DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, 1st paragraph, filed 06/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ikeya et al. (KR 20140001151 A) and Kim (KR 20210076352 A). This action is therefore made Non-Final.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the rear housing sleeve can be detachably mounted on the front housing or a structure for preventing rotation and adjusting angles, nor does it feature a detachable design (page 5, 1st and 2nd paragraphs)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is further noted that “the rear housing sleeve can be detachably mounted on the front housing” is not disclosed in the specification and/or drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeya et al. (KR 20140001151 A).
Ikeya et al. discloses an optical fiber accessory comprising a front housing (17 and 19) defining two insertion slots extending in a front-rear direction and spaced apart from each other in a first direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction (slots to receive fibers 33; fig. 1), and two core slots extending in the front-rear direction and being respectively in spatial communication with said insertion slots (inherently to receive ferrules 3 and 5/ferrule assembly 27; fig. 3); a rear housing sleeve (15 and 21) sleeved on a rear end of said front housing and defining a receiving space in spatial communication with said core slots (figs. 1-3); and a loopback module (13) disposed in said rear housing sleeve (15), and including two ferrules (3 and 5) fixed onto said rear housing sleeve (21) and spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and an optical fiber loop having two ends respectively connected to said ferrules (3 and 5/ferrule assembly 27) and disposed in said receiving space, said ferrules projecting toward said front housing in the front-rear direction and extending respectively into said core slots (figs. 1-4); wherein said rear housing sleeve (15 and 21) includes an outer housing wall defining said receiving space (fig. 3), and plurality of clamping blocks (23/25) disposed in pairs (recess and protrude) in said receiving space and protruding from an inner surface of said outer housing wall (figs. 7-8), said pairs of said clamping blocks being spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and respectively clamping said ferrules of said loopback module (figs. 7-8), wherein said clamping blocks of a same pair are spaced apart in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and the front-rear direction, so as to clamp a corresponding one of said ferrules of said loopback module (figs. 7-8), wherein each of said clamping blocks of said rear housing sleeve is formed with a limiting groove (23) that is recessed inwardly in the second direction, each of said limiting grooves extending in the front-rear direction, said limiting grooves of said clamping blocks of said same pair are configured for engagement with said corresponding one of said ferrules (figs. 7-8), and wherein said front housing (17) includes a surrounding wall, an end wall connected to a rear end of said surrounding wall and cooperating with said surrounding wall to define said insertion slots, and an extension housing (19) extending from said end wall in the front-rear direction toward said rear housing sleeve and connected to said outer housing wall of said rear housing sleeve, a rear end of said extension housing (19) being sleeved by said outer housing wall of said rear housing sleeve (21). Although Ikeya et al. does not explicitly teach four clamping blocks, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have four clamping blocks arranged in the rear housing of Ikeya et al. since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, for securely holding the ferrules.
Iketani et al. further discloses ferrules (3 and 5/ferrule assembly 27) are extending in said extension housing, but does not explicitly teach said extension housing defining two positioning grooves that are respectively in spatial communication with said core slots and that face said rear housing sleeve, each of said positioning grooves having a polygonal shape, said positioning grooves respectively permitting said ferrules to be engaged therein. However, having polygonal shaped grooves for positioning the ferrules is well-known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have four clamping blocks arranged in the rear housing of Iketani et al. since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, for securely holding the ferrules.
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20210076352 A).
Re claim 1, Kim discloses an optical fiber accessory comprising a front housing (see annotated fig. 4 below) defining two insertion slots extending in a front-rear direction and spaced apart from each other in a first direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction (slots to receive ferrules 100; fig. 4), and two core slots extending in the front-rear direction and being respectively in spatial communication with said insertion slots (optical line 200); a rear housing sleeve (420) sleeved on a rear end (410) of said front housing and defining a receiving space in spatial communication with said core slots (fig. 4); and a loopback module (421) disposed in said rear housing sleeve (420), and including two ferrules (100/200) fixed onto said rear housing sleeve (420) and spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and an optical fiber loop having two ends respectively connected to said ferrules (100/200) and disposed in said receiving space, said ferrules projecting toward said front housing in the front-rear direction and extending respectively into said core slots (figs. 3-4); wherein said rear housing sleeve (420) includes an outer housing wall defining said receiving space (fig. 4), and clamping blocks (see annotated fig. 4 below) disposed in pairs (one on each side of ferrule/optical line 200) in said receiving space and protruding from an inner surface of said outer housing wall (fig. 4), said pairs of said clamping blocks being spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and respectively clamping said ferrules of said loopback module (fig. 4), wherein each of said clamping blocks of said rear housing sleeve is formed with a limiting groove (to hold 200) that is recessed inwardly in the second direction, each of said limiting grooves extending in the front-rear direction, said limiting grooves of said clamping blocks of said same pair are configured for engagement with said corresponding one of said ferrules (fig. 4), and wherein said front housing includes a surrounding wall, an end wall (see annotated fig. 4 below) connected to a rear end of said surrounding wall and cooperating with said surrounding wall to define said insertion slots, and an extension housing (see annotated fig. 4 below) extending from said end wall in the front-rear direction toward said rear housing sleeve and connected to said outer housing wall of said rear housing sleeve (420), a rear end of said extension housing being sleeved by said outer housing wall of said rear housing sleeve (420), said extension housing defining two positioning grooves (holding 200) that are respectively in spatial communication with said core slots and that face said rear housing sleeve. Kim fails to teach each of said positioning grooves having a polygonal shape, said positioning grooves respectively permitting said ferrules to be engaged therein, and said clamping blocks of a same pair are spaced apart in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and the front-rear direction, so as to clamp a corresponding one of said ferrules of said loopback module.
However, having polygonal shaped grooves for positioning the ferrules is well-known in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have four clamping blocks arranged in the rear housing of Kim since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, for securely holding the ferrules. Further, arranging clamping blocks of a same pair are spaced apart in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and the front-rear direction is merely a rearrangement of parts without modifying the operation of a device an obvious design variation, has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)
Re claim 7, Kim discloses the optical fiber accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of said ferrules (100/200) of said loopback module includes a core tubular portion clamped by a corresponding one pair of said clamping blocks, a positioning portion disposed on a front end of said core tubular portion and engaging a corresponding one of said positioning grooves (holding 200), and a core head portion extending forwardly from said positioning portion in the front-rear direction and into a corresponding one of said core slots (see annotated fig. 4 above).
Re claim 8, Kim discloses the optical fiber accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein said front housing further includes two connecting tube walls projecting from said end wall and respectively located in said insertion slots, each of said core slots extending from a corresponding one of said connecting tube walls into said extension housing in the front-rear direction, and being connected to said corresponding one of said positioning grooves (holding 200) (see annotated fig. 4 above).
Re claim 9, Kim discloses the optical fiber accessory as claimed in claim 1, wherein said loopback module further includes two tubular sleeves respectively inserted into said core slots of said front housing and permitting said ferrules to be inserted therein, respectively (see annotated fig. 4 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larkin (US 9709755 B2 – fig. 5B) and Nolan (US 6454464 B1 – figs. 13-15) discloses a fiber loopback plug.
Xu et al. (TW M639940 U) discloses an optical fiber accessory.
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874