DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 2012/0301098 A1 by Benedetto et al. in view of U.S. PGPub 2023/0400655 A1 by Bragg (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Benedetto teaches an optical fiber cassette (600), the cassette defining a mutually orthogonal reference lateral direction, transverse direction, and vertical direction (e.g., width, depth and height directions as illustrated in Fig. 7), the cassette comprising: a cassette body (housing defined by various walls and surfaces) comprising an adapter opening (slots 508) and a cable opening (front opening of a cable guidance element 606) adjacent to the adapter opening, wherein the cassette body comprises a sidewall (502) and a base wall (bottom surface 501) extending from the adapter opening and the cable opening; and a fiber optic connector adapter (507) releasably attachable to the cassette body through the adapter opening (six adapters are illustrated in Fig. 7, but up to eight can be fitted in the slots 508 as shown in Fig. 5), and wherein the adapter opening is structured such that insertion of the fiber optic connector adapter occurs along the transverse direction (the plug-in slots 508 are formed by the bottom surface 501, a holding web 509 extending over the slots 508, and by separating ribs 510 and/or the left-hand or right-hand side wall 502, 503, i.e., the slots extend in a transvers or depth direction of the cassette body, and the adapters 507 can be plugged into the plug-in slots 508 in the transverse direction and can thus be attached to the term cassette 500).
Benedetto does not specify that the fiber optic connector adapter comprises a latch structured to engage the cassette body to releasably retain the fiber optic connector adapter. Bragg also teaches in a first embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (200, Fig. 4) comprising a main plate and adapter retainers (230)
formed thereon, wherein the adapter retainers (230) has retaining protrusions (not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) extending therefrom on the top of the retainers to hold adapters (202a, b) from a top side and latching clips (also not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) engaging the retainers (230) in an opening on a lateral side; and, in a second embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (500, Fig. 5) comprising a bottom surface (plate 504) and sidewalls and a top (not numbered) combined to form a rectangular bracket (510) sized to hold fiber optic adapters (512) inserted therethrough. Bragg further teaches that adapters (606) can be removably locked in place in openings (610) using suitable means including spring-loaded latching mechanisms affixed to the adapters (606). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Benedetto’s invention, by using spring-loaded latches to secure the adapters (507) within the slots (508) and to the cassette (500) as suggested by Bragg, since it allows repeatable fastening and removing of the adapters from the cassette.
Regarding claim 3, Benedetto further teaches the cassette body forms an interior volume defined by a bottom surface and walls 501, 502, 503, 504.
Regarding claim 4, Benedetto further teaches the cassette body comprises an internal wall (guide bodies 603) forming a routing pathway (e.g., between 602, 603) at the interior volume, wherein the routing pathway is positioned between the internal wall and the sidewall (502, 503) or end wall.
Regarding claim 5, Benedetto further teaches the cassette body comprises a retention member (the U-shaped guidance element 606 as illustrated in Fig. 8) extending from the sidewall or the base wall, the retention member configured to receive a cable through an open end (front or rear of 606 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Benedetto further teaches the retention member is positioned within approximately 150 millimeters along the transverse direction from the cable opening (retention member 606 essentially defines the opening and therefore positioned at the opening along the transverse or depth direction).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 2024/0053563 A1 by Sutter et al. in view of in view of U.S. PGPub 2023/0400655 A1 by Bragg.
Regarding claim 1, Sutter teaches an optical fiber cassette (module 1 with guiding and retaining means 12, 13), the cassette defining a mutually orthogonal reference lateral direction, transverse direction, and vertical direction (e.g., width, depth and height directions as illustrated in Fig. 1), the cassette comprising: a cassette body (housing 2) comprising an adapter opening (on a front face 4, in which two rows 5 of adapter 6) and a cable opening (front opening of a cable channel 9) adjacent to the adapter opening, wherein the cassette body comprises a sidewall (a first side face 11 or a second side face 15) and a base wall (bottom cover 34) extending from the adapter opening and the cable opening; and a fiber optic connector adapter (6).
Sutter does not specify whether the adapter (6) is releasably attachable to the cassette body through the adapter opening, e.g., via a latch. Bragg also teaches in a first embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (200, Fig. 4) comprising a main plate and adapter retainers (230) formed thereon, wherein the adapter retainers (230) has retaining protrusions (not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) extending therefrom on the top of the retainers to hold adapters (202a, b) from a top side and latching clips (also not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) engaging the retainers (230) in an opening on a lateral side; and, in a second embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (500, Fig. 5) comprising a bottom surface (plate 504) and sidewalls and a top (not numbered) combined to form a rectangular bracket (510) sized to hold fiber optic adapters (512) inserted therethrough. Bragg further teaches that adapters (606) can be removably locked in place in openings (610) using suitable means including spring-loaded latching mechanisms affixed to the adapters (606). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sutter’s invention, by using spring-loaded latches to secure the adapters (6) within the adapter opening and to the cassette (2) as suggested by Bragg, since it allows repeatable fastening and removing of the adapters from the cassette.
Regarding claim 2, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises an end wall (17) extending between a pair of sidewalls (11, 15), wherein the end wall is positioned distal to the adapter opening.
Regarding claim 3, Sutter further teaches the cassette body forms an interior volume defined by the housing 2.
Regarding claim 5, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises a retention member (cable holder 20, Fig. 1) extending from the sidewall, the retention member configured to receive a cable through an open end (Fig. 4 shows a cable 10 received in an opening by the holders 20).
Regarding claim 6, Sutter teaches the retention member (20) but does not specify its distance from the opening of the cable channel (9). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform routine experimentations and determine an appropriate gap/distance between the opening and the retention member, as well as between adjacent retention members (20), so as to ensure the cable is properly retained and organized within the cassette and/or protected from mechanical damages.
Regarding claim 7, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises a pair of sidewalls separated from one another along the vertical direction (e.g., Fig. 2, on the right side of the cassette or module 1, two side walls 11 are separated in a vertical direction by the cable channel 9).
Regarding claim 8, Sutter further teaches the pair of sidewalls is separated from one another along the vertical direction within one rack unit (the cassette or module 1, in use, is removed from and inserted into a rack from the front side, ¶[0013]).
Regarding claim 9, Sutter teaches an optical fiber cassette (module 1 with guiding and retaining means 12, 13), the cassette defining a mutually orthogonal reference lateral direction, transverse direction, and vertical direction (e.g., width, depth and height directions as illustrated in Fig. 1), the cassette comprising: a cassette body (housing 2) comprising an adapter opening (on a front face 4, in which two rows 5 of adapter 6) and a cable opening (front opening of a cable channel 9) adjacent to the adapter opening, wherein the cassette body comprises a sidewall (a first side face 11 or a second side face 15) and a base wall (bottom cover 34) extending from the adapter opening and the cable opening; and a fiber optic connector adapter (6). Sutter does not teach the cassette is used in a panel and the adapter (6) is releasably attachable to the cassette body through the adapter opening, e.g., via a latch. Bragg also teaches in a first embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (200, Fig. 4) comprising a main plate and adapter retainers (230) formed thereon, wherein the adapter retainers (230) has retaining protrusions (not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) extending therefrom on the top of the retainers to hold adapters (202a, b) from a top side and latching clips (also not numbered but illustrated in Fig. 4) engaging the retainers (230) in an opening on a lateral side; and, in a second embodiment, a fiber optic cassette (500, Fig. 5) comprising a bottom surface (plate 504) and sidewalls and a top (not numbered) combined to form a rectangular bracket (510) sized to hold fiber optic adapters (512) inserted therethrough. Bragg further teaches that adapters (606) can be removably locked in place in openings (610) in a panel (602) using suitable means including spring-loaded latching mechanisms affixed to the adapters (606). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sutter’s invention, by using spring-loaded latches to secure the adapters (6) within the adapter opening and to the cassette (2) as suggested by Bragg, since it allows repeatable fastening and removing of the adapters from the cassette.
Regarding claim 10, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises a pair of sidewalls separated from one another along the vertical direction within one rack unit (e.g., Fig. 2, on the right side of the cassette or module 1, two side walls 11 are separated in a vertical direction by the cable channel 9, and the cassette or module 1, in use, is removed from and inserted into a rack from the front side, ¶[0013]).
Regarding claims 11-13, Bragg further suggests teaches Livingston further suggests the plurality of cassette openings on the panel (602) comprises up to eight rows of six opening, with each opening accepting at least four optical ports or fibers for a high-density fiber cabling cabinet (Fig. 6), and adjusting size and/or number of the cassettes and adapters therein suitable for different optical fiber connector standards (¶[0021]) in order to meet or maximize the fiber density requirement would have been considered to be within ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Sutter further teaches the adapter opening and the cable opening are positioned in adjacent arrangement along the vertical direction as illustrated in Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 15, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprising a retention wall (13, Fig. 3) at which the adapter opening is positioned.
Regarding claim 16, Sutter further teaches the cassette body forms an interior volume defined by the housing 2.
Regarding claim 17, Bragg further suggests internal wall (210) that protects individual fibers of the fiber optic pigtail that are routed from multifiber connector (226) to rear-facing receptacles (238) off the front adapters (202a, 202b).
Livingston further suggests the cassette body comprises an internal wall (splice sleeves 468, 472, Fig. 15) forming a routing pathway at the interior volume, wherein the routing pathway is positioned between the internal wall and the sidewall (144), in order to secure one or more fiber splice sleeves that optically connect two opposing fibers or cables.
Regarding claim 18, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises a retention member (cable holder 20, Fig. 1) extending from the sidewall, the retention member configured to receive a cable through an open end (Fig. 4 shows a cable 10 received in an opening by the holders 20).
Regarding claim 19, Sutter teaches the retention member (20) but does not specify its distance from the opening of the cable channel (9). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform routine experimentations and determine an appropriate gap/distance between the opening and the retention member, as well as between adjacent retention members (20), so as to ensure the cable is properly retained and organized within the cassette and/or protected from mechanical damages.
Regarding claim 20, Sutter further teaches the cassette body comprises an end wall (rear wall 17) extending between a pair of sidewalls (11, 15), wherein the end wall is positioned distal to the adapter opening (located at the front of the housing 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20100195969 a cable management panel for multifiber connectors and adapters.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLIE Y PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874