DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 29 June 2026, in which claims 2, 4, and 8 were amended, claim 16 was canceled, and claim 21 was added.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received on 29 June 2026 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the motor" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the position" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may be able to overcome this rejection by rephrasing to read --a position--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2). Lee et al. discloses a sliding device (console box #20) comprising:
(claim 1) a guide rail module (fixed rails #11; column 5, lines 55-64);
a sliding rail (moving rails #12) slidably coupled to the guide rail module (#11; column 5, lines 55-
64);
a rail driving module (automatic operation unit #43 including motor #46) coupled to the sliding
rail (#12) and configured to move the sliding rail along the guide rail module (#11; column 7, line 16-
column 10);
a sliding mode switching module (including user manipulation of front and rear handles #42a, 42b to initiate manual operation unit #42, and user manipulation of manipulation unit #44 to initiate automatic operation unit #43) configured to switch an operation mode of the sliding rail (#12) from an electric sliding mode (automatic operation mode) to a manual sliding mode (manual operation mode; figures 2-14; column 6, line 31-column 10);
(claim 2) wherein the sliding mode switching module is configured to switch the operation mode of the sliding rail from the electric sliding mode to the manual sliding mode by blocking a driving force of the rail driving module from being transmitted to the sliding rail (when in manual operation mode, controller #45 is prevented from supplying electrical power to solenoids #43a, 630 and motor #46, thereby blocking a driving force of the automatic operation unit #43; column 6, line 31-column 10);
(claim 19) wherein in the electric sliding mode (automatic operation mode), the sliding rail (#12)
is configured to be electrically moved by the rail driving module (automatic operation unit #43 including
motor #46) along the guide rail module (#11; column 7, line 16-column 10);
(claim 20) wherein in the manual sliding mode (manual operation mode), the sliding rail (#12) is
configured to be manually moved along the guide rail module (#11) by a user (column 6, line 31-column
10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21 appear to be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowable subject matter of claim 21 is a sliding mode switching module configured to switch an operation mode of the sliding rail from an electric sliding mode to a manual sliding mode, regardless of whether the motor is driven or the position of the sliding rail, in combination with other features of claim 21. Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2) does not disclose a structure that permits switching to a manual sliding mode regardless of whether the motor is driven.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to pages 10-11 and claim 1, Applicant argues that Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2) does not teach or suggest “a sliding mode switching module configured to switch an operation mode of the sliding rail from an electric sliding mode to a manual sliding mode”. As set forth above, Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2) discloses a sliding mode switching module (including user manipulation of front and rear handles #42a, 42b to initiate manual operation unit #42, and user manipulation of manipulation unit #44 to initiate automatic operation unit #43) configured to switch an operation mode of the sliding rail (#12) from an electric sliding mode (automatic operation mode) to a manual sliding mode (manual operation mode; figures 2-14; column 6, line 31-column 10).
In regards to pages 11-12 and claim 2, Applicant argues that Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2) does not disclose the claimed limitation requiring switching the operation mode "to the manual mode by blocking a driving force of the rail driving module from being transmitted to the sliding rail". As set forth above, Lee et al. (US 10661717 B2) discloses wherein the sliding mode switching module is configured to switch the operation mode of the sliding rail from the electric sliding mode to the manual sliding mode by blocking a driving force of the rail driving module from being transmitted to the sliding rail (when in manual operation mode, controller #45 is prevented from supplying electrical power to solenoids #43a, 630 and motor #46, thereby blocking a driving force of the automatic operation unit #43; column 6, line 31-column 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614