DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,467,215 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent 11,326,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current claims and the patented claims disclose a blade with a retainer member and notches in the blade to receive a spring element wherein the springs bias the blade into ground engagement, but the current claims are broader than the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayes et al. (10,458,081).
Regarding claim 1, Hayes et al. discloses a hinge coupling for rotatably fastening a snow plow blade assembly to a moldboard (124) of a snowplow, the hinge coupling comprising:
a spring (172) having a first terminal leg and a second terminal leg;
a plow mount portion including:
a first side plate (176) having a first hinge barrel (bearing, not shown – column 4 lines 58-60) mounted thereon;
a second side plate (176) in spaced parallel relation with the first side plate (Figure 6) and having a second hinge barrel mounted thereon (bearing, not shown - column 4 lines 58-60);
A plow mounting plate (158) extending between the first side plate and the second side plate, wherein the mounting plate is configured to be coupled to the mold board (124);
a spring plate (140) extending between the first side plate (176) and the second side plate (176), wherein the first terminal leg of the spring is coupled with the spring plate (see Figure 6, upper/first terminal leg of spring coupled with spring plate via extension and set screw 190)
a blade mount portion including:
a pin (174) extending between the first side plate (176) and the second side plate (176), wherein the pin (174) includes a first pin end rotatably received within the first hinge barrel (bearing, not shown) and the second pin end rotatably received within the second hinge barrel (bearing, not shown);
a blade mounting plate (144) fixedly secured to the pin (via brackets 178), wherein the second terminal leg of the spring is coupled (via spring load) to the blade mounting plate (144) (Figure 6), wherein the blade mount portion is rotatably moveable relative to the plow mount portion, and wherein the blade mounting plate (144) is configured to be coupled to the snow plow blade assembly
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (10,458,081) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 4, Hayes discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose a cover plate for the plow mount portion. The examiner takes Official Notice that cover plates for protecting machine elements from the environment (dirt, debris etc) to prevent damage thereto is old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a cover plate to prevent ingress of dirt and debris around the mounting mechanism to prevent damage thereto.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (10,458,081) in view of Fox et al. (8,984,778).
Regarding claim 5, Hayes et al. discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose an adapter plate between the moldboard and the plow mounting plate. Like Hayes, Fox also discloses mounting a blade member to a moldboard. Unlike Hayes, Fox disclose the use of an adapter plate with a variety of different fastener openings such that it can be used to attach different moldboards and blades with different configurations (column 2 line 56 through column 3 line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an adapter blade in Hayes as taught by Fox to enable the use to attach the blade mechanism to multiple different types of moldboards as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (10,458,081) in view of Giletta (2015/0376850).
Regarding claim 6, Hayes discloses a snow plow blade apparatus for connection to a moldboard of a snow plow, the snow plow blade apparatus comprising:
a hinge coupling comprising:
a first spring (172) having a first terminal leg and a second terminal leg
a plow mount portion coupled to the first terminal leg of the first spring therein (at 140,190)
a blade mount portion including a pin (174) and a blade mounting plate (144) coupled to the second terminal leg of the first spring (via spring force) and rotatably moveable relative to the plow mount portion
a blade assembly (132)
wherein the hinge coupling is configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis defined by the first spring
While Hayes discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose the claimed blade assembly. Like Hayes, Giletta also discloses a blade assembly for a moldboard with a trip mechanism (Figure 7). Unlike Hayes, Giletta further discloses a blade assembly comprising:
a blade retainer (upper element 37)
a blade (lower element 37) slidably mounted to the blade retainer, the blade having a top edge and a bottom edge, wherein the bottom edge is configured for engaging a road surface during operation of the snow plow
a plurality of second springs (36) disposed between a top plate of the blade retainer and the top edge of the blade, wherein the plurality of second springs are configured to bias the blade toward the road surface so that the bottom edge of the blade maintains contact with the road surface
wherein the blade is configured to translate vertically relative to the blade retainer and moldboard and perpendicular relative to the axis of rotation of the trip mechanism
Giletta discloses that the sliding blade assembly aids in following the contours of the ground surface for uniform clearing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the blade assembly of Giletta in Hayes to improve the Hayes’ blade’s ground contour following ability as a simple substitution of one known blade assembly for another to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses a plurality of notches in the blade that receives the second springs (Giletta Figure 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (10,458,081) in view of Giletta (2015/0376850) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Fox et al. (8,984,778).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hayes et al. and Giletta discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose an adapter plate between the moldboard and the plow mounting plate. Like the combination, Fox also discloses mounting a blade member to a moldboard. Unlike the combination, Fox disclose the use of an adapter plate with a variety of different fastener openings such that it can be used to attach different moldboards and blades with different configurations (column 2 line 56 through column 3 line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an adapter blade in the combination as taught by Fox to enable the use to attach the blade mechanism to multiple different types of moldboards as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayes et al. (10,458,081) in view of Giletta (2015/0376850) as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Hamel (2007/0245600).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hayes and Giletta discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose the claimed bore and post of the spring mechanism. Like the combination, Hamel also discloses a ground following blade mechanism that utilizes a spring element and a sliding blade. Unlike the combination, Hamel disclose that the spring can be a vertically oriented compression spring (6) mounted on a post (7) that extends into a bore (5) on the blade (2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize post mounted compression springs in the combination of Hayes and Giletta as taught by Hamel in place of the elastomeric springs taught by Giletta as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Paonessa (8,776,405) and Jones (5,437,113) also disclose trip blade mechanisms with horizontally arranged springs.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671