Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0103619 in view of Ghai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0268895 in further view of Davis, U.S. Patent No. 7,930,456 (previously cited on 10/28/2024).
Per Claims 1 and 11, Lai discloses a device, comprising:
a memory comprising memory banks (Paragraphs 17, 18, 20, 23, and 25; memory 106);
a set of requestors configured to provide a set of memory transaction requests directed to the cache memory (Paragraph 19; Storage modules 130-135 represent requestors directing read/write memory requests at memory 106);
a first set of arbitration units coupled to the set of requestors and configured to perform a first arbitration on the set of memory transaction requests (Paragraphs 21 and 23, Fig. 2; first stage arbiter circuits 211);
and a second arbitration unit coupled between the first set of arbitration units and the memory and configured to perform a second arbitration on the set of memory transaction requests (Paragraph 23, Fig. 2; second stage arbiter 212).
Lai discloses the processer cache (130, 133, 135), memory comprising memory banks (Paragraphs 17, 18, 20, 23, and 25) and a single second stage arbiter (212), but does not specifically teach a plurality of second stage arbiters and that the second stage arbiter units arbitrate access to a cache memory.
However, Ghai similarly teaches a processor comprising multiple levels of cache memory and further teaches providing arbitration to said multiple levels, including individual arbitration units for corresponding memory banks of cache memory (Paragraph 28, Fig. 1; Paragraphs 29 and 30, Figure 2; Paragraphs 83-85, Fig. 7A; Arbiters 527-0 and 527-1 are dedicated each to L2 Cache Bank0 and L2 Cache Bank1.)
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ghai’s multi-stage cache memory arbitration and arbiter memory bank teachings with multi-stage arbitration teachings of Lai because it provides an extra level of control over memory requests down to the individual memory bank level.
Lai discloses arranging requests so as to avoid bank conflicts (Paragraph 23; The second stage arbiter 212 arranges a sequence of read/write commands for transmitting to the memory controller 204 so as to prevent bank conflict.), but does not specifically teach the arbitration system utilizing a credit-based approach to issue the rearranged commands.
However, Davis teaches a multi-stage prioritized arbitration system that grants requests according to a credit-based system, taking into consideration both requestor and request type (Col. 5 lines 38-50; “As is described with reference to FIG. 3, SW4 routes data transfers based on an arbitration scheme that gives the highest priority to the low latency data transfers from CLIENT 1 over the other data transfer types receives from SW3. SW4 is a pure priority arbiter that gives an absolute priority to Function 1. In fact, SW1 might starve other functions if the priority Function 1 is always ready to transfer and the CPU 50 always shows enough available credits for Function 1 transfers.” – CLIENT 1 represents a “type of requestor” with its low latency request types. Col. 5 lines 50-57; “In the event that no data transfers from CLIENT 1 are requesting transfer through SW1, SW1 routes data transfers based on an arbitration scheme that can either select data transfers from SW3 in a "round robin" manner or, one or more data transfer types may be given a higher priority over other data transfers. Accordingly, in Stage 4, CLIENT 1 data transfers are given top priority for transfer there through.” – Table 1 in Col. 6 details the arbitration schemes used for each switch. Col. 3 line 61 – Col. 4 line 47 details a credit availability and calculation process performed by the switches in determining an arbitration grant. Col. 5 lines 27-65 additionally discuss the credit-based arbitration process.).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Davis’s requestor and request type credit-based arbitration system within the arbitration system of Lai/Ghai because it allows for prioritizing requests from low-latency clients in addition to different transfer types (Col. 5 lines 37-57).
Per Claims 2 and 12, Lai discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: each of the first set of arbitration units corresponds to a respective one of the set of requestors, and to perform the first arbitration, each of the first set of arbitration units is configured to perform an arbitration among a subset of the set of memory transaction requests associated with a corresponding requestor of the set of requestors (Paragraphs 21-29, Fig. 2; First stage arbiter circuits 211_1 – 211_4 arbitrate requests from each of the components 230, 232, 233, and 235, respectively.). Lai discloses a single second stage arbiter as opposed to a second set of arbitration units.
However, Ghai teaches a plurality of second stage arbiter circuits providing arbitration among a plurality of memory banks of a cache device (Paragraphs 81-87, Fig. 7A).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement combine Ghai’s multi-stage cache memory arbitration and arbiter memory bank teachings with multi-stage arbitration teachings of Lai because it provides an extra level of control over memory requests down to the individual memory bank level.
Per Claims 3 and 13, Lai discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first arbitration is based on whether a request of the set of memory transaction requests is blocking or non-blocking (Paragraphs 20, 23, and 25; The first arbiters arbitrate read commands in a manner to prevent consecutively transmitting read commands which read a same bank to the second stage arbiter circuit. When two consecutive accessing commands need to access different pages in the same bank, a longer waiting time is required. This wait time can be considered to classify the commands as either “blocking” or “non-blocking”.).
Per Claims 4 and 14, Lai discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the second arbitration is based on at least one of: address hazard avoidance; structural hazard avoidance; pipeline hazard avoidance; or reservation credit count (Paragraph 23; The second stage arbiter 212 arranges a sequence of read/write commands for transmitting to the memory controller 204 so as to prevent bank conflict.).
Per Claims 5 and 15, Lai does not specifically disclose a third set of arbitration units coupled between the second set of arbitration units and the cache memory, or the specific limitations based off of the third set of arbitration units.
However, Davis teaches a multi-stage prioritized arbitration system (Figure 2).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a third level of arbitration, as taught by Davis, within the system of Lai/Ghai because it allows for additional control over the prioritization and arbitration process of requestors and requests within the memory system, and can be used to prevent starvation of specific requestors.
Per Claims 10 and 20, Ghai further teaches wherein the cache memory is a level two (L2) cache memory (Paragraphs 81-87, Fig. 7; L2 cache memory 390’).
* * * * * * * *
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0103619 in view of Ghai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0268895 in view of Davis, U.S. Patent No. 7,930,456, in further view of Chen et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0208887.
Per Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17, Lai does not specifically teach a set of registers configured to store a set of priorities, wherein the third set of arbitration units is configured to perform a third arbitration on the set of memory transaction requests based on the set of priorities.
However, Chen teaches a multi-stage arbitration system where different stages can implement different arbitration priority schemes (Paragraph 29, Figure 4).
With respect to Claims 6 and 16, Chen further teaches a set of registers configured to store a set of priorities, wherein the third set of arbitration units is configured to perform a third arbitration on the set of memory transaction requests based on the set of priorities (Paragraph 28, Figure 3; Arbitration number generator 300 is operative to generate and store arbitration numbers for each agent/requestor.).
With respect to Claims 7 and 17, Chen further teaches wherein each priority of the set of priorities is associated with a respective requestor of the set of requestors (Paragraphs 20-28).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a third level of arbitration, as taught by Chen, within the system of Lai because it allows for additional control over the prioritization and arbitration process of requestors and requests within the memory system, and can be used to prevent starvation of specific requestors.
Per Claims 16-17, please refer to the above rejection of claims 6-7 as they are substantially similar and the prior art cited is equally applicable.
* * * * * * * *
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0103619 in view of Ghai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0268895, in view of Davis, U.S. Patent No. 7,930,456, in further view of Hayashi et al. U.S. Patent No. 7,149,828.
Per claims 8 and 18, Lai does not specifically teach the FIFO buffers as presented in the claims.
However, Hayashi similarly teaches a multi-stage arbitration system and further teaches FIFO buffers for read/write requests being implemented between a requestor and the first stage of arbitration (Col. 4 lines 54-55, Figure 4).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hayashi’s read/write FIFO buffers within the system of Lai because Lai already teaches read/write buffers and it allows for maintaining a QoS metric by way of maintaining request order.
* * * * * * * *
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0103619 in view of Ghai et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0268895, in view of Davis, U.S. Patent No. 7,930,456, in further view of O’Connor et al. U.S. Patent No. 7,120,714.
Per claims 9 and 19, Lai discloses a memory controller 104, but not as one of the requesting initiators.
However, O’Connor similarly teaches a multi-stage arbitration system (Fig. 2) for a shared resource (108), and further teaches wherein the requestor may include memory controllers, processors, or processing resources (Col. 2 lines 11-24).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement memory controller requestors, as taught by O’Connor, within the shared memory system of Lai because high-speed cache is utilized by many different system components, including memory controllers and processing devices, in addition to the requesting components of Lai.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN T MISIURA whose telephone number is (571)272-0889. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 8-4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Andrew Jung can be reached on (571) 272-3779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175