DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 4/18/2024 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “color conversion unit”, “selection unit”, “correction unit”, and “printing data generation unit” in claims 1-8.
Color conversion unit implemented by software by the processor executing a computer program stored in advance in the memory [Applicant’s Specification: Fig 2 (110), par 0032-0033]
Selection unit implemented by software by the processor executing a computer program stored in advance in the memory [Applicant’s Specification: Fig 2 (130), par 0032, 0034]
Correction unit implemented by software by the processor executing a computer program stored in advance in the memory [Applicant’s Specification: Fig 2 (120), par 0032, 0034]
Printing data generation unit implemented by software by the processor executing a computer program stored in advance in the memory [Applicant’s Specification: Fig 2 (140), par 0032, 0035]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuzawa (US-2020/0364015).
As to Claim 1, Katsuzawa teaches ‘A color correction device comprising: a color conversion unit configured to convert an input value in an input color space into an output value in an output color space [Fig 1B (S102), par 0027-0029 – converting the color of the pre-conversion color system to the color of the ink color system]; a selection unit configured to receive a selection, as a target color component, of one or more color components among a plurality of color components used in a printing device [par 0029-0034 – position selecting process for selecting a position to be represented by a pure color with only one color ink or a secondary color with two colors of ink]; and a correction unit configured to correct the output value in a manner of reducing the target color component when the input value represents a color not including the target color component [par 0030-0031, 0041-0042, 0051-0052 – color correcting process performed on the color conversion result for the selected position so as to be the color expressed using ink of a predetermined number of colors or less]’.
Further, in regards to claim 9 the color correction device of claim 1 performs the color correction method of claim 9.
Further, in regards to claim 10, the color correction of method of claim 9 is fully embodied on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 10.
As to Claim 2, Katsuzawa teaches ‘wherein the selection unit is configured to receive a selection, as the target color component, of three or more color components among the plurality of color components [par 0028, 0064-0065 – user selecting a position in a region that is to be printed as a pure color or a secondary color based on CMYK ink color system]’.
As to Claim 3, Katsuzawa teaches ‘wherein when N is an integer of 3 or more, the selection unit is configured to receive a selection, as the target color component, of any one or more and N or less color components among N color components corresponding to N color materials used in the printing device [par 0030-0032, 0041-0042, 0051-0052 – color correcting process performed on the color conversion result for the selected position so as to be the color expressed using ink of a predetermined number of colors or less which are less than the number of ink colors used in the printing apparatus]’.
As to Claim 4, Katsuzawa teaches ‘wherein the correction of the output value of reducing the target color component is a process of correcting the output value in a manner of changing a value of the target color component to a corrected value that is not zero [Figs 3A-B, par 0050-0055 – performing a color conversion using ICC profile to correct post-conversion when retaining a pure color by deleting components of colors other than the pure color (i.e. cyan), where in this case, in the corrected color, the concentration of cyan is changed from 100% to 96%, and the concentration of other colors is changed to 0%]’.
As to Claim 5, Katsuzawa teaches ‘wherein the correction unit further corrects an output value component corresponding to a color component other than the target color component among the plurality of color components to reduce a difference between a first color represented by the output value before correction and a second color represented by the output value after correction [Figs 3A-B, par 0050-0055 – performing a color conversion using ICC profile to correct post-conversion when retaining a pure color by deleting components of colors other than the pure color (i.e. cyan), where in this case, in the corrected color, the concentration of cyan is 96%, and the concentration of other colors is 0%]’.
As to Claim 6, Katsuzawa teaches ‘wherein the color conversion unit includes a color conversion lookup table for converting the input color space into the output color space, and the correction unit executes the correction on the color conversion lookup table [par 0029, 0040, 0034, 0050-0056 – an ICC profile created in advance according to the characteristics of the ink used in the printing apparatus is used as the profile on a color set in the input print data, and use the conversion result of color spaces as it is to be corrected in the color correcting process]’.
As to Claim 8, Katsuzawa teaches ‘A printing system comprising: a color correction device [Fig 1A (14) – Host PC]; and a printing device [Fig 1A (12) – printing apparatus], wherein the color correction device includes a color conversion unit configured to convert an input value in an input color space into an output value in an output color space [Fig 1B (S102), par 0027-0029 – converting the color of the pre-conversion color system to the color of the ink color system], a selection unit configured to receive a selection, as a target color component, of one or more color components among a plurality of color components used in the printing device [par 0029-0034 – position selecting process for selecting a position to be represented by a pure color with only one color ink or a secondary color with two colors of ink], a correction unit configured to correct the output value in a manner of reducing the target color component when the input value represents a color not including the target color component [par 0030-0031, 0041-0042, 0051-0052 – color correcting process performed on the color conversion result for the selected position so as to be the color expressed using ink of a predetermined number of colors or less], and a printing data generation unit configured to generate printing data to be supplied to the printing device using a corrected output value corrected by the correction unit [par 0037, 0042, 0064-0066 – perform a control using binary data generated by performing raster image processor (RIP) process or the like based on print data, for the operation of ejecting ink in of a pure color or secondary color]’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuzawa in view of Borg (US-7,911,665).
As to Claim 7, Katsuzawa teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in dependent claim 6 and independent claim 1. Katsuzawa does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the correction unit selects a grid point at which an input value component corresponding to the target color component is not present among a plurality of grid points of the color conversion lookup table, and corrects an output value component corresponding to the target color component among the output values for the selected grid point’.
Katsuzawa teaches an ICC profile created in advance according to the characteristics of the ink used in the printing apparatus is used as the profile on a color set in the input print data, and use the conversion result of color spaces as it is to be corrected in the color correcting process [par 0029, 0040, 0034, 0050-0056].
Borg in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the correction unit selects a grid point at which an input value component corresponding to the target color component is not present among a plurality of grid points of the color conversion lookup table, and corrects an output value component corresponding to the target color component among the output values for the selected grid point [col 3, line 18-col 4, line 4, col 8 line 48-col 9, line 5, col 10, line 24-col 11, line 17 – applying a correction factor to grid points of an input to output LUT based on selected color values of an output color space]’.
Katsuzawa and Borg are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital print data generation systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include correcting grid points of an output color space, as taught by Borg. The motivation for doing so would have been to purifying muddied primary color values of an output color space. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Borg with Katsuzawa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Publication No. 2020/0364015
b. US Patent No. 7,911,665
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
c. US Publication No. 2005/0219569
d. US Publication No. 2014/0160500
e. US Publication No. 2020/0389570
f. US Publication No. 2024/0354538
g. US Publication No. 2024/0354537
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681