DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “a coolant return tube, wherein the fluid from the longitudinal flow channel is redirected at a charging handle into the coolant return tube” as claimed in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim “22”, second occurrence, has been renumbered --23--.
Claims 22 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: a period -- . -- should be included at the end of each of claims 22 and 23. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4-7, “at least one spoke” and “a plurality of spokes” are unclear to how these relate to “at least one spoke” cited in claim 1.
Claim 22 is a redundant of claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 206864231).
Hu et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a conductor (11); a tube (13) disposed around the conductor; an extension element extending from an interior surface of the conductor tube and making contact with the conductor, wherein the tube and the extension element are integrally formed ([0026] of the machine translation) as a single piece, and wherein the extension element comprises at least one spoke (14) defining a longitudinal flow channel (15) configured to direct a fluid flow along the conductor; and a coolant return tube (2), wherein the fluid from the longitudinal flow channel is redirected at a charging handle into the coolant return tube ([0031], in through space 15 and out to pipe 2) (re-claim 1). Hu et al. also discloses that the extension element comprises at least one spoke (14) extending directly from the interior surface of the tube (re-claim 4); the extension element comprises a plurality of spokes extending directly from the interior surface of the tube (re-claims 5 and 13); the apparatus is disposed in an electric vehicle (EV) charging cable (re-claims 8 and 16); the fluid is disposed between the conductor, the interior surface of the tube, and the extension element (re-claim 9); the fluid is caused to circulate (re-claim 10); and the fluid cools the conductor (re-claim 11).
Re-claims 3 and 15, it has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, extruded, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-11, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zoon (2023/0084987).
Zoon discloses an apparatus comprising: a conductor (3); a tube (4) disposed around the conductor; an extension element (6) extending from an interior surface of the conductor tube and making contact with the conductor, wherein the tube and the extension element are integrally formed as one piece ([0037], spacers 6 extending from the inner surface of the insulation 4…protrusions 8 and insulation 4 manufactured by extruding), and wherein the extension element comprises at least one spoke (8) defining a longitudinal flow channel (5) configured to direct a fluid flow along the conductor; and a coolant tube (11) (re-claims 1, 13, and 17).
Zoon does not disclose the coolant tube (11) being a coolant return tube, wherein the fluid from the longittudinal flow channel is redirected at the charging handle (21) into the coolant tube (11) (re-claims 1, 13, and 17). In other words, Zoon discloses the coolant flowing towards the charging handle (21) via the coolant tube (11) and back to the cooling unit (22) via channel (5).
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the apparatus of Zoon such that the coolant flows from the cooling unit towards the charging handle (21) via channel (5) and returns at the charging handle back to the cooling unit via the coolant tube (11) since a mere reversal of such movement was held to be an obvious modification. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400.
Re-claims 6-7 and 17, Zoon discloses the plurality of spokes (8) extending helically from the interior surface of the tube ([0036], spiraling).
Re-claims 8, 16, 20, and 22, Zoon discloses the apparatus being disposed in an EV charging cable.
Re-claim 9, Zoon discloses the fluid being disposed between the conductor, the interior surface of the tube, and the extension element.
Re-claim 10, Zoon discloses the fluid being caused to circulate.
Re-claims 11 and 23, Zoon discloses the fluid cooling the conductor.
Re-claim 19, it has been held that the patentability of a product claim is determined by the novelty and nonobviouness of the claimed product itself without consideration of the process for making it, extruded, which is recited in the claim. In re Thorpe, 111 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ964, 966; see also In re Nordt Development Co., LLC, [2017-1445] (February 8, 2018).
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zoon in view of Sasamura et al. (2011/0198106).
Zoon, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the tube and extension element comprising silicon. Sasamura et al. discloses an apparatus (insulated wire, Fig. 1) comprising a tube (a one piece 3 surrounding conductor 2) which is comprised of silicon ([0036], silicon-system flame-retarding agent). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the tube and extension element, a one-piece, of Zoon to comprise silicon as taught by Sasamura et al. to provide the apparatus with flame retardancy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that there is no mention that the beads and tuber are formed as a single piece, and there is no mention of a charging handle. Examiner would disagree. Zoon does teach the spokes (8) and the tube (4) being formed as a single piece. Specifically, Zoon, [0037], discloses that the spokes (protrusions 8) extend fron the inner surface of the tube 4, and that the protrusions 8 and the tube 4 manufactured by extruding. Zoon also teach a charging handle, i.e., the charging connector 21 shown in Figure 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841