DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 06/04/2024, 11/19/2024,05/15/2024, 06/09/2025, 09/04/2025, 11/11/2025, 02/10/2026 and 03/05/2026 has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1*** are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1**** of U.S. Patent No. 12401425 in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2).
Claim 1 of application 18/639004
Claims 1,2 of US Patent 12401425
A communications system comprising:
A radio frequency communications system comprising:
a laser generation system configured to emit a set of laser beams;
Claim 2. The radio frequency communications system of claim 1 further comprising: a laser generation system in communication with the communications manager, wherein the communications manager controls the laser generation system to emit the set of laser beams
a computer system; and
a computer system;
a communications manager in the computer system, wherein the communications manager is configured to:
a communications manager in the computer system, wherein the communications manager is configured to:
identify digital information for transmission; and control an emission of the set of laser beams by the laser generation system to generate electromagnetic radiation at positions in a space that encode the digital information.
See note below
identify data for transmission using radio frequency noise signals; and control an emission of a set of laser beams at a set of optical breakdown points to cause optical breakdowns that generate the radio frequency noise signals encoding the data, wherein in controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the communications manager is configured to: emit the set of laser beams from different locations at an optical breakdown point, wherein a portion of the set of laser beams intersect at the optical breakdown point such that a power from the portion of the set of laser beams is sufficient to cause the optical breakdowns at the optical breakdown point that generate the radio frequency noise signals encoding the data.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. Claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12401425 provide an omission of optical breakdowns. In re Karlson, 136
USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); the
omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art. Further, Claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12401425 does not explicitly disclose, “at positions in a space that encode the digital information”. In a related field of endeavor, JP (JP 3562029 B2) discloses a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4 and the motivation for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention is to increased energy efficiency in free spce optical system to provide improved power budgets.
Claim 13 of application 18/639004
Claim 15 of US Patent 12401425
A method for communicating digital information, the method comprising:
A method for transmitting data, the method comprising:
identifying the digital information for transmission; and
identifying the data for transmission; and
controlling an emission of a set of laser beams by a laser generation system to cause electromagnetic radiation at positions in a space that encode the digital information.
See note below
controlling an emission of a set of laser beams to cause optical breakdowns generating radio frequency noise signals encoding the data, wherein controlling the emission of the laser beams comprises: emitting a subset of the laser beams at the set of optical breakdown points to cause the optical breakdowns that generate the radio frequency noise signals encoding the data; selecting a new subset of the laser beams as the subset of the laser beams; and repeating the emitting the subset of the laser beams and selecting the new subset of the laser beams while transmitting the radio frequency noise signals encoding the data.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. Claims 1 and 2 of US Patent 12401425 provide an omission of optical breakdowns. In re Karlson, 136
USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); the
omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art. Further, Claim 15 of US Patent 12401425 does not explicitly disclose, “at positions in a space that encode the digital information”. In a related field of endeavor, JP (JP 3562029 B2) discloses a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4 and the motivation for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention is to increased energy efficiency in free spce optical system to provide improved power budgets.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 1,
a. a laser generation system configured to emit…on line 2;
b. the communications manager is configured to… on lien 5;
For claim 7,
a. the laser generation system is configured to at least…on line 2.
a. the hardware used to implement communications manager 212 can take a form
selected from at least one of a circuit system, an integrated circuit, an application
specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic device, or some other suitable
type of hardware configured to perform a number of operations, see paragraph 139 and
figure 2.
b. The laser generation system 218 is a hardware system that can emit a set of laser
beams 220, see paragraph 145 and figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8,9,10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bischoff discloses a communications system ;(communications system, 1, see figure 1) comprising: a laser generation system configured to emit a set of laser beams;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) a computer system; and a communications manager in the computer system, wherein the communications manager is configured to: identify information for transmission ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1); and control an emission of the set of laser beams by the laser generation system to generate electromagnetic radiation;(the control unit determines the power density, the power densities to be
inputted for individual pulses and the power densities Et and E"t are above the breakdown thresholds ETH. The power density E";= ETH(ds ,dt)+EsubTH (ds, dt), where EsubTH (ds, dt) <0 and or dt <dto intersects the breakdown threshold value at the limit distances and optical breakdowns are generated below these distances, see paragraph 50 and figure 3).
However, Bischoff does not explicitly disclose digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information.
In a related field of endeavor, JP discloses digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information ;(a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pulse position modulation of JP with Bischoff to provide increased energy efficiency in free spce optical system and the motivation is to provide improved power budgets.
Regarding claim 8, Bischoff discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein the laser generation system is configured to at least one of: emit a fixed laser beam at each position in the positions to generate the electromagnetic radiation ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1); or move a laser beam from position to position in the positions to generate the electromagnetic radiation. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 9, Bischoff discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein a number of optical breakdowns at the positions in the space generated by the set of laser beams ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1); results in a number of plasma dots at the positions in the space ;(the control unit determines this power density Ei as a function of two spatial distances: the spot distance d (plasma dots) between two target volumes Vi, Vi+1 of directly successive radiation pulses on the one hand and from the track distance d, of two directly adjacent track portions from two different cycles of the track movement on the other hand, see paragraph 47 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Bischoff discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic radiation is selected from at least one of a visible light, an ultraviolet light, an infrared light,(short pulse laser 4, a pulsed TiSa infrared laser, see paragraph 42 and figure 1) radio frequencies, or x-rays. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 11, Bischoff the communications system of claim 1, further comprising: a receiver ;(detector 10, see figure 1) configured to detect electromagnetic radiation ;(the detection beam path D of a detector 10 is coupled to the control unit 11, see paragraph 42 and figure 1) and
However, Bischoff does not explicitly disclose determine digital information, from the positions at which the electromagnetic radiation is detected.
In a related field of endeavor, JP discloses determine digital information, from the positions at which the electromagnetic radiation is detected ;(a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pulse position modulation of JP with Bischoff to provide increased energy efficiency in free spce optical system and the motivation is to provide improved power budgets.
Claims 2,3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2) and further in view of Schulz et al; (US 2018/0233876).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the communications system of claim 1, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the controller is configured to: generate the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses communications system of claim 1, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the controller is; (dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) configured to: generate the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions ;(period of time excitation by the first excitation pulse 13 remaining in the laser medium 2 has substantially decayed. For this pulse train, no adaptation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses 13 is carried out by the adaptation module 9, see paragraph 53 and figure 2 and the modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine dynamic adaption module of Schulz with Bischoff and JP to provide modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses out by switching the electromagnetic field on and off and motivation is to provide modulation according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the communications system of claim 1, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the controller is configured to: generate the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation generated in each time interval in the selected time intervals at the positions in the space represents a group of bits.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the controller is (dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) configured to: generate the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation generated in each time interval in the selected time intervals at the positions in the space represents a group of bits; (the modulation of the radio frequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47 and the pulse generation can be carried out according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary between t1, t2 and t3, see paragraph 22 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the communications system of claim 1, wherein the positions are: on a surface of an object in the space; or in an empty space.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the communications system of claim 1, wherein the positions are: on a surface of an object in the space;( apparatus for generating plasma or laser pulses by radio frequency (RF) excitation pulses are provided, wherein the power spike is followed by a period of time with relatively constant power of the laser pulse 14, until the laser pulse 14 decays relatively soon after the associated excitation pulse 13 is switched off, see paragraph 52 and Abstract and figures 1 and 2) or in an empty space. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner). Motivation same as claim 2.
Claims 13,20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Bischoff discloses a method for communicating information, ;(communications system, 1, see figure 1) the method comprising: identifying the information for transmission ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1); and controlling an emission of a set of laser beams by a laser generation system to cause electromagnetic radiation;(the control unit determines the power density, the power densities to be inputted for individual pulses and the power densities Et and E"t are above the breakdown thresholds ETH. The power density E";= ETH(ds ,dt)+EsubTH (ds, dt), where EsubTH (ds, dt) <0 and or dt <dto intersects the breakdown threshold value at the limit distances and optical breakdowns are generated below these distances, see paragraph 50 and figure 3).
However, Bischoff does not explicitly disclose digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information.
In a related field of endeavor, JP discloses digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information ;(a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pulse position modulation of JP with Bischoff to provide increased energy efficiency in free spce optical system and the motivation is to provide improved power budgets.
Regarding claim 20, Bischoff discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the laser generation system is configured to at least one of: emit a fixed laser beam at each position in the positions to generate the electromagnetic radiation; ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1); or move a laser beam from position to position in the positions to generate the electromagnetic radiation. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 21, Bischoff discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the electromagnetic radiation is selected from at least one of a visible light, an ultraviolet light, an infrared light, ,(short pulse laser 4, a pulsed TiSa infrared laser, see paragraph 42 and figure 1) radio frequencies, or x-rays. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2) and further in view of Schulz et al; (US 2018/0233876).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 13, wherein said controlling the emission of the set of laser beams comprises: generating the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the method of claim 13, wherein said controlling (dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) the emission of the set of laser beams comprises: generating the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions ;(period of time excitation by the first excitation pulse 13 remaining in the laser medium 2 has substantially decayed. For this pulse train, no adaptation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses 13 is carried out by the adaptation module 9, see paragraph 53 and figure 2 and the modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine dynamic adaption module of Schulz with Bischoff and JP to provide modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses out by switching the electromagnetic field on and off and motivation is to provide modulation according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 13, wherein said controlling the emission of the set of laser beams comprises: generating the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation occurs in each time interval in the selected time intervals represents a group of bits.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the method of claim 13, wherein said controlling the emission of the set of laser beams(dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) comprises: generating the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation occurs in each time interval in the selected time intervals represents a group of bits (the modulation of the radio frequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47 and the pulse generation can be carried out according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary between t1, t2 and t3, see paragraph 22 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 13.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2).
Regarding claim 22, Bischoff discloses a computer program product for communicating information ;(communications system, 1, see figure ) the computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computer system to cause the computer system to perform the following computer operations: identify the information for transmission ;(the control unit 11 begins to control the laser 4 to emit a sequence of radiation pulses and, temporally parallel therewith, controls the modulator 12 based on the determined control parameters, see paragraph 48 and figure 1);and control an emission of a set of laser beams by a laser generation system to cause electromagnetic radiation ;(the control unit determines the power density, the power densities to be inputted for individual pulses and the power densities Et and E"t are above the breakdown thresholds ETH. The power density E";= ETH(ds ,dt)+EsubTH (ds, dt), where EsubTH (ds, dt) <0 and or dt <dto intersects the breakdown threshold value at the limit distances and optical breakdowns are generated below these distances, see paragraph 50 and figure 3).
However, Bischoff does not explicitly disclose digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information.
In a related field of endeavor JP discloses digital information, at positions in a space that encode the digital information ;(a coder circuit for performing PPM modulation (pulse position modulation) on a serial signal, an optical transmitter, an optical receiver, a decoder circuit, and a cancel circuit. In the coder circuit, no electric pulse is encoded for "1", and an electric pulse having a constant width is encoded for "0", see page 2 and paragraph 4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the pulse position modulation of JP with Bischoff to provide increased energy efficiency in free space optical system and the motivation is to provide improved power budgets.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bischoff (US 2014/0288539) in view of JP (JP 3562029 B2) and further in view of Schulz et al; (US 2018/0233876).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the computer program product of claim 22, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the program instructions are executable by the computer system to cause the computer system to: generate the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the computer program product of claim 22, wherein as part of controlling (dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) the emission of the set of laser beams, the program instructions are executable by the computer system to cause the computer system to: generate the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space that encode the digital information without waiting for a decay time of the electromagnetic radiation to elapse between the positions ;(period of time excitation by the first excitation pulse 13 remaining in the laser medium 2 has substantially decayed. For this pulse train, no adaptation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses 13 is carried out by the adaptation module 9, see paragraph 53 and figure 2 and the modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine dynamic adaption module of Schulz with Bischoff and JP to provide modulation of the radiofrequency excitation pulses out by switching the electromagnetic field on and off and motivation is to provide modulation according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Bischoff and JP does not explicitly disclose the computer program product of claim 22, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, the program instructions are executable by the computer system to cause the computer system to: generate the electromagnetic radiation at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation generated in each time interval in the selected time intervals at the positions in the space represents a group of bits.
In a related field of endeavor, Schulz discloses the computer program product of claim 22, wherein as part of controlling the emission of the set of laser beams, (dynamic adaptation module 9 is configured in the form of a programmable (logic) gate array adapting the radiofrequency excitation pulses as a function of a remaining excitation of the laser medium, see paragraph 48 and figure 1) the program instructions are executable by the computer system to cause the computer system to: generate the electromagnetic radiation (radio frequency pulses 13 and laser (plasma) pulses 14, see figure 2) at the positions in the space at selected time intervals in which the electromagnetic radiation generated in each time interval in the selected time intervals at the positions in the space represents a group of bits, (the modulation of the radio frequency excitation pulses is carried out by switching the electromagnetic 13 field on and off, see paragraph 47 and the pulse generation can be carried out according to a pulse specification in which the duration and the intervals of the pulses vary between t1, t2 and t3, see paragraph 22 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4-7,16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Englesbe et al; (US 2022/0390553) discloses an intensity of the laser pulse causes the formation of plasma having a predetermined temporal and spatial duration in the gas medium that travels with the laser pulse as the laser pulse propagates through the gas. The plasma generates an electron wave in the gas medium that moves with the plasma as travels through the gas until the plasma terminates, see figure 1.
b. Howlader et al; (US 2018/0167144) discloses system and method for generating encoded binomial pulse position modulation (BPPM) signals having random, sparse sets of multiple pulses per channel usage interval for use in Free-Space Optical (F SO) communications, see figure 1.
c. Zhang et al; (CN 113534321B) discloses a system and method for generating Bessel terahertz pulse radiation by laser plasma, laser: generating driving laser pulse; lens group device: modulating the focus to drive the laser pulse beam; see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634