DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. -Applicant argued that the combination does not explicitly disclose "sending to core network a first request instructing to change steering of traffic from terminal so that offloading destination is switched between first server and second server".
Examiner Respectfully Disagrees:
Maidment discloses sending a first request instructing to change steering of the traffic from the terminal so that the off-loading destination is switched between the first server and the second server. Maidment in col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 discloses the resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters… The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (acquired communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device;
Maidment further in col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)…if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions.
Nipun further discloses sending to a core network a first request instructing to change steering of the traffic from the terminal, so that the off-loading destination is switched. Nipun in [0068] The second option addressed here is that the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to Nipun further in [0068] discloses the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to non-3GPP access (such as Wi-Fi) in order to manage the cell congestion via ANDSF functionality. That is, to improve the congestion situation, the PCRF may offload such subscribers to a non-3GPP access such as Wi-Fi wherever such options are available. By offloading to Wi-Fi access, the congestion situation for the users may be averted. This will reduce the congestion due to the users for which upcoming usage data is available with downloadable size information. Traffic can be offloaded to other accesses based on the ANDSF. With this approach, the PCRF can trigger the UE offload request (a first request instructing steering) to the ANDSF (core network) , which can co-ordinate with the UE for access reselection. The PCRF can trigger the MME over a proprietary interface. In this scenario, the PCRF notifies the ANDSF (core network) about the congestion situation and the ANDSF notifies the UE to move to Wi-Fi access.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-9, 15 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maidment (US pg. no. 10725466 B2), further in view of Nipun (WO 2020109853A1).
Regarding claim 1. Maidment discloses an information processing method that is performed by a computer, the method comprising:
acquiring first communication quality of a path on a user plane connecting to an external network within a core network (col. 6, lines 1-11 discloses the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (acquired communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device); and when, based on the first communication quality, determination is made to switch an offloading destination of traffic from a terminal between a first server on the external network and a second server in a local network (col. 6, lines 1-11 discloses the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device), sending … a first request instructing to change steering of the traffic from the terminal so that the off-loading destination is switched between the first server and the second server (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 and Summary discloses the resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters… The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (acquired communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)…if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions);
But, Maidment does not explicitly disclose sending to a core network a first request instructing to change steering of the traffic from the terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nipun discloses sending to a core network a first request instructing to change steering of the traffic from the terminal, so that the off-loading destination is switched ([0068] The second option addressed here is that the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to non-3GPP access (such as Wi-Fi) in order to manage the cell congestion via ANDSF functionality. That is, to improve the congestion situation, the PCRF may offload such subscribers to a non-3GPP access such as Wi-Fi wherever such options are available. By offloading to Wi-Fi access, the congestion situation for the users may be averted. This will reduce the congestion due to the users for which upcoming usage data is available with downloadable size information. Traffic can be offloaded to other accesses based on the ANDSF. With this approach, the PCRF can trigger the UE offload request (a first request instructing steering) to the ANDSF (core network) , which can co-ordinate with the UE for access reselection. The PCRF can trigger the MME over a proprietary interface. In this scenario, the PCRF notifies the ANDSF (core network) about the congestion situation and the ANDSF notifies the UE to move to Wi-Fi access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a parson having ordinary skill in the art at the time of eth invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the Maidment with Nipun. The modification would allow using steering traffic away from degraded path to enable maintain quality of service of communication and enable continuous and effective communication for time critical network data.
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 1.
Maidment discloses further comprising: when the first communication quality satisfies a first condition indicating that communication for the external network is stable, determining the first server on the external network to be the offloading destination (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 The resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters; and solving the multi-objective optimization problem to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform. The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior), and
sending to a component the first request instructing to change a steering destination of the traffic from the terminal from the local network to the external network (col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions); and
when the first communication quality does not satisfy the first condition, determining the second server in the local network to be the offloading destination (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 The resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters; and solving the multi-objective optimization problem to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform. The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. The resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10 lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior), and
sending to a component the first request instructing to change the steering destination of the traffic from the terminal from the external network to the local network (col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions);
Nipun discloses sending to the core network the first request instructing to change the steering destination of the traffic ([0068] The second option addressed here is that the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to non-3GPP access (such as Wi-Fi) in order to manage the cell congestion via ANDSF functionality. That is, to improve the congestion situation, the PCRF may offload such subscribers to a non-3GPP access such as Wi-Fi wherever such options are available. By offloading to Wi-Fi access, the congestion situation for the users may be averted. This will reduce the congestion due to the users for which upcoming usage data is available with downloadable size information. Traffic can be offloaded to other accesses based on the ANDSF. With this approach, the PCRF can trigger the UE offload request (a first request instructing steering) to the ANDSF (core network) , which can co-ordinate with the UE for access reselection. The PCRF can trigger the MME over a proprietary interface. In this scenario, the PCRF notifies the ANDSF (core network) about the congestion situation and the ANDSF notifies the UE to move to Wi-Fi access).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 1.
Maidment discloses, further comprising: acquiring communication quality between the terminal and the core network for each of terminals; when second communication quality between a first terminal and the first server on the external network satisfies a second condition, determining the first server on the external network to be an offloading destination of traffic from the first terminal (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 The resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters; and solving the multi-objective optimization problem to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform. The parameters may include the network behavior (acquiring communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. the resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10 lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)), and
sending to a component the first request instructing to change a steering destination of the traffic from the first terminal from the local network to the external network (col. 10 lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions); and
when the second communication quality does not satisfy the second condition, determining the second server in the local network to be the offloading destination of the traffic from the first terminal (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 the resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters…the parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. The resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)), and sending to a component the first request instructing to change the steering destination of the traffic from the first terminal from the external network to the local network (col.10 lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions);
Nipun discloses sending to the core network the first request instructing to change the steering destination of the traffic ([0068] The second option addressed here is that the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to non-3GPP access (such as Wi-Fi) in order to manage the cell congestion via ANDSF functionality. That is, to improve the congestion situation, the PCRF may offload such subscribers to a non-3GPP access such as Wi-Fi wherever such options are available. By offloading to Wi-Fi access, the congestion situation for the users may be averted. This will reduce the congestion due to the users for which upcoming usage data is available with downloadable size information. Traffic can be offloaded to other accesses based on the ANDSF. With this approach, the PCRF can trigger the UE offload request (a first request instructing steering) to the ANDSF (core network) , which can co-ordinate with the UE for access reselection. The PCRF can trigger the MME over a proprietary interface. In this scenario, the PCRF notifies the ANDSF (core network) about the congestion situation and the ANDSF notifies the UE to move to Wi-Fi access).
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 4.
Maidment discloses, further comprising: when the first communication quality satisfies a first condition indicating that communication for the external network is stable, determining the first server on the external network to be the offloading destination (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 The resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters; and solving the multi-objective optimization problem to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform. The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. The resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)), and
sending to a component the first request instructing to change a steering destination of the traffic from the terminal from the local network to the external network (col. 10 lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions); and when the communication quality does not satisfy the first condition, determining the second server in the local network to be the offloading destination (col.5, lines 42-67 and col.6 lines 1-11 The resource manager may be configured to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform based on a plurality of parameters, wherein the determination comprises: formulating a multi-objective optimization problem based on the plurality of parameters; and solving the multi-objective optimization problem to determine whether the data processing function is to be carried out at the edge device or at the cloud platform. The parameters may include the network behavior (communication quality of a path) between the edge device and the cloud platform. The resource manager can determine an optimized location for processing of the data, taking into account the network behavior between the edge device (second server) and the cloud platform (first server). For example, if a natural disaster results in communications links from the factory to the cloud platform being disrupted (communication quality), then the resource manager may determine to re-allocate (offload) a processing task from the cloud platform to the edge device; col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses In one example, the resource manager 500 is configured to determine where processing functions are to be carried out based on one or more parameters. These parameters may include…parameters relating to the communications link between the edge device 130 and the cloud platform 150 (such as network behavior)), and sending to a component the first request instructing to change the steering destination of the traffic from the terminal from the external network to the local network (col. 10, lines 4-20 discloses if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the edge device, instruct the edge device to carry out the plurality of data processing functions; if it is determined that the plurality of data processing functions is to be carried out at the cloud platform, instruct the cloud platform to carry out the plurality of data processing functions);).
Nipun discloses sending to the Policy Control Function the first request instructing to change a steering destination of the traffic ([0068] The second option addressed here is that the user session may be offloaded from 3GPP access to non-3GPP access (such as Wi-Fi) in order to manage the cell congestion via ANDSF functionality. That is, to improve the congestion situation, the PCRF may offload such subscribers to a non-3GPP access such as Wi-Fi wherever such options are available. By offloading to Wi-Fi access, the congestion situation for the users may be averted. This will reduce the congestion due to the users for which upcoming usage data is available with downloadable size information. Traffic can be offloaded to other accesses based on the ANDSF. With this approach, the PCRF can trigger the UE offload request (a first request instructing steering) to the ANDSF (core network) , which can co-ordinate with the UE for access reselection. The PCRF can trigger the MME over a proprietary interface. In this scenario, the PCRF notifies the ANDSF (core network) about the congestion situation and the ANDSF notifies the UE to move to Wi-Fi access).
Regarding claim 11. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 3.
Nipun discloses, further comprising determining to switch an offloading destination of traffic of a first application out of the traffic from the first terminal ([0054-0056] discloses the PCRF can check the congestion data for the cell; suppose that the PCRF determines that currently the cell is uncongested but historically congestion starts at 5:00 PM The user initiates the request at 04:50 PM. With the user’s subscribed bandwidth of e.g. 32 kbps, this download will continue after the expected cell congestion begins. After the congestion starts, the user may not even get the subscribed bandwidth due to the congestion. This will worsen the user’s experience. Also, other users will also have worse experiences due to the congestion situation. [0055] There are two options suggested to improve this situation: modify the user’s bandwidth to cause the download to be completed sooner than otherwise, or offload the user’s session to another access such as Wi-Fi. [0056] The first option addressed here is that the bandwidth of the subscriber may be increased so as to allow the subscriber to finish the download before congestion begins… If a user is streaming a movie (streaming application corresponds to first application ) for real-time playback or watching a live sporting event, then it may be more appropriate to offload the user’s session to another access such as Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 12. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 11.
Nipun discloses , wherein the first application is an application whose response latency is required to be smaller than a predetermined value and whose processing occurs continuously ([0054-0056] discloses the PCRF can check the congestion data for the cell; suppose that the PCRF determines that currently the cell is uncongested but historically congestion starts at 5:00 PM The user initiates the request at 04:50 PM. With the user’s subscribed bandwidth of e.g. 32 kbps, this download will continue after the expected cell congestion begins. After the congestion starts, the user may not even get the subscribed bandwidth due to the congestion. This will worsen the user’s experience. Also, other users will also have worse experiences due to the congestion situation. [0055] There are two options suggested to improve this situation: modify the user’s bandwidth to cause the download to be completed sooner than otherwise, or offload the user’s session to another access such as Wi-Fi. [0056] The first option addressed here is that the bandwidth of the subscriber may be increased so as to allow the subscriber to finish the download before congestion begins… If a user is streaming a movie (streaming application corresponds to first application ) for real-time playback or watching a live sporting event, then it may be more appropriate to offload the user’s session to another access such as Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 13. An information processing device comprising a processor configured to perform functions:
All other limitations of claim 13 are similar with eth limitations of claim 1 above and are rejected on similar basis.
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses information processing device according to claim 13.
All other limitations of claim 14 are similar with the limitations of claim 3 and are rejected based on similar analysis.
Regarding claim 18. A non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors and that cause the one or more processors to perform functions comprising: All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 above. Claim 18 is rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Maidment (US pg. no. 10725466 B2), and Nipun (WO 2020109853A1), further in view of Badic (US pat. No. 11991260).
Regarding claim 10. The combination discloses information processing method according to claim 4.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose, further comprising: sending the first request to a Network Exposure Function; and notifying the Policy Control Function of the first request by the Network Exposure Function.
However, in the same field of endeavor Badic discloses further comprising: sending the first request to a Network Exposure Function; and notifying the Policy Control Function of the first request by the Network Exposure Function (col. 22, lines 21-39 discloses if the energy required for cellular uplink and downlink transmissions is higher than the energy required for local XR Sensor Data Processing, then the Offloading Controller may decide to not perform any offloading. Alternatively, if the energy required for cellular uplink and downlink transmissions is lower than the energy required for local XR Sensor Data Processing by some threshold, then the Offloading Controller may decide to perform offloading. As another alternative, the Offloading Controller may take this comparative energy calculation into account with other factors in making the offloading determination; fig. 6 discloses the offload controller communicates with 5G core that have PCF and NEF to enable the offload at UPF by communication between PCF and NEF to instruct UPF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of eth invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Badic. The modification would allow effective system to offload traffic utilizing control plane components of core network. The modification would allow effective offloading system.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses information processing device according to claim 15.
All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 10. Claim 17 is rejected on the analysis of claim 10 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US pg. no. 20240259480.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445