DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
In this case, in claim 10, the limitation “a plurality of ventilation holes extending vertically” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Only the embodiment showing one ventilation hole is shown (fig. 4, ventilation hole 27). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract is objected to because:
the phrase “Thus, upper and lower sides of the food are heated uniformly, and a user does not need to turn over the food on the baking pan during cooking” refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention.
The applicant should also avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns”, “The disclosure defined by this invention”, “This disclosure describes”, “is disclosed”, “are disclosed”, “the invention relates to” etc. In this case, the present abstract contains the word “This application discloses…” that the applicant should avoid using.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
In pg. 4, paragraph 0030, line 25, “baking pan” should be followed by its element no. “2”.
In pg. 5, paragraph 0035, line 23, “ventilation holes” should be followed by its element no. “27”.
In pg. 5, paragraph 0036, line 26, “fryer body 121” is referenced but is not in figures 4-7, as stated in paragraph 0035, p. 5, line 1.
In pg. 6, paragraph 0036, line 1, “fryer body 121” is again referenced.
In pg. 6, paragraph 0037, line 13, “baking pan body” should be followed by its element no. “21”.
In pg. 6, paragraph 0040, line 29, “air fryer” should be followed by its reference no. “100”.
In pg. 7, paragraph 0041, line 4, “is” should read “are”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "hot air component" in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, “hot air component” is interpreted to have a fan and a heating element, as described in paragraph 0027, line 25-27 in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “protrude upwards” in claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear what surface the ribs (25) protrude upwardly with respect to what surface. In light of the specification, the term "protrude upwards" will be interpreted as to protrude upwards from the upper plane of the baking pan surface. The term “protrude upwards” is also used in the first line of paragraph 0034. The same interpretation applies and both instances of this term must be amended or removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0313017).
Regarding claim 1, Garcia discloses:
An air fryer (fig. 1, cooking apparatus 100), comprising a housing (fig. 1, housing 102), a hot air component (fig. 2, heating element 110a-b, first fan 120) and a cooking chamber (fig. 1, cooking portion 105) being arranged in the housing (fig. 1, housing 102), a fryer body (fig. 1, cooking container 106) being arranged in the cooking chamber (fig. 1, cooking portion 105), and a baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) being arranged in the fryer body (fig. 1, cooking container 106), wherein the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) comprises a baking pan body (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) and a deflector (see modified fig. 6 below) extending away from a center of the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) along an edge of the baking pan body (fig. 5, removable cooking tray
136a-b).
Regarding claim 2, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 1, wherein the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) comprises a fence (see modified fig. 6 above) that is arranged along the edge of the baking pan body (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) and is higher than the baking pan body (see modified fig. 6 above), and the deflector (see modified fig. 6 above) extends outwards away from the center of the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) along an upper end of the fence (see modified fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 3, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 1, wherein the deflector (see modified fig. 6 above) comprises a deflection surface (see modified fig. 6 above), and the deflection surface (see modified fig. 6 above) is inclined towards the center of the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) with respect to a plane where the baking pan is located (see modified fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 5, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 3, wherein a bottom of the baking pan (fig. 3, well portions 134a-b) has support members (see modified fig. 3 below), and the support members (see modified fig. 3 below) support the baking pan in the cooking chamber (see modified fig. 3 below) such that the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) is spaced apart from a bottom of the cooking chamber (par. 0027 cited: “when in a cooking position, the first removable cooking tray 136a rests over a first of the two well portions 134a…”).
Regarding claim 6, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 1, wherein the deflector (see modified fig. 6 above) comprises a deflection surface (see modified fig. 6 above), and the deflection surface (see modified fig. 6 above) is inclined towards the center of the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) with respect to a plane where the baking pan is located (see modified fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 8, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 6, wherein a bottom of the baking pan (fig. 3, well portions 134a-b) has support members (see modified fig. 3 above), and the support members (see modified fig. 3 above) support the baking pan in the cooking chamber (see modified fig. 3 above) such that the baking pan (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) is spaced apart from a bottom of the cooking chamber (par. 0027 cited: “when in a cooking position, the first removable cooking tray 136a rests over a first of the two well portions 134a…”).
Regarding claim 10, Garcia discloses:
The air fryer according to claim 1, wherein the baking pan body (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) comprises one or a plurality of ventilation holes extending vertically (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Dow (U.S. Patent No. 7,879,381).
Regarding claim 4 and 7, Garcia discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as an inclination angle of the deflection surface with respect to the plane but does not disclose the baking pan is located ranges from 110 degrees to 150 degrees. As shown in Figure 6 (see modified Figure 6), Garcia appears to show an inclination angle of the deflection surface of approximately 135 degrees, but Garcia does not identify that Figure 6 is drawn to scale, and as such, the specific inclination angle cannot be ascertained. However, Garcia can be said to teach an obtuse inclination angle far beyond 90 degrees as this can be reasonably conveyed by the drawings to one of ordinary skill.
Similar to Garcia, Dow teaches a baking pan (cooking utensil 11) that includes a deflection surface (upturned rim 17) wherein it is clear based on the figures that the inclination angle of the deflection angle is acute and far under 90 degrees (see modified Figure 4 below).
Based on the combined teachings of Garcia and Dow, it is known within the art to adjust the inclination angle of a deflection surface between substantially obtuse and acute angles. Furthermore, the applicant does not disclose that having the inclination angle between 110 degrees and 150 degrees solves anu stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try any inclination angle for the deflection surface, including any angle between 110 degrees and 150 degrees, as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of deflecting hot air for cooking or keeping food within the baking pan. It has been held that where the general conditions for a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Man (U.S. Patent No. 11,297,977).
Regarding claim 9, Garcia teaches all the limitations as set forth in claim 1 above, such as the baking pan body. However, Garcia does not teach the baking pan body comprises ribs that are distributed uniformly and protrude upwards, and the oil drain holes and the ribs are arranged at intervals.
Man teaches: the baking pan body comprises ribs (fig. 16, perforated trays 247) that are distributed uniformly and protrude upwards, and the oil drain holes and the ribs are arranged at intervals (fig. 16, perforated trays 247).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the removable cooking tray of Garcia, by including both ribs and oil drain holes, as taught by Man, for the well-known purpose of improving circulation, as well as decreasing a pan’s contact with food surface area for even cooking and to prevent a user from needing to turn over food during cooking.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia in view of Oswald (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0226135).
Regarding claims 11-13, Garcia teaches all the limitations as set forth above, including the baking pan body (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b) comprises a plurality of ventilation holes extending vertically (fig. 5, removable cooking tray 136a-b).
Garcia does not teach:
A baking pan comprising an air duct retaining wall in a shape of a hollow column, the air duct retaining wall being detachably connected to an upper side of the one ventilation hole or one of the plurality of ventilation holes, the hollow column of the air duct retaining wall corresponding to the one or the plurality of ventilation holes in position to form a ventilation duct, and an upper end of the air duct retaining wall being higher than an upper surface of the baking pan. Garcia further does not teach a side wall of the hollow column of the air duct retaining wall is provided with a plurality of wall holes, or an air duct retaining wall further comprising a base, and a shape of a bottom of the base is matched with a shape of an upper surface of the baking pan body such that the base is steadily connected to the baking pan.
Oswald does teach:
A baking pan comprising an air duct retaining wall in a shape of a hollow column (fig. 3, spine 30), the air duct retaining wall (fig. 3, spine 30) being detachably connected to an upper side of the one ventilation hole or one of the plurality of ventilation holes (fig. 1, vents 28), the hollow column of the air duct retaining wall (fig. 3, spine 30) corresponding to the one or the plurality of ventilation holes in position to form a ventilation duct (fig. 1), and an upper end of the air duct retaining wall (fig. 3, spine 30) being higher than an upper surface of the baking pan (see fig. 3). Oswald further teaches a side wall of the hollow column of the air duct retaining wall (fig. 3, spine 30) that is provided with a plurality of wall holes (fig. 3, perforations 32), as well as an air duct retaining wall (fig. 3, spine 30) further comprising a base (fig. 5, outer brace 42), and a shape of a bottom of the base (fig. 5, outer brace 42) is matched with a shape of an upper surface of the baking pan body such that the base is steadily connected to the baking pan (see fig. 3). Oswald utilizes these columns to skewer food while cooking to allow for heated air to enter the skewered food to more thoroughly and efficiently cook the food (paragraphs 58 and 59).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Garcia to include an air duct retaining wall comprising a plurality of wall holes to circulate heated air through the side surface of the air duct retaining wall, as taught by Oswald, to more thoroughly and efficiently cook the food.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Citrynell (U.S. Publication No. 2004/0187699), Vinett (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0299005), Bourgeois (U.S. Patent No. 10,299,621), Sudmalis (U.S. Patent No. 8,973,490), Holloway (U.S. Patent No. 1,339,625) teach elements of the current invention.
/J.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761