DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 15-16 recite “wherein said dorsal cuts, said ventral cuts and said lateral cuts avoiding or minimizing any buckling of the silicone material” but should read something similar to --wherein said dorsal cuts, said ventral cuts and said lateral cuts are configured to avoid or minimize any buckling of the silicone material-- for grammatical clarity.
Claim 4, line 3, states “provided a desired thickness” but should read --provides a desired thickness--.
Claims 5-7, line 1, recite “The penile sleeve” but should read --The penile sleeve device--.
Claim 9, line 2, recites “that they do not” but should read --that the pair of longitudinal edges do not--.
Claim 10, line 2, recites “such that it does not” but should read --such that the distal end does not--.
Claim 11, line 2, recites “such that it does not” but should read --such that the proximal end does not--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the subcutaneous layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "a plurality of cuts on a dorsal side", “a plurality of cuts on a ventral side”, and “each longitudinal edge has a plurality of lateral cuts therein”. While the dorsal and ventral cuts can be differentiated based on location, it is unclear from the claim how the “plurality of lateral cuts” is different from the dorsal or ventral cuts. It is unclear if the lateral cuts are intended to be considered part of the dorsal or ventral cuts. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-13 inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "said distal end" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3, line 2 recites “a non-dissolvable/absorbable bio-implantable netting/mesh material” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the “/” is intended to be “and” or “or”.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said distal end" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13, line 2 recites the limitation “such that longitudinal edges”. Claim 1 previously recited “a pair of longitudinal edges” so it is unclear if the limitation is referencing the pair of longitudinal edges in claim 1, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) and further in view of Loria (US9877835B1).
Regarding claim 1, Cornell discloses a penile sleeve device configured for implantation in the subcutaneous space of a patient's penis for enhancing or correcting penis shape and size (Abstract), the penis having a glans, a penile shaft, penile dermis and an associated pubic area of the patient (Figure 14B), said penile sleeve device comprising an elongated member having a longitudinal axis (Figure 1) and formed of a bio-implantable reinforced silicon rubber (Paragraph [0032]), said elongated member having a distal portion comprising a C-shaped configuration (Figure 1 and Figure 4) and a pair of longitudinal edges (Figure 2), and said distal portion is configured for implantation on the patient's penile shaft adjacent the glans of the patient's penis and said proximal portion configured for implantation on the patient's penile shaft adjacent the pubic area of the patient (Paragraph [0048]),
Cornell does not disclose said elongated member further comprising a plurality of cuts on a dorsal side thereof, said dorsal cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis, a plurality of cuts on a ventral side thereof, said ventral cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis; and wherein each longitudinal edge has a plurality of lateral cuts therein, said lateral cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis (the limitation “wherein said dorsal cuts, said ventral cuts and said lateral cuts avoiding or minimizing any buckling of the silicone material in said penile sleeve device if the penis is ever rotated or twisted with said penile sleeve device implanted within the patient's penis” is interpreted as intended use). Loria discloses a penile insert device effective to prevent retraction of the penis and to increase the length of a penis in its flaccid or erect state (Abstract). Loria further discloses the insert device comprises a plurality of alternating lateral plateaus and lateral valleys (Abstract) which serve to provide for a bendable device that can move with the movement of the penis without causing discomfort to the user (Col 2, lines 14-15). As claim 1 of the instant application does not differentiate between the dorsal, ventral and lateral cuts, and the cuts of Loria are through both the dorsal and ventral sides of the device and reach the longitudinal sides of the implant, the cuts of Loria read on all three cuts, dorsal, ventral and lateral. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Cornel, with the elongated member further comprising a plurality of cuts on a dorsal side thereof, said dorsal cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis, a plurality of cuts on a ventral side thereof, said ventral cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis; and wherein each longitudinal edge has a plurality of lateral cuts therein, said lateral cuts being transverse to said longitudinal axis as taught by Loria, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a bendable device that can move with the movement of the penis without causing discomfort to the user (Loria, Col 2, lines 14-15).
Regrading claims 9-11, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses the elongate edges to include distal and proximal portions have pillowed or rounded edges (Cornell, Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Cornell, as modified by Loria, discloses said distal end comprises a tapered portion (Cornell, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Cornell, as modified by Loria, said elongated member comprises a lateral edge transition whereby said elongated member is curved such that longitudinal edges of said elongated member form a C-shaped cross-section profile (Cornell, Figures 3-6).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Loria (US9877835B1), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Elist (US20210361433A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cornell as modified in claim 1, discloses mesh tabs located at the proximal and distal ends of the elongate body for the purpose of suturing the implant and promoting tissue ingrowth (Cornell, Paragraph [0049]) but fails to disclose a mesh surrounding said distal end of said elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis. Elist discloses a genital implant enhancement device wherein the genital implant device comprises an elongated cylindrical sleeve that is configured to encircle a shaft of a penis (Abstract). Elist further discloses using a mesh layer as the external layer to the device in order to enable tissue ingrowth (Paragraph [0021]) wherein the mesh is configured to cover the distal end of the sleeve (Paragraph [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with a mesh surrounding the distal end of the elongated member for enhancing anchoring of said elongated member in the penile dermis as taught by Elist, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of better allowing the patient to acclimate to the device through tissue ingrowth (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Cornell, as further modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh cover includes a mesh layer comprising a non-dissolvable/absorbable bio-implantable netting/mesh material (Elist, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Cornell, as further modified by Elist, further discloses said mesh layer is coupled to said elongated member with dissolvable sutures (Elist, Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Loria (US9877835B1) and Elist (US20210361433A1), as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Yachia (US4602625A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Cornell does not disclose said mesh cover further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover. Yachia discloses a penile erectile system for treating male impotency comprising a sleeve of biocompatible material (Abstract) wherein the sleeve is encased in a smooth outer cover of silicone coated mesh (Col 3, lines 61-64, Figure 1, “27”). The coating of silicone can be interpreted as layer or sheet of silicone and the coating would be non-reinforced before it is coupled to the mesh. The coupled mesh and silicone would provide a desired thickness by design. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, with a mesh cover that further comprises at least one silicone sheet coupled to said mesh layer, said at least one silicone sheet comprising silicone sheeting material that is non-reinforced, said at least one silicone sheet provided a desired thickness to said mesh cover as taught by Yachia, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of controlled elasticity (Col 3, lines 61-64).
Regarding claim 5, Cornell, as modified by Loria and Elist, disclosed the mesh cover is coupled to the elongate member with sutures in claim 6 supra. As Cornell, modified in claim 4 by Yachia, discloses the silicone coats the mesh, as the mesh is sutured to the elongated member, the silicone would also be coupled to the mesh via suture.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornell (US20200022812A1) in view of Loria (US9877835B1), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Dubernard (FR 3074416 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Cornell, as modified in claim 1, discloses the penile sleeve device has a durometer Shore A of up to about 70 (Paragraph [0034]) but does not disclose a Shore A of 80. Dubernard discloses a penile implant (Abstract) comprising a component for implantation into the penis (Page 3), wherein the component comprises a polymeric material, specifically polysiloxane polymer, with a durometer of Shore A up to 90 (Page 3). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by modified Cornell, said elongated member comprising a durometer of Shore 80A as taught by Dubernard, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing adequate structure to the sleeve device.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791