FINAL REJECTION
Response to Amendment
On 9/3/2026, Applicant submitted an amendment to the application which contains an amended claim set and arguments/remarks. The amendment has been entered and considered for this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argues by way of amendment that Hayes does not disclose that each detector head is configured to be extended and retracted with respect to the rotatable detector carrier to establish a variable bore size and shape and that each detector module comprises an arm and at least one said detector head configured to be movable relative to said arm during the scan.
Examiner response: These limitations, which are now amended into claim 1, were from dependent claim 6 (now deleted from dependent claim 6). Claim 6 was rejected under §103 as obvious over Hayes in view of Plummer and Matthews (i.e., a combination of references and not just a single reference). The §103 rejection relies on the combination of Hayes and Plummer to teach the aforementioned limitations. Applicant’s argument is directed solely to Hayes as an individual reference; i.e., Applicant does not address Plummer, let alone in combination with Hayes.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the Hayes individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking a reference individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Hayes discloses that each detector head is configured to be extended and retracted with respect to the rotatable detector carrier to establish a variable bore size and shape as discussed in the previous Office Action. More specifically, Hayes teaches at col. 4, lines 2-9: “As the gantry rotates about the axis of rotation 70, the rotating detectors define a generally circular imaging region, the precise shape of which may vary if the detectors are moved radially during rotation of the gantry 30. The detectors are mounted to the gantry 30 so as to be movable […] radially toward and away from the axis of rotation 70 […] with respect to the imaging region.” The radial1 movement of the detector heads with respect to the detector carrier as taught by Hayes reads on the claimed extension and retraction because such radial movement toward/away from the axis of rotation would cause the detector heads to extend/retract further into/away from the imaging region, thereby establishing a variable bore size and shape as recited in the claim.
Furthermore, although Hayes does not disclose that each detector module comprises an arm and at least one said detector head configured to be movable relative to said arm during the scan, this is known from Plummer (e.g., see Fig. 3 which illustrates the claimed arm).
Applicant argues that Hayes does not teach the additional limitations recited in claim 2, arguing that Hayes instead teaches that the detector head obscures the field of view of another detector head (with reference to Fig. 4B of Hayes).
Examiner response: It is initially noted that the grounds of rejection are based on the detector arrangement shown in Fig. 4A, while Applicant’s argument is directed to a different detector arrangement not relied upon in the rejection (i.e., Fig. 4B). In other words, the Applicant’s argument is directed to the wrong detector arrangement. It is unclear to the examiner whether this was inadvertent (e.g., Applicant not reading carefully and/or Applicant misunderstanding of the grounds of rejection) or intentional (e.g., a strawman argument, or incompetence); regardless, Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because it does not appear to actually be directed to the grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that Hayes does not teach the additional limitations recited in claim 20, arguing that Hayes instead teaches that the detectors do, however, appear to operationally interfere with each other (with reference to Fig. 4B, 4E, and 4F).
Examiner response: It is initially noted that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, since the term “mechanically” and “operationally” are separate by the conjunction “or” (i.e., not “and”), exclusion of only one (i.e., not both) of the two aforementioned types of interference (i.e., either mechanical interference or operational interference) is required to meet the claim. While ambiguities of the English language present another reasonable interpretation wherein the detector heads neither interfere mechanically nor operationally with each other (i.e., the detector heads do not interfere mechanically with each other, and the detector heads do not interfere mechanically with each other), the former interpretation has a broader claim scope than that of the latter interpretation because the latter interpretation excludes more subject matter.
While grounds of rejection are based on detector heads not interfering mechanically with each other, Applicant’s argument is directed to whether the detector heads of Hayes interfere operationally with each other. In other words, the Applicant’s argument is directed to the wrong interference type. It is unclear to the examiner whether this was inadvertent (e.g., Applicant not reading carefully and/or Applicant misunderstanding the scope of the claim and/or Applicant misunderstanding the grounds of rejection) or intentional (e.g., a strawman argument, or incompetence); regardless, Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because it does not appear to actually be directed to the grounds of rejection. Therefore, Hayes is considered to teach detector heads that do not interfere mechanically or operationally with each other because Hayes teaches detector heads that do not interfere mechanically with each other.
Otherwise, even if, for argument’s sake, we consider the latter (narrower) interpretation, Applicant’s argument is still not found to be persuasive. Applicant cites Figs. 4B, 4E, and 4F which allegedly appear to show detectors operationally interfering with each other. It is not entirely clear what Applicant is trying to argue here exactly because Applicant does not explain why or how they come to the conclusion that these figures allegedly show operational interference. However, the examiner’s best understanding, after further examination of Figs. 4B, 4E, and 4F of Hayes, is that Applicant might be trying to point to what looks like a respective portion of one or more detector faces extending beyond the body of another adjacent detector. However, if this is Applicant’s argument, then their argument appears to conflict with their own Specification which recites in part:
Pages 40-41: “l. Variable geometry detector arrays in which the detector heads; (particularly but not exclusively in the case of PET detector heads) are moveable in ways that permit bores small enough for efficient imaging of relatively small organs such as the brain, the throat or an extremity, without collision or interference between adjacent detector heads. Options include:
(i) making only some of the detector heads, for example, every other detector head extensible, (with the un-extended detector heads optionally used or are not used during the scan,
(ii) making the angular orientation of at least some of the detector heads adjustable relative to the axes of extension of the respective detectors to increase the amount that the detectors can be extended without collision. Optionally, the angular orientation of the detector heads can be varied either in pairs or individually. Further optionally, one or more heads that are connectable to the same arm can be angularly oriented independently or differently than other heads,
(iii) making at least some of the detector heads rotatable or tiltable. It should also be noted that extension of the detector heads to create a smaller bore size has the effect of positioning the detector heads closer to the ROI, consequently, each detector head subtends a larger solid angle around the ROI, and is able to collect more photons emitted from the ROI, The result is that overall system sensitivity may be improved.”
Page 53: “In an exemplary embodiment of the invention, consideration is given to assuring that adjacent heads do not interfere mechanically or operationally. Figs. 7A and 7B, 8A-8D, 9A-9C, 10A and 10B, and 11A-11C illustrate exemplary design solutions according to some embodiments of the invention.”
Figs. 9B and 9C, which Applicant’s own Specification seemingly cites as an illustrative example of assuring that adjacent heads do not interfere mechanically or operationally (i.e., do not interfering mechanically, and do not interfering operationally), clearly show that by tilting the detectors, a portion of each detector face extends beyond the body of another adjacent detector. If Figs. 9B and 9C, despite clearly showing a portion of each detector face extending beyond the body of another adjacent detector, are considered to be illustrative of detector heads that do not interfere mechanically or operationally (i.e., do not interfering mechanically, and do not interfering operationally), then each detector head of Hayes allegedly extending beyond the body of another adjacent detector does not itself necessarily preclude Hayes from being considered to teach detector heads that do not interfere mechanically or operationally (i.e., do not interfering mechanically, and do not interfering operationally). Therefore, Hayes is still considered to teach detector heads that do not interfere mechanically or operationally (i.e., do not interfere mechanically, and do not interfere operationally) with each other
Otherwise, even if, for argument’s sake, detector heads extending beyond the body of another adjacent detector head (e.g., as shown in Fig. 4B of Hayes) is considered to read on operational interference, Hayes teaches another detector arrangement wherein the detectors do not extend beyond the body of another detector head (e.g., see Fig. 4A). Therefore, Hayes is still considered to teach detector heads that do not interfere mechanically and do not interfere operationally.
Regarding claim 25, Applicant argues that Hayes does not teach that a distal portion of each detector module has a rounded shape.
Examiner response: It is noted that claim 25 was rejected under §103 as obvious over Hayes in view Hefetz (i.e., a combination of references and not just a single reference). The §103 rejection relies on Hefetz (not Hayes) to teach the aforementioned limitation. Applicant’s argument is directed to Hayes (not Hefetz); i.e., Applicant’s argument appears to be directed to the wrong prior art reference.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the Hayes individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking a reference individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Hefetz teaches a distal portion of each said detector module has a rounded shape (see Fig. 4).
It is unclear to the examiner whether this was inadvertent (e.g., Applicant not reading carefully and/or Applicant misunderstanding the grounds of the rejection) or intentional (e.g., a strawman argument, or incompetence); regardless, Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because it does not appear to directed to the correct prior art reference.
Regarding claim 27, Applicant argues that Hayes does not teach that the detector head is configured to extend to establish a bore having a diameter as small as 20 cm.
Examiner response: It is noted that claim 27 was rejected under §103 as obvious over Hayes in view Zilberstein (i.e., a combination of references and not just a single reference). The §103 rejection relies on Zilberstein (not Hayes) to teach the aforementioned limitation. Applicant’s argument is directed to Hayes (not Zilberstein); i.e., Applicant’s argument appears to be directed to the wrong prior art reference.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the Hayes individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking a reference individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Zilberstein teaches detector heads configured to extend to establish a bore having a diameter of as small as 20 cm (implied from Fig. 2D and ¶ [0085] which disclose a plurality of contact points with the head of patient; it is understood that a typical human head has a diameter of about 20 cm).
It is unclear to the examiner whether this was inadvertent (e.g., Applicant not reading carefully and/or Applicant misunderstanding the grounds of rejection) or intentional (e.g., a strawman argument, or incompetence); regardless, Applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive because it does not appear to directed to the correct prior art reference.
In the context of the §103 rejections, Applicant states that “[t]he additionally cited references are not relevant to the patentability of amended independent Claim 1” and further that “[n]one of Plummer et al., Matthews et al., Kline et al., Hefetz et al., and Zilberstein et al., describes, or is cited to describe, the elements existing in amended independent Claim 1 and missing from Hayes.”
Examiner response: This is simply not true. The limitations added to claim 1 are from claim 6. Further, in the rejection of claim 6, Hayes and Plummer were cited to teach the aforementioned limitations. Therefore, at least Plummer from the aforementioned list of additionally cited references is indeed relevant to the patentability of amended independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13,20-22, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes, US Patent 6,137,109 (hereinafter “Hayes”) in view of Plummer et al., US 5,929,446 (hereinafter “Plummer”).
Regarding claim 1: Hayes discloses a nuclear medicine tomography system comprising:
a rotatable detector carrier (gantry B, Fig. 1);
a plurality of detector modules (detectors 22, Fig. 1) mounted on said rotatable detector carrier, one or more detector module of said plurality of detector modules comprising:
a detector head (body 27 and face 25, Fig. 1); and
a detector positioning arrangement (see Fig. 2) having a controller (102, 114, and/or 116, Fig. 2) and a plurality of first actuators operable to position said detector heads at adjacent positions or at positions that overlap radially or circumferentially or axially, before and/or during performance of a scan, without interference or collision between adjacent said detector heads to establish a variable bore size and configuration for the scan (e.g., see Figs. 3A-3I and/or Fig., 4A-4F).
Hayes further discloses each said detector head is configured to be extended and retracted with respect to said rotatable detector carrier to establish a variable bore size and shape (“As the gantry rotates about the axis of rotation 70, the rotating detectors define a generally circular imaging region, the precise shape of which may vary if the detectors are moved radially during rotation of the gantry 30. The detectors are mounted to the gantry 30 so as to be movable […]radially toward and away from the axis of rotation 70 […] with respect to the imaging region.” col. 4, lines 2-9).
Hayes does not disclose that each detector module of said plurality of detector modules comprises an arm and at least one said detector head, said at least one detector head configured to be movable relative to said arm during the scan.
Plummer teaches each detector module of a plurality of detector modules comprises an arm and at least one detector head, said at least one detector head configured to be movable relative to said arm during the scan (see Fig. 3 which illustrates the claimed arm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hayes such that each detector module of said plurality of detector modules comprises an arm and at least one said detector head, said at least one detector head configured to be movable relative to said arm during the scan, as taught by Plummer; and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate radial motion of the detector heads.
Regarding claim 2: Hayes further discloses the controller is configured to prevent a first one of said detector heads from obscuring a field of view of a second one of said detector heads (implied from maintaining corner-to-corner orientation such as shown in Fig. 4A, opposed to overlapping orientation such as in Fig. 4B; “The configuration of a multi-head gamma camera requires coordination between tangential and radial motions so that the detectors maintain a desired orientation, either corner to corner or overlapping.” Abstract).
Regarding claim 3: Hayes further discloses that rotatable detector carrier has an aperture with a circular shape or a partially circular shape (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4: Hayes further discloses that plurality of detector modules are attached to the rotatable detector carrier and are arranged around the aperture (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5: Hayes further discloses that the rotatable detector carrier is configured to rotate detector heads around the aperture (; “The gantry B includes stationary 18 and rotating 30 gantry portions. Detectors 22a, 22b, 22c are mounted to the rotating gantry portion 30 and define an aperture into which the anatomy of a patient may be inserted.” col. 3, lines 64-67; “As the gantry rotates about the axis of rotation 70, the rotating detectors define a generally circular imaging region, the precise shape of which may vary if the detectors are moved radially during rotation of the gantry 30.” col. 4, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 9: Hayes further discloses that the detector positioning arrangement is configured to extend at least one of said detector heads relative to said rotatable detector carrier (e.g., see Fig. 3B which shows a pair oppositely facing detector heads (at the 90- and 270-degrees position) extended compared to a third non-extended detector head (at the zero-degree position)).
Regarding claim 10: Hayes further discloses that the detector positioning arrangement is configured to extend fewer than all of said plurality of detector heads relative to said rotatable detector carrier (e.g., see Fig. 3B which shows a pair oppositely facing detector heads (at the 90- and 270-degrees position) extended compared to a third non-extended detector head (at the zero-degree position)).
Regarding claim 11: Hayes further discloses that the detector positioning arrangement is configured to extend only every other detector head relative to said rotatable detector carrier. (e.g., see Fig. 3B, starting at the 270-degree position and going clockwise, the 270-degree position detector head is extended, the zero-degree position detect head is not extended, and the 90-degree position head is extended).
Regarding claim 12: Hayes further discloses that system is configured to use all of said plurality of detector heads during the scan (implied from “utilizing the detectors to detect radiation, and generating an image indicated of the detected radiation”, col. 2, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 13: Hayes further discloses that the controller is configured to prevent collision of at least two of said detector heads with each other (implied from: Fig. 6; “If the required tangential velocity is greater than the maximum speed of the tangential drive system, or if the tangential motion would result in an impossible condition (i.e., tangential motion beyond a position limit), the radial velocity is limited or the radial motion is stopped. Note that it is not necessary to limit the radial velocity when the detectors are being moved radially outward.” col. 5, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 20: Hayes further discloses adjacent ones of said detector heads do not interfere mechanically or operationally with each other (Fig. 6; “If the required tangential velocity is greater than the maximum speed of the tangential drive system, or if the tangential motion would result in an impossible condition (i.e., tangential motion beyond a position limit), the radial velocity is limited or the radial motion is stopped. Note that it is not necessary to limit the radial velocity when the detectors are being moved radially outward.” col. 5, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 21: Hayes further discloses that the controller is configured to simulate gap filling properties of said detector heads (maintaining corner-to-corner or overlapping relationship, Fig. 8, Abstract) and to plan and/or monitor motion of said detector heads in a manner which avoids interference between detector heads (Fig. 6; “If the required tangential velocity is greater than the maximum speed of the tangential drive system, or if the tangential motion would result in an impossible condition (i.e., tangential motion beyond a position limit), the radial velocity is limited or the radial motion is stopped. Note that it is not necessary to limit the radial velocity when the detectors are being moved radially outward.” col. 5, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 22: Hayes further discloses that the controller is configured to calculate allowable paths and/or positions for at least one of said detector heads prior to or during the scan (Fig. 6; “If the required tangential velocity is greater than the maximum speed of the tangential drive system, or if the tangential motion would result in an impossible condition (i.e., tangential motion beyond a position limit), the radial velocity is limited or the radial motion is stopped. Note that it is not necessary to limit the radial velocity when the detectors are being moved radially outward.” col. 5, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 26: Hayes further discloses that the detector positioning arrangement is operable to rotate and extend at least some of said detector heads from respective first positions, in which said bore size is a first bore size, to respective second positions, in which said bore size is a second bore size, wherein said second bore size is smaller than said first bore size (see Fig. 4A; “As depicted by the radial arrows in FIG. 4a, the radial drives move the detectors 22a, 22b, 22c radially toward and away from the imaging region.” col. 4, lines 45-47).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Plummer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matthews et al., US 6,727,502 (hereinafter “Matthews”).
Regarding claim 6: Hayes further discloses: wherein said controller is configured to:
control, based on a desired bore size and shape, extension and retraction of said detector heads to a spatial arrangement thereof as defined by said extension and retraction (col. 4, lines 10-41),
control data acquisition by said plurality of detector heads (implied from “utilizing the detectors to detect radiation, and generating an image indicated of the detected radiation”, col. 2, lines 3-5), and
control image reconstruction of data acquired by said data acquisition (implied from “utilizing the detectors to detect radiation, and generating an image indicated of the detected radiation”, col. 2, lines 3-5).
Hayes does not disclose that the controller is configured to control at least one of said data acquisition and said image reconstruction, based on said spatial arrangement.
Matthews teaches a controller configured to control at least one of data acquisition and image reconstruction based on the spatial arrangement of detector heads (see Fig. 3 and associated descriptions which teach correction factors for reconstruction are based on spatial arrangement (fitting parameters) of the detector heads).
Additionally, the ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that reconstruction necessarily must be based on the detection geometry (including the spatial arrangement of the detector heads) in order to properly arrange lines of response (LORs) in a sinogram to be reconstructed into an image (e.g., via inverse Radon transform or other back projection algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Hayes such that the controller is configured to control at least one of said data acquisition and said image reconstruction, based on said spatial arrangement, as taught by Matthews; and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to properly arrange LORs in a sinogram to be reconstructed into an image.
Claims 14-19, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Plummer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kline et al., US 5,319,205 (hereinafter “Kline”).
Regarding claims 14-19: Hayes modified in view of the teachings of Plummer teaches the invention of claim 1. Hayes further discloses a patient carrier (10, Fig. 1); but does not teach that:
the controller is configured to prevent collision of a said detector head with a patient positioned on said patient carrier (claim 14);
the system comprises proximity sensors configured to detect a collision of a said detector head with the patient (claim 15);
said proximity sensors include at least one of pressure sensors, acoustic sensors, and optical sensors mounted on said detector heads (claim 16);
said controller is configured to stop motion of a said detector head in case of a collision with a patient (claim 17);
said controller is configured to stop motion of said detector head before it makes contact with a patient (claim 18);
said system includes adaptive motion feedback capability to signal said system if a said detector head makes contact with the patient (claim 19).
Kline teaches:
a controller configured to prevent collision of a detector with a patient positioned on said patient carrier (“In addition, in order to move the imaging detector 18 to within a desired distance from the subject 24, the controller 60 instructs the camera motion control 68 to move the head 12 towards the subject 24. The head 12 closes in until an outside and middle beam is interrupted on one of the stack pairs 38A/40A, 38B/40B, 38C/40C e.g., the beams 50, 52). The controller 60 then instructs the camera motion control 68 to stop translating the head 12 (the rotational scan continues).” col. 5, lines 1-11).
proximity sensors configured to detect a collision of a said detector head with the patient (“The contact switch 41 provides a signal to the camera motion control 68 indicative of contact between the head 12 and the subject 24. The controller provides a fault signal 70 upon detection of a fault condition.” col. 4, lines 62-66; “If one of the "too close" beams is interrupted (e.g., the beam 54), the controller 60 instructs the camera motion control 68 to move the head 12 back from the subject 24. The head 12 pulls out until all of the "too close" and middle beams are uninterrupted.” col. 5, lines 12-17).
said proximity sensors include at least one of pressure sensors, acoustic sensors, and optical sensors mounted on said detector heads (“A pressure-sensitive or contact switch 41 is provided on the surface of the imaging detector 18.” col. 3, lines 59-60; “Each emitter stack 38A, 38B, 38C contains three light 19 emitters, which may be, for example, infrared light-emitting diodes (LED). Each detector stack 40A, 40B, 40C contains three light detectors, which may be, for example, synchronous light detectors such as Hamamatsu Photonics Model No. S4282-11.” col. 4, lines 1-6; “While a light beam proximity detector has been described, it is also possible to practice the invention with other types of proximity detection, for example, ultrasonic or radio frequency sensing.” col. 5, lines 55-58).
said controller is configured to stop motion of a said detector head in case of a collision with a patient (“The contact switch 41 provides a signal to the camera motion control 68 indicative of contact between the head 12 and the subject 24. The controller provides a fault signal 70 upon detection of a fault condition.” col. 4, lines 62-66);
said controller is configured to stop motion of said detector head before it makes contact with a patient (“In addition, in order to move the imaging detector 18 to within a desired distance from the subject 24, the controller 60 instructs the camera motion control 68 to move the head 12 towards the subject 24. The head 12 closes in until an outside and middle beam is interrupted on one of the stack pairs 38A/40A, 38B/40B, 38C/40C e.g., the beams 50, 52). The controller 60 then instructs the camera motion control 68 to stop translating the head 12 (the rotational scan continues).” col. 5, lines 1-11); and
said system includes adaptive motion feedback capability to signal said system if a said detector head makes contact with the patient (see Fig. 6 and col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, line 54; the feedback is adaptive to the motion of the detector relative to the patient which signals the system in the event of contact with the patient).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Hayes such that:
the controller is configured to prevent collision of a said detector head with a patient positioned on said patient carrier,
the system comprises proximity sensors configured to detect a collision of a said detector head with the patient,
said proximity sensors include at least one of pressure sensors, acoustic sensors, and optical sensors mounted on said detector heads,
said controller is configured to stop motion of a said detector head in case of a collision with a patient,
said controller is configured to stop motion of said detector head before it makes contact with a patient,
said system includes adaptive motion feedback capability to signal said system if a said detector head makes contact with the patient,
as taught by Kline; and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve safety, maintain proper distance between the detector and the patient, and/or maintain sterilization of the detector heads.
Regarding claims 23 and 24: see above regarding claims 15 and 16.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Plummer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hefetz et al., US 2008/0029704 A1 (hereinafter “Hefetz”).
Hayes modified in view of the teachings of Plummer teaches invention of claim 1. Hayes does not disclose that a distal portion of each said detector module has a rounded shape.
Hefetz teaches a distal portion of each said detector module has a rounded shape (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Hayes such that a distal portion of each said detector module has a rounded shape, as taught by Hefetz; and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide the distal end of the detector modules with atraumatic shape.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes in view of Plummer as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zilberstein et al., US 2011/0026685 A1 (hereinafter “Zilberstein”).
Hayes modified in view of the teachings of Plummer teaches the invention of claim 4. Hayes does not disclose that at least one said detector head is configured to extended to establish a bore having a diameter of as small as 20 cm.
Zilberstein teaches detector heads configured to extend to establish a bore having a diameter of as small as 20 cm (implied from Fig. 2D and ¶ [0085] which disclose a plurality of contact points with the head of patient; it is understood that a typical human head has a diameter of about 20 cm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Hayes such that at least one said detector head is configured to extended to establish a bore having a diameter of as small as 20 cm, as taught by Zilberstein; and the ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve detector sensitivity (e.g., signal-to-noise ratio) for imaging of small object such as a human head.
Conclusion
This application is not in condition for allowance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
COLIN T. SAKAMOTO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3798
/COLIN T. SAKAMOTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798
28 October 2026
1 For example, see the three double-sided arrows that the three detector heads are respectively annotated with in Fig. 4A.