DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 3-19 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
At present, the prior art to Grote, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent 8,939,626 B2) and Garcia (GB 2548946 A) remains applicable to the scope of the claims as stated by the Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded in the obvious rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grote, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent 8,939,626 B2) in view of Dowling et al. (U.S. Patent 7,064,498 B2).
With regards to Claim 1, Grote discloses a lighting system [Figures 1-14] including:
An exoskeleton [e.g., (102, 156)] including at least one extrusion [note Figures 1-2], the at least one extrusion comprising one or more grooves [note Figures 1-2];
A plurality of light modules (121, 123, 125, 132) coupled to the exoskeleton, wherein a connector (132) of each light module of the plurality of light modules is configured to attach and move along the one or more grooves of the at least one extrusion [note Figures 1-4];
A first corner light module [e.g., Figure 4: top left side (121, 123, 125, 132)], configured to couple to the exoskeleton; and
A second corner light module [e.g., Figure 4: bottom left side (121, 123, 125, 132)] configured to couple to the exoskeleton, wherein when the first corner light module and the second corner light module are coupled to the exoskeleton, an opening is formed [note Figures 1-14].
In addition, Grote discloses, “a plurality of control circuit for selectively energizing the LED warning light assemblies” [end of Claim 1], but does not specifically teach each light module of the plurality of light modules include a separate controller configured to independently control the respective light module.
Dowling discloses, “Each lighting device 1600 could also have an addressable controller, so that each one of a plurality of lighting devices 1600 may be individually accessed by the control unit 1618, through any suitable wired or wireless network” [Column 15, Lines 35-40].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote, such that each light module of the plurality of light modules include a separate controller configured to independently control the respective light module, as taught in principle by Dowling, in order to provide greater illumination control/remote access as desired.
With regards to Claim 13, Grote discloses the lighting system further comprises one or more electrical modules (162) configured to couple to the exoskeleton in the opening.
With regards to Claim 14, Grote discloses the one or more electrical modules comprises one or more optical sensors, one or more humidity sensors a network interface, components capable of facilitating a local area network (LAN), Bluetooth, controller area network (CAN), Wi-Fi, or other wireless connection, a controller, a battery, one or more wires, light detection and ranging (LiDAR), radar, one or more cameras, one or more distance sensors, or combinations thereof [note Figures 1-14].
Claims 3-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grote, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent 8,939,626 B2) in view of Dowling et al. (U.S. Patent 7,064,498 B2) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Garcia (GB 2548946 A).
With regard to Claims 3-4, Grote in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above, but does not specifically teach at least one light module of the plurality of light modules includes a common optical element configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light; or the plurality of light modules being configured to emit a flash pattern.
Garcia discloses the plurality of light modules (2) being configured to be controlled independent of another light module of the plurality of light modules [Claim 6]; at least one light module of the plurality of light modules includes a common optical element [note cover of (2)] configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light [Page 5, Lines 20-28]; and the plurality of light modules (2) being configured to emit a flash pattern [Page 4, Lines 34-35].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote in view of Dowling to incorporate the plurality of light modules being configured to be controlled independent of another light module of the plurality of light modules; at least one light module of the plurality of light modules includes a common optical element configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, and white light; or the plurality of light modules being configured to emit a flash pattern, as taught in principle by Garcia, in order to provide greater control of the illumination as desired (e.g., intensity, color, flashing).
With regard to Claims 5-11, Grote discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach:
(Claim 5) each light module of the plurality of light modules includes two or more light elements;
(Claim 6) each light element of the two or more light elements including: a first primary warning light; and a second warning light;
(Claim 7) the secondary warning light element being configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, white light, infrared light, or a combination thereof;
(Claim 8) the two or more lighting elements including: a first primary warning light; a secondary primary warning; and a secondary warning light;
(Claim 9) the first primary warning light and the second primary warning light are configured to emit light independently;
(Claim 10) the first primary warning light, the second primary warning light, the secondary warning light, or a combination thereof are configured to emit a flash pattern; and/or
(Claim 11) the second warning light is disposed between the first primary warning light element and the second primary warning light element.
With regards to Claim 5, Garcia discloses each light module (2) of the plurality of light modules includes two or more light elements [Page 4, Lines 15-31].
With regards to Claim 6, Garcia discloses each light element of the two or more light elements [e.g., (3-5)] including: a first primary warning light [e.g., Figure 2: left (4)]; and a second warning light [e.g., Figure 2: right (4-5)] [Page 4, Line 19 – Page 5, Line 10].
With regards to Claim 7, Garcia discloses the secondary warning light element being configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, white light, infrared light, or a combination thereof [Page 4, Line 19 – Page 5, Line 10].
With regards to Claim 8, Garcia discloses the two or more lighting elements (2) including: a first primary warning light [e.g., Figure 3: left (4)]; a secondary primary warning [e.g., Figure 3: (5)]; and a secondary warning light [e.g., Figure 3: right (4)].
With regards to Claim 9, Garcia discloses the first primary warning light and the second primary warning light are configured to emit light independently [Page 4, Line 19 – Page 5, Line 10].
With regards to Claim 10, Garcia discloses the first primary warning light, the second primary warning light, the secondary warning light, or a combination thereof are configured to emit a flash pattern [Page 4, Line 19 – Page 5, Line 10].
With regards to Claim 11, Garcia discloses the second warning light [e.g., Figure 3: right (4)] is disposed between the first primary warning light element [e.g., Figure 3: left (4)] and the second primary warning light element [e.g., Figure 3: (5)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote in view of Dowling to have:
(Claim 5) each light module of the plurality of light modules includes two or more light elements;
(Claim 6) each light element of the two or more light elements including: a first primary warning light; and a second warning light;
(Claim 7) the secondary warning light element being configured to emit red, green, blue, amber, white light, infrared light, or a combination thereof;
(Claim 8) the two or more lighting elements including: a first primary warning light; a secondary primary warning; and a secondary warning light;
(Claim 9) the first primary warning light and the second primary warning light are configured to emit light independently;
(Claim 10) the first primary warning light, the second primary warning light, the secondary warning light, or a combination thereof are configured to emit a flash pattern; and/or
(Claim 11) the second warning light is disposed between the first primary warning light element and the second primary warning light element.
All of the above are taught above in principle by Garcia. Such an obvious modification of various lighting elements/lights and colors provide greater control over the illumination as desired.
With regards to Claim 12, Grote in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach the lighting system further includes one or more attachment feet configured to be coupled to the exoskeleton in the opening, wherein the one or more attachment feet are configured to attach the lighting system to a vehicle.
Garcia teaches the lighting system further includes one or more attachment feet [e.g., (9)] configured to be coupled to the exoskeleton in the opening, wherein the one or more attachment feet are configured to attach the lighting system to a vehicle [note Figures 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote in view of Dowling to have incorporated one or more attachment feet configured to be coupled to the exoskeleton in the opening, wherein the one or more attachment feet are configured to attach the lighting system to a vehicle, as taught in principle by Garcia, so as to provide elevation, promote heat transfer, and/or securing means as desired for the lighting system to a vehicle.
With regards to Claim 16, Grote in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach one or more additional lights, wherein the one or more additional lights are remote from the exoskeleton, and wherein the one or more additional lights are controlled by the lighting system.
Garcia discloses the lighting system further including one or more additional lights [e.g., (8)], wherein the one or more additional lights are remote from the exoskeleton, and wherein the one or more additional lights are controlled by the lighting system [note Figure 3].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote in view of Dowling to have incorporated one or more additional lights, wherein the one or more additional lights are remote from the exoskeleton, and wherein the one or more additional lights are controlled by the lighting system, as taught in principle by Garcia, in order to provide greater control over the illumination as desired by providing an addition light that is remote from the exoskeleton.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grote, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent 8,939,626 B2) in view of Dowling et al. (U.S. Patent 7,064,498 B2) as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Pederson et al. (U.S. Patent 7,468,677 B2).
With regards to Claim 15, Grote in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach the one or more optical sensors are configured to measure ambient light; and switch the lighting system to night mode when the ambient light falls below a predetermined threshold.
Pederson discloses a lighting system [Figures 1-18] and teaches one or more optical sensors configured to measure ambient light and switch the lighting system to night mode when the ambient light falls below a predetermined threshold [Column 12, Lines 58-64].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Grote in view of Dowling to have incorporated one or more optical sensors to measure ambient light and switch the lighting system to night mode when the ambient light falls below a predetermined threshold, as taught in principle by Pederson, in order to provide an energy efficient lighting system based on environmental conditions. Such an obvious modification is well-known and established in the art.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia (GB 2548946 A) in view of Dowling et al. (U.S. Patent 7,064,498 B2).
With regards to Claim 17, Garcia a lighting system [Figures 1-3] including:
A lightbar including at least one light module [e.g., (2)] and one or more additional lights [e.g., (8) and/or other (2)], selected from lights of a vehicle, lights separate from the lighting system, or a combination thereof, wherein the one or more additional lights are controlled by the lighting system [Page 5, Line 20 – Page 6, Line 1], the lighting system configured to:
Emit a flash pattern with two or more lighting elements [(4-5), whereby each light element includes one or more LED diodes (Page 4, Lines 22-23)] on each of the at least one light module [note Figure 3 shows two (4) and one (5), whereby Garcia discloses, “For example, the electronic controller may allow for generating flashes of sweeping light” (Page 4, Lines 34-35); also, note that Garcia further elaborates said flashing with switching on/off of the light sources (Page 5, Lines 7-10)]; and
Operate a command mode, wherein the command mode includes emitting steady green light from the at least one light module [Claims 2 and 9 teach the LED diodes that are “multi-colour LED with RGB technology” with is well-known to include green illumination/diodes; in addition, Garcia discloses, “For example, the infrared light may be flickery and the visible light may remain fixed” (Page 5, Lines 9-10)],
When in command mode, emit a steady green light from the one or more additional lights [Page 5, Line 20 – Page 6, Line 1 – as broadly interpreted where steady can mean an image].
Garcia does not specifically teach each light module of the plurality of light modules include a separate controller configured to independently control the respective light module.
Dowling discloses, “Each lighting device 1600 could also have an addressable controller, so that each one of a plurality of lighting devices 1600 may be individually accessed by the control unit 1618, through any suitable wired or wireless network” [Column 15, Lines 35-40].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Garcia, such that each light module of the plurality of light modules include a separate controller configured to independently control the respective light module, as taught in principle by Dowling, in order to provide greater illumination control/remote access as desired.
With regards to Claim 19, Garcia in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above. In addition, Garcia teaches each light module of the at least one light module includes: two or more light elements [e.g., (3-5)], wherein each light element of the two or more light elements [e.g., (3-5)] including: a first primary warning light [e.g., Figure 3: left (4)]; a secondary primary warning [e.g., Figure 3: (5)]; and a secondary warning light [e.g., Figure 3: right (4)].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia (GB 2548946 A) in view of Dowling et al. (U.S. Patent 7,064,498 B2) as applied to Claim 17 above, and further in view of Grote, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent 8,939,626 B2).
With regards to Claim 18, Garcia in view of Dowling discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above. In addition, Garcia discloses the light bar further including an exoskeleton [e.g., (9) and/or middle section within (2)]; wherein the at least one light module is coupled to the exoskeleton [note Figures 1-3]; a first corner light module [e.g., Figure 2: left side (2)], configured to couple to the exoskeleton; and a second corner light module [e.g., Figure 2: right side (2)] configured to couple to the exoskeleton, wherein when the first corner light module and the second corner light module are coupled to the exoskeleton, an opening is formed [note Figures 1-3], but does not specifically teach the exoskeleton comprising at least one extrusion, wherein the at least one extrusion comprising a first section, a second section disposed perpendicular to the first section, and one or more grooves; wherein the at least one light module is coupled to the exoskeleton, wherein a connector of the at least one light module is configured to attach and move along the one or more grooves of the at least one extrusion.
Grote teaches an exoskeleton [e.g., (102, 156)] including at least one extrusion [note Figures 1-2], the at least one extrusion comprising a first section, a second section disposed perpendicular to the first section, and one or more grooves [note Figures 1-2]; wherein at least one light module (121, 123, 125, 132) is coupled to the exoskeleton, wherein a connector (132) of the at least one light module is configured to attach and move along the one or more grooves of the at least one extrusion [note Figures 1-4].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lighting system of Garcia in view of Dowling, specifically the exoskeleton to have incorporated the at least one extrusion, wherein the at least one extrusion comprising a first section, a second section disposed perpendicular to the first section, and one or more grooves; wherein the at least one light module is coupled to the exoskeleton, wherein a connector of the at least one light module is configured to attach and move along the one or more grooves of the at least one extrusion, as taught in principle by Grote, in order to provide/facilitate flexibility in attaching/removing/repairing the light modules as desired to the exoskeleton.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tuesday, January 27, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875