DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed on 04/18/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/18/2024, 11/05/2024, 09/25/2025, and 11/11/2025 was filed on and after the filing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 20200107898 A1 (Hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an insertion tool (Fig. 1, 30) comprising:
a flexible section (Fig. 2, 200);
an end effector actuator (Fig. 24-25, 320);
a connector within the flexible section (Fig. 2, 100) and coupled to the end effector actuator; and
an end effector (Fig. 24-25, 300) coupled to a distal end of the flexible section (Fig. 23, 100), wherein the end effector is configured to move in a reciprocating motion at a select reciprocation rate when driven by the end effector actuator ([0146], the actuation portion 320 may reciprocate inside the body portion 340).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the connector is configured to supply electrical, mechanical, pneumatic, or hydraulic power to the end effector actuator positioned within the flexible section or at the distal end of the flexible section ([0176]-[0177]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the connector is connected between the end effector actuator and the end effector and is configured to transmit motion from the end effector actuator to the end effector ([0148] As described above, a surgical instrument according to this exemplary embodiment comprises a bendable steerable member 100 and an operable end effector 300. Also, the steerable member 100 and the end effector 300 are moved by a plurality of wire members such as the bending actuation wires 400 and the effector actuation wire 500).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the connector comprises a flexible cable, a flexible drive shaft, an electrical wire, or a fluid tube ([0148] As described above, a surgical instrument according to this exemplary embodiment comprises a bendable steerable member 100 and an operable end effector 300. Also, the steerable member 100 and the end effector 300 are moved by a plurality of wire members such as the bending actuation wires 400 and the effector actuation wire 500).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the connector transmits motion from a motion conversion mechanism to the end effector ([0148] As described above, a surgical instrument according to this exemplary embodiment comprises a bendable steerable member 100 and an operable end effector 300. Also, the steerable member 100 and the end effector 300 are moved by a plurality of wire members such as the bending actuation wires 400 and the effector actuation wire 500).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the end effector comprises one or more of a grinding burr, a grinding disc, a grinding wheel, a grinding stone, a saw, a sanding bit, a filing bit, a buffing wheel, a lapping tool, and a needle peening tool ([0067] In FIG. 1, two of the four surgical instruments include forceps 31 as the end effectors 300 thereof at the distal ends thereof. Such surgical instruments may be used by an operator, such as a surgeon or doctor, to perform various surgical operations by manipulating the forceps. Additionally, other various types of surgical elements including blades, suturing units, needles, etc. can be deployed as end effectors of the surgical instruments 300).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the flexible section comprises a plurality of rigidizable links that are selectively rigidizable by a tension assembly between a relaxed state and a tensioned state ([0071]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the flexible section comprises a rigidizable section that can be selectively rigidized with a rigidization actuator via a jamming mechanism, a layer jamming mechanism, electromagnetic stiffness tuning of magnetorheological materials or electro-rheological fluids, stiffness modulation with phase change, or stiffness modulation with pressurization ([0106]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches the insertion tool of claim 1, wherein the flexible section comprises a rigidizable guide tube or a snake arm robot ([0071]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches a method for servicing an assembled engine (Fig. 1, 1), comprising:
inserting an insertion tool (Fig. 2, 30) comprising:
a flexible section (Fig. 2, 200);
an end effector actuator (Fig. 2, 320);
a connector within the flexible section (Fig. 2, 100) and coupled to the end effector actuator; and
an end effector (Fig. 24-25, 300) coupled to a distal end of the flexible section;
rigidizing the flexible section ([0106]); and
causing, via the end effector actuator and the connector, a reciprocating motion of the end effector actuator at a select reciprocation rate to service a workpiece within the assembled engine ([0146], the actuation portion 320 may reciprocate inside the body portion 340).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rosa et al. US 20130267950 A1 teaches a portion of the reciprocating element may be allowed to flex with a more gradual bend, so that the shaft between an actuator and the surgical end effector may be made flexible.
/CORTEZ M COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846