Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greff (US 20230067090) in view of Anderson (US 20210052976).
In claims 1, 13 and 21, Greff discloses Identifying gameplay aspects of a computer game, Responsive to the gameplay aspects, automatically commencing recording a computer game being played by the computer gamer (various triggers to record a computer game are described by Greff, for example Keybinds (paragraph 115), Gaming events such as a player making a hit or kill (paragraph 249, comparison to historical data including by AI (paragraph 255 256), detection of sound or utterance of a player (paragraph 257) )
Although Greff does not disclose specifically recording in response to the heart rate of the player, Greff does disclose triggers which are based on inputs which are monitoring the computer gamer. Anderson discloses a game used by content creators which include tracking user heartrate and affecting the gameplay based on the heartrate (paragraph 83 discloses increasing your heart rate causing the monster to get hit). As Greff discloses recording in response to a player making a hit, and Anderson discloses a game wherein you increase your heartrate to make a hit, this combination would teach triggering recordings in response to a heartrate of the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Greff with Anderson in order to allow for the recorded triggering conditions of Greff to be used in various types of games including the content creation game described in Anderson.
In claims 2, 15, and 22 Greff in view of Anderson discloses commencing recording of the computer game responsive to the heart rate being at least as high as a first heartrate (paragraph 83 teaches increasing your heart rate causing the monster to get hit, with Greff paragraph 259 teaching recording in response to the monster getting hit)
In claims 3, 16 and 23, Greff in view of Anderson discloses ending the recording of the computer game responsive to the heart rate being less than the first heart rate (Anderson would stop hitting the enemy once their heart rate goes down, which would cause the recording to stop)
In claims 4 and 17, Anderson discloses presenting on a display on which the computer game is presented, a heat map related to the heart rate (paragraph 151-152, this displays content tiles which are maps related to the heart rate challenge disclosed in paragraph 83. The tiles are related to the heat as well as disclosed in paragraph 93)
In claims 5 and 18, Anderson discloses the heat map comprises a map of the virtual space (paragraphs 151-152)
In claims 6 and 19, Anderson discloses the map of the virtual space comprises a travel path of the computer gamer through the virtual space (Fig 31)
In claims 7 and 20, Greff in view of Anderson discloses the claimed invention except that the travel path comprises first and second color segments corresponding to respective heart rates of the computer gamer as the computer gamer traverses the virtual space, however Official notice is taken that displaying relevant information to a player, and the use of colors to display relevant information was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Greff in view of Anderson with this well known technique in order to allow for the heart rate fluctuations of the user to be more easily understood by the user.
In claims 8 and 9 Anderson discloses monitoring a heart rate based on a heart rate monitor (paragraphs 80 and 83). Under BRI the wearable device of Anderson is a game controller as it is used to control the gameplay. Greff in view of Anderson fails to disclose use of two electrical components which provide a reference voltage and a pulse indication voltage, however Official notice is taken that use of electrical components which provide reference and pulse indication to monitor a pulse was notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Greff in view of Anderson with this well known technique in order to allow for the heart rate to be more closely monitored.
In claim 14, Greff discloses the computer simulation comprises a computer game (title)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang (US 20160228763) discloses monitoring heart rate information and determining the emotional fluctuation of the user (paragraph 31). This is relevant in combination with Greff, as a “scream” or “laughing” is used in Greff to teach recording in response to emotional fluctuation of the user.
/THOMAS H HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715