Detailed Action:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor,
subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-20 are directed towards a system, method, and product which are
one of the four statutory categories.
However, they are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed
to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea)
without significantly more. The claims of 1, 10, and 17 are directed to a mental process with
the aid of a computer and organizing human activity.
Limitations Directed Towards a Mental Process with the Aid of the Computer
determining, from each log file, a status of its associate project task, the status being one of a plurality of states and corresponding to an associated date, to produce a plurality of statuses;
Limitation Directed Towards Organizing Human Activity:
receiving, at a project management platform, a plurality of log files, each log file having a field observation of a project task;
forwarding a status message toward a remote user device, the status message having information indicating the plurality of statuses for populating a graphical user interface on the remote user device, the graphical user interface including a calendar comprising:
graphically identifying the plurality of statuses, each status of the plurality of statuses corresponding a log file from the date's corresponding log files
receiving, from operators, a plurality of log files, each log file having a field observation of a project task;
Part II. 2A-prong two (additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical
application)
Under step 2A-Prong two (part 1 of Mayo test), this judicial exception is not integrated with a
practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the
additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea. Such as, “computer readable medium storage system…processor… memory…remote user device…calendar… graphical user interface…log files…operators…code…project management platform…”
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and
conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of
generality) as well-understood, routine, conventional. (MPEP 2106.05(d)
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical
application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims are directed to an abstract idea with no significantly more elements.
As a result, Examiner asserts that claims 1,10, and 17 are similarly directed to the abstract idea.
Since these claims are directed to an abstract idea, the Office must determine whether the
remaining limitations "do significantly more" than describe the abstract idea.
Part III. Determine whether any Element, or Combination, Amounts to "Significantly More" than Abstract Idea itself
The Alice framework, we turn to step 2B (Part 2 of Mayo) to determine if the claim is sufficient
to ensure that the claim amounts to "significantly more" than the abstract idea itself. These
additional elements recite conventional computer components and conventional functions of:
“computer readable medium storage system…processor… memory…remote user device…calendar… graphical user interface…log files…operators…code…project management platform…”
Claims 1,10, and 17 do not include any limitations amounting to significantly more than the
abstract idea, alone.
In addition, Fig. 2a of the Applicant's specifications detail any combination of a generic computer system program to perform the system. Generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because the Alice decision noted that generic structures that merely apply abstract ideas are not significantly more than the abstract ideas.
The dependent claims 2-9,11-16,18-20 further limit the abstract idea without adding significantly more. Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Further, Examiner notes that the additional limitations, when considered as an ordered combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the additional elements individually. Claims 2-9,11-16, 18-20 are rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on a rationale similar to independent claims 1,10, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (US Pub. No. 20160147403) (Hereinafter, Koch) in view of Scriven et al. (US Pub. No. 20150205509) (Hereinafter, Scriven).
As per claim 1,
Koch teaches,
A computer-implemented method of field progressing for a large-scale manufacturing project at a large-scale manufacturing site, the project having a plurality of associated project tasks, the method comprising:
(paragraphs 43 and 44, paragraph 43 clarifying that the prior art invention does envision that a project can have many tasks associated with it, and further, paragraph 43 teaching by example.)
receiving, at a project management platform, a plurality of log files, each log file having a field observation of a project task;
(Fig. 1 A and corresponding text; showing a calendar of task that can be selected for further information shown on Fig. 1 B)
determining, from each log file, a status of its associate project task, the status being one of a plurality of states and corresponding to an associated date, to produce a plurality of statuses;
(Fig. 1 A and corresponding text of paragraph 46, noting on paragraph 46 “…Another example visual content item shown within the date panes of the illustrative calendar UI instance of FIG. 1A, for example, represents status of a task…”)
Koch does not explicitly teach, however, Scriven does teach,
forwarding a status message toward a remote user device, the status message having information indicating the plurality of statuses for populating a graphical user interface on the remote user device, the graphical user interface including a calendar comprising:
(paragraph 8, noting “…a graphical user interface is generated by an application on a mobile computing device. The graphical user interface is displayed on a touch-sensitive display of the mobile computing device and includes a substantially circular graphical dial, the dial having an outer region and an inner region circumscribed by the outer region. The outer region represents a twelve-hour clock face and displays one or more icons thereon to represent an associated one or more events to occur at a time and duration of the time domain…”)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Scriven within the invention of Koch with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users.
Koch teaches,
a plurality of day indicia, each day indicia uniquely associated with a corresponding date and a set of log files corresponding to said date, said log files being that date's corresponding log files and corresponding to a set of project tasks associated with that date,
(Fig. 1 A & Fig. 1B with corresponding text; see above notations)
(b) a plurality of graphic status indicia, each graphic status indicium of the plurality of graphic status indicia:
(Fig. 1 A, with corresponding paragraph 30, and noting on paragraph 30 “…The collapsed date panes may include indicia to indicate that a visual content item is associated with the date pane…”)
(i) graphically and uniquely associated with a corresponding day indicium from the plurality of day indicia, and
(Fig. 1 A and corresponding paragraph 30 see above notations)
(ii) graphically identifying the plurality of statuses, each status of the plurality of statuses corresponding a log file from the date's corresponding log files
(Fig. 1 A with corresponding text paragraphs 29 & 30, noting on paragraph 29 “…Visual content items displayed with date panes provide information such as task identification, identification of persons responsible for tasks and status of tasks. Different users provide calendar entry information that is stored for use to produce different visual content items…” Further examiner noting on paragraph 30 “… For example, in some embodiments a collapsed date pane includes a dot to indicate that a visual content item is associated with the collapsed date pane. In FIG. 1A, the collapsed pane corresponding to Sunday the 15th of the month includes a dot 108 that acts as an indicator that the pane when in expanded form includes one or more visual content items. In the collapsed form shown in FIG. 1A, those visual content items are hidden, but the dot 108 indicates their existence…”)
As per claim 2,
Koch teaches,
the method of claim 1, wherein:
each day indicia further comprises a number to indicate its corresponding date; and
the graphic status indicium for each day comprises a graphical device adjacent to the number.
(Fig. 1A and paragraphs 30 & 62, see also above notations)
As per claim 9,
Koch discloses,
the method of claim 1, wherein the remote user device is a hand-held using device having a computer display screen configured to display the graphical user interface
(paragraph 115, noting “…The user devices 1902-1 to 1902-n may include any of numerous kinds of electronic devices such as a smartphone, media player, Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), cellular telephone, web appliance, personal computer, laptop computer or tablet computing device, for example…”)
As per claim 12,
Koch discloses
the system of claim 10, wherein each log file includes status data recording the status of its associate task
(Fig. 1 A with corresponding text paragraphs 29 & 30, noting on paragraph 29 “…Visual content items displayed with date panes provide information such as task identification, identification of persons responsible for tasks and status of tasks. Different users provide calendar entry information that is stored for use to produce different visual content items…”)
As per claims 10 and 17:
Claims 10 and 17 disclose similar limitation to claim 1 above, however, in differing forms. Koch discloses both the differing forms of a system and product on paragraph 1 and claim 10. Therefore, claims 10 and 17 are rejected based on the rationale of claim 1 above.
As per claim 11:
Claim 11 discloses similar limitations to claim 9 above, however, in a differing format. Koch discloses the differing format of a system on paragraph 1 and claim 10. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected based on the rationale of claim 9 above.
Claims 3-8, 13-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch in view of Scriven as applied to claims 1-2 and 9-12 and 17 above, and further in view of Hamarati et al. (US Pub. No. 20210157806) (Hereinafter, Hamarati).
As per claim 3,
Koch does not explicitly teach, however, Scriven does teach,
the method of claim 1, wherein:
the graphic status indicium for each day comprises a graphical device, wherein said graphical device comprises an annular device having a plurality of segments,
(Fig. 1 A)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Scriven within the invention of Koch with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users.
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly disclose, however, Hamarati does teach,
each segment of the plurality of segments associated with a given status,
(Figs. 87 and 88 (All figures) and corresponding text, examiner highlighting paragraphs 802-804, and examiner noting, Fig. 88b and text 804, noting “…Battery widget 13320 may further include label key 13326 indicating the status labels represented by segments 13322...”)
the size of each segment relative to other segments indicating the proportion of tasks,
(Figs. 87-88 (All Figures) and corresponding text, examiner highlighting paragraphs 802-804 with Fig. 88 A, and further examiner noting “… In such an example the battery widget 13320 may indicate the proportional percentage of various status labels of tasks across several projects and boards…In some implementations, the proportional size of a segment 13322 representing a specific status label is determined by dividing the total number of items in the chosen groups by the number of items in the chosen groups having the specific status label to determine a percentage of the specific status label. In some implementations, the proportional size of a segment 13322 representing a specific status label is determined by dividing the total number of items in the chosen groups by the number of items in the chosen groups having the specific status label multiplied by a weighting factor such that status labels with a greater weighting are proportionally bigger…”)
relative to the set of tasks associated with that date, having the given status
(Figs. 87-88 (All Figures) and corresponding text, examiner highlighting Fig. 88A and element 13312-2)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 4,
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly disclose, however, Hamarati does teach,
The method of claim 3, wherein each day indicium further comprises a number to indicate its corresponding date, said number disposed within the annular device.
(see Fig. 116 d with Koch Fig. 1 teaching annular device)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 5,
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly teach, however, Hamarati does teach,
the graphic status indicium for each day comprises a graphical device, wherein said graphical device comprises a circular device having a plurality of pie-shaped segments, each pie-shaped segment of the plurality of segments associated with a given status and the size of each segment relative to other segments indicating the proportion of tasks, relative to the set of tasks associated with that date, having the given status
(paragraph 299-302, noting on paragraph 299 “…The aggregation of entries may be any summary indicator of the data contained in the columns through a graphical indication such as a bar, a circle, a pie chart…” further noting on paragraph 300 “…the aggregation 802 is divided into portions. The number of the divided portions of the aggregation 802 may correspond to the number of the tasks, such as three as illustrated in FIG. 8…”; Examiner further noting Figs. 87-88 (All Figures) and corresponding text paragraphs 802-804, examiner highlighting Fig. 88A and element 13312-2; See claim 3 for notations).
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 6,
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly teach, however, Hamarati does teach,
the method of claim 5, wherein each day indicium further comprises a number to indicate its corresponding date, said number superimposed over the graphical device.
(see Fig. 35 and corresponding text 472, noting “…For example, in FIG. 35, timelines 3324 and 3326 are graphical, but also include superimposed alphanumeric date ranges…”)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 7,
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly teach, however, Hamarati does teach,
the graphic status indicium for each day comprises a graphical device, wherein said graphical device comprises a rectangular device having a plurality of rectangular segments, each rectangular segment of the plurality of segments associated with a given status and the size of each segment relative to other segments indicating the proportion of tasks, relative to the set of tasks associated with that date, having the given status
(paragraph 299-302, noting on paragraph 299 “…The aggregation of entries may be any summary indicator of the data contained in the columns through a graphical indication such as a bar…” further noting on paragraph 300 “…the aggregation 802 is divided into portions. The number of the divided portions of the aggregation 802 may correspond to the number of the tasks, such as three as illustrated in FIG. 8…”; Examiner further noting Figs. 87-88 (All Figures) and corresponding text paragraphs 802-804, examiner highlighting Fig. 88A and element 13312-2; See claim 3 for notations).
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 8,
Koch/Scriven do not explicitly teach, however, Hamarati does teach,
the method of claim 7, wherein each day indicium further comprises a number to indicate its corresponding date, said number superimposed over the graphical device.
(see Fig. 35 and corresponding text 472, noting “…For example, in FIG. 35, timelines 3324 and 3326 are graphical, but also include superimposed alphanumeric date ranges…”)
Koch teaches electronic calendar system that facilitates dynamic communication and dynamic information sharing to thereby facilitate collaboration and the organization, management of people and projects. Scriven teaches time management systems for mobile phones, and more particularly to a user interface for time management systems in which time-based information, such as events like meetings, calls, and tasks. Hamarati teaches enabling and optimizing workflows in collaborative work systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of Hamarati within the invention of Koch/Scriven with the motivation of having dynamic communication and information sharing on the mobile phone for user ease and mobility while still having up to date information and communication with other users for a collaborative work system.
As per claim 13-16 and 18-20:
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 disclose similar limitation to claims 3-8 above, however, in differing forms. Koch discloses both the differing forms of a system and product on paragraph 1 and claim 10. Therefore, claims 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected based on the rationale of claim 3-8 above.
Conclusion
ZAHRA . ELKASSABGI
Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623