DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to amendment filed on 09/03/2025. In this amendment, claim 1-2, 8-9 and 15-21 are amended. Claims 1-21 are pending, with claims 1, 8 and 15 being independent.
Priority
This application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/496,858, filed 04/18/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 and 09/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Objection are withdrawn in view of amended claims.
The Rejection of the Claims Under 101
Rejections are withdrawn in view of amended claims.
Rejections of the Claims Under 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 14-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landowski et al. (US 10,608,966, Date of Patent: Mar.31, 2020), in view of Sommers et al. (US 2018/0047395, Pub. Date: Feb. 15, 2018), in view of Hattangady et al. (US 2024/0296276, Filed: Mar. 3, 2023).
As per claim 1, Landowski discloses a method of an interactive platform (Landowski fig. 13, method 1300; Landowski col. 5 lines 9-11, Users may interact with web pages 180 through any of the example devices, in particular, via page bots 190 associated with the web pages 180), the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors (Landowski fig. 22, processing unit 2204), from a user system (Landowski fig. 10, User Client Device 1020), a prompt of a user during an interactive session (Landowski, fig. 13, Receive a message at the page bot from a client device at 1302 and col. 16 lines 14-16, a page bot 1090 may receive a message as part of a user message exchange 1030 from a user client 1020), the prompt in a form of a post to an interactive platform (Landowski col. 5 lines 21-25, A user may send messages to the web page 180. For example, a web page within a social network may include a call-to-action element on the web page that allows a user to begin and engage in a messaging conversation with the web page entity);
determining, by the one or more processors, one or more keywords based on the prompt of the user (col. 13 lines 18-24, The NLP component 1050 may use a basic page bot NLP model to parse the message and identify one or more intents that may be indicated by the message. The basic page bot NLP model may be used for all instantiated page bots 990. A basic page bot NLP model may, for example, include rules that associate various user-provided words with a meaning that may map to a page field);
determining, by the one or more processors, a type of the prompt of the user (Landowski fig. 13, Request an intent of the messages from an NLP component at 1304 and col. 16 lines 21-24, the interaction processing component 1060 of the instantiated page bot 1090 may forward or otherwise make the received message accessible to the NLP component 1050 with a request for an intent. The NLP component 1050 may then return a intent 1010 to the interaction processing component 1060);
in response to determining the type of the prompt of the user is a personality prompt (Interpretation: abstract and paragraph 73 of examined application indicate that a personality prompt is a prompt that the chatbot system can't determine an intent; Landowski fig. 11 and col. 14 lines 47-51, When an intent cannot be determined at all or with sufficient confidence, the NLP component 1050 may return an intent error 1112. The meaning error 1112 may comprise a code, a keyword, a null value, or any other means of indicating that no intent was determined), performing, by the one or more processors, operations comprising:
generating a personality prompt using the prompt of the user, the one or more keywords (Interpretation: fig.3 and paragraph 74 of examined application indicates a personality prompt is the same prompt that received from user. Landowski fig. 11 and col. 14 lines 47-56, When an intent cannot be determined at all or with sufficient confidence, the NLP component 1050 may return an intent error 1112. The meaning error 1112 may comprise a code, a keyword, a null value, or any other means of indicating that no intent was determined … the message from the user message exchange 1030 may be escalated to the administrator of the web page 180. For example, the message may be sent to an administrator account 1102); and
communicating the personality prompt to administrator (Landowski fig. 11 and col. 14 lines 53-56, the message from the user message exchange 1030 may be escalated to the administrator of the web page 180. For example, the message may be sent to an administrator account 1102);
in response to determining the type of the prompt of the user is an intent prompt (Landowski col. 16 lines 22-24, The NLP component 1050 may then return a intent 1010 to the interaction processing component 1060; Landowski col. 10 lines 20-22, the user messages, e.g. user message 716a, may include an intent, e.g. a greeting, a question, or a request for information [intent prompt]), performing, by the one or more processors, operations comprising:
generating a hint prompt using an intent determined using the prompt of the user, the one or more keywords (Interpretation: figure 4A steps 408-412 and paragraph 77 of examined application, hint prompt comprise return values from calls to outside service. Landowski col. 16 lines 22-24 & 40-51, The NLP component 1050 may then return a intent 1010 to the interaction processing component 1060… the interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve text from a page field and may generate a message response comprising the text… The interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve a link to a web page or to data provided from another web site or application, and may generate a message response comprising the retrieved information); and
receiving, by the one or more processors, a response (Landowski fig. 13, Compose a message response according to intent response setting at 1310); and
providing, by the one or more processors, the response to the user (Landowski fig. 13, Send the message response to the client devices at 1312).
Landowski not explicitly discloses:
associating, by the one or more processors, one or more time factors to the one or more keywords, the one or more time factors decaying in time;
generating a personality prompt using the one or more time factors; and
communicating the personality prompt to a generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) model;
generating a hint prompt using the one or more time factors; and
communicating the hint prompt to the generative Al model;
receiving from the generative Al model a response.
Sommer teaches:
associating, by the one or more processors, one or more time factors to the one or more keywords, the one or more time factors decaying in time (Sommers para. [0159], The ARD can capture the sentence spoken by the woman (e.g., via the audio sensor 232), convert the sentence to text, detect “guanxi” as a rare word, retrieve auxiliary information (e.g., a definition) [keyword] associated with “guanxi,”; Sommers para. [0132], The decay factor may include a time period such that if the rare word is mentioned more than a threshold number of times during the time period, the display of auxiliary information decays or ceases. [i.e., auxiliary information [keyword] is associated with time factors decaying in the time period]);
generating a prompt using the one or more time factors (Sommers para. [0132], The decay factor may include a time period such that if the rare word is mentioned more than a threshold number of times during the time period, the display of auxiliary information [generating a prompt] decays or ceases; Sommers para. [0159], The ARD can capture the sentence spoken by the woman (e.g., via the audio sensor 232), convert the sentence to text, detect “guanxi” as a rare word, retrieve auxiliary information (e.g., a definition) associated with “guanxi,” and display the auxiliary information [generating a prompt] on a display (e.g., display 220)).
Note: Landowski teaches generating a personality prompt and a hint prompt (Landowski fig. 11 and col. 14 lines 47-56 and col. 16 lines 22-24 & 40-51). However, Landowski does not explicitly disclose generating using the one or more time factors. Sommers teaches generating a prompt using the one or more time factors (Sommers para. [0132]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Landowski in view of Sommers for associating, by the one or more processors, one or more time factors to the one or more keywords, the one or more time factors decaying in time and in order to incorporate generating a prompt using the one or more time factors for generating a personality prompt and a hint prompt using the one or more time factors.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of providing better assisting to user (see Sommers para. [0121]).
Landowski-Sommers does not explicitly disclose:
communicating the personality prompt to a generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) model;
communicating the hint prompt to the generative Al model;
receivingfrom the generative Al model a response.
Hattangady teaches:
communicating a first prompt to a generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) model (Hattangady fig. 2, message generator 110 sends/communicates a 1st text query/prompt to generative AI model 108);
communicating a second to the generative Al model (Hattangady fig. 2, message generator 110 sends/communicates a 2nd text query/prompt to generative AI model 108);
receiving from the generative Al model a response (Hattangady fig. 2, message generator 110 receives a 1st and 2nd responses regarding 1st text query/prompt and 2nd text query/prompt from generative AI model 108 respectively).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Hattangady to incorporate a generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) model for generating responses for the personality prompt and the hint prompt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of increasing efficiency and enhancing creativity by not relying on administrator and/or templates for generating responses.
As per claim 7, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Landowski does not explicitly disclose wherein the generative AI model is hosted by system external to the interactive platform.
Hattangady teaches:
the generative AI model is hosted by system external to the interactive platform (Hattangady para. [0034], the generative AI model 108 operates on a device located remotely from the computing device 102).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Hattangady for the generative AI model is hosted by system external to the interactive platform.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of increasing efficiency and enhancing creativity by not relying on administrator and/or templates for generating responses.
Per claims 8 and 14, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1 and 7 respectively. As such, claims 8 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 and 7 respectively. Landowski also discloses a machine (Landowski fig. 22, Centralized Server Device 2020), comprising: one or more processors (Landowski fig. 22, Processing Unit 2204); and a memory storing instructions (Landowski fig. 22, System Memory 2206).
Per claims 15 and 21, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 1 and 7 respectively. As such, claims 15 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 and 7 respectively.
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landowski et al. (US 10,608,966, Date of Patent: Mar.31, 2020), in view of Sommers et al. (US 2018/0047395, Pub. Date: Feb. 15, 2018), in view of Hattangady et al. (US 2024/0296276, Filed: Mar. 3, 2023), in view of Sharma et al. (US 2023/0059979, Filed: Aug. 19, 2022).
As per claim 2, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Landowski also discloses wherein generating the hint prompt comprises:
generating one or more calls to one or more services of the interactive platform using the intent determined from the prompt of the user (Landowski col. 16 lines 22-24 & 40-50, The NLP component 1050 may then return a intent 1010 to the interaction processing component 1060… the interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve text from a page field… The interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve a link to a web page or to data provided from another web site or application);
receiving one or more result values from the one or more services (Landowski col. 16 lines 47-50, The interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve a link to a web page or to data provided from another web site or application Landowski col. 16 lines 40-50, the interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve text from a page field… The interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve a link to a web page or to data provided from another web site or application); and
generating the hint prompt using the one or more result values (Interpretation: figure 4A steps 408-412 and paragraph 77 of examined application, hint prompt comprise return values from calls to outside service. Landowski col. 16 lines 40-51, the interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve text from a page field and may generate a message response comprising the text… The interaction processing component 1060 may retrieve a link to a web page or to data provided from another web site or application, and may generate a message response comprising the retrieved information).
Landowski teaches generating one or more calls to receive result values in order to generating hint prompt. But Landowski does not explicitly disclose the one or more calls are one or more Application Programming Interface (API) calls.
Sharma teaches:
one or more Application Programming Interface (API) calls (Sharma fig. 2B and para. [0028], The recognized intent may then be passed to the fulfillment unit 110, which may make appropriate (API) requests S226 to the contact center platform 112 and/or other systems 114).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Sharma for generating Application Programming Interface (API) calls to one or more services of the interactive platform.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of allowing different applications to communicate and interact with each other seamlessly.
As per claim 3, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady-Sharma discloses the method according to claim 2, as set forth above, Landowski also discloses wherein the prompt of the user comprises at least one of audio media, image media, video media, or textual media (Landowski, fig. 13, Receive a message at the page bot from a client device at 1302 and col. 16 lines 14-16, a page bot 1090 may receive a message as part of a user message exchange 1030 from a user client 1020).
Per claims 9-10, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2 and 3 respectively. As such, claims 9-10 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2 and 3 respectively.
Per claims 16-17, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2 and 3 respectively. As such, claims 16-17 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2 and 3 respectively.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landowski et al. (US 10,608,966, Date of Patent: Mar.31, 2020), in view of Sommers et al. (US 2018/0047395, Pub. Date: Feb. 15, 2018), in view of Hattangady et al. (US 2024/0296276, Filed: Mar. 3, 2023), in view of Singh Bawa et al. (US 2022/0067296, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022, hereinafter “Bawa”).
As per claim 4, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady-Sharma discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Landowski does not explicitly disclose wherein the intent is determined further using a user profile of the user.
Bawa teaches:
the intent is determined further using a user profile of the user (Bawa para. [0049], In an embodiment, the analytics platform 360 may use a customer analytical record (CAR) and/or a journey analytics record (JAR) along with pre-built dashboards to identify the interaction intent. The customer analytical record may include a customer record indicating complete information related to the user at a user level type, for example, the user profile data and the user portfolio data).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Bawa to incorporate using a user profile of the user records for determining the intent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of making interaction contextually personalized to the user (Bawa para. [0004]).
Per claim 11, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4. As such, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Per claim 18, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 4. As such, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landowski et al. (US 10,608,966, Date of Patent: Mar.31, 2020), in view of Sommers et al. (US 2018/0047395, Pub. Date: Feb. 15, 2018), in view of Hattangady et al. (US 2024/0296276, Filed: Mar. 3, 2023), in view of Sharma et al. (US 2023/0059979, Filed: Aug. 19, 2022), in view of Singh Bawa et al. (US 2022/0067296, Pub. Date: Mar. 3, 2022, hereinafter “Bawa”).
As per claim 5, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady-Sharma discloses the method according to claim 2, as set forth above, Landowski does not explicitly disclose wherein the intent is determined further using a chat session history of the user.
Bawa teaches:
the intent is determined further using a chat session history of the user (Bawa para. [0049], In an embodiment, the analytics platform 360 may use a customer analytical record (CAR) and/or a journey analytics record (JAR) along with pre-built dashboards to identify the interaction intent. The customer analytical record may include a customer record indicating complete information related to the user at a user level type, for example, the user profile data; Bawa para. [0024], The information obtained from the ongoing interaction may be stored in the user profile as historical data for future interactions).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Bawa to incorporate using a chat session history of the user for determining the intent.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of making interaction contextually personalized to the user (Bawa para. [0004]).
Per claim 12, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 5. As such, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Per claim 19, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 5. As such, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landowski et al. (US 10,608,966, Date of Patent: Mar.31, 2020), in view of Sommers et al. (US 2018/0047395, Pub. Date: Feb. 15, 2018), in view of Hattangady et al. (US 2024/0296276, Filed: Mar. 3, 2023), in view of Sharma et al. (US 2023/0059979, Filed: Aug. 19, 2022), in view of Cannon et al. (US 10,878,008, Date of Patent: Dec. 29, 2020).
As per claim 6, Landowski-Sommers-Hattangady-Sharma discloses the method according to claim 2, as set forth above, Landowski does not wherein the generative AI model is hosted by the interactive platform.
Cannon teaches:
generative AI model is hosted by the interactive platform (Cannon fig. 1, Social Computing System 102 comprises/ hosts Generative Question Model 114).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Landowski in view of Cannon for generative AI model is hosted by the interactive platform.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of improving user experience by reducing latency when hosting generative AI model in house.
Per claim 13, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. As such, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Per claim 20, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. As such, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ma (US 2022/0300494) Task Query Method And Device;
Husain et al. (US 20170308583) Suggested Queries Based On Interaction History On Online Social Networks;
Koishida et al. (US 20180233142) Multi-User Intelligent Assistance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453