DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the structure of the conductive pads in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,11,19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scott et al (US20160114160A1); hereinafter Scott.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Scott teaches an enhanced athletic performance and overcoming muscular inefficiencies through electro muscular stimulation (EMS) technology comprising:
a garment having a plurality of conductive pads placed in interior surfaces of said garment ([0010] the compression suit is wearable by the user and comprises an EMS device); said plurality of conductive pads being connected to a power control unit on said garment ([0010] control unit); said power control unit having a wireless connection to a separate command device that operates under an application ([0016] mobile computing device, figs. 1 and 2); said conductive pads being configured to cover at least two of a group consisting of triceps, pectorals, biceps, bottom abdominals, top abdominals, obliques glutes, hamstrings, quadriceps, caves, tibialis, and abdominals (fig. 1, see locations for EMS devices); said application measure a baseline minimum stimuli response ([0011] The electro-muscular stimulation system may also comprise a sensor configured to monitor various physical characteristics of the user); and an intensity of stimuli is increased until a pain tolerance during exercise is achieved.
Regarding claim 19, Scott teaches the EMS technology according to claim 11, wherein said conductive pads cover at least two of a group consisting of triceps, pectorals, biceps, bottom abdominals, top abdominals, obliques glutes, hamstrings, quadriceps, caves, tibialis, and abdominals (fig. 1, see locations for EMS devices).
Regarding claim 20, Scott teaches the EMS technology according to claim 19, wherein said conductive pads are connected to a power control unit ([0010] control unit) that is controlled by an application ([0016] mobile computing device, figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Chahine et al (US 20170056644 A1); hereinafter Chahine.
Regarding claim 2, Scott teaches the EMS technology according to claim 1. Scott fails to teach the composition of the garment. Chahine teaches said garment is made from a 20% spandex and 80% nylon (claim 11 - the network of non-conductive fibres includes non-conductive fibre material that comprises at least one of: nylon; cotton; spandex; polyester; or silk). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Scott with Chahine because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Chahine teaches that the garment needs to be made of a non-electrically conductive textile yarn ([0184]).
Regarding claim 3, Scott teaches the EMS technology according to claim 1. Scott fails to teach the structure of the conductive pads. Chahine teaches said conductive pads include a conductive silica gel, a silver fabric, a sponge and a fabric cover ([0098] The electrodes can be made of silica gels ... The electrodes can be made of silicone gels).
Claim(s) 4-10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Moaddeb et al (US 20210330547 A1); hereinafter Moaddeb.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Scott teaches the technology according to claim 1. Scott fails to teach the fundamental and carrier waves. Moaddeb further discloses said intensity of stimuli has a fundamental wave ([0040] fundamental frequency/first harmonic). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Scott with Moaddeb because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Moaddeb teaches “one or more vibration elements 136, 138 may be configured to vibrate at multiple frequencies” ([0040]). In order to accommodate the multiple frequencies, it would be obvious to have harmonic frequencies (or fundamental and carrier frequencies as the present application).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination of Scott and Moaddeb teaches the EMS technology according to claims 4 and 12. Moaddeb teaches the intensity of stimuli also includes a carrier wave ([0040] higher harmonics).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the combination of Scott and Moaddeb teaches the EMS technology according to claims 5 and 13. Moaddeb teaches intensity of stimuli is with wave forms of at least one square, sine, trapezoidal, triangle, exponential, diamond, right triangle, and left triangle ([0060] The period of activation of the electrodes 302, 304, 306 may include one or more of the following patterns: a biphasic sine wave, a multiphasic wave, a monophasic sine wave, a biphasic pulsatile sine wave, a biphasic rectangular wave, a monophasic square wave, a monophasic pulsatile rectangular wave, a biphasic spiked wave, a monophasic spiked wave, and a monophasic pulsatile spiked wave).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the combination of Scott and Moaddeb teaches the EMS technology of claims 5 and 13, Moaddeb further teaches said fundamental wave is from 4 Hz to 200 Hz ([0040] The first harmonic, for example, in a particular embodiment may be 10 Hz).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the combination of Scott and Moaddeb teaches the EMS technology of claims 5 and 13. Moaddeb further teaches said carrier wave is a frequency of 5 Hz to 30 Hz ([0040] a second harmonic may be 20 Hz).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, the combination of Scott and Moaddeb teaches the EMS technology of claims 8 and 16. Moaddeb further teaches said carrier wave has a pulse width of 150 μs to 200 μs ([0059] pulse width: 0.01 microsecond (μs) to 1000 microseconds (μs), or 1 microsecond (μs) to 1000 microseconds (μs), or 0.01 microsecond (μs) to 5 microseconds (μs).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Scott teaches the EMS technology of claims 1 and 11. Scott fails to teach the scale of the intensity. Moaddeb teaches the intensity of stimuli is a scale from 0 to 100 ([0047] elements 136, 138 are caused to activate in a manner which is proportional to or matches in some way the reduction or increase in amplitude, intensity).
Conclusion
/D.S.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796