DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: “ and in is contact with the first support portion” should be “and is in contact with the first support portion”.
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: “a second opening open” should be “second opening portion” for consistence and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cell support configured to support battery cells”, “ guide groove… being configured to form a passage” in claim 1, “ flow groove… being configured to form a passage” in claim 13, “ the seating protrusion being configured to define a separation space” in claim 17.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “ the battery cells include…”, however claim 1 is directed to a battery cell holder comprising a cell support “configured to support battery cells”. It is therefore unclear whether claim 10 requires the battery cells to cover the combination of cell holder and battery cells or requires only a cell holder configured to receive battery cells in that arrangement rendering the claim vague and indefinite. Since claim 11 is dependent of claim 10 it is similarly rejected for being indefinite.
Claim 15 recites “opening portion… through holes and guide grooves”, it is unclear whether an opening portion contacts a respective through-hole and guide groove or the opening portion must contact every one of the plurality of through holes and guide groove rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Since claim 16 is dependent of claim 15 it is similarly rejected for being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimitsu (JP 6380219 B, for prior art discussion see cited machine translation)
Morimitsu discloses a cell support (holder, ref. 20, figure 3) configured to support battery cells (ref. 10); through-holes through the cell support (holding holes, ref. 30, figure 4, para. 0007), an adhesive liquid (ref. 50) being fitted in the through-holes (para. 0007-0008); and guide grooves (ref. 40) extending on the cell support along longitudinal directions of respective ones of the battery cells (figure 2-4, para. 0007-0008). Morimitsu discloses the guide grooves being formed in the inner walls of the holding hole (para. 0007) thereby meeting the limitation guide grooves being in fluid communication with the through-holes. Morimitsu discloses the filling space S is filled with an adhesive (ref. 50) and the adhesive is solidified after being injected into the filling space S in a liquid state. Morimitsu discloses since the adhesive filled in the filling space S is solidified, the unit cell (ref. 10) is fixed in a state where the insertion end portion (ref. 11) is inserted into the holding hole (para. 0036, figure 4) there by meeting the limitation the guide grooves are capable of forming a passage through which the adhesive liquid is flowable along side surfaces of the battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses a battery cell holder (ref. 200, figure 2), comprising: a cell support (cell bottom holders, ref. 210, figure 3) configured to support battery cells (ref. 100, para. 0039-0041); through-holes (ref. 211, figure 4) through the cell support (para. 0041), an adhesive liquid (ref. 300, para. 0054) being fitted in the through-holes (para. 0010, 0047, 0051, figure 6).Yoo teaches an adhesive solution (ref. 300) is introduced upward and fills the gap G beneath the cells within the insert hole, bounding the cells within each insert hole (ref. 211) up to a level above those supports (figure 5-6, para. 0046- 0047, 0051).
Yoo fails to disclose guide grooves extending on the cell support along longitudinal directions of respective ones of the battery cells, the guide grooves being in fluid communication with the through-holes and being configured to form a passage through which the adhesive liquid is flowable along side surfaces of the battery cells.
Luo discloses a battery holder having circular battery receiving holes (ref. 11, figure 1) with recessed grooves (ref. 12, figure 1) formed in the sidewalls wherein the glue grooves are long strip extending in the axial direction of the circular holes and contain adhesive contacting cylindrical battery cells (para. 0029). Luo discloses two such grooves evenly spaced around the circular hole in the circumferential direction (para. 0010). Luo discloses the grooves (ref. 12) extending on the cell support along longitudinal directions of respective ones of the battery cells (figure 1 and 5) and since the round holes receives the battery cells, the axial direction of the hole is the longitudinal direction of the cell, there by meeting the limitation guide grooves extending on the cell support along longitudinal directions of respective ones of the battery cells. Luo discloses such a concave glue groove formed in the round hole of the support main body and used for storing glue, so that the glue can be prevented from being scraped away when a battery is installed, and the firmness of battery assembly is improved (para. 0015) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell support of Yoo include guide grooves as taught by Luo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to include guide grooves so that glue can be prevented from being scraped away when a battery is installed, and the firmness of battery assembly is improved.
Yoo discloses that the adhesive solution is introduced from a lower portion of the first fixing frame to an upper position thereof (para. 0047) and the outer circumferences of the cylindrical battery cells (ref. 100) may contact the adhesive solution (ref. 300) introduced through the perforation holes (ref. 220, para. 0055 ). In the combination of Yoo and Luo the guide grooves would be formed on the cell support of Yoo along the longitudinal direction and the guide grooves are therefore in fluid communication with the through holes and would be capable of the flow of adhesive liquid along the cell circumference as the adhesive of Yoo already reaches the cells outer circumference (para. 0042, 0047).
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses the cell support includes: a first support portion (ref. 213, figure 4 and 6) extending along edge portions of the battery cells and contacting the side surfaces of the battery cells (para. 0041, figure 6); and a second support portion (ref. 230) at a lower portion of the first support portion (figure 6), the second support portion contacting lower portions of the battery cells (para. 0048).
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation) and further in view of Kwag (US 2011/0039142A1).
Yoo and Luo are relied upon as above
Regarding claim 3, Yoo discloses first support portion ( bottom periphery support, ref. 213 ) extending like a pillar with three curved surfaces between three bottom insert holes (ref. 211), so that three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) share one bottom periphery support (ref.213) (figure 4-5, para. 0011, 0044) therefore each insert hole receives a respective cylindrical battery and the first support portion stands at a position where three battery cells face each other and it is of a pillar i.e. column shape, meeting the limitation a column portion at a position where three or more of the battery cells face each other.
Modified Yoo fails to disclose the partition portion having a shape of a fence partitioning a disposition space of the battery cells and the column portion higher than the partition portion.
Kwag discloses a holder case (ref. 100, figure 1) having plurality of batteries (ref. 150, para. 0027) and includes ribs (ref. 120, para. 0029). Kwak discloses the holder case (ref. 100) includes a plurality of ribs (ref. 120) that separate the batteries (ref. 150) from one another and the ribs (ref. 120) define a plurality of cells S in which each of batteries (ref. 150) is accommodated (para. 0029). Kwag discloses the ribs (ref. 120) further includes first and second fins (ref. 121 and 122, para. 0032, figure 3) and column (ref. 125, figure 3, para. 0030). Kwag discloses the fins extending between neighboring column portions (ref. 125, figure 3). The first fins (ref. 121) of the neighboring columns (ref. 125) are connected or contact each other, and the second fins (ref.122) of the neighboring columns( ref. 125) are connected or contact each other (para. 0032). A fin so extending lies on the boundary between two adjacent cell spaces, with a battery on either side. It therefore occupies a position where two of the battery cells face each other. Separating the batteries from one another and defining the space in which each is accommodated is partitioning a disposition space of the battery cells thereby meeting the limitation partition portion having a shape of a fence partitioning a disposition space of the battery cells.
Kwak discloses the fins (ref. 121 and 122) occupy only part of the column’s vertical extent, the column continuing beyond them (figure 3). Kwak further discloses first and second fins (ref. 121 and 122) proceed along the extension direction of the column (ref. 125) by a first length W1 and a second length W2, respectively, from the end of the column (ref. 125, figure 3) and the first and second lengths W1 and W2 may be the same or may be different (para. 0036). Kwak discloses the first gap (ref. 130, figure 3) formed between portions of the columns on which the first and second fins (ref. 121 and 122 respectively) are not formed (para. 0035). Kwak discloses the first and second fins support the neighboring columns (ref. 125, para. 0032) and contact between the neighboring batteries may be prevented (para. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell support of modified Yoo to include partition portion having a shape of a fence and the column portion higher than the partition portion as taught by Kwak. Such a modification would result in a first support portion having a partition portion having a shape of a fence and the column portion higher than the partition portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to include partition portion having a shape of a fence and the column portion higher than the partition portion so that the column portions are supported and the contact between neighboring batteries are prevented.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses the bottom periphery support (ref. 213, figure 4) formed in a pillar shape by three curved surfaces between three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) so that the three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) share one bottom periphery support (ref. 213, para. 0044, figure 4-5) meeting the limitation a lower column portion having a shape corresponding to a separation space between the three or more of the battery cells.
Yoo fails to disclose the column portion has an upper column portion on an upper portion of the lower column portion and the upper column portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the upper column portion.
Luo discloses posts formed at the junctions between adjacent round holes (ref. 11) that rise above the rim of the support main body separating two adjacent holes disclosing a column portion terminating in a pointed tip there by disclosing an inclined surface (figure 5, examiner figure A). The tapered tip of Luo is an upper portion of the lower column portion, and it narrows in width towards its top. As the cells are lowered into the cell holder from above as disclosed in Luo a column with inclined surface (tapered top) would help guide the cells into the through hole better without scrapping away the adhesive bearing hole as it enters the problem which Luo identifies (para. 0015).
Examiner figure A
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell support of modified Yoo to include upper column portion on an upper portion of the lower column portion and the upper column portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the upper column portion as taught by Luo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to upper column portion on an upper portion of the lower column portion and the upper column portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the upper column portion so that the cell can be guided into the cell holder without scraping away the adhesive in the through hole.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo fails to disclose the partition portion has a first height, the lower column portion has a second height higher than the first height, and the upper column portion has a third height higher than the second height.
Claim 5 recites partition portion, the lower column portion and the upper column portion at progressively higher height. As discussed above with respect to claim 3 Kwag discloses the partition portion having the first height i.e. the height of fins in Kwak (ref. 121 and 122) measured along the z-axis which is the first height. Kwag further discloses the partition portion which has set height and runs along only part of the column and the column continues past where the fins stop (figure 3). In the combination of Yoo Luo and Kwak the lower column portion of Yoo (ref. 213) extends beyond the fins as taught by Kwag and therefore lower column portion has the second height which would be higher than the first height.
As discussed with respect to claim 4 Luo discloses the tapered tip that rise above the rim of the support main body separating two adjacent holes (Examiner figure A, figure 5), thereby disclosing the tapered tip has a third height. In the modified Yoo, the tapered tip would be on top of the lower column portion of Yoo and therefore the third height would be higher than the second height.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo fails to disclose the upper column portion includes an inclines surface at a position facing the battery cells. As discussed with respect to claim 4, Luo discloses through figure the upper column portion includes an inclined surface and the post stands at the junction of neighboring holes so each inclined surface is turned toward the battery cell beside it (figure 5, Examiner figure 5). In the modified Yoo the inclined surface of the upper portion at a position facing the battery cells.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo fails to disclose the guide grooves extends continuously from the lower column portion tot eh inclined surface. Luo discloses two guide grooves (glue tank, ref. 12) evenly spaced around the circular hole in the circumferential direction (para. 0011) and the glue tank is a long strip extending along the axial direction of the circular hole ( figure 1, 5, para. 0013, 0029). The groove therefore runs lengthwise along the cell-facing wall in the direction of the cell axis (figure 1). Luo also discloses in figure the guide grooves (glue tank, ref. 12) extends continuously along the hole walls to the inclined surface of the posts between adjacent holes (figure 5 and examiner figure A).
Regarding claim 8, Yoo discloses the bottom periphery support (ref. 213) sits where 3 cells face each other and is formed by three curved surface each facing one of the 3 adjacent insert holes (ref. 211) and the cell in it (figure 4-5, para. 0044).
Yoo fails to disclose the guide grooves includes first guide groove and second guide groove.
Luo discloses two guide grooves (glue tank, ref. 12) evenly spaced around the circular hole in the circumferential direction (para. 0011). Luo discloses the glue tank is a long strip extending along the axial direction of the circular hole ( figure 1, para. 0013, 0029). Luo further teaches in an embodiment that the glue tank has six sections arranged at 60-degree intervals around the circular hole (para. 0011) and arranged axially (figure 5). In the combination of Yoo and Luo, the groove guides have a first guide grove i.e. where the first guide groove falls on the first curved surface of the column portion (periphery cell support of Yoo) bounding a through hole for the first battery cell of the battery cells and the second guide groove falls on the second curved surface of the same column portion (periphery cell support of Yoo) facing the second battery cell of the battery cells. Luo discloses adding a recessed glue groove on the round hole of the bracket body through the above solution, the glue can be stored, which can prevent the glue from being scraped off when the battery is installed, and thus improve the firmness of the battery assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell support of Yoo to include guide grooves that includes first guide groove and second guide groove as taught by Luo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to include first guide groove and second guide groove so that prevent the glue from being scraped off when the battery is installed, and thus improve the firmness of the battery assembly.
Claims 4 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation) and Kwag (US PG Pub. 2011/0039142A1) as applied to claim 1, 3 above, and further in view of Haertel (US PG Pub. 2020/0220122A1).
Yoo and Luo are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses the bottom periphery support (ref. 213, figure 4) formed in a pillar shape by three curved surfaces between three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) so that the three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) share one bottom periphery support (ref. 213, para. 0044, figure 4-5) meeting the limitation of a lower column portion having a shape corresponding to a separation space between the three or more of the battery cells.
Yoo fails to disclose the column portion has an upper column portion on an upper portion of the lower column portion and the upper column portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the upper column portion.
Alternatively, Haertel discloses a cell holder structure adapted to holding plurality of rechargeable cylindrical battery (para. 0008). Haertel discloses the holder base part (ref. 1 figure 1) includes cell receiving space (ref. 3, figure 5), and one or more base side cell supporting pillars (ref. 5 figure 5 and 7) that which extend axially from a base plane of the holder base part into assigned cell intermediate spaces (para. 0008). Haertel further discloses the supporting pillars are of dome shaped or frustoconical design (para. 0013 figure 5). Haertel discloses at least one of the base side cell supporting pillars widens conically in the direction of the base plane (para. 0057). Therefore, a pillar whose outside diameter increases toward the base necessarily decreases away from the base. The dome shaped or frustoconical design is at the end region at the top of the pillar (para. 0013, figure 5). Haertel discloses the conicity of the frustoconical shape or dome shape can facilitate centered insertion of the rechargeable battery cells into the cell receiving spaces and can promote supporting of the rechargeable battery cells with their circumferential surface in a reliably axially and radially position securing manner on the associated circumferential side securing wall region of the respective base side and/or cover side cell supporting pillar (para. 0011, 0013, 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the column portion of Yoo to have a dome shaped in the upper portion of the upper column portion as taught by Haertel. Such a modification would result in modified Yoo having a lower column portion that retains the three curved surfaces facing the adjacent cells and upper column portion situated above the lower portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the upper column portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to include a column portion having a lower column portion and an upper column portion having a shape that narrows in width toward an upper portion of the column portion for centered insertion and properly securing the battery cells in the cell support.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo fails to disclose the partition portion has a first height, the lower column portion has a second height higher than the first height, and the upper column portion has a third height higher than the second height.
Claim 5 recites partition portion, the lower column portion and the upper column portion at progressively higher height. As discussed above with respect to claim 3 Kwag discloses the partition portion having the first height i.e. the height of fins in Kwak (ref. 121 and 122) measured along the z-axis. Kwag further discloses the partition portion which has set height and runs along only part of the column and the column continues past where the fins stop (figure 3). In the modified Yoo, the lower column portion extends beyond the fins as taught by Kwag and therefore lower column portion has the second height which would be higher than the first height.
As discussed above with respect to claim 4, Haertel discloses a cell supporting column having dome-shaped or frustoconical pillar end region which forms the upper column portion and it is on the upper portion of the lower column portion and therefore the upper column portion has a third height higher than the second height. Therefore the combination of Yoo, Luo, Kwak and Haertel discloses the partition portion has a first height, lower column portion has a second height higher than the first height, and the upper column portion has a third height higher than the second height. Claim 5 does not add new structural limitation and recites only the three portions as claimed in claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo fails to teach the upper column portion includes an inclined surface at a position facing the battery cells.
As discussed with respect to claim 4, Haertel discloses the upper column portion having dome shaped or frustoconical design which meets the limitation of an inclined surface. Haertel discloses the cell receiving shape space (ref. 3) has cell supporting pillars (ref. 5, para. 0052, figure 5). The inclined surface lies in the securing wall region (ref. 5a) which secures a circumferential surface of rechargeable battery cells accommodated in the cell-receiving space (ref. 3). Therefore, it would require the inclined surface at a position facing the battery cells (figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo fails to disclose the guide grooves extends continuously from the lower column portion tot eh inclined surface.
Luo discloses two guide grooves (glue tank, ref. 12) evenly spaced around the circular hole in the circumferential direction (para. 0011) and the glue tank is a long strip extending along the axial direction of the circular hole ( figure 1, 5, para. 0013, 0029) and the groove therefore runs lengthwise along the cell-facing wall in the direction of the cell axis (figure 1). Haertel discloses the upper column portion has a inclined surface as discussed with respect to claims 4 and 6 above, an axial groove that extends unbroken from the lower column portion of modified Yoo would reach to the inclined surface under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim 9 -12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation) as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Shimizu (US PG Pub. 20190280260A1).
Yoo and Luo are relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 9, Yoo fails to disclose the cell support further includes a third support portion.
Shimizu discloses a battery cell holder (ref. 20, figure 1) where in cells are arranged laterally (para. 0020). Shimizu discloses a support structure (low thermal conductive member ref. 30, 50) which comprises of first partition wall (ref. 31) and second partition wall (ref. 32) extending along a direction of arrangement of battery cells (figure 1, 2, para. 0028) and being in contact with the side surfaces of the battery cells (figure 2 para. 0028). Shimizu further teaches that the partition walls (ref. 31 and 32) extend upwardly from the base part along the vertical direction of the cylindrical cells (figure 2, para. 0028) . Yoo discloses the second support portion (bottom support, ref. 230, para. 0040) provided at the lower surface of the plate as discussed with respect to claim 2, any structure above that plate is necessarily at a greater height. Therefore, the combination of Yoo and Shimizu discloses the third support portion having a height higher than the second support portion. Shimizu further discloses the low thermal-conductive member prevents adjacent batteries from coming into contact with an identical side wall of the battery holder and also averts a chain reaction of abnormal heat generation and resultant extension of thermal harm (para. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include third support portion as taught by Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cell support of Yoo to include the third support portion to hinder heat transfer between two adjacent battery thereby preventing thermal harm to the battery module.
Regarding claim 10, Yoo discloses a the bottom hole (ref. 211) may be densely arranged so that an equilateral triangle is formed when center points of three bottom insert holes (ref. 211) adjacent to each other are connected using imaginary straight lines (para. 0044, figure 2, 4) and Yoo discloses that the first row of battery cells (ref. 100) extending in a first direction, in which a first battery cell and a second battery cell of the battery cells are arranged; and a second row of battery cells extending in the first direction, in which a third battery cell and a fourth battery cell of the battery cells are arranged, the second row being adjacent to the first row, and the third battery cell and the fourth battery cell being arranged in a zigzag configuration with the first battery cell and the second battery cell (figure 2 -5).
Yoo fails to disclose third support portion includes first, second and third curved portion between the battery cells.
As discussed with respect to claim 9, Shimizu discloses the third support portion (ref. 30) having a first and second partition walls (ref. 31) and (ref. 32) are each a plate-shaped part that is curved along side surface of cylindrical battery (ref. 11, para. 0030) and interposed between each of the cylindrical batteries (figure 2, 6). The first and the second partition walls are alternately arrayed along the row of the cylindrical batteries (para. 0028, figure 2) and the first and second partition walls are curved so as to convexly project in mutually opposite directions (para. 0030). Shimizu discloses succession of curved plate portions, each following the circumferential surface of a cylindrical battery cell alternating in orientation as the third support portion (ref. 30) proceeds along the row of cylindrical batteries (para. 0018). As discussed above Shimizu discloses first and the second partition walls are alternately arrayed along the row of the cylindrical batteries and Yoo discloses the staggered arrangement of different rows. The combination of modified Yoo and Shimizu between two adjacent rows that is arranged in zig zag configuration as disclosed by Yoo would disclose the third support being arranged in the staggered array of cells of Yoo. The third support portion disclosed by Shimizu when placed between two staggered rows of cells, the successive curved portion would disclose the first curved portion curved along a side surface of the first battery cell and extending between the first battery cell and the third battery cell; a second curved portion curved along a side surface of the third battery cell and extending between the second battery cell and the third battery cell; and a third curved portion curved along a side surface of the second battery cell and extending between the second battery cell and the fourth battery cell. As discussed above with respect to claim 9, Shimizu discloses the low thermal-conductive member prevents adjacent batteries from coming into contact with an identical side wall of the battery holder and such a configuration can satisfactorily avert a chain reaction of abnormal heat generation and resultant extension of thermal harm (para. 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include third support portion as taught by Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the modified cell support of Yoo to include the third support portion to have a first, second and third curved portion to hinder heat transfer between two adjacent battery thereby preventing thermal harm to the battery module.
Regarding claim 11, Yoo fails to disclose the first curved portion is curved in a second direction and is in contact with the first support portion in the second direction, and the second curved portion is curved in a third direction and in is contact with the first support portion in the third direction.
Yoo discloses the bottom periphery support (ref. 213, figure 4) is at a three cell junction and supports the side surfaces of those battery cells (figure 3-5). The bottom periphery support (ref. 213) alternate with perforation holes (ref. 211, figure 4-5). As discussed above with respect to claim 9 and 10 Shimizu discloses the first and second partition walls are curved so as to convexly project in mutually opposite directions (para. 0030, figure 2 and 6) and they constitute a waveform shape of regularly repeated projections and depressions (para. 0030, figure 2). Therefore the first curved portion which curves along the first cell, is convex towards the second row and that is the second direction and the second curved portion curves along the side surface of third battery cell between the second and third battery cells and is convex in the opposite way that is in the third direction opposite to the first curved portion. The combination of Yoo, Luo and Shimizu discloses the first curved portion curves along the side surface of first cell between the first and third cell, the convex side is in the second direction towards the junction of the first, second and third cells and is in contact with the first support portion there and the second curve portion curves towards third direction and the second curved portion is in contact with the first support portion on its convex side which is the third direction.
Regarding claim 12, Yoo fails to disclose the third support portion incudes an extension wall portion and an extension column portion.
As discussed above with respect to claim 9, Shimizu discloses a third support portion (ref. 30) includes partition walls (ref. 31 and 32) extending along the direction of arrangement of battery cells (figure 1-2). Shimizu in another embodiment discloses a third support portion (low-thermal-conductive member ref. 50, para. 0043) having an extension wall portion extending along the direction of arrangement of the battery cells and an extension column portion connected to a side surface of the extension wall portion (Figure 2, 5, and examiner figure B, para. 0043). Shimizu further discloses it has no base part and it is supported by another component below it (para. 0043). In the combination of Yoo, Luo and Shimizu the extension column portion extending upwardly along the cell axis would extend from the first support portion of Yoo (bottom periphery support ref. 213) and would rest on the upper face of the first support portion of Yoo.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include third support portion that incudes an extension wall portion and an extension column portion as taught by Shimizu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the modified cell support of Yoo to include the third support portion to have incudes an extension wall portion and an extension column portion to act as a one component without getting separated.
Examiner figure B
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masson (US PG Pub. 2023/0139997 A1).
Yoo and Luo is relied upon as discussed above.
Yoo fails to disclose a flow groove in the lower portion of the cell support.
Masson discloses an end plate that holds cylindrical battery in a staggered array and fixes them with injected adhesive (para. 0024, figure 6-8). Masson discloses an adhesive injection orifice (ref. 11, figure 9) with side windows (ref. 13, figure 8- 9) is the flow groove formed in the end plate (ref. 1). Masson discloses the adhesive may also be injected through the bottom of the end plate (para. 0064). Masson discloses the end (ref. 11B) of the injection orifice opposite to the input portion (ref. 11A) is blind, in order to avoid that the adhesive flows directly through the end plate (para. 0080), the blind orifice is a flow groove recessed in the lower portion of the cell support.
Masson discloses the orifice (ref. 11) in its side wall has a window (ref. 13) which emerges in a recess (ref. 12) of a cell and the adhesive injected into the orifice penetrates directly into each recess through window (para. 0081) thereby meeting the limitation the flow groove being in fluid communication with the through-holes. Masson discloses the orifice is situated between two or three cells at equal distance from the recess provided in each of said cells (para. 0096) and during injection adhesive flows into each supply channel up to respective recess (0021, figure 8). Therefore the orifice forms a passage through which the adhesive flows between the through holes there by meeting the limitation the flow groove capable to form a passage through which the adhesive liquid is flowable between the through holes. Masson teaches placing the orifice at the junction of one or more cells as orifice may enable the injection of adhesive into one or more cells, which minimizes the number of steps of injection of adhesive to bond together all of the accumulators (para. 0090) and this design makes it possible to avoid trapping air in the bonding zone that holds each accumulator (para. 0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include flow groove as taught by Masson. Such a modification would result in a flow groove in the lower portion of modified Yoo’s cell support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify cell support of Yoo to include the flow groove in order to avoid trapped air and minimize the number of adhesive injection steps.
Claims 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation) and Kwag (US PG Pub. 2011/0039142A1) as applied to claim 1, 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Masson (US PG Pub. 2023/0139997 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Yoo fails to disclose a partition portion and the flow groove in a lower portion of the column portion.
As discussed with respect to claim 1 -3, Yoo in combination with Luo discloses a column portion having a shape of a column filling a separation space between the battery cells, the column portion including the guide grooves.
As discussed above with respect to claim 3, Kwag discloses a partition portion having a shape of a fence partitioning a disposition space of the battery cells.
As discussed above with respect to claim 13, Masson discloses the flow groove being in a lower portion of the cell support.
Yoo discloses the cell support (ref. 213) at the junction of three cells (figure 4). Masson discloses the orifice (ref. 11) at equal distance from a group of adjacent cells in a staggered array (para. 0029, figure 6) and is placed at equal distance from the recess provided in each of said cells (para. 0096). Masson discloses the orifice’s side window (ref. 13) emerges in a guide groove (recess ref. 12) of a cell and the adhesive penetrates directly into each recess (ref. 12) through the respective window (ref. 13, para 0081, figure 5, 8). Therefore in the combination of Yoo Luo and Masson the flow groove being in a lower portion of the column portion and is in fluid communication with the guide groove. Masson teaches placing the orifice at the junction of one or more cells as orifice may enable the injection of adhesive into one or more cells, which minimizes the number of steps of injection of adhesive to bond together all of the accumulators (para. 0090) and the length of the supply channel is identical for each cell, which ensures balanced filling of all of the recesses (para. 0096). Masson also discloses this design makes it possible to avoid trapping air in the bonding zone that holds each accumulator (para. 0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include flow groove as taught by Masson. Such a modification would result in a flow groove being in a lower portion of the column portion of modified Yoo’s cell support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify cell support of Yoo to include the flow groove in order to avoid trapped air, balanced filling of all the recesses and minimize the number of adhesive injection steps.
Regarding claim 15 modified Yoo fails to disclose the flow groove includes a recessed portion and an opening portion.
As discussed with respect to claim 13, Masson discloses an adhesive injection orifice (ref. 11, figure 9) which is the recessed portion of the flow groove with side windows (ref. 13, figure 8- 9) is the flow groove formed in the end plate (ref. 1). Masson discloses the adhesive may also be injected through the bottom of the end plate (para. 0064). When the orifice is at the bottom of the end plate the recessed portion would be recessed upwardly in the lower portion of the column portion in modified Yoo. Masson discloses the orifice runs parallel to the cell axis, which is perpendicular to the main faces of the plate (figure 9), therefore the opening portion (window ref. 13, figure 9) in its sidewall opens sideways, transverse to that axis (figure 9) meeting the limitation an opening portion open in a transverse direction in a side portion of the recessed portion. Masson discloses the window emerges in a guide groove (recess, ref. 12) of the cell and recess is formed in the inner wall of the cell (para. 0010, 0047, figure 5, 9), thereby meeting the limitation an opening portion contacting the through holes and the guide grooves. Masson discloses the windows lets the adhesive penetrate directly into each recess (ref. 12), with the supply channel kept short so as not to generate a too important head loss on the path of the adhesive (para. 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to flow groove to include a recessed portion and an opening portion as taught by Masson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify cell support of Yoo for the flow groove to include a recessed portion and an opening portion in order to reduce too important head loss on the path of the adhesive.
Regarding claim 16, Yoo fails to disclose the opening portion includes first opening portion and a second opening.
Masson discloses each cell comprises a recess facing each adjacent injection orifice connected to said orifice via a respective supply channel so that the injection orifice thus comprises as many side windows as recesses of cells to supply (para. 0089) and an orifice situated between two or three cells supplies guide grooves (recess, ref. 12) in each of them (0096-0097, figure 8-9). Masson discloses window (ref. 13, figure 8, 9) facing the first cell is a first opening portion and the windows facing the second cell is a second opening (figure 8, para. 0081, 0089) thereby disclosing the first opening portion contacting a first one of the guide groove and a second opening contacting a second one of the guide groove.
Claims 17- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US PG Pub. 2020/0194853 A1) in view of Luo (CN210640278U, for prior art use cited machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nam (KR 2023/0140734 A).
Regarding claim 17, Yoo discloses the cell support has bottom support (ref. 230) support a portion of the lower surface of each cell (para. 0048, figure 4).
Modified Yoo fails to disclose a seating protrusion upwardly on the cell support and it is capable of defining a separation between lower portions of the battery cells and the cell support to allow the adhesive solution to be introduced.
Nam discloses a tray that hold cylindrical battery cells with side support ribs and plurality of support protrusions protruding upwardly are formed on the upper surface of the bottom portion at regular intervals to space the battery cells from the bottom portion (para. 0008-0009). Nam discloses forming support protrusion (ref. 170, figure7) at regular intervals for separating the battery cells from the bottom (ref. 110a, para. 0044) to stably support the bottom surface of the battery cell (para. 0045, 0051, figure 5-7). Nam discloses the support protrusions being capable of defining a separation space by separating the bottom of the battery cell from the bottom (ref. 110a) to minimize the contact area between the bottom of the battery cell (B) and the cell tray (ref. 100, para. 0044). The combination of Yoo, Luo and Nam thereby would disclose a separation space between the lower portions of the cell and the cell support that would allow receiving the adhesive solution.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Yoo to include seating protrusion on cell support as taught by Nam. Such a modification would disclose the seating protrusion protruding upwardly on the cell support of modified Yoo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify cell support of Yoo to include the seating protrusion so that the bottom surface of the cell can be stably supported.
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above with respect to claims 1, and 2, Yoo discloses the cell support includes a first support portion (ref. 213, figure 4 and 6) and a second support portion (ref. 230, figure 6) contacting the side surfaces of the battery cells and a lower portions of the battery cells respectively.
Yoo fails to disclose a seating protrusion on an upper surface of the second support portion.
As discussed above with respect to claim 17, Nam discloses support protrusion (ref. 170, figure 7) formed on the cell facing surface i.e. on the upper surface of the bottom portion (ref. 110a) on which cell lies (figure 7, para. 0045). The bottom portion of Nam is the floor that holds up the cell bottom and therefore in the combination of Yoo Luo and Nam would disclose the seating protrusion being on the upper surface of the second support portion.
Regarding claim 19, Yoo fails to disclose the seating protrusion includes a protrusion body, a first connection portion and a second connection portion.
Nam discloses the seating protrusion includes a protrusion body having a set thickness in a direction oriented upward (figure 7), i.e. the vertical dimension above bottom portion (ref. 110a) and this thickness space the battery cells from the bottom (para. 0009, figure 7). Nam discloses the support protrusion may have a shape extending from the lower part of the side support rib to the upper surface of the bottom portion (para. 0010) i.e., the radial extent of support protrusion (ref. 170) from the side support rib (ref. 150, figure 7) towards the interior of the cell receiving groove thereby disclosing the protrusion body having a set thickness and set width. As discussed with respect to claim 17 and 18 Nam discloses support protrusions are formed on the upper surface of the bottom portion therefore the lower surface of the support protrusion that is connected to the second support portion in modified Yoo provides the first connection portion thereby meeting the limitation a first connection portion in a lower portion of the protrusion body and connected to the second support portion.
Nam discloses the support protrusion (ref. 170) is formed in a shape that extends from the lower part of the side support rib (ref. 150) to the upper surface of the bottom portion (ref. 110a, para. 0046) . Nam further discloses side support ribs( ref. 150) are formed to be long up and down and extend to the bottom portion (ref. 110a) and are connected to the support protrusion (ref. 170) so that the overall shape is L-shaped, the battery cell is stably maintained ( para. 0064). Therefore Nam discloses second connection portion as the side portion of the support protrusion that connects to the side support ribs (ref. 150, figure 7). The combination of Yoo, Luo and Nam would disclose the second connection portion connected to the first support portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cell holder of Yoo to include seating protrusion includes a protrusion body, a first connection portion and a second connection portion as taught by Nam. Such a modification would result in seating protrusion incudes a protrusion body, a first connection portion that connects to the second support portion and a second connection portion that connects to the first support portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify cell support of Yoo to include the seating protrusion that includes a protrusion body, a first connection portion and a second connection portion so that the battery cell can be stably maintained.
Regarding claim 20, Yoo fails to disclose the second support portion includes a rigidity reinforcing portion and an adhesive reinforcing portion.
As discussed above with respect claim 17, Nam discloses forming support protrusion (ref. 170, figure7) at regular intervals for separating the battery cells from the bottom (ref. 110a, para. 0044) to stably support the bottom surface of the battery cell (para. 0045, 0051, figure 5-7). Therefore in the modified Yoo the portion of the second support portion underlying and carrying seating protrusion corresponds to the claimed rigidity reinforcing portion, with the seating protrusion disposed on its upper portion.
Nam discloses a plurality of support protrusions (ref. 170) are formed at regular intervals on the upper surface of the bottom portion (ref. 110a) to stably support the bottom surface of the battery cell (para. 0045), there fore each support protrusion covers only part of bottom portion (ref. 110a). The surface of bottom portion (ref. 110 a) beside each support protrusion, not covered by it, lies on one side of the rigidity reinforcing portion which constitutes the adhesive reinforcing portion. Therfore in the modified Yoo, each seating protrusion only covers a part of the second support so the uncovered portion of the second support portion which lies on at least one side of the rigidity reinforcing portion would be the adhesive reinforcing portion.
Nam discloses that the battery cell does not contact the bottom portion (ref. 110a, para. 0052) and the storage groove (ref. 140) uses the support protrusion (ref. 170) to space the bottom portion (ref. 110a) from the battery cell (figure 7). The battery cell rests on the support protrusion, the area of the second support beside the seating protrusion (that is not covered by the seating protrusion) lies below the cell by the seating protrusion’s height. It is therefore spaced apart from the lower portion of the cell by the height of the protrusion. Therefore the modified Yoo disclose the gap between the cell’s bottom surface and the area of the second support not occupied by the seating protrusion is separation space and in the modified Yoo adhesive fills this separation gap and therefore the separation space is capable of holding the adhesive liquid. Thereby meeting the limitation separation space between the adhesive reinforcing portion and the battery cells being in fluid communication with the through-holes.
Conclusion
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788
10/02/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788