DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not in English. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As per claim 1, STEINBUCHEL IV et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20160190744 A1) teaches: “an electrical connection unit (figure 7) for a charging cable 615, the electrical connection unit (figure 7) comprising: a connector 735, the connector 735 comprising a first end (along back portion of 630, shown in figure 7) with a first plug face (adjacent to 730), set up for connection to a first socket 720 with a corresponding first socket shape (see paragraph 3 and 5, along power socket different geometric shapes); a second end (along back cable portion of 630, shown in figure 7) for detachable or non-detachable coupling (along 630 and 615) to a connecting line (along the cable portion of 630, shown in figure 7) of the charging cable 615; a connector adapter 700, the connector adapter 700 comprising: a coupling 725 for coupling 725 to the first plug face (adjacent to 730); a second plug face 745 for connecting to a second socket (shown on leftmost side of figure 7, engaged by 740) with a second socket shape (shown on leftmost side of figure 7, engaged by 740, see paragraph 30) which is different from the first socket shape (see paragraph 3 and 5, along power socket different geometric shapes); wherein the connector adapter 700 is coupled to the first plug face (adjacent to 730) of the connector 735 by the coupling 725, wherein the first plug face (adjacent to 730) has a protective conductor contact 730 and at least two, current-carrying contacts (along 740, see paragraph 6), wherein the second plug face 745 has a further protective conductor contact 730 or a neutral conductor contact (see paragraph 5) and at least two further, current-carrying contacts (along 740, see paragraph 6) and wherein the second plug face 745 is offset essentially perpendicularly to a mounting direction (from right to left shown in figure 7) of the connector adapter 700 relative to the coupling 725, wherein the coupling 725 and the second plug face 745 overlap over at most 25% of their respective surface (shown in figure 7)”.
However, STEINBUCHEL fails to provide, teach or suggest: and/or wherein the at least two further current-carrying contacts are arranged closer to the second end of the connector relative to the at least two current-carrying contacts and the protective conductor contact is arranged between the at least two current-carrying contacts and the at least two further current-carrying contacts, when viewed along a line which extends from the first end to the second end.
Claims 2-11 and 16-20 are dependent on claim 1 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STEINBUCHEL IV et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20160190744 A1).
As per claim 12, STEINBUCHEL IV teaches a connector adapter 700, for coupling 725 with a connector 735 of a charging cable 615, wherein the connector adapter 700 has a coupling 725 for coupling 725 with a first plug face (adjacent to 730) of the connector 735, which is set up configured for coupling 725 with a first socket shape (see paragraph 3 and 5, along power socket different geometric shapes) of a first socket 720, wherein in particular the connector adapter 700 can be plugged directly onto the first plug face (adjacent to 730), wherein the connector adapter 700 has a second plug face 745 for connection to a second socket (shown on leftmost side of figure 7, engaged by 740) with a second socket shape (shown on leftmost side of figure 7, engaged by 740, see paragraph 30) which is different from the first socket shape (see paragraph 3 and 5, along power socket different geometric shapes), wherein the second plug face 745 is offset essentially perpendicular to a mounting direction (from right to left shown in figure 7) of the connector adapter 700 relative to the coupling 725, wherein, in particular, the coupling 725 and the second plug face 745 overlap over at most 25% of their respective surfaces (shown in figure 7).
As per claim 13, STEINBUCHEL IV teaches a connector adapter 700, wherein the coupling 725 and the second plug face 745 point in opposite directions. (shown in figure 7).
As per claim 14, STEINBUCHEL IV teaches a connector adapter 700, wherein the connector adapter 700 has an adapter housing (750a, 750b) with a first side (along 725) and a second side (along 745) facing away therefrom, wherein the coupling 725 is formed on the first side (along 725) of the adapter housing (750a, 750b), wherein the second plug face 745 is formed on the second side (along 745) of the adapter housing (750a, 750b).
As per claim 15, STEINBUCHEL IV teaches a connector adapter 700, wherein the connector adapter 700 has an adapter housing (750a, 750b) with a first side (along 725) and a second side (along 745) facing away therefrom, wherein the coupling 725 is formed on the first side (along 725) of the adapter housing (750a, 750b), wherein the second plug face 745 is formed on the second side (along 745) of the adapter housing (750a, 750b).
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831