DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LAUENSTEIN (US 2021/0244074).
With respect to claim 1, LAUENSTEIN discloses a material for a for a flavor inhalation article for a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhalation article (Paragraphs [0036], [0079], [0087]) and is formed by mixing a mixture of cellulosic fibers (e.g., a cellulosic base material and an additional fibrous material) (Paragraphs [0073], [0074], [0093]-[0095]), with nicotine (e.g., the alkaloid material containing nicotine) (Abstract; Paragraphs [0030]-[0043]). The article is a tobacco sheet (Paragraphs [0004], [0005], [0036], [0038]).
With respect to claim 3, LAUENSTEIN discloses that the fibrous material is present in the article in an amount of 7 wt % of the sheet (Paragraph [0098]).
With respect to claim 4, LAUENSTEIN discloses a non-combustion heating-type (Paragraphs [0006], [0028], [0029], [0036], [0079]) comprising a tobacco containing segment that comprises the material of claim 1 (Paragraphs [0035]-[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAUENSTEIN (US 2021/0244074) in view of INAGAKI et al. (US 2011/0192408).
With respect to claim 5, LAUENSTEIN discloses that article of claim 4 (See rejection of claim 4) for use in a non-combustion heating type application (Paragraph [0036], [0079]). LAUENSTEIN doesn’t explicitly disclose the non-combustion heating-type device. INAGAKI et al. discloses a non-combustion flavor inhalation article that includes a heating device including a heater to be heated to a temperature that aerosolizes a tobacco sheet in contact with the heater (Abstract; Paragraphs [0009]-[0012]; Figures 1-4) so that enjoyment of flavor is enabled without giving any care of annoyance to neighbors. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the heating device that heats the tobacco-containing segment of LAUENSTEIN, as taught by INAGAKI et al. so that enjoyment of flavor is enabled without giving any care of annoyance to neighbors
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745