DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NIELSEN et al. (WO 2015/090337 A1).
With respect to claim 1, NIELSEN et al. discloses a nicotine powder composition (Abstract; Title) for oral mucosa delivery comprising nicotine (Page 2, lines 10-25; Page 9, lines 15-30) and a cryoprotectant, in an amount of 30 and 60 wt% of the powder (Page 15, lines 1-15) and the cryoprotectant is trehalose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
_____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN et al. (WO 2015/090337 A1) in view of INOU et al. (EP 1210880 A1).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, NIELSEN et al. does not explicitly disclose the type of trehalose. INOU et al. discloses compositons that contain sucralose (Abstract; Title), such as an oral composion (Paragraph [0009]) including tobacco compositions (Paragraphs [0434]-[0501]). The sweetener for the composition includes α-α type trehalose, so that it does not cause Millard reaction, is stable to acids and alkalies, is resistant to heat decomposition and is non-cariogenic (Paragraphs [0030]-[0032]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use α-α type trehalose as the trehalose of NIELSEN et al., as taught by INOU et al. so that it does not cause Millard reaction, is stable to acids and alkalies, is resistant to heat decomposition and is non-cariogenic.
_____________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN et al. (WO 2015/090337 A1) in view of UCHIDA (WO 2004/060077 A1, machine translation).
With respect to claim 4, NIELSEN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the trehalose is anhydrous. UCHIDA disclose a method for reducing unpleasing tapes from compsoitions (Abstract). The composition includes α-α type trehalose (See highlight [0001]) and is used in tobacco compositions (See highlight [0002]). The trehalose includes anhydrous trehalose and provides a sweeter taste (See highlight [0003]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use anhydrous trehalose in NIELSEN et al., as taught by UCHIDA so as to increase sweetness.
With respect to claim 5, NIELSEN et al. does not explicitly disclose that the trehalose is present as a crystal powder. UCHIDA disclose a method for reducing unpleasing tapes from compsoitions (Abstract). The composition includes α-α type trehalose (See highlight [0001]) and is used in tobacco compositions (See highlight [0002]). The trehalose includes α-α type trehalose in crystal powder form (See highlight [0004]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use α-α type trehalose in crystal powder form in NIELSEN et al., as taught by UCHIDA so as to increase sweetness.
___________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN et al. (WO 2015/090337 A1) in view of UCHIDA (WO 2004/060077 A1, machine translation) as applied to claims 4 and 5 above, and further in view of GONDA (US 2008/0138398).
With respect to claim 6, modified NIELSEN et al. does not explicitly disclose the particle size of the trehalose. GONDA discloses dual release nicotine formuations (Abstract; Title). The carrier (e.g., trehalose of NIELSEN et al.) is sized so that it is not inhalable and have a mean diameter of between 50 and 200 microns (Paragraph [0114]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a particle size of the trehalose of NIELSEN et al. in the range of between 50 and 200 microns, as taught by GONDA so that the powder isn’t inhalable when use in an oralmucosal application.
___________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELSEN et al. (WO 2015/090337 A1) in view of REINBOLD et al. (US 2020/0352214).
With respect to claim 7, NIELSEN et al. discloses an oral pouch product comprising the oral compositon of claim 1 (Page 34, lines 25-30), but does not discose the claimed packaging. REINBOLD et al. discloses a smokeless tobacco product for oral use (Abstract). The product is packaged and stored in a suitable packaging (Paragraph [0105]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a packaging for the pouches of NIELSEN et al., as taught by REINBOLD et al. so that the product can be stored for future use.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745