DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Figures 1-4 must have crosshatching.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The limitation “central opening”, “first enlarged portion” and “second enlarged portion” in claims 6 and 10 are not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 and 10 recite “a first enlarged portion” and “a second enlarged portion”. It is unclear relative to which elements the portions are enlarged. For example, are they enlarged relative to an axially central portion of the central hole/opening?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu CN 215058932.
Re clm 1, Hu discloses a hub-bearing assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a rotation axis; a stationary radially outer ring (1); a flanged hub (3) extending into an interior of the radially outer ring and configured to rotate around the rotation axis and relative to the radially outer ring; a radially inner ring (2 and 11) mounted on the flanged hub and axially abutting a portion of the flanged hub (where 11 abuts flange); a toothed sleeve (4) mounted axially inward of and adjacent to the radially inner ring, the toothed sleeve being rotationally fixed relative to the flanged hub (via splines at D, Fig. 3 and 4); an auxiliary ring (15) mounted on the flanged hub in contact with the toothed sleeve, wherein the flanged hub includes an axially inner rolled edge (left end of 3, Fig. 1) in contact with the auxiliary ring and configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring (the auxiliary ring is at least capable of performing this function); and wherein the auxiliary ring is configured to accommodate deformations induced by a formation of the rolled edge (the auxiliary ring is at least capable of performing this function).
Re clm 2 and 13, Hu further discloses the auxiliary ring has a radially outer cylindrical surface (top of 15, Fig. 3), a radially inner cylindrical surface (right side of bottom surface of 15) parallel to the radially outer cylindrical surface, an axially inner annular surface (left vertical surface of 15) , an axially outer annular surface (right vertical surface of 15) parallel to the axially inner annular surface and a curvilinear surface (bottom left corner of 15 which has an arc) between the axially inner annular surface and the radially inner cylindrical surface.
Re clm 3 and 14, Hu further discloses the toothed sleeve includes an annular recess (at lower left portion of 4, Fig. 3) forming a seat for the auxiliary ring, the seat having a radially inwardly facing cylindrical surface and an axially inwardly facing annular surface, and wherein the auxiliary ring is mounted in the recess (shown in Fig. 3).
Re clm 4, Hu further discloses the auxiliary ring and the toothed sleeve are configured such that a radial gap exists between the inwardly facing cylindrical surface of the toothed sleeve and the radially outer cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring (gap shown between top of 15 and surface of 4 facing top of 15, Fig. 3).
Re clm 12, Hu discloses a method of assembling a bearing hub assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: inserting a flanged hub (3) into a stationary radially outer ring (1); mounting a radially inner ring (2 and 11) on the flanged hub in axial abutment with a portion of the flanged hub (where rightmost portion of 11 abuts left lower wall of flange of hub 3); mounting a toothed sleeve (4) on the flanged hub axially inward of and adjacent to the radially inner ring such that the toothed sleeve is rotationally fixed relative to the flanged hub (via splines on shaft at left end of 3, Fig. 3 and 4); mounting an auxiliary ring (15) on the flanged hub in contact with the toothed sleeve, forming a rolled edge (leftmost portion of 3 that contacts 15) on the flanged hub such that the rolled edge contacts the auxiliar ring and maintains a preload on the radially inner ring and accommodates deformations induced by a formation of the rolled edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu CN 215058932 in view of Kamikawa U.S. 2008/0258541.
Assuming Hu does not disclose a preloaded bearing:
Re clm 1, Hu discloses a hub-bearing assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a rotation axis; a stationary radially outer ring (1); a flanged hub (3) extending into an interior of the radially outer ring and configured to rotate around the rotation axis and relative to the radially outer ring; a radially inner ring (2 and 11) mounted on the flanged hub and axially abutting a portion of the flanged hub (where 11 abuts flange); a toothed sleeve (4) mounted axially inward of and adjacent to the radially inner ring, the toothed sleeve being rotationally fixed relative to the flanged hub (via splines at D, Fig. 3 and 4); an auxiliary ring (15) mounted on the flanged hub in contact with the toothed sleeve, wherein the flanged hub includes an axially inner rolled edge (left end of 3, Fig. 1) in contact with the auxiliary ring; and wherein the auxiliary ring is configured to accommodate deformations induced by a formation of the rolled edge (the auxiliary ring is at least capable of performing this function).
Although Hu shows a well-known bearing with a rolled edge which is known to provide preloads, Hu does not explicitly state that the axially inner rolled edge is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring.
Kamikawa teaches a similar hub device in which the axially inner rolled edge (15, Fig. 2) is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hu and provide the axially inner rolled edge is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring for the purpose of ensuring all the bearing components remain axially fixed while ensuring an appropriate preload in the bearing.
Re clm 2 and 13, Hu further discloses the auxiliary ring has a radially outer cylindrical surface (top of 15, Fig. 3), a radially inner cylindrical surface (right side of bottom surface of 15) parallel to the radially outer cylindrical surface, an axially inner annular surface (left vertical surface of 15) , an axially outer annular surface (right vertical surface of 15) parallel to the axially inner annular surface and a curvilinear surface (bottom left corner of 15 which has an arc) between the axially inner annular surface and the radially inner cylindrical surface.
Re clm 3 and 14, Hu further discloses the toothed sleeve includes an annular recess (at lower left portion of 4, Fig. 3) forming a seat for the auxiliary ring, the seat having a radially inwardly facing cylindrical surface and an axially inwardly facing annular surface, and wherein the auxiliary ring is mounted in the recess (shown in Fig. 3).
Re clm 4, Hu further discloses the auxiliary ring and the toothed sleeve are configured such that a radial gap exists between the inwardly facing cylindrical surface of the toothed sleeve and the radially outer cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring (gap shown between top of 15 and surface of 4 facing top of 15, Fig. 3).
Re clm 5, Hu does not disclose a fit between the radially inner cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring and a radially outer cylindrical surface of the flanged hub varies from a diameter clearance of 0.01 mm to a diameter interference of 0.05 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hu and provide a fit between the radially inner cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring and a radially outer cylindrical surface of the flanged hub varies from a diameter clearance of 0.01 mm to a diameter interference of 0.05 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The fit between parts, especially the radial fit between bearing and wheel hub components, is a well-known result effective variable. On the one hand, if the fit is too tight, then there is a risk of damage to the components during assembly. On the other hand, if the fit is too loose, then there is a risk of undesired movement between components leading to unwanted noise and/or premature wear.
Re clm 12, Hu discloses a method of assembling a bearing hub assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: inserting a flanged hub (3) into a stationary radially outer ring (1); mounting a radially inner ring (2 and 11) on the flanged hub in axial abutment with a portion of the flanged hub (where rightmost portion of 11 abuts left lower wall of flange of hub 3); mounting a toothed sleeve (4) on the flanged hub axially inward of and adjacent to the radially inner ring such that the toothed sleeve is rotationally fixed relative to the flanged hub (via splines on shaft at left end of 3, Fig. 3 and 4); mounting an auxiliary ring (15) on the flanged hub in contact with the toothed sleeve, forming a rolled edge (leftmost portion of 3 that contacts 15) on the flanged hub such that the rolled edge contacts the auxiliar ring and accommodates deformations induced by a formation of the rolled edge.
Although Hu shows a well-known bearing with a rolled edge which is known to provide preloads, Hu does not explicitly state that the axially inner rolled edge is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring.
Kamikawa teaches a similar hub device in which the axially inner rolled edge (15, Fig. 2) is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hu and provide the axially inner rolled edge is configured to maintain a preload on the radially inner ring for the purpose of ensuring all the bearing components remain axially fixed while ensuring an appropriate preload in the bearing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu CN 215058932 as applied to claim 4 above.
Hu discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 5, Hu does not disclose a fit between the radially inner cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring and a radially outer cylindrical surface of the flanged hub varies from a diameter clearance of 0.01 mm to a diameter interference of 0.05 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hu and provide a fit between the radially inner cylindrical surface of the auxiliary ring and a radially outer cylindrical surface of the flanged hub varies from a diameter clearance of 0.01 mm to a diameter interference of 0.05 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The fit between parts, especially the radial fit between bearing and wheel hub components is a well-known result effective variable. On the one hand, if the fit is too tight, then there is a risk of damage to the components during assembly. On the other hand, if the fit is too loose, then there is a risk of undesired movement between components leading to unwanted noise or premature wear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617