application storage device is arranged internal to the user computer processing device (Fig. 3, para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Para 0059 “The automatic registration request includes attributes pertaining to the client application and device. The registration request may include, but is not limited to, product ID, device ID, requested access scope, redirect URL, etc.” Para 0120 “At 520, the application is registered with the enterprise system. For example, when one or more attributes of the registration request match with one or more attributes, respectively, of an application access template, the application is registered with the enterprise system.” Para 0125 “ At 560, secure access to resources by a mobile device is enabled, wherein the mobile device is outside a firewall of the enterprise system. For example, mobile application 151 is installed on mobile device 150, which is located outside of the firewall of enterprise system 110. Mobile application 151 and mobile device 150 are properly registered and authorized with enterprise system 110 such that mobile application 151 is able to access secure resources 122.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include application storage device is arranged internal to the user computer processing device, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
As per claim 27, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim1,wherein the application storage device (Son para 0080)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
application storage device is coupled for communication externally with the user computer processing device
Xu discloses:
application storage device is coupled for communication externally with the user computer processing device (Fig. 3, para 0050 “At 307, one or more applications are accessed. For example, a user of device 150 accesses one or more applications from enterprise application store 130 such that the user is able to access resources from enterprise system 110 via the one or more applications.” Para 0059 “The automatic registration request includes attributes pertaining to the client application and device. The registration request may include, but is not limited to, product ID, device ID, requested access scope, redirect URL, etc.” Para 0120 “At 520, the application is registered with the enterprise system. For example, when one or more attributes of the registration request match with one or more attributes, respectively, of an application access template, the application is registered with the enterprise system.” Para 0125 “ At 560, secure access to resources by a mobile device is enabled, wherein the mobile device is outside a firewall of the enterprise system. For example, mobile application 151 is installed on mobile device 150, which is located outside of the firewall of enterprise system 110. Mobile application 151 and mobile device 150 are properly registered and authorized with enterprise system 110 such that mobile application 151 is able to access secure resources 122.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include application storage device is coupled for communication externally with the user computer processing device, as taught by Xu.
The motivation would have been to registering an application with a mobile device to an enterprise system.
7. Claims 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view Chabbewal of U.S. Publication No. 20210288960 hereinafter Nickolai.
As per claim 21, Son in view of Chabbewal discloses:
The process of claim 18, wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application (Son para 0064)
Son in view of Chabbewal does not disclose:
wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application does not include copy access.
Nickolai discloses:
granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-
access application does not include copy access (para 0080 Similarly, the
authenticated client can have a level of access to the system that is associated
with a nominal sensitivity threshold. If the session metrics do not comport with
the registered metrics of the authenticated client, but fall within 2 standard
deviations of the registered metrics, at 418 the MAA agent can take a non-
comporting action that permits the login client to continue login processing, but
possibly providing the login client with access to only particular resources of the
target system, or with only particular types of access (e.g., read but not modify)
to resources of the system, different from those available to the authenticated
client logging.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of transferring a file from a first device of Son in view of Chabbewal to include wherein granting access to the unique user content file to the user by the content-access application does not include copy access, as taught by Nickolai.
The motivation would have been to controlling access based on grant
access metrics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY S GRACIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499