Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
1. Claims 1, 12-13, & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 212808620 U), hereinafter Wang.
2. Regarding Claims 1 & 12:
Wang teaches a bidirectional laser rangefinder, ([Abstract]: The utility model claims a double-lamp set bidirectional laser range finder with simple structure and convenient assembly). Wang teaches a housing assembly, ([Figs. 1 & 2]: Show the laser range finder main body (1) and outer cylinder (2)). Wang teaches a bracket assembly, ([0024]: 19 lamp group). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows component 19 is a mounting bracket for the laser emitter, with separate mounting brackets (19) to mount lasers on each end of the main body). Wang teaches a connecting plate, ([0024]: 12 inner core). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows the inner core (12) connecting the brackets (19)). Wang teaches a first and a second laser emitter disposed in the housing assembly, ([Figs. 1 & 2]: Show lamp groups (19) disposed in the housing assembly). Wang teaches, the bracket assembly comprises: a first bracket and a second bracket disposed in a mirror image manner along a length direction of the bidirectional laser rangefinder; wherein the first laser emitter and the second laser emitter are disposed on the first bracket and the second bracket respectively in a mirror image manner along the length direction of the bidirectional laser rangefinder, ([0006]: The bottom of two ends of the inner core is provided with a lamp group). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows the bracket assemblies, housing laser emitters, disposed on either end of the housing in mirror image manner along the length direction of the housing). Wang teaches upper portions of the first bracket and the second bracket are connected to the connecting plate, ([0006]: The bottom of two ends of the inner core is provided with a lamp group). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows upper portions of the first bracket (19) and the second bracket (19) are connected to the connecting plate (12)). Wang teaches widths of the first bracket, the second bracket, and the connecting plate are same as an internal diameter of the housing assembly; and the first bracket, the second bracket, and the connecting plate are clamped to the housing assembly, ([0006]: two sides of the inner core body are provided with a clamping groove; the bottom of the inner core body is provided with a battery placing groove; the bottom of the inner core body is provided with a battery; the battery is set in the battery placing groove; the bottom of two ends of the inner core is provided with a lamp group; two sides of the outer cylinder are provided with a lamp head decorative cover plate; one side of the lamp head decorative cover plate close to the outer cylinder is fixedly provided with a clamping block; the clamping block is penetrated in the clamping groove). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows widths of the first bracket, the second bracket, and the connecting plate are same as an internal diameter of the housing assembly).
3. Regarding Claim 12:
Wang teaches end covers, ([0006]: two sides of the outer cylinder are provided with a lamp head decorative cover plate). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows component (20) lamp head decorative cover plate is disposed at each end of the main body). Wang teaches the end covers are clamped to a front end and a rear end of the housing, ([0006]: one side of the lamp head decorative cover plate close to the outer cylinder is fixedly provided with a clamping block; the clamping block is penetrated in the clamping groove). Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows components (21) clamping block, (23) locating block, and (24) locating groove to clamp the end covers to a front and rear end of the housing).
4. Regarding Claim 13:
Wang teaches widths of the first bracket and the second bracket are the same as an internal diameter of the housing.
See Claim 1.
5. Regarding Claim 16:
Wang teaches a bottom of an inner side of the housing is provided with slideways, and bottom edges of the first bracket and the second bracket are slidingly connected to the slideways of the housing, ([Fig. 2]: Shows slide ways on an inner side of the locating block (23) with the first and second bracket slidingly connected).
6. Regarding Claim 17:
Wang teaches a battery; wherein the battery is disposed in a cavity defined by the first bracket and the second bracket and connected to tail ends of the first bracket and the second bracket, Wang further teaches, ([Fig. 2]: Shows battery (18) disposed in a cavity defined by the first bracket and the second bracket and connected to tail ends of the first bracket and the second bracket).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the
prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention
pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 212808620 U), hereinafter Wang, as applied to Claim 12.
8. Regarding Claim 14:
Wang teaches all of the features of Claim 14, connecting plate, the first bracket, the second bracket, limiting buckles, limiting grooves, except that Wang’s grooves and buckles are disposed on the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0016]: cover plate is inserted in the clamping groove set at two ends of the inner core body, so as to lock the inner core body in the outer cylinder body; all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). Wang further teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove and buckle locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove and buckle locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
9. Regarding Claim 15:
Wang teaches all of the features of Claim 15, the first bracket, the second bracket, end covers, limiting buckles, and limiting grooves, except that Wang’s grooves and buckles are disposed on the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0016]: cover plate is inserted in the clamping groove set at two ends of the inner core body, so as to lock the inner core body in the outer cylinder body; all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). Wang further teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove and buckle locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves and buckles since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove and buckle locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
10. Claims 2-3 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 212808620 U), hereinafter Wang, as applied to Claims 1 & 12, in view of Onoda et al (CN 115667014 A), hereinafter Onoda.
11. Regarding Claim 2:
Wang teaches each of the first bracket and the second bracket comprises: a sensor bracket, an emitter bracket, integrated as a whole; and each of the first laser emitter and the second laser emitter is disposed in the corresponding emitter bracket,
([0039]: two ends of the laser range finder main body 1 are provided with a measuring module, two end module can be used independently; also can realize two ends measuring and obtaining the data, and the laser range finder main body 1 itself is provided with a central point, can accurately measure the distance needed, but also can know the central point of the two ends of the measured distance).
See Claims 1 & 12.
Wang does not teach a reserved bracket, and the reserved bracket is configured to fix a preset component.
However, Onoda teaches, ([Abstract]: The vehicle light source system (22F) comprises: a first laser device (221F) for emitting the first laser; a second laser device (223F) emitting a second laser beam; a temperature measuring device (224F) for measuring the peripheral temperature; and a light source control part (220F) for controlling the first laser device and the second laser device according to the relationship between the peripheral temperature and the threshold temperature). Onoda further teaches, ([0072]: the light source system 22F is configured on the auxiliary bracket 33 F).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary sill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang with Onoda to include a reserved bracket, and the reserved bracket is configured to fix a preset component since, it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang with Onoda, since such a configuration provides space to expand the capabilities of the system as a whole. Auxiliary components (like an IMU or GNSS) must be rigidly attached to a common frame so that no differential motion occurs. A reserved slot ensures the exact distance (lever arm) and angular rotation between the laser's origin and the auxiliary sensor are known and fixed. Integrating devices like an RGB camera or a secondary ranging sensor allows the system to overlay real-world color (point cloud colorization) or augment depth data at the hardware level. Reserved slots often utilize internal data buses (e.g., Ethernet or CAN) to perfectly synchronize timestamps between the main LiDAR unit and the auxiliary component. When a second laser is the preset component, such a configuration allows two distinct wavelengths (e.g., violet and near-infrared) to scan different materials or depths simultaneously. This provides micrometer-level precision on specific surfaces while maintaining distance capabilities for far-field objects. In addition, such dual laser configurations can also provide expanded dynamic range.
12. Regarding Claim 3:
Wang teaches all of the features of Claim 3, inner sides of front ends of the first bracket and the second bracket define first limiting grooves, and the first limiting grooves are matched with the connecting plate in a limiting manner; and wherein outer sides of the front ends of the first bracket and the second bracket define third limiting grooves, and the third limiting grooves are matched with the housing assembly in a limiting manner, except that Wang’s grooves are disposed on the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0016]: cover plate is inserted in the clamping groove set at two ends of the inner core body, so as to lock the inner core body in the outer cylinder body; all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). Wang further teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
13. Regarding Claim 18:
Wang teaches all of the features of Claim 18, a housing, end covers, a connecting plate, a first bracket, a second bracket, buckles, limiting grooves, limiting blocks a first laser emitter, and a second laser emitter; See figure 2; See Claims 1 & 12; except that Wang’s grooves are disposed on the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0016]: cover plate is inserted in the clamping groove set at two ends of the inner core body, so as to lock the inner core body in the outer cylinder body; all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). Wang further teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
Wang does not explicitly teach the bidirectional laser rangefinder further comprises: a circuit board, and the circuit board is detachably connected to the first bracket and the second bracket.
However, Onoda teaches, ([0055]: the control unit 21F is configured to control the action of the vehicle light source system 22F, and control the action of the infrared video camera 2F). The control unit 21F is an electronic circuit composed of a computer system including more than one processor and more than one memory, and an active element such as a transistor and a passive element. For example, the control unit 21F transmits the infrared image data obtained from the infrared video camera 23) to the vehicle control part 3. In addition, the control unit 21F also can be based on the illumination data obtained from the illumination sensor (not shown) mounted on the vehicle 1 to judge the vehicle 1 of the driving environment is brighter (specifically, when the measured illumination is greater than the threshold value illumination), not making the vehicle light source system 22F working, on the other hand, based on the illumination data to judge the vehicle 1 of the driving environment is dark (specifically, the measured illumination is below the threshold illumination condition), the vehicle light source system 22F work). See figure 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary sill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang with Onoda to include a circuit board since, it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang with Onoda, since Including a circuit board (PCB) in a LiDAR system provides essential signal processing, power distribution, and component integration. It allows the system to process high-speed optical data locally, reduce physical size, and manage high-current laser pulses reliably.
Wang as modified by Onoda does not teach, two ends of the circuit board define grooves, and each of the grooves accommodates the corresponding sensor bracket.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include two ends of the circuit board define grooves, and each of the grooves accommodates the corresponding sensor bracket, since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B), changes in shape are obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to change the shape of the PCB, since placing laser diodes and photo-detectors on a custom-shaped board lets engineers put parts closer together, reducing electrical noise and signal delay. In addition, such a change in shape could allow for circuit board optimization regarding thermal loads, further enhancing SNR.
14. Regarding Claim 19:
Wang teaches the sensors, emitters, and brackets are disposed in a mirror image manner along a length direction of the housing, See figure 2.
Wang as modified by Onoda teaches the first bracket and the second bracket comprises: a sensor bracket, an emitter bracket, and a reserved bracket integrated as a whole.
See Claim 2
15. Regarding Claim 20:
Wang teaches an upper surface of each of the end covers defines a sensor bracket opening and an emitter bracket opening thereon; and the sensor bracket opening and the emitter bracket opening of each of the end covers are respectively configured to be matched with the sensor bracket and the emitter bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket. See figure 2.
16. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 212808620 U), hereinafter Wang, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Onoda et al (CN 115667014 A), hereinafter Onoda, as applied to Claims 2 & 3, and further in view of Wen et al (CN 113809060 A), hereinafter Wen.
17. Regarding Claim 4:
Wang teaches the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket is a cavity defined with an opening, and a tail end of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket is detachably connected to a receiving plate; a sidewall of the tail end of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket defines a laser diode mounting hole, and the laser diode mounting hole is configured to install a laser diode, ([Fig. 2]: Shows the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket is a cavity defined with an opening, and a tail end of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket is detachably connected to a receiving plate; a sidewall of the tail end of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket defines a laser diode mounting hole, and the laser diode mounting hole is configured to install a laser diode). See Claims 1 & 12
Wang as modified by Onoda does not teach, a middle portion of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket defines an accommodating cavity, the accommodating cavity is provided with a filter therein, and the filter is detachably connected to a bottom of the corresponding sensor bracket; wherein a front end and a rear end of the accommodating cavity defines a circular hole and a rectangular hole respectively; the circular hole and the rectangular hole are disposed parallel to the filter; and an area of the filter is larger than areas of the circular hole and the rectangular hole.
However, Wen teaches, ([0006]: the distance sensor package structure further comprises a filter assembly mounted on the lens module, the filter assembly is detachably connected to the supporting part). Wen further teaches,
([0050]: At present the existing distance sensor in the market, generally using a filter as filter component 322, the filter area of the structure receiving end is much larger than the effective receiving area needed, besides the light reflected by the detecting object, there is other stray light projected in, the precision of the product. In order to improve this phenomenon, as shown in FIG. 3, FIG. 6, FIG. 10, FIG. 11 and FIG. 14, in a specific embodiment, the filter assembly 322 comprises a through hole 3224 of the bracket 3222 and embedded in the through hole 3224 of the filter 3223. wherein the light filter 3223 is located right above the light collecting part 3211. filter component 322 provided by the embodiment of the structure can effectively reduce the distance sensor receiving end of the filter 3223 area, so as to reduce the detection object reflected light other than other stray light enter into the receiving end of the probability, so as to improve the measuring precision of the distance sensor). Wen goes on to teach, (Fig. 1]: Shows a front end and a rear end of the accommodating cavity defines a circular hole and a rectangular hole respectively; the circular hole and the rectangular hole are disposed parallel to the filter; and an area of the filter is larger than areas of the circular hole and the rectangular hole).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang and Onoda with Wen to include a middle portion of the sensor bracket of each of the first bracket and the second bracket defines an accommodating cavity, the accommodating cavity is provided with a filter therein, and the filter is detachably connected to a bottom of the corresponding sensor bracket; wherein a front end and a rear end of the accommodating cavity defines a circular hole and a rectangular hole respectively; the circular hole and the rectangular hole are disposed parallel to the filter; and an area of the filter is larger than areas of the circular hole and the rectangular hole, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated modify Wang and Onoda with Wen since, having the filter in a cavity with a larger area than the front circular and rear rectangular holes improves light flow and blocks dust. This design keeps the LiDAR view clear, protects the inside parts, and makes it very easy to clean or swap the filter.
Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen does not teach, a left sidewall and a right sidewall of the accommodating cavity define U-shaped grooves disposed along a vertical direction respectively, a top portion of the accommodating cavity defines an opening, a filter protective cover is disposed above the filter, and the filter protective cover is matched with top portions of the U-shaped grooves and the top portion of the corresponding accommodating cavity to protect the filter.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen to include a left sidewall and a right sidewall of the accommodating cavity define U-shaped grooves disposed along a vertical direction respectively, a top portion of the accommodating cavity defines an opening, a filter protective cover is disposed above the filter, and the filter protective cover is matched with top portions of the U-shaped grooves and the top portion of the corresponding accommodating cavity to protect the filter, since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B), changes in shape are obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to change the shape of the PCB, since such a configuration provides precise sliding alignment, secure lateral positioning, and stable mechanical locking for the filter and its protective cover.
Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen does not teach, each of the first laser emitter and the second laser emitter is disposed perpendicular to the corresponding laser diode.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen to include the first laser emitter and the second laser emitter is disposed perpendicular to the corresponding laser diode since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen to rearrange the laser diode since, such a configuration makes it easier to pack dense arrays of diodes onto a single chip, reducing the overall size and manufacturing cost of the module and improving optical power scaling.
18. Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 212808620 U), hereinafter Wang, as applied to Claim 1, in view of Onoda et al (CN 115667014 A), hereinafter Onoda, as applied to Claims 2 & 3, and further in view of Wen et al (CN 113809060 A), hereinafter Wen, as applied to Claim 4, and further in view of Raring et al (US 20210194206 A1), hereinafter Raring.
19. Regarding Claim 5:
Wang teaches a battery; and wherein the battery is detachably connected to tail ends of the first bracket and the second bracket along a width direction of a housing. (Fig. 2]: Shows a battery (18); and wherein the battery is detachably connected to tail ends of the first bracket and the second bracket along a width direction of a housing).
Wang as modified by Onoda and Wen do not teach, a sidewall of the housing defines a universal serial bus charging hole of the battery thereon.
However, Raring teaches a system suitable for Lidar, ([0030]: According to the present invention, the directional IR electromagnetic radiation with the third peak wavelength is emitted from a laser diode operating in a range from about 700 nm to about 15000 nm. In one example the laser diode operates with wavelength in the 700 nm to 1100 nm range based on GaAs for near-IR night vision illumination, range finding and LIDAR sensing, and communication could be included. In another example the laser diode operates with wavelength in the 1100 to 2500 nm range based on InP for eye-safe wavelength IR illumination, range finding, LIDAR sensing, and communication could be included). Raring further teaches, ([0487]: For example, the external inputs 3290 include a charging port connected to any residential or commercial electric-power socket. Optionally, the internal power supply 3201 is a compact chargeable battery and the charging port is a USB-C port).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang, Onoda, and Wen, with Raring to include a universal serial bus charging hole, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang, Onoda, and Wen, with Raring since having a battery with a USB charging port offers a high level of field portability and cost efficiency. It eliminates the need to carry bulky, proprietary charging docks and allows you to recharge using ubiquitous power sources like laptops, car chargers, or standard portable power banks. In addition, making the battery rechargeable via a USB port will reduce or eliminate the need to replace batteries, depending on the type of rechargeable battery chosen and the expected lifetime of the device.
20. Regarding Claim 6:
Wang teaches the connecting plate is disposed above the battery, ([Fig. 2]: Shows the connecting plate is disposed above the battery).
Wang teaches all of the features of Claim 6, except that Wang’s grooves are disposed on the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
21. Regarding Claim 7:
Wang teaches a middle portion of the connecting plate is provided with a partition plate, a side of the partition plate is attached with a liquid crystal display (LCD), another side of the partition plate is provided with a key-press panel and a key, and a lens plate is disposed above the LCD and the key-press panel; and wherein an end of the lens plate is provided with a lens, another end of the lens plate defines an opening, a size of the lens is matched with the LCD, and a size of the opening is matched with the key; and the lens plate is disposed on the housing.
See Figure 2.
22. Regarding Claim 8:
Wang teaches the housing assembly comprises: the housing and end covers, a front end and a rear end of the housing are abutted against the end covers respectively; each of the end covers defines a sensor bracket opening and an emitter bracket opening thereon, and the sensor bracket opening and the emitter bracket opening are matched with the corresponding sensor bracket and the corresponding emitter bracket respectively; wherein an upper end of an inner sidewall of each of the end covers is provided with second limiting buckles, and the second limiting buckles are matched with the third limiting grooves; and wherein a lower end of each of the end covers is provided with a limiting block, and the limiting block is matched with an end portion of the housing.
See Figure 2.
23. Regarding Claim 9:
Wang teaches the housing defines a cavity with openings at the front end, the rear end, and a top portion of the housing; and the first bracket, the second bracket, and the connecting plate are disposed in the cavity; baffles are disposed on two edges of an upper surface of the housing respectively along a length direction of the housing, and the lens plate is disposed on the baffles.
See Figure 2.
Wang also teaches the remaining features of Claim 9, a bottom surface of the housing is provided with second limiting grooves, and each of the second limiting grooves is matched with the corresponding limiting block, except that Wang’s grooves are disposed on the sides of the connecting plate and end covers respectively, while performing the same claimed function. Wang teaches, ([0017]: the locating groove set on the lamp head decorative cover plate is clamped in the locating block set on the outer cylinder body, so that the outer cylinder body has good limiting effect to the lamp head decorative cover plate; the lamp head decorative cover plate and the outer cylinder body are stably connected; improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model, compared with the existing technology, improves the stability of the whole structure after assembling of the utility model). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to include different groove locations since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C), rearranging parts is obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to rearrange the grooves since, (Wang: [0016]: all the structure adopts buckle type design, without screw, sealing and so on processing, convenient assembly, simple structure, reducing the material cost and labour cost, reasonable layout design, high practicability, compared with the existing technology, reducing the material cost and labour cost). In addition, modifying the groove locations in this way would allow the system to be locked in place without the end plates being installed, allowing for characterization, calibration, or any additional testing which could benefit from acquisition before final installation of the endplates. This could also allow for the replacement or repair of the endplates, which are exposed to the environment, without the need for subsequent recalibration.
24. Regarding Claim 10:
Wang teaches a bottom of an inner side of the housing is provided with slideways, and the slideways are matched with bottom edges of the first bracket and the second bracket, ([Fig. 2]: Shows slide ways on an inner side of the locating block (23) with the first and second bracket slidingly connected).
25. Regarding Claim 11:
Wang as modified by Wen and Raring does not teach the bidirectional laser rangefinder further comprises: a circuit board, and the circuit board is detachably connected to the first bracket and the second bracket.
However, Onoda teaches, ([0055]: the control unit 21F is configured to control the action of the vehicle light source system 22F, and control the action of the infrared video camera 2F). The control unit 21F is an electronic circuit composed of a computer system including more than one processor and more than one memory, and an active element such as a transistor and a passive element. For example, the control unit 21F transmits the infrared image data obtained from the infrared video camera 23) to the vehicle control part 3. In addition, the control unit 21F also can be based on the illumination data obtained from the illumination sensor (not shown) mounted on the vehicle 1 to judge the vehicle 1 of the driving environment is brighter (specifically, when the measured illumination is greater than the threshold value illumination), not making the vehicle light source system 22F working, on the other hand, based on the illumination data to judge the vehicle 1 of the driving environment is dark (specifically, the measured illumination is below the threshold illumination condition), the vehicle light source system 22F work). See figure 2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary sill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Wen and Raring with Onoda to include a circuit board since, it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang with Onoda, since Including a circuit board (PCB) in a LiDAR system provides essential signal processing, power distribution, and component integration. It allows the system to process high-speed optical data locally, reduce physical size, and manage high-current laser pulses reliably.
Wang as modified by Wen, Raring and Onoda does not teach, two ends of the circuit board define grooves, and each of the grooves accommodates the corresponding sensor bracket.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Wang as modified by Wen, Raring and Onoda to include two ends of the circuit board define grooves, and each of the grooves accommodates the corresponding sensor bracket, since this is an obvious design choice, see MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B), changes in shape are obvious if the differences are merely a matter of design choice, and the relocated elements perform the same function in the new arrangement as they did in the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have been motivated to modify Wang as modified by Onoda to change the shape of the PCB, since placing laser diodes and photo-detectors on a custom-shaped board lets engineers put parts closer together, reducing electrical noise and signal delay. In addition, such a change in shape could allow for circuit board optimization regarding thermal loads, further enhancing SNR.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
26. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
27. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “laser diode” in claim 4 is used by the claim to mean “photodiode or sensor,” while the accepted meaning is ([Wiki_laserDiodeDef]: “a laser where the active medium is a semiconductor p-n junction similar to that found in a light emitting diode”), as evidenced by Wikipedia prior to the filing date. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Conclusion
CN 106705871 A: Discloses an orthogonal bidirectional Lidar system.
/J.W.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645