DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 and 21 recite the limitation "tendon or ligaments" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. claim 14, from which this claim depends recites “underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine” with no mention of ligaments or tendons. For examination purposes, the limitation will be seen as referring to the recitation from claim 14, not including tendons or ligaments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuzhakov (US 20080125743 A1) (noted on IDS) in view of Oronsky et al. (US 20100042137 A1) (noted on IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Yuzhakov discloses a method of using a device comprising:
a foundation (12) interconnecting a plurality of spring structures (18) (Figure 1-2; Paragraph 0024);
a backing (13) including an adhesive layer, the foundation affixed to the backing (Figure 1; Paragraph 0024); and
a plurality of microstructures (14) arrayed on the foundation (Figure 1; Paragraph 0024), each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures extending from the foundation adjacent to a spring structure of the plurality of spring structures (Figure 1; Paragraph 0017);
the method comprising:
applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue (stratum corneum) (Paragraph 0003; 0018); and
penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin (Paragraph 0003; 0018; 0074).
Yuzhakov fails to explicitly disclose a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint, tendon, ligaments, or bursa to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, tendon, ligaments, or bursa.
However, Oronsky is directed to a drug delivery system and teaches a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device (200+500) to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint or tendon to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint or tendon (Paragraph 0011; 0026; 0051; 0062; 0111).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Yuzhakov such that the device is used in a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint, tendon, ligaments, or bursa to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon, as taught by Oronsky, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to drug delivery patches. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yuzhakov with the teachings of Oronsky by incorporating a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon in order to relieve pain or treat a specific medical condition (Oronsky Paragraph 0076) as, Yuzhakov discloses drug delivery but is silent to the specific drugs used and the treatment sites (Paragraph 0007; 0069).
Regarding claim 3, Oronsky further teaches wherein the device is applied directly over a painful area of the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon (Paragraph 0011; 0026; 0121-124).
Regarding claim 4, Oronsky further teaches wherein the device is applied over an area of a pathology that is causing the pain (Paragraphs 0121-124).
Regarding claim 5, Oronsky further teaches wherein the area of skin is a distance from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon causing the pain (Paragraph 0132; 0134).
Regarding claim 6, Oronsky further teaches wherein the microstructure device remains on the skin for a period of one hour to one week (Paragraph 0062), which encompasses the claimed time frames of 1 hour to 10 days; 8 hours to 6 days; and one day to 5 days.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yuzhakov and Oronsky teaches wherein applying the device to the area of skin includes penetrating a range of two to 1,000 microstructures into the area of skin to treat pain generated by the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon (Figure 2A) (Figure 2A shows a plurality of microneedles in a range of 2 to 1000).
Regarding claim 8, Yuzhakov further discloses wherein the penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin includes insertion of each microstructure into an upper dermis layer of skin (Paragraph 0018; 0070).
Regarding claim 9, Yuzhakov further discloses wherein the applying the device to the area of skin includes adhering the adhesive layer of the backing to skin surrounding the area of skin (Paragraph 0049; 0052).
Regarding claim 10, Oronsky further teaches wherein the applying the device to the area of skin includes applying the device adjacent a joint to treat pain originating from arthritis in the joint (Paragraph 0011; 0120-134).
Regarding claim 11, Oronsky further teaches wherein the applying the device adjacent the joint is to treat pain originating from osteoarthritis (Paragraph 0011; 0111; 0165-166).
Regarding claim 12, Yuzhakov further discloses wherein the backing is a non-woven material (Paragraph 0040) (Paragraph 0040 lists a variety of preferred materials, including non-woven materials).
Regarding claim 13, Oronsky further teaches wherein the applying the device to the area of skin includes applying the device adjacent a portion of a neck of a patient to treat pain originating from underlying tissue, muscle, or joints of the neck (Paragraph 0147; 0152-153).
Regarding claim 14, Yuzhakov discloses a method of using a device comprising:
a foundation (12) interconnecting a plurality of spring structures (18) (Figure 1-2; Paragraph 0024);
a backing (13) including non-woven material and an adhesive layer, the foundation affixed to the backing (Figure 1; Paragraph 0024; 0040) (Paragraph 0040 lists a variety of preferred materials, including non-woven materials); and
a plurality of microstructures (14) arrayed on the foundation (Figure 1; Paragraph 0024), each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures extending from the foundation adjacent to a spring structure of the plurality of spring structures (Figure 1; Paragraph 0017);
the method comprising:
applying the device to an area of skin (Paragraph 0003; 0018); and
penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin (Paragraph 0003; 0018; 0074).
However, Oronsky teaches a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device to an area of skin adjacent a spine of a patient to treat pain originating from underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine (Paragraph 0011; 0161; 0163-164; 0230).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yuzhakov with the teachings of Oronsky by incorporating applying the device to an area of skin adjacent a spine of a patient to treat pain originating from underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine in order to relieve pain or treat a specific medical condition (Oronsky Paragraph 0076) as, Yuzhakov teaches drug delivery but does not specify specific drugs or treatment sites.
Regarding claim 15, Oronsky further teaches wherein the applying the device to the area of skin includes applying it to a lower lumbar region of the spine (Paragraph 0188).
Regarding claim 16, Oronsky further teaches wherein applying the device to the area of skin includes applying it to a cervical region of the spine (Paragraph 0153; 0155).
Regarding claim 17, Oronsky further teaches wherein the microstructure device remains on the skin for a period of one hour to one week (Paragraph 0062), which encompasses the claimed time frames of 1 hour to 10 days; 8 hours to 6 days; and one day to 5 days.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood in view of the 112(b) issues above, the combination of Yuzhakov and Oronsky teaches wherein applying the device to the area of skin includes penetrating a range of two to 1,000 microstructures into the area of skin to treat pain generated by the underlying tissue, muscle, or joint associated with the spine (Figure 2A) (Figure 2A shows a plurality of microneedles in a range of 2 to 1000).
Regarding claim 19, Yuzhakov further discloses wherein the penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin includes insertion of each microstructure into an upper dermis layer of skin (Paragraph 0018; 0070).
Regarding claim 20, Yuzhakov further discloses wherein the applying the device to the area of skin includes adhering the adhesive layer of the backing to skin surrounding the area of skin (Paragraph 0049; 0052).
Regarding claim 21, As best understood in view of the 112(b) issues above, the combination of Yuzhakov and Oronsky further discloses wherein applying the device to the area of skin includes penetrating at least twenty microstructures into the area of skin to treat pain generated by the underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine (Figure 2A) (Figure 2A shows a plurality of microneedles including at least twenty microneedles).
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4, 6-7, 14, and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11986613 B2 in view of Oronsky et al. (US 20100042137 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of US 11986613 B2 claims a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation using a device comprising (Col 32, line 60-61):
a foundation interconnecting a plurality of spring structures (Col 32, line 62-63);
a backing including an adhesive layer, the foundation affixed to the backing (Col 32, line 64-65); and
a plurality of microstructures arrayed on the foundation, each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures extending from the foundation adjacent to a spring structure of the plurality of spring structures (Col 32, line 66- Col 33, line 2);
the method comprising:
applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue (Col 33, line 4); and
penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin (Col 33, line 6-7).
US 11986613 B2 fails to explicitly claim applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, tendon, ligaments, or bursa.
However, Oronsky is directed to a needle and patch system and teaches applying the device (200+500) to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon (Paragraph 0011; 0026; 0051; 0062; 0111).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify US 11986613 B2 to include applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon, as taught by Oronsky, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to drug delivery patches. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified US 11986613 B2 with the teachings of Oronsky by incorporating a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation comprising applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, joint, or tendon in order to relieve pain or treat a specific medical condition (Oronsky Paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 4, see claim 3 of US 11986613 B2.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 2 of US 11986613 B2.
Regarding claim 7, see claim 4 of US 11986613 B2.
Regarding claim 14, claim 1 of US 11986613 B2 claims a method of reducing or preventing pain or inflammation using a device comprising (Col 32, line 60-61):
a foundation interconnecting a plurality of spring structures (Col 32, line 62-63);
a backing including an adhesive layer, the foundation affixed to the backing (Col 32, line 64-65); and
a plurality of microstructures arrayed on the foundation, each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures extending from the foundation adjacent to a spring structure of the plurality of spring structures (Col 32, line 66- Col 33, line 2);
the method comprising:
applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue (Col 33, line 4); and
penetrating each microstructure of the plurality of microstructures into the area of skin (Col 33, line 6-7).
US 11986613 B2 fails to explicitly claim a backing including a non-woven material and applying the device to an area of skin adjacent underlying tissue to treat pain originating from the underlying tissue, muscle, or joints, associated with the spine.
However, Oronsky teaches a backing (502) including a non-woven material (elastomer) (Paragraph 0065) and applying the device (500) to an area of skin adjacent a spine of a patient to treat pain originating from underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine (Paragraph 0011; 0161; 0163-164; 0230).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified US 11986613 B2 with the teachings of Oronsky by incorporating applying the device to an area of skin adjacent a spine of a patient to treat pain originating from underlying tissue, muscle, or joints associated with the spine in order to relieve pain or treat a specific medical condition (Oronsky Paragraph 0076) and incorporating a backing including a non-woven material in order to serve as a protective covering to prevent loss of agent and/or carrier via transmission through the upper surface of the patch (Oronsky Paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 2 of US 11986613 B2.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 4 of US 11986613 B2.
Conclusion
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHERINE H SCHWIKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771