DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0375911 A1~hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a light-emitting substrate, comprising: a substrate (10; [0111]-[0113]) having a first surface; a plurality of light-emitting devices (see fig. 5A-5C) located on the first surface; a reflective layer (111; [0111]) located on the first surface, wherein the reflective layer (111) has a plurality of first openings (1101; [0093]), and a light-emitting device (12) of the plurality of light-emitting devices is located in a first opening of the plurality of first openings (see figs. 5A-5C); a plurality of dam structures (112) located on the reflective layer, wherein each dam structure of the plurality of dam structures (112) has a second opening (1102; [0093]), and an orthogonal projection of the first opening (1101) on the substrate (10) is located within an orthogonal projection of the second opening (1102) on the substrate; and a plurality of first encapsulation structures (13; [0092]) located on a side of the plurality of light-emitting devices away from the substrate (see figs. 5A-5C), wherein a first encapsulation structure of the plurality of first encapsulation structures (13) covers at least one light-emitting device (12), and the orthogonal projection of the second opening (1102) on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure on the substrate (see figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) the dam structure (112) has an inner side wall close to the first opening (1101); and the inner side wall of the dam structure (112) and a side wall of the first opening have a distance therebetween (see at least figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) an orthographic projection of the dam structure (112) on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure (13) on the substrate have an overlapping region (see figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a shape of an orthographic projection of the dam structure (112) on the substrate is annular (see figs. 5A-5C); the annular shape includes an inner contour and an outer contour (see figs. 5A-5C); the inner contour is closer to the light-emitting device (12) than the outer contour (see at least fig. 5A); and the inner contour constitutes a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the second opening (1102) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a distance between the inner contour and the outer contour is in a range of 1.0 mm to 1.2 mm; and/or a shape of the outer contour is a central symmetric pattern or an axial symmetric pattern (see figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) the outer contour is in a shape of a rectangle or a rounded rectangle.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) at least two of the plurality of dam structures (112) are connected to each other to form a one-piece structure.
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) the plurality of dam structures (112) are connected to each other to form a grid-like structure (see figs. 5A-5C); and the second opening (1102) is a square of the grid-like structure.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a thickness of the dam structure is in a range of 0.03 mm to 0.05 mm; or a material of the dam structure (112) includes white glue ([0109]), and a reflectivity of the dam structure is greater than or equal to 90% ([0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a plurality of driver chips (100; i.e. the PCB; [0068]) located on the first surface, wherein a driver chip of the plurality of driver chips is electrically connected to at least one light-emitting device (12), and the driver chip is configured to drive the at least one light-emitting device (12) to emit light; and the reflective layer (111) covers the plurality of driver chips.
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a manufacturing method of a light-emitting substrate (10), the manufacturing method comprising: providing a substrate (100), the substrate (100) having a first surface; fixing a plurality of light-emitting devices (see figs. 5A-5C) to the first surface; forming a reflective layer (111) on the first surface, wherein the reflective layer (111) has a plurality of first openings (1101), and a light-emitting device (12) of the plurality of light-emitting devices is located in a first opening of the plurality of first openings (see figs. 5A-5C); forming a plurality of first encapsulation structures (13) on the plurality of light-emitting devices (see figs. 5A-5C), a first encapsulation structure of the plurality of first encapsulation structures (13) covering at least one light-emitting device (see figs. 5A-5C); and forming a plurality of dam structures (112) on the reflective layer, wherein each dam structure of the plurality of dam structures (112) has a second opening (1102), and an orthogonal projection of the first opening (1101) on the substrate is located within an orthogonal projection of the second opening (1102) on the substrate; and the orthogonal projection of the second opening (1102) on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure (13) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) before forming the plurality of dam structures (112) on the reflective layer (111), the manufacturing method further comprises: fixing a plurality of driver chips (101) to the first surface, wherein a driver chip of the plurality of driver chips is electrically connected to at least one light-emitting device (12), and the driver chip (101) is configured to drive the at least one light-emitting device (12) to emit light; and during a process of forming the reflective layer (111) on the first surface using a printing process ([0161]), the reflective layer (111) further covers the plurality of driver chips (see at least figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C; and14G) a plurality of second encapsulation structures (19) on the plurality of driver chips (101), an orthographic projection of the driver chip on the substrate being located within an orthographic projection of a second encapsulation structure on the substrate (100).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses (abstract) optical film located on a light exit side of the light-emitting substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa (US. Pub: 2013/0162915 A1) in view of Fujino et al. (JP: 2007243225 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nozawa discloses (in at least fig. 4) a light-emitting substrate, comprising: a substrate ([0052]) having a first surface; a plurality of light-emitting devices (30; [0050]-[0051]) located on the first surface; a reflective layer (25; [0049]) located on the first surface, wherein the reflective layer (25) has a plurality of first openings (see fig. 4), and a light-emitting device of the plurality of light-emitting devices (30) is located in a first opening of the plurality of first openings (see fig. 4); a plurality of dam structures (37; abstract; [0057]-[0058]) located on the reflective layer, wherein each dam structure of the plurality of dam structures (37) has a second opening (see fig. 4).
Nozawa does not expressly disclose an orthogonal projection of the first opening on the substrate is located within an orthogonal projection of the second opening on the substrate; and a plurality of first encapsulation structures located on a side of the plurality of light-emitting devices away from the substrate, wherein a first encapsulation structure of the plurality of first encapsulation structures covers at least one light-emitting device, and the orthogonal projection of the second opening on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure on the substrate.
Fujino in the same field of a light-emitting substrate discloses (in at least fig. 1) an orthogonal projection of the first opening on the substrate (1) is located within an orthogonal projection of the second opening on the substrate (see fig. 1); and a plurality of first encapsulation structures (7) located on a side of the plurality of light-emitting devices (4) away from the substrate, wherein a first encapsulation structure (7) of the plurality of first encapsulation structures covers at least one light-emitting device (4), and the orthogonal projection of the second opening on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure on the substrate (see fig. 1) for the benefit of providing a light-emitting substrate with improve light extracting efficiency from the light-emitting device (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting substrate of Nozawa with the teachings of Fujino in order to provide a light-emitting substrate with improve light extracting efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Nozawa discloses (in at least fig. 4) the dam structure (37) has an inner side wall close to the first opening (see fig. 4); and the inner side wall of the dam structure (37) and a side wall of the first opening have a distance therebetween (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) an orthographic projection of the dam structure (37) on the substrate and the orthographic projection of the first encapsulation structure (7) on the substrate have an overlapping region.
Regarding claim 4, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) the overlapping region is an annular pattern (see fig. 1 Fujino), but is silent about a radial size of the annular pattern is in a range of 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the annular pattern of Nozawa as modified by Fujino with a radial size in a range of 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 5, Nozawa as modified by Fujino does not expressly disclose a ratio γ of a size of the second opening to a size of the first encapsulation structure satisfies: 0.92≤γ≤0.96. See the reasoning of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) a shape of an orthographic projection of the dam structure (8, 37) on the substrate is annular (see at least fig. 1 Fujino); the annular shape includes an inner contour and an outer contour (see fig. 1); the inner contour is closer to the light-emitting device than the outer contour (see fig. 1); and the inner contour constitutes a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the second opening on the substrate (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) a distance between the inner contour and the outer contour is in a range of 1.0 mm to 1.2 mm; and/or a shape of the outer contour is a central symmetric pattern or an axial symmetric pattern (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) the outer contour is in a shape of a rectangle or a rounded rectangle.
Regarding claim 9, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) at least two of the plurality of dam structures (8, 37) are connected to each other to form a one-piece structure.
Regarding claim 10, Nozawa as modified by Fujino discloses (in at least fig. 1 Fujino; fig. 4 Nozawa) the plurality of dam structures (8, 37) are connected to each other to form a grid-like structure; and the second opening is a square of the grid-like structure (see at least fig. 26 Fujino).
Regarding claim 13, Nozawa discloses (in at least fig. 4) a plurality of driver chips (32) located on the first surface, wherein a driver chip of the plurality of driver chips is electrically connected to at least one light-emitting device (see fig. 4), and the driver chip (32) is configured to drive the at least one light-emitting device to emit light; and the reflective layer (25) covers the plurality of driver chips.
Claim(s) 4-5, 12, 14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0375911 A1~hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) the overlapping region is an annular pattern (see figs. 5A-5C), but is silent about a radial size of the annular pattern is in a range of 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the annular pattern of Li with a radial size in a range of 0.05 mm to 0.1 mm through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 5, Li does not expressly disclose a ratio γ of a size of the second opening to a size of the first encapsulation structure satisfies: 0.92≤γ≤0.96. See the reasoning of claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, Li does not expressly disclose a distance between the first opening and the light-emitting device located in the first opening is in a range of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C) a distance is formed between the first opening (1101) and the light-emitting device (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the distance between the first opening and the light-emitting device of Li in the range of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses (in at least figs. 14F and 14G) a plurality of second encapsulation structures (19), wherein an orthographic projection of the driver chip on the substrate (100) is located within an orthographic projection of a second encapsulation structure of the plurality of second encapsulation structures (19) on the substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Li does not expressly disclose the plurality of second encapsulation structures and the plurality of dam structures are arranged in the same layer and made of the same material.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 5A-5C; 14F and 14G; [0188]-[0189]) the plurality of the second encapsulation structures (19) and the plurality of dam structures (112 of 11) are arranged in the same layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the second encapsulation structures of Li with the same material as the dam structures in order to reduce the manufacturing steps of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a display apparatus (title), comprising: the backlight module according to claim 19; but is silent about a color filter substrate located on a light exit side of the backlight module; and an array substrate located between the backlight module and the color filter substrate.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display apparatus comprised of, in part, a color filter substrate located on a light exit side of the backlight module; and an array substrate located between the backlight module and the color filter substrate as evident by Nozawa (US. Pub: 2013/0162915 A1) at least (fig. 4; [0045]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display apparatus of Li with the color filter teaching of Nozawa in order to convert a color of light emitted by the light-emitting chip to a different wavelength.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875