DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2023 and 07/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grundmann et al. [US 10,811,903].
Claim 1, Grundmann et al. discloses a panel [612] comprising: an electro-permanent magnet [602 in figure 6 shown in detail as 200 in figure 2] which is integrated in the panel; and an induction coil [210] which is connected to the electro-permanent magnet and is configured to conduct current induced in the induction coil to the electro-permanent magnet such that the electro-permanent magnet can be switched between a magnetic state and a non-magnetic state [col. 7 lines 29-51].
Claim 2, Grundmann et al. discloses the panel according to claim 1, wherein the induction coil unit is integrated in the panel [figure 6].
Claim 3, Grundmann et al. discloses the panel according to claim 2, wherein the panel has an external mark which indicates a position of the induction coil [figure 6; recess housing 601].
Claim 4, Grundmann et al. discloses the panel according to claim 3, wherein the external mark is in a form of a surface structure [figure 6; recess housing 601].
Claim 5, Grundmann et al. discloses a fastening construction, comprising: the panel [612] according to claim 1; and a base element [614] having a ferromagnet [604] configured to connect the panel to the base element when the electro-permanent magnet of the panel is in the magnetic state [col. 9 lines 20-30].
Claim 6, Grundmann et al. discloses the fastening construction according to claim 5, wherein the base element [614] has a recess [614a, 614b] which is adapted to the shape of the panel [612; figure r6, col. 9 lines 52-56].
Claim 7, Grundmann et al. discloses the fastening construction according to claim 6, wherein the recess is configured such that a surface [612a, 612b] of the panel [612] is positively connected to a surface [614a, 614b] of the base element [614] when the panel is arranged in the recess [figure 6].
Claim 10, Grundmann et al. discloses an opening device for a panel [612] according to claim 1, comprising: at least one receiving element [EPM want 500] configured to produce a detachable connection to the panel; an electrical energy source [508]; and an induction coil [504] which is connected to the electrical energy source [figure 5b] and is configured to induce a current in the induction coil of the panel when the at least one receiving element is connected to the panel [col. 9 lines 40-46].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grundmann et al. [US 10,811,903].
Claim 8, Grundmann et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the surface of the panel and the surface of the base element have a camouflage surface structure. It would have been an obvious matter of design to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the appearance of a surface, since applicant has not disclosed that providing a camouflage surface structure on the panel and the base element solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the base element and panel surface design as taught in the figures of Grundmann et al.
Claim 9, Grundmann et al. discloses a fastening construction according to claim 5 but fails to teach it in an aircraft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fastening construction of Grundmann et al. in an aircraft in order to secure a panel to the aircraft body. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837