DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-18 in the reply filed on May 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method and material, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 29, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN-105568669 to Lai.
Regarding Claims 12-13
Lai teaches a textile material comprising fibers, a nanostructured titanium dioxide film and metallic nanoparticles such as silver nanoparticles (Lai, abstract, paragraphs [0092]-[0098]). In the event it is shown that Lai does not disclose the claimed invention, with sufficient specificity, the invention is obvious because Lai discloses the claimed constituents and discloses that they may be used alternatively or in combination, to successfully practice the invention based on the totality of the teachings of Lai.
Regarding Claim 14
Lai teaches that the textile is antimicrobial, wear resistant and comprises non-toxic materials (Lai, paragraphs [0003] and [0029]). Regarding the textile being specifically resistant to E.coli, mechanical peeling and non-toxic, in general, a limitation is inherent if it is the “natural result flowing from” the explicit disclosure of the prior art. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharms., Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Therefore, although the prior art does not disclose the specific resistances and toxicity of the finished product, the claimed properties are deemed to be inherent to the structure in the prior art since the Lai reference teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. Products of identical structure and composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise.
Regarding Claim 18
Lai teaches that the textile is added to a titanium dioxide film forming solution, which would necessarily result in essentially all surfaces of the fibers comprising the metallic nanoparticle semi-conductor film (Id., fig 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claims 12-14 and 18 above, in view of “Antimicrobial effect of surgical masks coated with nanoparticles” to Li.
Regarding Claims 15-16
Lai does not specifically teach that the textile is utilized as a face mask or garment. However, Li teaches utilizing silver and titanium dioxide coated fabrics in order to form facemasks and protective clothing (garments) which protect from infectious agents and reduce the risk of transmission (Li, summary, discussion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the textile of Lai and to apply it as a facemask or garment as taught by Li, motivated by the desire to form a conventional antimicrobial, wear resistant fabric which protects from infectious agents and reduces the risk of transmission in human populations and medical settings.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claims 12-14 and 18 above, in view of “Antimicrobial effect of surgical masks coated with nanoparticles” to Li.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claims 12-14 and 18 above, in view of USPN. 10,190,253 to Niedermeyer.
Regarding Claim 17
Lai does not appear to teach the inclusion of gold nanoparticles. However, Niedermeyer teaches a nanoparticle treated fibrous article which comprises silver nanoparticles and a plurality of gold nanoparticles in addition (Niedermeyer, column 3, lines 10-28). Niedermeyer teaches that the gold provides further anti-odor functionality, improved strength, durability and color-fastness of the nanoparticle treated material (Id.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the nanoparticle treated fabric of Lai and to further apply gold nanoparticles as taught by Niedermeyer, motivated by the desire to form an antimicrobial fabric having further odor reducing properties, strength, durability and color-fastness.
Conclusion
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786