DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,175. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claims 1, 12, 13, and 18 - Clm. 1 or 16 of the reference patent recite:
A medical device shaft, comprising:
a plurality of lumens, each of the plurality of lumens having a first, proximal opening and a second, distal opening; and
a distal tip at a distalmost end of the catheter, the tip comprising:
a distal delivery opening, a passage connecting at least one of the plurality of lumens to the distal delivery opening; and
an auger extending to the distal delivery opening, wherein the auger is rotatably disposed in the passage.
The instant claim 1 and the issued reference Claims 1 or 16 differ inasmuch as Claim 1 particularly requires the “shaft” to be a “catheter”, whereas the shaft in Claims 1 and 16 isn’t specifically recited as such. However, Examiner submits that the combination of a “medical system” comprising “a shaft” having a “plurality of lumens” defines a particular genus wherein a “catheter” is merely one tubular, medical article species found within that genus, particularly where “catheter” is a particularly broad species which covers “a tubular medical device to insertion into canals, vessels, passageways, or body cavities usually to permit injection or withdrawal of fluids or to keep a passage open” – see Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary and is essentially overlapping with the claimed “medical system” comprising a “shaft” comprising “a plurality of lumens” terminating in a “distal delivery opening”. It would have been clearly obvious to embody the instant “shaft” as a catheter in order to affect a specific and particularly well-known “medical system” “shaft” which comprises a tubular lumen used for “delivery”.
Regarding Claim 2, see Clm. 3 and 4 as well as Clm. 16 of the reference patent which affects the necessary hardware to “configure” the auger to move mixtures comprising distinctive agents based upon the recitation toward the plurality of containers.
Regarding Claim 3-4, see Clm. 1, 2, 3, 8, 12 and 16 of the reference patent.
Regarding Claim 5, see Clm. 1 and 16.
Regarding Claim 6, see Clm. 5
Regarding Claim 7, see Clm. 1, 2, 3, 8, 12, and 16.
Regarding Claim 8, see Clm. 7.
Regarding Claim 9, see Clm. 14, 15, 16, 17.
Regarding Claim 10, see Clm. 14, 15, 16, 17.
Regarding Claim 11, while the claims of the reference patent do not particularly recite that the “tip is removably attached to a distal end of the catheter”, constructing a component to be “removable” is not found to be distinctive, see In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding Claim 13-14, see Clm. 10, 11, and 16.
Regarding Claim 15, see Clm. 4 and 5.
Regarding Claim 16, see Clm. 5.
Regarding Claim 17, see Clm. 14-17.
Regarding Claims 19-20, see Clm. 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18, and dependents, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 18, Applicant recites “wherein a the first passage is configured…” However, this creates confusion as the use of both the definite article “the” and the indefinite article “a” in association with the “first passage” creates confusion as to whether this is a new structure, distinctive from the previous “a passage” recited earlier in the claim OR is intended to be made in reference to the “a passage” previously introduced. This is further exacerbated by later reference to “the passage” wherein if the “first passage” is distinctive from the “a passage” then it is unclear to what “the passage” the claim makes reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2011/143577 (“Cronin”).
Regarding Claim 12, Cronin discloses a medical device shaft (826), comprising:
a catheter (Abstract) including a lumen (see Fig. 51 – i.e. the hollow interior of the shaft), wherein the lumen is configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of an agent (e.g. 922,838, 944); and
a distal tip (see Fig. 53) at a distalmost end of the catheter, the tip including a passage and an auger (892, 894) rotatably disposed in the passage, wherein the auger is configured to rotate to move the agent from the lumen to a distal delivery opening of the distal tip (Par. 245).
Regarding Claim 18, Cronin discloses a medical device shaft (826) comprising:
a catheter (Abstract); and
a tip (see Fig. 53) at a distalmost end of the catheter, the tip comprising:
a distal delivery opening, a passage connecting the catheter to the distal delivery opening, and an auger (892, 894) extending to the distal delivery opening (see Fig. 53), wherein the auger is rotatably disposed in the passage (Par. 245);
wherein a the first passage is configured to receive a first agent and a second agent (see e.g. the contents of 922, 838, 844), and wherein the auger is configured to move the first agent and the second agent within the passage toward the distal delivery opening (Par. 245), wherein the auger is configured to mix the first agent and the second agent (Par. 245).
Regarding Claim 19, Cronin discloses the tip includes a tapered portion tapering towards the distalmost end of the tip (see Fig. 53).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0119956 (“Leeflang”)
Regarding Claim 12, Leeflang discloses a medical device shaft (10) comprising:
A catheter (10) including a lumen (18), wherein the lumen is configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of an agent (see e.g. 60 or 54); and
a distal tip (20) at a distalmost end of the catheter, the tip including a passage (26) and an auger (276) rotatably disposed in the passage, wherein the auger is configured to rotate to move the agent from the lumen to a distal delivery opening (27) of the distal tip (Par. 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2011/143577 (“Cronin”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,263,959 (“Fischell”).
Regarding Claims 17 and 20, Cronin discloses wherein the auger includes a helical thread, the helical thread including a pitch and a diameter (see Fig. 53). However, Cronin fails to disclose that the auger includes a tapered portion at a distal end of the auger, and wherein the tapered portion of the auger is positioned within the tapered portion of the tip (see Fig. 53). However, Fischell discloses a related catheter and auger (see Fig. 1A) wherein the auger includes a tapered portion at a distal end of the auger, the tapered portion of the auger positioned within the distal tip of the catheter so as to extend therethrough (see Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the auger of the invention of Cronin to extend through the distal, tapered tip with a tapering section of the auger, as disclosed by Fischell, in order to allow the auger to provide for distal cutting and breakup of tissue and not just lateral breakup of tissue as provided by the end effector (882, 898).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0119956 (“Leeflang”) as applied above.
Regarding Claim 13, Leeflang discloses in some embodiments (see Fig. 2) the lumen may comprise a first lumen and the agent may be a first agent (Par. 48) and the catheter may include a second lumen (76) configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of a second agent (Par. 48). While Leeflang does not explicitly disclose combining the embodiments Leeflang does suggest that various modifications to the disclosed embodiments are possible (Par. 99-101) and does appear to suggest that the auger concept might be optional for inclusion to the invention in general and not merely in the manner explicitly illustrated (see Par. 62). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include an auger in association with a multi-lumen catheter embodiment of Leeflang, in order to allow for material to be moved proximally or distally within the distal tip section (Par. 64-68) including in configurations wherein multiple agents are provided via separate lumens in order to affect mixing in the distal section..
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0123485 (“Suzuki”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0119956 (“Leeflang”).
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki discloses a medical device shaft (see e.g. Fig. 3), comprising: a catheter (Abstract) including a lumen (103, 105, 106), wherein the lumen is configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of an agent (Par. 58); and
a distal tip (see Fig. 3) at a distalmost end of the catheter, the tip including a passage. Suzuki discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the device further comprises an auger rotatably disposed in the passage, wherein the auger is configured to rotate to move the agent from the lumen to a distal delivery opening of the distal tip. Rather Suzuki appears to suggest that the agent is moved/mixed/agitated via the fluid flow alone (Par. 58, 59, 74). However, Leeflang discloses a related invention wherein a length of catheter tubing (10) is provided with a distal tip (20) at its distalmost end, the tip including a passage (26) with an auger ( 276) rotatably disposed in the passage, wherein the auger is configured to rotate to move the agent from the lumen to a distal delivery opening of the distal tip (Par. 63-68). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an auger to the distal passage of Suzuki, as disclosed by Leeflang, in order to selectively rotate to assist in moving/mixing/agitating the agents to be provided by the invention of Suzuki to thereby breakup, reduce the size, and prevent clogging of the agent within the distal passage thereby improving delivery.
Regarding Claims 13 and 18, Suzuki discloses the lumen is a first lumen and the agent is a first agent, wherein the catheter further includes a second lumen configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of a second agent (Par. 58).
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki discloses the catheter further includes a third lumen (103) configured to be fluidly coupled to a source of a propellant fluid (Par. 56).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki discloses the propellant fluid is a gas (Par. 56).
Regarding Claim 16, Suzuki discloses the propellant fluid is configured to atomize the first agent and the second agent within the passage (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 17 and 19-20, Suzuki, as modified by Leeflang, discloses the tip includes a tapered portion that decreases in diameter toward the distal delivery opening, wherein the auger includes a helical thread, and wherein a diameter or pitch of the helical thread decreases at the tapered portion (see Fig. 5 – Leeflang).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 07/30/2026