DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination -under 3 7 CFR 1.114
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) of “inlet” and “outlet” for the insulating coolant mentioned in the description: of instant specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
See MPEP 2163.03 V where a circumstance where an original claim is not sufficiently described and a written description issue arises. Specifically, “An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved.”
In the current application, amended claim 1, filed on 05/11/206 recites the limitation of “the inlet and outlet for the insulating coolant are not on the bottom surface of the coolant storage unit”, however, the specification does not sufficiently identify what constitutes “the inlet and outlet for the insulating coolant storage unit”. Without any such guidance or example in the specification as to what is structure achieves the functional limitation, the specification does not demonstrate that Applicant possessed the functionally-defined ice vending machine recited in the claims. Claims 6 and 16 are thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, as failing to meet the written.
Claims 3-5 are dependent from claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 above and therefore inherit the deficiencies of the parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KODAMA (English Translated Japanese Publication No.: 2022158432 A), hereinafter referred to as KODAMA ‘432, in view of MIDORIKAWA (English Translated Japanese Publication No.: 2001050624 A), hereinafter referred to as MIDORIKAWA ‘624, further in view of YOSHIMURA et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2021/0206632 A1), hereinafter referred to as YOSHIMURA et al ‘632.
Regarding claim 1, KODAMA ‘432 discloses a cooling system (1A) comprising a circulation path (10A) for circulating a non-aqueous insulating coolant, and a coolant storage unit (14) in the circulation path and storing the insulating coolant, wherein the insulating coolant has a smaller specific gravity than water, the coolant storage unit contains a water removing portion (23) {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶¶ [0032-0036]}.
However, KODAMA ‘432 fails to explicitly disclose the limitation of the water removing portion is fixed to the coolant storage unit so that at least part of an upper surface of the water removing portion directly contacts the insulating coolant, at least part of the water removing portion is fixed to a bottom surface of the coolant storage unit, and the water removing portion does not block either of an inlet and out for the insulating coolant within the coolant stoae unit; and the inlet and outlet for the insulating coolant are not on the bottom surface of the coolant storage unit.
MIDORIKAWA ‘624 teaches: the concept of the water removing portion (24) being fixed (28) to the coolant storage unit (22) in such a manner that at least part of an upper surface of the water removing portion directly contacts the insulating coolant {as shown in Fig.3A: ¶¶ [0002], [0004] and [0006]}, at least part of the water removing portion is fixed to a bottom surface of the coolant storage unit, and the water removing portion does not block either of an inlet (22B) and out (22A) for the insulating coolant within the coolant stoae unit {as shown in Fig. 3A: ¶ [0006], [0008] and [0011]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify KODAMA ‘432 water removing portion by the water removing portion of MIDORIKAWA ‘624 so as to enable the water removing portion being fixed to the coolant storage unit in such a manner that at least part of an upper surface of the water removing portion directly contacts the insulating coolant, at least part of the water removing portion is fixed to a bottom surface of the coolant storage unit, and the water removing portion does not block either of an inlet and out for the insulating coolant within the coolant stoae unit, in order to facilitate increase efficiency of moisture removal {MIDORIKAWA ‘624 – ¶ [0006]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the KODAMA ‘432 in view of MIDORIKAWA ‘624 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 teach: the concept of the inlet (35) and outlet (34) for the insulating coolant (solution) are not on the bottom surface of the coolant storage unit (3) {as shown in Figs. 2, 6 and 12: ¶¶ [0077] and [0091]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify KODAMA ‘432 coolant storage unit by the storage unit of YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 so as to include the inlet and outlet for the insulating coolant that are not on the bottom surface of the coolant storage unit, in order to facilitate a downwardly flow of the solution through the coolant storage unit {YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 -¶ [0091]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the KODAMA ‘432 in view of YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KODAMA ‘432, MIDORIKAWA ‘624 and YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, KODAMA ‘432 discloses wherein the water removing portion contains a porous zeolite or a water-absorbing resin to absorb water {see ¶ [0037]}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KODAMA ‘432, MIDORIKAWA ‘624 and YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 1, KODAMA ‘432 discloses wherein the water removing portion contains a water-absorbing resin to absorb water and the water-absorbing resin is at least one selected from the group consisting of: a crosslinked partially neutralized polyacrylic acid, a neutralized starch-acrylic acid graft polymer, a hydrolyzed starch-acrylonitrile graft polymer, a saponified vinyl acetate-acrylic acid ester copolymer, a crosslinked isobutylene-maleic anhydride copolymer, a hydrolyzed acrylonitrile copolymer, a hydrolyzed acrylamide copolymer, a crosslinked hydrolyzed acrylonitrile copolymer, a crosslinked hydrolyzed acrylamide copolymer, a crosslinked acrylate-acrylamide copolymer, a crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol, a crosslinked modified polyethylene oxide, a crosslinked acrylamide-2-methylpropanesulfonate copolymer, a crosslinked (meth) acryloylalkanesulfonate copolymer, a crosslinked carboxymethylcellulose salt, and a crosslinked polymer of cationic monomers {see ¶ [0037]}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KODAMA ‘432, MIDORIKAWA ‘624 and YOSHIMURA et al ‘632 disclose and teach the cooling system according to claim 4, KODAMA ‘432 discloses wherein the water-absorbing resin is a crosslinked partially neutralized polyacrylic acid or a neutralized starch-acrylic acid graft polymer {see ¶ [0037]}.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP-2009005499-A to SUGIYAMA MASATAKA.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
06/05/2026