DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 14, “lips stick” should be changed to – lipstick --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: punching element in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (hereinafter “Deng”) (JP 3240630 U) in view of Diehl et al. (hereinafter “Diehl”) (US 20150059153 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Deng discloses: a method for making a lipstick cup unit of a lipstick container (see modified Figure 3 above), comprising the steps of:
providing a cup (3) with a chamber (3a), a wall (3b) (see Fig. 3, illustrated above) extending around the chamber,
and an aperture (13) extending throughout the wall so that the aperture is in communication with the chamber.
Deng discloses: providing a pin (4) (Figures 4, 5) wherein the pin is insertable in helical slit (15) of a cylinder (2) of the lipstick container (11) and a rectilinear slit (12) of another cylinder (5) of the [lipstick] container ([0019], lines 9-11) (Deng discloses this limitation; however, it is noted that the limitations after “insertable” are not positively claimed).
Deng does not disclose: providing a rivet with a head and a slender portion, wherein the slender portion is formed with a first end connected to the head and a second end located opposite to the first end;
and enlarging the second end of the slender portion so that the enlarged second end of the slender portion is tightly located against an internal side of the wall and that the head is tightly located against an external side of the wall,
wherein the head is insertable in helical slit of a cylinder of the lipstick container and a rectilinear slit of another cylinder of the lips stick container.
Diehl teaches: providing a rivet (10) (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C) with a head (12) and a slender portion (14), wherein the slender portion is formed with a first end (16) connected to the head and a second end (22) located opposite to the first end;
and enlarging the second end of the slender portion so that the enlarged second end of the slender portion is tightly located against an internal side of the wall (42) and that the head is tightly located against an external side of the wall (40) ([0047-0049], Figure 3A,3B,3C).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the rivet for the attachment of individual components to one another as taught by Diehl for the pin of the lipstick container of Deng because rivets, compared to other fasteners, are less expensive and less complicated to manufacture. ([0006], lines 1-8 of Diehl)
After modification, Deng in view of Diehl teaches: providing a rivet with a head and a slender portion, wherein the slender portion is formed with a first end connected to the head and a second end located opposite to the first end;
and enlarging the second end of the slender portion so that the enlarged second end of the slender portion is tightly located against an internal side of the wall and that the head is tightly located against an external side of the wall,
wherein the head is insertable in helical slit of a cylinder of the lipstick container and a rectilinear slit of another cylinder of the [lipstick] container.
Regarding claim 2, modified Deng teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising the step of making the slender portion a tubular portion (14 cross section in Figure 1A of Diehl).
Regarding claim 3, modified Deng teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of enlarging the second end of the slender portion comprises the steps of:
using a mold (70) (Figure 3B of Diehl) to receive the second end of the slender portion,
and using a punching element (60) (Figure 2B of Diehl) to punch the head.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
US 20240041183 A1 teaches a cup with a pin insertable in a rectilinear slit of one cylinder and a
helical slit of another cylinder.
US 5035041 A teaches a rivet with a mold and punch.
CN 107232736 A teaches a cup with a pin insertable in a rectilinear slit of one cylinder and a
helical slit of another cylinder.
CN 110801095 teaches a cup with a pin insertable in a rectilinear slit of one cylinder and a
helical slit of another cylinder.
TW I707643 B teaches a cup with a pin insertable in a rectilinear slit of one cylinder and a helical
slit of another cylinder.
/J.S.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3725 /Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725