Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2013/0193922) in view of Bech (US 2023/0061714).
Regarding claim 15, Park a stationary battery charger, configured to detachably couple with and charge a battery electric vehicle (BEV) battery, comprising: (see Fig. 2) an input for receiving alternating current (AC) voltage from an electrical grid; (see AC output to 210 input; Fig. 2) one or more electrical cables configured to detachably couple with BEVs (see Fig. 2) one or more enhanced power modules, electrically coupled to the input, that convert AC voltage to direct current (DC) voltage, each comprising: (see 210; Fig. 2) a switched mode power supply (SMPS) coupled to a low voltage output for powering auxiliary circuits within the stationary battery charger; (see 260, para 0033 and 0035; Fig. 2) a power factor correction (PFC) module that rectifies AC voltage received from the grid into DC voltage supplied to the SMPS and the one or more electrical cables; (see 220, para 0036; Fig. 2) a control system, electrically connected to the SMPS that controls the SMPS, the IMD, and the PFC module (see 250).
However Park does not disclose; an isolation monitoring device (IMD) electrically coupled to the one or more electrical cables.
Yet, Bech in the same field teaches an isolation monitoring device (IMD) electrically coupled to the one or more electrical cables (see 26, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park with the teachings of Bech having an isolation monitoring device (IMD) electrically coupled to the one or more electrical cables in order to provide continuous, real-time tracking of insulation resistance between live unearthed conductors and protective earth or chassis ground.
Regarding claim 8 the combination teaches a stationary battery charger, configured to detachably couple with and charge a battery electric vehicle (BEV) battery, comprising: an input for receiving alternating current (AC) voltage from an electrical grid; one or more electrical cables configured to detachably couple with BEVs; one or more enhanced power modules, electrically coupled to the input, that convert AC voltage to direct current (DC) voltage, each comprising: a switched mode power supply (SMPS) coupled to a low voltage output for powering auxiliary circuits within the stationary battery charger; a power factor correction (PFC) module that rectifies AC voltage received from the grid into DC voltage supplied to the SMPS and the one or more electrical cables; and a control system, electrically connected to the SMPS that controls the SMPS and the PFC module (Please see rejection or claim 15).
Regarding claim 1, the combination teaches a stationary battery charger, configured to detachably couple with and charge a battery electric vehicle (BEV) battery, comprising: an input for receiving alternating current (AC) voltage from an electrical grid; one or more electrical cables configured to detachably couple with BEVs; and one or more enhanced power modules, electrically coupled to the input, that convert AC voltage to direct current (DC) voltage, each comprising a low voltage output for powering auxiliary circuits within the stationary battery charger and a high voltage output for applying DC voltage to the BEV battery (Please see rejection or claim 15).
Regarding claims 4 11 and 18 the combination teaches a wherein the auxiliary circuits include a contactor interface, a cooling system interface, or an isolation monitoring device (IMD) interface (see 26, Fig. 1; Bech).
Regarding claims 7 and 14 the combination teaches further comprising a control bus and a control system, included on the one or more enhanced power modules, capable of transmitting commands to a power factor correction (PFC), a DC-DC converter, an AC-DC power conversion topology, or a switched mode power supply (SMPS) (see communication line Fig. 2; Park).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 9, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Bech as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Guo (CN 106921206).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 the combination teaches a stationary battery charger of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Yet does not disclose further comprising one or more auxiliary circuits included with the one or more enhanced power modules.
However, Guo in the same field teaches comprising one or more auxiliary circuits included with the one or more enhanced power modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Bech with the teachings of Guo having one or more auxiliary circuits included with the one or more enhanced power modules in order to provide additional electrical paths and devices without increasing footprint.
Regarding claims 5 12 and 19 the combination teaches a stationary battery charger of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Yes, does not disclose further comprising a controller area network (CAN) bus electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules.
However, Guo in the same field teaches comprising a controller area network (CAN) bus electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Bech with the teachings of Guo having comprising a controller area network (CAN) bus electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules in order to provide electrical communication amongst all electrical devices in a uniform manner.
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Bech as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 2022/0123580).
Regarding claims 3 10 and 17 the combination teaches a stationary battery charger of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Yet, the combination does not disclose comprising an intra-module data bus coupling a control system on the one or more enhanced power modules with the one or more auxiliary circuits.
However, Zhao in the same field teaches comprising an intra-module data bus coupling a control system on the one or more enhanced power modules with the one or more auxiliary circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Bech with the teachings of Zhao having an intra-module data bus coupling a control system on the one or more enhanced power modules with the one or more auxiliary circuits in order to provide redundant communication.
Regarding claims 6 13 and 20 the combination teaches a stationary battery charger of claims 1, 8 and 15.
Yet, the combination does not disclose comprising a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules.
However, Zhao in the same field teaches comprising a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules (see Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Bech with the teachings of Zhao having a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the one or more enhanced power modules in order to provide redundant communication paths that ensure proper functioning.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836