DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/638,973 filed on 04/18/2024 in which claims 1-20 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/148,305, filed on 10/01/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and placed of record. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 recites the underlined limitations of, “…and the terminal being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the terminal, K is any real number greater than one”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this underlined limitations in the claims. It is suggested, to replace the aforementioned underlined limitations of “..the terminal” with --the electronic device--.
For examination purpose, the limitations of, “and the terminal being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the terminal, K is any real number greater than one” should and would read --and the electronic device being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device
Claims 19-20 depend directly from claim 18 and thus are also objected for the same reasons since they inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim 3 is also objected due to minor informalities as it ends with both a semicolon and a period. In claim 3, remove the semicolon at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the underlined limitations of, “…and the terminal being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the terminal, K is any real number greater than one”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this underlined limitations in the claims.
Claims 19-20 depend directly from claim 18 and thus are also rejected for the same reasons.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No.10,734,830. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a terminal is also an electronic device(as applied to claims 1-9 of USPAT 10,734,830) and also rearranging the wording of the claims (as applied to claims 1-20 of USPAT 11,581,745) would not make the instant application patentably distinct from the ‘830 and the ‘745 patents.
Furthermore, terminal in the knowledge of the art refers to either a connector or to an electronic device, and includes electronics such as processor, battery for power supply, and transceiver and/or cable for handshake protocol and transmission. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to configure the terminal in the ‘830 patent to generating instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, sending the instruction information to a charger to instruct the charger to output an output voltage of at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery to enable a processing circuitry to convert a voltage from the charger into 1/K times the voltage received from the charger, and convert a current received from the charger into K times the current to charge the battery, wherein K is a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device, wherein K is a constant value, and wherein K is any real number greater than one, as recited
Claims 1,3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,5-7 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1,3-8 are broader in scope than claims 1-3,5-7 and 18 of the ‘745 patent and thus are fully anticipated.
Claims 1,3,5-8,13-14,16- 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-6,9-10,13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,774
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1,3,5-8,13-14,16-20 are broader in scope than claims 1,4-6,9-10,13-20 of the ‘774 patent and thus are fully anticipated. Furthermore, rearranging the wording of the claims would not make the instant application patentably distinct from the 745’ and the 774’ patents as set forth in the tables below.
Instant Application 18/638,973
USPAT 11,581,745
Claim 1: An electronic device, comprising a battery; a processor coupled to the battery and configured to generate instruction information according to a value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; a transceiver configured to send the instruction information to a charger to instruct the charger to output an output voltage of at least K times of the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; a conversion circuit configured to convert a voltage received from the charger into 1/K times of the voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient, and the K being any real number greater than one.
Claim 1: An electronic device, comprising: a battery; a processing circuitry coupled to the battery and configured to: obtain a value of a voltage between positive and negative electrodes of the battery; and generate instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; and a transceiver coupled to the processing circuitry and configured to send the instruction information to a charger to instruct the charger to output an output voltage of at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: convert a voltage received from the charger into 1/K times the voltage received from the charger; and convert a current received from the charger into K times the current to charge the battery, wherein K is a conversion coefficient, a constant value, and any real number greater than one.
Claim 3: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit is configured to obtain the value of the voltage between positive and negative electrodes of the battery.
Claim 5: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry comprises: a detection circuit configured to obtain the value of the voltage between positive and negative electrodes of the battery; a processor configured to generate the instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; and a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio and configured to: convert the voltage received from the charger into 1/K times the voltage received from the charger; and convert the current received from the charger into K times the current.
Claim 4: The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the conversion circuit comprises a switch-capacitor conversion circuit.
Claim 6: The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the conversion circuit comprises a switch-capacitor conversion circuit.
Claim 5: The electronic device of claim 1, the output voltage has a voltage value being K or K*(1+x%) times of the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery.
Claim 7: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the voltage received from the charger has a voltage value being K or K*(1+x %) times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, and wherein a value range of x is 1 to 10.
Claim 6: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes with a first threshold to obtain a comparison result; and generate the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 2: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: compare the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes with a first preset threshold to obtain a comparison result; and generate the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 7: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to send a break connection notification to the transceiver when detecting that the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery reaches a second threshold, and the transceiver being further configured to break an electrical coupling to the charger according to the break connection notification.
Claim 3: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to send a break connection notification to the transceiver when detecting that the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery reaches a second preset threshold, and wherein the transceiver is further configured to break an electrical coupling to the charger according to the break connection notification.
Claim 18: A fast charging system, comprising: a charger; and an electronic device coupled to the charger and configured to: generate instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; and send the instruction information to the charger, the charger being configured to: adjust a voltage value of an output voltage; determine a charging mode according to the instruction information; and the electronic device being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device
Claim 8: A fast charging system, comprising: a charger; and an electronic device comprising a battery and coupled to the charger using a connection cable, wherein the electronic device is configured to: generate instruction information according to a value of a voltage between positive and negative electrodes of the battery; send the instruction information to the charger to instruct the charger to output an output voltage of at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, wherein K is any real number greater than one; convert a voltage obtained from the charger into 1/K times the voltage obtained from the charger; and convert a current obtained from the charger into K times the current obtained from the charger to charge the battery with the 1/K times the voltage obtained from the charger and the K times the current obtained from the charger, wherein K is a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device, and wherein K is a constant value.
Instant Application 18/638,973
USPAT 11,990,774
Claim 1: An electronic device, comprising a battery; a processor coupled to the battery and configured to generate instruction information according to a value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; a transceiver configured to send the instruction information to a charger to instruct the charger to output an output voltage of at least K times of the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; a conversion circuit configured to convert a voltage received from the charger into 1/K times of the voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient, and the K being any real number greater than one.
Claim 1: An electronic device comprising: a battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode; a processor coupled to the battery and configured to generate instruction information according to a first value of a battery voltage that is between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; a transceiver configured to instruct a charger to output an output voltage of at least K times the first value by sending the instruction information to the charger, wherein K is a conversion coefficient and is a real number greater than one; and a conversion circuit comprising a switch-capacitor conversion circuit and configured to convert a charger voltage from the charger into 1/K times the charger voltage.
Claim 3: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device further comprises a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit is configured to obtain the value of the voltage between positive and negative electrodes of the battery.
Claim 4: The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a detection circuit configured to obtain the first value.
Claim 5: The electronic device of claim 1, the output voltage has a voltage value being K or K*(1+x%) times of the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery.
Claim 5: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the output voltage has a second value that is K or K*(1+x %) times the first value, and wherein x is within a range of one to ten including one and ten.
Claim 6: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes with a first threshold to obtain a comparison result; and generate the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 6: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: compare the first value with a threshold to obtain a comparison result.
Claim 7: The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to further generate the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 7: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to send a break connection notification to the transceiver when detecting that the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery reaches a second threshold, and the transceiver being further configured to break an electrical coupling to the charger according to the break connection notification.
Claim 8: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to send, based on detecting that the first value reaches a threshold, a break connection notification to the transceiver.
Claim 9: The electronic device of claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to break an electrical coupling to the charger according to the break connection notification.
Claim 8: A charger comprising a receiver, a voltage adjustment circuit, wherein the receiver is configured to receive instruction information from an electronic device, the instruction information comprising a value of a voltage between positive and negative electrodes of a battery in the electronic device; the voltage adjustment circuit is configured to adjust a voltage value of an output voltage to at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, the K being any real number greater than one.
Claim 10: A charger comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from an electronic device comprising a battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode, instruction information comprising a first value of a voltage between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; a voltage adjustment circuit coupled to the receiver and configured to adjust a voltage value of an output voltage to at least K times the first value, wherein K is a real number greater than one; and a current adjustment circuit configured to: determine a charging mode according to the first value; and obtain a current value corresponding to the charging mode.
Claim 13: A fast charging method, comprising: detecting, by an electronic device, a value of a voltage between positive and negative electrodes of a battery in the electronic device; generating, by the electronic device, instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; adjusting, by a charger, an output voltage and an output current according to the instruction information from the electronic device; receiving, by the electronic device, the output voltage and the output current transmitted from the charger; converting, by the electronic device, the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage; the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device, and K being any real number greater than one; and charging, by the electronic device, the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage.
Claim 13: A fast charging method implemented by an electronic system and comprising: detecting, by an electronic device of the electronic system, a first value of a battery voltage between a positive electrode of a battery in the electronic device and a negative electrode of the battery; generating, by the electronic device in response to obtaining a charging mode of a charger of the electronic system, instruction information according to the first value; adjusting, by the charger and according to the instruction information, an output voltage and an output current; receiving, by the electronic device and from the charger, the output voltage and the output current; converting, by the electronic device, the output voltage into 1/K times the output voltage, wherein K is a real number greater than one and is a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit that is in the electronic device and that has a fixed conversion ratio; and charging, by the electronic device, the battery using the 1/K times the output voltage.
Claim 14: The method of claim 13, wherein the method further comprising: converting, by the electronic device, the output current of the charger into K times the output current.
Claim 14: The fast charging method of claim 13, further comprising converting, by the electronic device, the output current into a second current that is K times the output current.
Claim 16: The method of claim 13, wherein generating the instruction information comprises: comparing, by the electronic device, the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes with a first threshold to obtain a comparison result; and generating, by the electronic device, the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 15: The fast charging method of claim 13, further comprising comparing, by the electronic device, the first value with a first threshold to obtain a comparison result.
Claim 16: The fast charging method of claim 15, further comprising further generating, by the electronic device, the instruction information according to the comparison result.
Claim 17: The method of claim 16, further comprising: detecting, by the electronic device, whether the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery reaches a second threshold; and breaking, by the electronic device, an electrical coupling between the electronic device and the charger when the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery reaches the second threshold.
Claim 17: The fast charging method of claim 16, further comprising detecting, by the electronic device, that the first value reaches a second threshold.
Claim 18: The fast charging method of claim 17, further comprising breaking, by the electronic device and based on the detecting, an electrical coupling between the electronic device and the charger.
Claim 18: A fast charging system, comprising: a charger; and an electronic device coupled to the charger and configured to: generate instruction information according to the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery; and send the instruction information to the charger, the charger being configured to: adjust a voltage value of an output voltage; determine a charging mode according to the instruction information; and the electronic device being further configured to: convert the output voltage of the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to enable a charging circuit between two ends of the battery to charge the battery with the 1/K times the output voltage, the K being a conversion coefficient of a conversion circuit with a fixed conversion ratio in the electronic device
Claim 19: The fast charging system of claim 18, wherein the voltage value of the output voltage of the charger is at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery according to the instruction information.
Claim 19: A fast charging system comprising: a charger; and an electronic device comprising: a conversion circuit having a fixed conversion ratio; and a battery comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode, coupled to the charger, and configured to: generate instruction information according to a first value of a battery voltage between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and send the instruction information to the charger, wherein the charger is configured to: adjust, according to the instruction information, a voltage value of an output voltage to provide an adjusted output voltage having an adjusted voltage value that is at least K times the first value; and determine a charging mode according to the instruction information; and wherein the electronic device is further configured to convert the adjusted output voltage into 1/K times the adjusted output voltage to charge the battery with the 1/K times the adjusted output voltage, and wherein K is a real number greater than one and is a conversion coefficient of the conversion circuit.
Claim 20: The fast charging system of claim 18, wherein the charger is further configured to obtain a current value corresponding to the charging mode; and adjust an output current according to the corresponding current value.
Claim 20: The fast charging system of claim 19, wherein the charger is further configured to: obtain a current value corresponding to the charging mode; and adjust an output current according to the current value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,13-14,18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al., (Fischer) US 20030054703 in view of Kutkut et al., (Kutkut) US 20040189251(both also cited by Applicants.
Regarding claims 1,13 and 18: Fischer at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-13: An electronic device(10)(see Fig. 1), comprising a battery(18); a processor(20) coupled to the battery(18) and configured to generate instruction information according to a value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery(18); a transceiver(48) configured to send the instruction information to a charger(16) to instruct(see Fischer Figs. 9-12B) the charger to output an output voltage(as implemented by USB host 22 via 12 and 16) of at least K times of the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery(18); the K being a conversion coefficient, and the K being any real number greater than one(note- since the USB system is a 5V output and the battery is a lithium-ion most likely with a nominal voltage of 24V-42V; see ¶[0032], note-this 5V USB output is at least 1 or more n times (n=K) the voltage of the battery 18).
However, Fischer does not expressly teach:
a conversion circuit configured to convert a voltage received from the charger into 1/K times of the voltage
Kutkut discloses factual evidence of, a conversion circuit(buck converter)(as shown in Fig. 14 and ¶[0047]-[0048]) configured to: convert an output current received from the charger into K times the output current and convert the output voltage received from the charger into 1/K times the output voltage to charge the battery(note-in a buck converter, the output voltage is 1/K times the input voltage with K>1 since the output voltage is the step down value of the input voltage and thus is smaller in value and since current and voltage are inversely proportional then the output current is necessarily K times the input current)(as per claims 2,5 and 14).
Fischer and Kutkut are battery charger analogous art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include, a DC-DC conversion circuit that is configured to: instruct a charger to output an output voltage of at least K times the first value by sending the instruction information to the charger(16), wherein K is a conversion coefficient and is a real number greater than one and a conversion circuit configured to convert a voltage from the charger into 1/K times the voltage from the charger, as recited, into the electronic device of Fischer in order to provide safety for the battery by ensuring that the battery charging is performed at the proper levels and thereby improving the overall safety charging system.
Accordingly claims 1-2,13-14, 18 and 19 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Fischer in view of Kutkut discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Kutkut further discloses, wherein the electronic device(charging system 16) further comprises a detection circuit(note-The charging subsystem 16 may, for example, detect that the rechargeable battery 18 is drawing current from the USB interface 12 by monitoring the voltage value on the Vbus power line 24 and detecting when the voltage settles to a charging voltage value, such as 4.76 V; see ¶[0035]), wherein the detection circuit is configured to obtain the value of the voltage(for example 4.76V) between positive and negative electrodes of the battery(18).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shibuya USPAT 5,777,399(cited by Applicants) in view of Kazuto et al., (Kazuto) JP 2008086134A(see attached Machine Translation; also cited by applicants; citation 18 under Foreign Documents).
Regarding claim 8: Shibuya at least discloses and shows in Figs. 3-4: A charger(3), comprising:
a receiver(422)(included into portable electronic apparatus body (1); see Figs.1 and 3), a voltage adjustment circuit(29)(included into portable electronic apparatus body (1); see Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the receiver is configured to receive instruction information from an electronic device (Portable electronic apparatus)(see col. 5, lines 34-37), the instruction information(as detected by detection terminal 22 of CPU 13) comprising a value of a voltage between the positive(14) and negative(25)(see col. 5, lines 34-37) electrodes(as detected by voltage detection terminal 22 via resistor Ra 20) of a battery(4)(see Fig. 3) in the electronic device(Portable electronic apparatus (1)); the voltage adjustment circuit(29) coupled to the receiver(422)(included into portable electronic apparatus body (1); see Figs.1 and 3) and configured to adjust a voltage value(col. 6, lines 49-col. 7, line 5) of an output voltage(outputted from AC/DC conversion circuit 27).
to at least K times the value of the voltage between the positive and negative electrodes of the battery, the K being any real number greater than one.
However, Shibuya does not expressly teach, “to adjust a voltage value of an output voltage to at least K times the first value, wherein K is a number greater than one”.
Kazuto discloses factual evidence of, When the constant current operation is completed, the input transistor 70 is turned on, and the normal boost control operation by the PWM controller 61 of the control circuit 6 is switched to when the output voltage Vo reaches the first voltage V1. Therefore, it is desirable that the first voltage V1 is set to a voltage slightly lower than the input voltage Vi(see ¶[0037] of attached Machine Translation).
Shibuya and Kato are battery charger analogous art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include, a voltage adjustment circuit configured to adjust a voltage value of an output voltage and to adjust a voltage value of the output voltage to at least K times the first value, wherein K is a number greater than one, as recited, into the electronic device of Shibuya in order to provide safety for the battery by ensuring that the battery charging is performed at the proper levels and thereby improving the overall safety charging system.
Accordingly claim 8 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Shibuya in view of Kazuto discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 8. Kazuto discloses, wherein the charger comprising a current adjustment circuit(Kazuto discloses, the control circuit(61) includes a current adjustment circuit(input transistor 70) connected to a current outflow terminal of the auxiliary transistor (74)) configured to determine a charging mode to the first value(construed as Vi).
Regarding claim 10, Shibuya in view of Kazuto discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 8. Shibuya discloses, wherein the current adjustment circuit(29)(see Fig. 4) is further configured to: obtain a current value corresponding to the charging mode(whether Quick charging or Slow charging)(note-portable electronic apparatus may be constructed such that the slow charging means includes two slow charging circuits having different output electric current values; see claim 2 and col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 18) the two slow charging circuits having different output electric current values; see col. 5, line 66 to col. 7, line 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,6-7,11-12,15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and subjected to a timely filed and approved terminal disclaimer(s) over USPATs 10,734,830,11,581,745 and 11,990,774.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 December 3, 2025