DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 1 recites “the surface of a marine vehicle” in line 16. It appears that claim 1 should recite “a surface of a marine vehicle” in line 16.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim lacks punctuation after the word “another” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion (US Patent Application No. 2013/0280475) in view of Pickren et al. (US Patent Application No. 2020/0254716).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5 and 6, Champion teaches a marine deck pad (floor mat arrangement) (page 1, paragraph [0001], page 4, paragraph [0036]) comprising a first layer having an exposed upper surface and a bottom surface opposite the upper surface (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the first layer comprising a first foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]); a second surface layer having an upper surface facing the bottom surface of the first layer and a bottom surface opposite the upper surface of the second layer (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the second layer comprising a foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Champion does not disclose wherein the first foam has a density of between about 7.5 lbs/ft3 and about 9.5 lbs/ft3 and the second foam has a density that is greater than the first density and is between about 8 lbs/ft3 and about 12.9 lbs/ft3. However, Champion does teach wherein the foam layers may vary in density from each other (page 3, paragraph [0024]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the densities of the foam layers of Champion in order to provide resistance to compression (Champion, page 3, paragraph [0025]).
Champion fails to teach wherein the pad comprises a plurality of snap couplers, each comprising a first portion including a body portion extending entirely through the first layer and the second layer between the exposed upper surface of the first layer and the bottom surface of the second layer and a flanged portion extending outwardly from the body portion where the flanged portion abuts the exposed upper surface of the first layer; and a second portion releasably connected with the first portion of the snap coupler, where the second portion of the snap coupler is attached to the surface of a marine vehicle. However, Pickren et al. teach a marine floor arrangement (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 3, paragraph [0039]) comprising one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027]) and a plurality of snap couplers (page 3, paragraph [0027]), each comprising a first portion including a body portion extending entirely though a first layer and a second layer between an exposed upper surface of the first layer and the bottom surface of the second layer (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a flanged portion extending outwardly from the body portion where the flanged portion abuts the exposed upper surface of the first layer (page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a second portion releasably connected with the first portion of the snap coupler (page 2, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]), where the second portion of the snap coupler is attached to the surface of a marine vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the snap couplers of Pickren et al. in the first and second layer of Champion in order to make a removable traction mat (Pickren et al., page 2, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Champion teaches wherein the first foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]), wherein the second foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Champion teaches wherein the upper surface of the first layer includes non-skid (anti-slip) surface (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0019]), wherein the upper surface of the first layer is textured (page 2, paragraphs [0021], [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, Champion teaches a marine deck pad (floor mat arrangement) (page 1, paragraph [0001], page 4, paragraph [0036]) comprising a first layer having an exposed upper surface and a bottom surface opposite the upper surface (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the first layer comprising a first foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]); a second surface layer having an upper surface facing the bottom surface of the first layer and a bottom surface opposite the upper surface of the second layer (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the second layer comprising a foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Champion does not disclose wherein the first foam has a density of between about 7.5 lbs/ft3 and about 9.5 lbs/ft3 and the second foam has a density that is greater than the first density and is between about 8 lbs/ft3 and about 12.9 lbs/ft3. However, Champion does teach wherein the foam layers may vary in density from each other (page 3, paragraph [0024]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the densities of the foam layers of Champion in order to provide resistance to compression (Champion, page 3, paragraph [0025]).
Champion fails to teach wherein the pad comprises a plurality of snap couplers, each comprising a first portion including a body portion extending entirely through the first layer and the second layer between the exposed upper surface of the first layer and the bottom surface of the second layer and a flanged portion extending outwardly from the body portion where the flanged portion abuts the exposed upper surface of the first layer; and a second portion releasably connected with the first portion of the snap coupler, where the second portion of the snap coupler is attached to the surface of a marine vehicle. However, Pickren et al. teach a marine floor arrangement (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 3, paragraph [0039]) comprising one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027]) and a plurality of snap couplers (page 3, paragraph [0027]), each comprising a first portion including a body portion extending entirely though a first layer and a second layer between an exposed upper surface of the first layer and the bottom surface of the second layer (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a flanged portion extending outwardly from the body portion where the flanged portion abuts the exposed upper surface of the first layer (page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a second portion releasably connected with the first portion of the snap coupler (page 2, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]), where the second portion of the snap coupler is attached to the surface of a marine vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the snap couplers of Pickren et al. in the first and second layer of Champion in order to make a removable traction mat (Pickren et al., page 2, paragraph [0018]).
The product-by-process limitation “the first layer and the second layer are roll laminated to one another” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the arrangement. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the arrangement of Champion, as modified by Pickren et al., possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 10, Champion teaches wherein the arrangement further comprises a third layer located between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the third layer comprises a foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Champion teaches wherein the arrangement further comprises a third layer located between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the third layer comprises a foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
The product-by-process limitation “the first layer, the second layer and the third layer are roll laminated to one another” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the arrangement. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the arrangement of Champion, as modified by Pickren et al., possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed arrangement.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Champion teaches a marine deck pad (floor mat arrangement) (page 1, paragraph [0001], page 4, paragraph [0036]) comprising a first layer having an exposed first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the first layer comprising a first foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]); a second layer having a first surface facing the second surface of the first layer and a second surface opposite the first surface of the second layer (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0018]) and configured to abut a surface of a marine vehicle (page 1, paragraph [0008], page 2, paragraph [0018]), the second layer comprising a foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Champion does not disclose wherein the first foam has a first density and the second foam has a second density that is greater than the first density. However, Champion does teach wherein the foam layers may vary in density from each other (page 3, paragraph [0024]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the densities of the foam layers of Champion in order to provide resistance to compression (Champion, page 3, paragraph [0025]).
Champion fails to teach wherein the pad comprises a plurality of quick release couplers, each comprising a first portion extending entirely through the first and second layer and including an outwardly extending flanged portion abutting the first surface of the first layer; and a second portion of the quick release coupler configured to releasably couple with the first portion of the quick release coupler, where the second portion of the quick release coupler is configured to attach to the surface of the marine vehicle. However, Pickren et al. teach a marine floor arrangement (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 3, paragraph [0039]) comprising one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027]) and a plurality of snap (quick release) couplers (page 3, paragraph [0027]), each comprising a first portion extending entirely through the one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and including an outwardly extending flanged portion abutting a first surface of one of the layers of foam layer (page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a second portion of the snap (quick release) coupler configured to releasably couple with the first portion of the snap (quick release) coupler (page 2, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]), where the second portion of the snap (quick release coupler) is configured to attach to the surface of the marine vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the snap (quick release) couplers of Pickren et al. in the first and second layer of Champion in order to make a removable traction mat (Pickren et al., page 2, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Champion fails to teach wherein the first portion includes a first snap coupler portion having a body portion extending entirely through the first and second layer and the flange portion extending outwardly from the body portion, and wherein the second portion includes a second snap portion attached to the surface of the marine vehicle. However, Pickren et al. teach a marine floor arrangement (page 1, paragraph [0002], page 3, paragraph [0039]) comprising one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027]) and a plurality of snap (quick release) couplers (page 3, paragraph [0027]), each comprising a first portion extending entirely through the one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and including an outwardly extending flanged portion abutting a first surface of one of the layers of foam layer (page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and a second portion of the snap (quick release) coupler configured to releasably couple with the first portion of the snap (quick release) coupler (page 2, paragraphs [0017], [0018], page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]), where the second portion of the snap (quick release coupler) is configured to attach to the surface of the marine vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]), wherein the first portion includes a first snap coupler portion having a body portion extending entirely through the one or more layers of foam (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and the flange portion extending outwardly from the body portion (page 4, paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0043], Fig. 2A) and wherein the second portion includes a second snap portion attached to the surface of the marine vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0027], page 4, paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the snap (quick release) couplers of Pickren et al. in the first and second layer of Champion in order to make a removable traction mat (Pickren et al., page 2, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Champion teaches wherein the first foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]) and wherein the second foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claim 17, Champion teaches wherein the first and second foam material are the same (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claim 18, Champion teach wherein the first foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]) and wherein the second foam comprises an EVA foam (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Champion does not disclose wherein the first foam has a first density of between about 7.5 lbs/ft3 and about 9.5 lbs/ft3 and wherein the second foam has a density that is greater than the first density and is between about 8 lbs/ft3 and about 12.9 lbs/ft3. However, Champion does teach wherein the foam layers may vary in density from each other (page 3, paragraph [0024]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the densities of the foam layers of Champion in order to provide resistance to compression (Champion, page 3, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 19, Champion does not disclose wherein the density of the first foam material is between about 8 lbs/ft3 and about 9 lbs/ft3, and wherein the density of the second foam material is between about 9.5 lbs/ft3 and about 10.5 lbs/ft3. However, Champion does teach wherein the foam layers may vary in density from each other (page 3, paragraph [0024]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the densities of the foam layers of Champion in order to provide resistance to compression (Champion, page 3, paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Champion teaches wherein the first surface of the first layer includes non-skid (anti-slip) surface (page 1, paragraph [0004], page 2, paragraph [0019]), wherein the first surface of the first layer is textured (page 2, paragraphs [0021], [0022]).
Regarding claim 22, Champion teaches wherein the first surface of the first layer is textured (page 2, paragraphs [0021], [0022]).
The product-by-process limitation “the first and second layers are roll laminated to one another, and wherein the first surface of the first layer is textured as the first and second layers are laminated to one another” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the arrangement. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the arrangement of Champion, as modified by Pickren et al., possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 23, the product-by-process limitation “the first and second layers are roll laminated to one another” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the arrangement. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the arrangement of Champion, as modified by Pickren et al., possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed arrangement.
Regarding claim 24, Champion teaches wherein the arrangement further comprises a third layer located between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the third layer comprises a foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claim 25, Champion teaches wherein the arrangement further comprises a third layer located between the first layer and the second layer, wherein the third layer comprises a foam material (page 2, paragraphs [0018], [0019]).
The product-by-process limitation “the first layer, second and third layers are roll laminated to one another” would not be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the arrangement. The product itself does not depend on the process of making it. MPEP 2113. It can therefore be ascertained that the arrangement of Champion, as modified by Pickren et al., possesses the same characteristics as the Applicant’s claimed arrangement.
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 5/1/2026